usagi-san Reviews

These reviews were left by usagi-san.

Ys+

Haven't ye...

by usagi-san

Haven't yet played with the expansion cards but I am looking forward to it. It's nice to have a set of 5th player tokens. 2008-07-15 - Bought

1/6/2020

by usagi-san

{2plays, 4p} Rating after two plays; simple game and advanced game only. Can't wait to try the full game. (~2008) 2009-01-01 - Solo w/"2 civ" - I won :) 2010-12-17 - Discovered online play with [url=http://www.boardgaming-online.com]Boardgaming-online.com[/url]; I'll be playing my games using this PBEM. 2010-12-17 - PBEM games [url=http://www.boardgaming-online.com/index.php?cnt=2]are here.[/url] 2013-02-19 - bumping rating from 9.0 -> 9.5; delicious! 2008-04-01 - Bought 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23 2012-XX-XX - bought again sometime this year I think...? 2016-07-17 - Traded @ River Market for Pirates Cove

1/6/2020

Power Grid

You know, ...

by usagi-san

You know, for all its fiddly-ness, this game is just great. Maybe it is the fact that it is so cumbersome but many people take to it. I like it though I don't play it as often as I should. Have played the France/Italy and the Central Europe/Benelux maps too! Fun stuff there and the minor rules changes changes things slightly and give it a different "flavour". 2006-10-01 - Bought 2008-02-23 - Bumping rating down from 8.5 -> 7.5; Somehow the game just lost its taste for me and I haven't played it in a long while. 2008-08-05 - Bumping rating 7.5 -> 8 2010-09-15 - Sold 2016-07-17 - Bought River Market

1/6/2020

Netrunner

Rating aft...

by usagi-san

Rating after one play. This was the first time that I played some sort of CCG. I liked the unbalanced nature of it. I played the runner and I was too cautious which lead to my downfall. I wouldn't mind playing this again.

1/6/2020

Mag-Blast

Not a bad ...

by usagi-san

Not a bad game but one that I wouldn't play too often. The cards are very sturdy and the artwork is fun.

1/6/2020

by usagi-san

Not likely to play again. Had a good time with this game but won't own.

1/6/2020

by usagi-san

It's not a bad game but it does take a long time. Not one for me to play again.

1/6/2020

Jambo Expansion

2009-10-XX...

by usagi-san

2009-10-XX - Bought

1/6/2020

Intrigue

Bloodthirs...

by usagi-san

Bloodthirsty. You really need a group that won't take offense and knows how to laugh. 2008-06-21 - Bought 2008-12-06 - Gave away as part of Meetup game exchange. ( and Democrazy too)

1/6/2020

Dominion: Intrigue

Bought: 20...

by usagi-san

Bought: 2009-09-28 2013-08-28 - Sold (selling Dominion collection)

1/6/2020

Dominion

I'm giving...

by usagi-san

I'm giving this a tentative 7 rating. So far my plays have been enjoyable. It plays very quickly in that the turns are self evident. Mostly solitaire play and interaction can be low. It likely depends on the cards that are out for play. It's not a game that I want to buy but I will for sure play it. 2009-01-18 - Hmm... I really like this game. Rating 7->8; very likely to buy. 2009-02-10 - Bought *sigh* ... but I like it 2013-08-28 - Sold (selling Dominion collection)

1/6/2020

by usagi-san

Ugh. I don't like dungeon crawls and it was because of this that this game did not settle well with me. Only 1 play and it took 3 hours for the 1st scenario. It is a good game in that it seems that the overlord is playing a different game from the one that you are playing. If you are playing with others who are into the theme then it would be a fun game but if you don't like fancy name such as "Theodrun the Battlescarred" or somesuch, I suggest you stay away. As for the dolls, there are plenty of them in the box.

1/6/2020

Cosmic Encounter

Rating aft...

by usagi-san

Rating after 1 play. To play this game properly, I think you need to get into the roles of your alien races. That and having a fresh, rested mind to play with.

1/6/2020

Citadels: Classic

Rating aft...

by usagi-san

Rating after two plays. The second time went a bit smoother but I think I like this better with 3-4 players. The first game was with 5-6 players and it went on for a long time. Plus the fantasy theme is not my thing.

1/6/2020

Cartagena

This one i...

by usagi-san

This one is quick (with the right people), I'll give you that but not to my tastes.

