zxcvbn Reviews

These reviews were left by zxcvbn.

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Red Dragon Inn

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Risk

I mostly e...

by zxcvbn

I mostly enjoy all the risk versions I own for the nostalgia factor.

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Race for the Galaxy

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Risk: Legacy

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

Hard to rate. Hard to compare with other games I've given a 10, like Galaxy Trucker, Cosmic Encounter, and Netrunner, where I've played 100's of games and they still hold up to the test of time. On the other hand, I think the quality of the experience is just as good, and in some ways better than those games. It's not flawless, but I'd probably rate it a 10 if it were more replayable. As it is, I'll dock it a point for it having a static ending while still highly recommending.

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

I'm gonna ...

by zxcvbn

I'm gonna be honest, the many custom dice play a big role in this rating. I do really love games that have you roll dice then have you do something with them (see also: Alien Frontiers). There are a lot of games that have you do something, then roll to resolve, which is often really unsatisfying. But using a random element to force you to be flexible is really cool, and there are tons of ways to mitigate that random element. That change alone puts it over Race, though I haven't played enough Race to get super good at it.

1/11/2019

Welcome to the Dungeon

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Ticket To Ride

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Two Rooms and a Boom

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Magic the Gathering

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Dominion: Cornucopia

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Greedy Greedy Goblins

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Coup

Excellent ...

by zxcvbn

Excellent bluffing game without too many frills.

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Citadels

Two-player...

by zxcvbn

Two-player Citadels is really good everybody.

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Clash of Cultures

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Twilight Struggle

My favorit...

by zxcvbn

My favorite two-player strategy game. Excellent theme, very high skill ceiling. Unfortunately requires absolute knowledge of all cards to become very good, much like many of my other favorite games like netrunner and innovation. If you learn to play with someone else who is learning this is a non-issue though.

1/11/2019

Zombie Fluxx

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Yahtzee

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Villainous

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Witness Board Game

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

UNO Card Game

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Upwords

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Terra Mystica

Unnecessar...

by zxcvbn

Unnecessarily dense, with no payoff. In euros I prefer elegant design and this is the opposite of that. Mechanically does nothing exciting.

1/11/2019

Things...

It's been ...

by zxcvbn

It's been many many years since I played this and the BGG ranking suggests I might be looking at it through rose-colored glasses. But I always had fun, and giving players agency by having them write their answers instead of choosing one from a random hand of cards, like Apples to Apples, is a plus to me.

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

The internet seems to love this game, and the ideas in this game make it seem really fun, but every time I've played has been boring, not engaging, and just a chore. Too much going on that ultimately ends up resolving itself in random dice rolls. No narrative has really developed in any game I've played. It's not the people I'm playing with either! They really enjoy thematic games and can pull a story out of thin air! They love RPG's, and working together to make a game an experience! But this game doesn't support that, it tells you you're a space virus that gives you a neat little ability, but mostly you play the same as everyone else and you've spent 8 hours pushing ships around on a board. I wish the galactic council was actually the focus of this game! It's the one redeeming factor, and I wish it played a bigger role! Instead it's just another option to let the player in the lead start winning more. I've said a lot about this game because I *want* it to be good. I *want* it to be Cosmic Encounter with an actual map and real diplomacy and a real story. But it fails at just about everything it does in practice, which is disappointing. Don't at me.

1/11/2019

Tsuro Board Game

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Telestrations

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Trains

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

It's like if a choose-your-own-adventure had you turn to a random page every time, and occasionally would say "if you've been to page 33 already, read this instead." I'm fine with the chaos of the gameplay itself, but the storytelling element is also chaotic, and getting an interesting story is just as likely as having nothing happen and ending up stuck in prison, getting the same story every time. It's propped up as a good example of emergent narrative in games but the lack of player agency means I don't care what is being read to me either. I feel like there are things to be salvaged from this game that other games could borrow, but gosh I hate playing it.

1/11/2019

Takenoko

There's no...

by zxcvbn

There's nothing special about this game (outside of the components), but it's still enjoyable and a pretty stress-free experience.

1/11/2019

Super Munchkin

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

T.I.M.E. Stories

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Space Alert

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Splendor

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Spyfall

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Skull

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

Lying is too undervalued. It turns a great game into a good one.

1/11/2019

Small World

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

SKIP BO Card Game

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Smash Up

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Roborally

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Scotland Yard

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Sequence Game

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

San Juan

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Scrabble

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

I love how this handles its random element: you never technically *have* to roll dice; but taking calculated risks can be very beneficial. I also love its storytelling element. Adding encounter cards to the event deck based on your choices is really brilliant. It's longer than what I typically like but it does a lot really well.

1/11/2019

The Resistance

I think th...

by zxcvbn

I think this is probably a better hidden-role traitor game than ONUW, but harder to get a group to sit down for and they scratch the same itch.

1/11/2019

Power Grid

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Red7

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Ricochet Robots

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Puerto Rico

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Poker

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Pinochle

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by zxcvbn

Everything I love about the Resistance simplified into a 5-minute game anyone can understand. My go-to party game that almost everyone loves, with a high skill ceiling to boot.

1/11/2019

Onitama

The essenc...

by zxcvbn

The essence of randomized chess but most games take 15 minutes (but in a good way).

1/11/2019

Munchkin

The long e...

by zxcvbn

The long end-game breaks this game, turning it from "not my thing" to "oh god are we really still doing this" Plus it doesn't help that none of the jokes are remotely funny.

1/11/2019

Mysterium

Easy to le...

by zxcvbn

Easy to learn and has worked great with so many different groups.

1/11/2019

Paper Tales

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Nuns on the Run

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Pandemic

No Review Title

by zxcvbn

No Review Description

1/11/2019