Reviews

These reviews were left by walterbd.

by walterbd

super fun and simple deception game full of aliances and backstabbing

2/6/2020

Gizmos

No Review Title

by walterbd

No Review Description

4/22/2019

by walterbd

It's a euro game that nobody plays the same, which makes it less competitive and more independent. you barely interact, and your interactions help your opponents as much as they hurt them. Some play styles are completely luck based, and others have a guaranteed victory in X turns if you understand the rules.

3/24/2019

by walterbd

...but not great either. I have yet to lose a game, which makes it feel much more like a time sink and much less of a fun challenge.

3/24/2019

by walterbd

very complicated but also fun.

3/11/2019

Root

so cute...

by walterbd

yet so cutthroat.... Root is a polished game with a great tutorial helping you naturally learn the game ang get out there destroying your friends. but its ok! they are destroying you too!

3/10/2019

Puerto Rico

i lost by one turn

by walterbd

fun and easy to pick up.

3/9/2019

Risk

lets gang up on player 3

by walterbd

everyone knows Risk. its the more generic axis and allies that will either excite you or bore you to tears. usually both.

3/7/2019

Quarto

quarto!

by walterbd

like tic tac toe but with more strategy and less stalemates.

3/7/2019

Cards Against Humanity

No Review Title

by walterbd

No Review Description

3/7/2019

Jenga

long live the precarious tower of death

by walterbd

this was played before you were born and it will be played after you die. why? because its phenomenal.

3/7/2019

Small World

Not the Dragon-Riding Ratmen!!!!

by walterbd

This game is a blast to play; always different, always improvising, always a surprise.

3/7/2019

Catan

Always new

by walterbd

I can think of few other games this accessible that can get this level of alliances, bargaining, and power plays.

2/28/2019

Cribbage

My favorite card game

by walterbd

Yup. It's my favorite card game. Of all time.

2/27/2019

Saboteur

With the right people...

by walterbd

I've had great games and I've had terrible games. It all depends on who is playing, but the long and short of it is: its well designed, quick to learn, and usually fun.

2/27/2019

Exploding Kittens

Good with the right group!

by walterbd

This is a game you don't play because it's good: you play because its fun with the group of friends. I once saw someone start the game with no cards, only drawing, and go on to win. its exciting, hilarious, and fun moments like this that make the game worth playing.

2/27/2019

Betrayal at House on the Hill

Good with the right group

by walterbd

Its a fun game, easy to pick up despite being complex (so long as someone in the party knows how to play) and usually different every time, but sometimes it can feel like you lose simply because of the person you are stuck with by the end of the game.

2/27/2019

Munchkin

Some people like it

by walterbd

I guess with the right group it is supposed to be fun? It always seems to cascade into long, tedious, and boring games despite the amount of backstabbing and teaming up on other players that goes on.

2/27/2019

Above and Below

Read me my quest!

by walterbd

Great fun to play with people and explore the world as you try to dominate your friends at building villages in it.

2/27/2019

The Resistance: Avalon

Are you Merlin!?

by walterbd

With the right group of friends, it is extremely fun to play. Like werewolf (but with a purpose?) and nobody is ever eliminating and sitting around.

2/27/2019

Scythe

Very fun, Very complicated

by walterbd

Definitely not for everybody (as it can be a bit harder to learn), but it's a fun, beautiful, and extremely well-designed game.

2/27/2019

by walterbd

I haven't had a bad game of this yet, and I've played over a dozen times. Easy to learn, fun to screw over your friends (and yourself if it kills them too!)

2/27/2019