1/6/2020

Amun-Re

One play. ...

by usagi-san

One play. Made a rules mistake but it was fun. Rating may go up but the first play didn't strike me as anything stellar. 2009-01-18 - PBEM 2009-02-06 - PBEM

1/6/2020

Agricola

Only one p...

by usagi-san

Only one play so far. I enjoyed it. The theme really fit the mechanisms of the game. Enjoyable. I would play again. Possibly own too. Online Plays (boiteajeux.net) 2009-12-16 - Played with the "fuller" rules. 2009-12-12 - Bought 2010-09-18 - Sold 2012-11-01 -> 7.5 -> 8.5 (with the BAJ interface games are way faster and no setup/teardown) 2012-11-06 - Bought (Starlit Citadel)

1/6/2020

TurfMaster

Pretty goo...

by usagi-san

Pretty good horse-racing game. Fancy horses.

1/23/2019

1856

1 play. 5 ...

by usagi-san

1 play. 5 players. This was a very enjoyable game but we didn't finish after 5 hours. It was long but I keep thinking about this. I like the stock market manipulation and it is more business-oriented than the other train games. I am not sure that this is an appropriate introduction to the 18xx series though. 2008-01-27 - Wow! I finally finished a game of this. It was a 3 player game and we finished in about 6 hours! Wow, I am moving the rating up 7->8

1/23/2019

Airships

Meh. Didn'...

by usagi-san

Meh. Didn't tickle my fancy.

1/23/2019

Vanuatu

2012-09-28...

by usagi-san

2012-09-28 - Bought - Fallcon 25

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2008-04-01 - Bought

1/23/2019

Sushi Go!

2017-09-16...

by usagi-san

2017-09-16 - Bought starlit citadel; cute art

1/23/2019

Zooloretto

Cute. But ...

by usagi-san

Cute. But I would much rather play coloretto. This game just adds animal "fluff" to the beauty of Coloretto.

1/23/2019

Yspahan

Nice colou...

by usagi-san

Nice colours on the board but the 3d buildings confused me. A nice game, great use of dice but somehow it seems to be missing something. 2016-07-17 - River Market

1/23/2019

Walhalla

Only vague...

by usagi-san

Only vaguely remember playing this. It was fun and the time:enjoyment ratio was satisfactory however, I would play something else.

1/23/2019

Ur

Rating aft...

by usagi-san

Rating after 1 play. 3p. Dry. **Update** 2008/05/13 - Bumping rating up from 6.5 -> 7. It's still dry but the tension is just very thrilling. Still haven't played with more than 3 but I think the addition of the 4th will add even more to this. Lots to think about and plays in 60 min. PBEM - 2008/07/06 PBEM - 2008/08/15 2008/11/22 - Traded away as a prize during Magnesium 2008. (Got Democrazy as part of trade) Received 2008/04/01

1/23/2019

Vikings

Short. Nic...

by usagi-san

Short. Nice auction mechanism for placement of vikings. Would play again but there are other games I think would better fill my time. 2016-07-17 - River Market

1/23/2019

Vasco Da Gama

2010-02-01...

by usagi-san

2010-02-01 - Funny and clunky type of worker placement. It seemed a bit dry for me. But then again, I do like dry games. My initial thought was to return the copy that I own (still in shrink) but perhaps I should give this another try. 2009-12-26 - Bought 2016-07-17 - Sold River Market

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Hahah. Too hard. Skip it.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

All but one play of Ti3 has included this expansion. 2008-06-11 - Bought 2008-09-20 - Sold Fallcon 21 2012-10-27 - Bought. Yeah I know *le sigh* 2017-06-25 - Sold CG 2017-08-?? - Bought CG for a great price; base + BOTH expansions

1/23/2019

Twilight Struggle

Meh. Theme...

by usagi-san

Meh. Theme didn't cut it out for me and I can't believe it beat out T&E to get on to the top 5!

1/23/2019

Games Trias

Dry. And i...

by usagi-san

Dry. And it's about dinosaurs. Nice theme. Not one I would play again due to the sheer number of other games available.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2016-09-14 - Initial rating of 6. Have played the base game only 25 times and still I don't feel like I've learnt about the various characters :) This expansion is not needed for me at this time.

1/23/2019

Tom Tube

I enjoyed ...

by usagi-san

I enjoyed the first game; it is definitely a "boy's game" with names such as "Drifting Dave" and "Tom Tube". It's a very neat mechanism building routes and getting your little astronaut to and from places. Bought 2008/06/21 Sold 2008/09/20

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Low rating is due to dragon theme. Otherwise an ok game.

1/23/2019

Tahuantinsuyu

Neat game....

by usagi-san

Neat game. There isn't anything "bad" you can do to an opponent and I liked that about this game when I played. It is better to play with a sheet of plexiglass and wet erase markers. Would play again.

1/23/2019

Simply Catan

Exactly li...

by usagi-san

Exactly like Settlers. Didn't care for that one so not much change here. The bits are better and the hexes are "pre-built" in a sense. Flashier than Settlers. 2009-12-15 - Got in game exchange 2010-Oct-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23

1/23/2019

Risk: Black Ops

Sleeker lo...

by usagi-san

Sleeker look but Risk nonetheless. Not my cup of tea.

1/23/2019

Railways of Mexico

2009-XX-XX...

by usagi-san

2009-XX-XX - printed the fan made cards (tycoon and regular) from artscow.com; included in main Railways of the World box

1/23/2019

Railroad Barons

2012-11-08...

by usagi-san

2012-11-08 - Bought from BGG Marketplace 2013-09-28 - Sold Fallcon 26

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

It was ok. Nice "rondel" mechanism. There were a few rules bungles but the theme turns me off and it seemed a bit more convoluted than it needed to be. Highly prefer Imperial over this.

1/23/2019

Piece o' Cake

Bought 201...

by usagi-san

Bought 2010-May-16 2013-09-28 - Sold Fallcon 26

1/23/2019

Oregon

Light enou...

by usagi-san

Light enough. Colourful board. Too colourful perhaps. Neat scoring mechanism. My first game, I was about to win but another player beat me by one point because our third player played in such a way as to give an extra point away.

1/23/2019

Oware

Very quick...

by usagi-san

Very quick game but a bit to think about. An excellent and delightful way to spend a tactile few minutes with another. Received 2008/04/24 Sold 2009-09-19 at Fallcon 22

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Most of these are fun ... But board games are better ;)

1/23/2019

Oh, Pharaoh!

1 unfinish...

by usagi-san

1 unfinished game. It seemed interesting. If suggested, I would play again but I don't see playing this any time soon as there is only one fellow that I know that has this.

1/23/2019

Nefertiti

Kind of dr...

by usagi-san

Kind of dry for me. And a bit dull. I like the way the markets worked. My low rating was probably due to me not winning :) Won't buy and likely won't play again.

1/23/2019

Mykerinos

After 4 pl...

by usagi-san

After 4 plays. This is a fun little game and I like that it finishes in about 45-50 minutes. Setup is not that long and neither is the explanation of the rules. PBEM - 2008/07/19 - Found out I was playing some of the rules wrong! PBEM - 2008/09/25 PBEM - 2008/12/16 PBEM - 2008/12/24 PBEM - 2009/01/20 PBEM - 2009/02/23 2006-09-26 - Bought 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23

1/23/2019

Mission: Red Planet

{1play, 5p...

by usagi-san

{1play, 5p} It was an ok experience but there was just something that was missing for me.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

1play, 4 players. This was a crazy game and one player kept "psyching" me out over the timer thing which meant that I paid 200k for 3 auctions. A fun game though I am not sure about its lasting power. There are better Knizia games for me.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Never played with more than 3. I think the rating will go up once I play with a bigger group. 2007-06-17 - Still haven't played with more than 3 but bumping up the rating from 6 -> 7; I am liking this more. 2008-06-14 - Rating from 7->7.5 with 4. A very different game with more players. More chaotic, yes, but more intense! 2006-10-01 - Bought 2008-08-28 - Sold

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Not a bad game but one that I wouldn't play too often. The cards are very sturdy and the artwork is fun.

1/23/2019

Love Letter

2016-09-14...

by usagi-san

2016-09-14 - Played 1st time. Very easy to pick up. Fun deduction game and plays fast. 2016-09-26 - I prefer the game with 3; plays much faster for me and less chaotic; dropping rating from 7 -> 6.5 2017-09-16 - Bought starlitcitadel

1/23/2019

Long Shot

Horse raci...

by usagi-san

Horse racing game. Needs a lot of people and lots of nasty talk :) Good times with beer and friends.

1/23/2019

Kingsburg

Don't like...

by usagi-san

Don't like the fantasy theme but otherwise a pretty good game.

1/23/2019

Kill Shakespeare

Played the...

by usagi-san

Played the prototype. Probably a good game but the "cooperative" aspect is not my thing hence the low(er) rating.

1/23/2019

Labyrinth

It's not r...

by usagi-san

It's not really a kids game but I can see how it is engaging for them. First play was fun :)

1/23/2019

König von Siam

2009-09-21...

by usagi-san

2009-09-21 - Bought 2010-05-XX - Games For Geekgold - gone :)

1/23/2019

Kahuna

1 play. Th...

by usagi-san

1 play. The theme is not very exciting but it is a skillful game. I am not sure that I like two player games and games that involve cards so I will choose to play a number of games before I play this.

1/23/2019

Keltis

It's colou...

by usagi-san

It's colourful and fun. I didn't understand what I was doing but it is Lost Cities. I am not sure what I rated Lost Cities but this would have the same rating as well.

1/23/2019

Kreta

Tentative ...

by usagi-san

Tentative 6 rating for now. My only play was PBEM and that was just clicking on the screen. Rating will potentially go up after a better rules reading and playing. 2008-07-01 - PBEM 2009-09-19 - Bought Fallcon 22 2010-10-16 - Sold Fallcon 23

1/23/2019

India Rails

{3plays, 2...

by usagi-san

{3plays, 2player} Rating after 3 plays with 2: Wow, such a delightful game. It's tough at first to know where the cities are but after 2-3 playings we have found them. The game goes smoothly but there is a lot of planning involved. This game is seeing a lot of play in a very short time! Bonus! 2007-11-08 - Bought 2009-09-19 - Sold Fallcon 22

1/23/2019

Ingenious

1 play, 3 ...

by usagi-san

1 play, 3 players. It was fun and I liked the scoring track. After having played it and wanting it, it has gone down on my list. It is a fun enough game I think but I still prefer to play Through the Desert.

1/23/2019

Himalaya

Nice game ...

by usagi-san

Nice game of programming moves and running them. Fun and quick.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Not a bad game at all but likely won't play it. I only played a partial game of this (i.e. 1 turn) but it didn't do it for me. Beautiful and gorgeous components. Nice board but this is not the type of game I enjoy though I would much prefer playing this over Descent.

1/23/2019

Hansa Teutonica

I've only ...

by usagi-san

I've only played it a couple of times and I find it dry. Ha.

1/23/2019

Habitat

Card game....

by usagi-san

Card game. Nice play but not as interesting as other games that I have played. 2013-09-28 - Sold Fallcon 26

1/23/2019

Guatemala Cafe

2007-12-29...

by usagi-san

2007-12-29 - Received from [url=http://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/Wrevilo]Wrevilo[/url] as a holiday gift! 2008-09-20 - Sold Fallcon 21

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Bruno's design and blind bidding. It gets repetitive after one round and the fantasy theme is not appealing to me. Strangely, I find Dragon's Gold to be Bruno's more enjoyable game.

1/23/2019

Falling

A neat gam...

by usagi-san

A neat game but not one that I want to play again. Also like Bang! it is quite a morbid concept.

1/23/2019

Elfenland

For a pick...

by usagi-san

For a pick up and deliver game, this is pretty good. It does show its age though. However, I think it is much better with the elfengold expansion which adds another extraordinary dimension to the game.... at the expense of basically adding another hour to gameplay :(

1/23/2019

Dvonn Board Game

1play. Yes...

by usagi-san

1play. Yes it is part of the GIPF series and it was fun. I loved the pieces but there wasn't much that grabbed me. Based on my game plays and my ratings, the abstracts don't really appeal to me.

1/23/2019

Elfengold

Excellent ...

by usagi-san

Excellent and probably a much needed addition to Elfenland for gamers.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2010-11-29 - I love the idea of prosperity. I think it is an excellent expansion and the added "Platinum" and "Colony" cards just add that extra bit of "oomph"... just remember that "10" is the new "7" 2010-10-16 - Bought 2013-08-28 - Sold (selling Dominion collection)

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Fun family game. Would play it again but you need the right group and the light fluffy mood to play it ;)

1/23/2019

Dragon's Gold

I really l...

by usagi-san

I really like the timer bit. It can be mean if everyone decides to pick on somebody but if taken in jest, then this is a hilarious game. The point of this game is not to win but to cause as much chaotic fun as possible. Naturally you want to play with like-minded people else it just drags for the 45 minutes or so.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2009-04-19 - Not bad. Seems powerful at the beginning because it is easy to rack up the cards to buy more money. But if played with the thief its effect is mitigated a bit. 2013-08-28 - Sold (selling Dominion collection)

1/23/2019

Doge

I like thi...

by usagi-san

I like this game. It's blind bidding and area control. I used to think that I didn't like either of these two mechanisms but they are growing on me. It is also a neat turn order mechanism like Wallenstein/Shogun and there is a bit of tension with either making use of the advisor or moving a house. I think the gameplay is fun but Colovini's style shows through. Nice chunky pieces and I enjoy that very much. I am thinking that this is very similar to Ys but Ys is partial blind-bidding which makes that game more prone to careful analysis. This is quicker than that game though. I will play again. 2008-06-21 - Bought 2009-09-19 - Sold Fallcon 22

1/23/2019

Crokinole

2008-07-06...

by usagi-san

2008-07-06 - Bought at Stampede 2008; michaudtoys.com 2014-05-30 - Sold

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

A laugh and a holler! I never had so much fun. But I don't like party games :)

1/23/2019

Control Nut!

It was a n...

by usagi-san

It was a nice card game but I am not that good at taking tricks. Certainly wouldn't mind playing again but I think there are other games that I enjoy more. The plus is that this is very easily taught.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

A light enough game. This was among one of the first games that I played when I began this hobby. At that time it was fun but after being exposed to a number of games since, it has not figured prominently on gaming days. **Update** 2008/06/05 - About a year and a half since I've played it last. Dropping rating from 7 -> 5 because if I had a choice, I wouldn't play this.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2008-07-04 - Wow. Very nice map and much better than the original. The port cities and the border towns make a big difference in the way you play. 2007-11-26 - Made the Print 'n' play version

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2012-10-28 - I won my first play (4p) of this at Fallcon 24. I thought it was one round too long. It was ok and I would perhaps play it again. 2016-08-15 - Bought BoardGameBliss 2018-10-28 - 2nd play (2p)... exactly 6 years ago! Rating 6.5 -> 7 2018-11-18 - Enjoyed with the missus; 7 -> 8 (she says 9)

1/23/2019

Boomtown

Played two...

by usagi-san

Played two games, back to back. It was surprisingly a bit of fun. Not bad with 4.

1/23/2019

Blokus

A very big...

by usagi-san

A very big box. Pieces are so-so and I am not too enthralled with the game. In the beginning, it seems as if there is a lot of space to manouevre but that quickly changes! It is not for the "too-thinky" kind of people that I play with.

1/23/2019

Bootleggers

2007-09-22...

by usagi-san

2007-09-22 - Bought at Fallcon 20 2008-08-28 - Sold

1/23/2019

Blokus Duo

Bletch. I ...

by usagi-san

Bletch. I disliked Blokus and it's the same for this game :)

1/23/2019

Beowulf

{1play,4pl...

by usagi-san

{1play,4player} The board was an awkward shape--at least one that I wasn't used to--but that didn't detract from the game. Very lavish graphics courtesy of Fantasy Flight.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2012-10-28 - Well I love the game and this is a really nice expansion for the game.

1/23/2019

Bellhop

Fun family...

by usagi-san

Fun family-type game. I enjoyed my 1 play of it. The prototype board was well laid out and the colours were very era-appropriate. See my review for details.

1/23/2019

Games Attika

Played thi...

by usagi-san

Played this way back when. I recall it was quite dry. Either a 2p game or a 4p game. Or so I've heard.

1/23/2019

Antike

Dry. But I...

by usagi-san

Dry. But I liked it. The rondel is a fun thing because all the actions are such little micro-actions. This is a good thing if you have players who are prone to taking their sweet time playing. Did I mention it was dry? Well, it is but it is an enjoyable two hour romp.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

A card game like Go Fish. Fun to spend some time waiting for others but not one that I would purchase or play if I had a choice.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

2009-02-21 - Initial rating! Brutal.

1/23/2019

by usagi-san

Can play in 20 min easily. It's not quite the same feel as Agricola but setup and tear down is waaaaay faster.

1/23/2019

7 Wonders

Nice produ...

by usagi-san

Nice production. It's a fun game; card drafting like Fairy Tale but more "fun" :) 2018-10-18 - Bought CG

1/23/2019

Union Pacific

Rating aft...

by usagi-san

Rating after one play. I wish I could get this game because it seems to have a lot of promise but, unfortunately, it is out of print. And it looks like it is only adding to my growing train craze. 2007-06-25 - Bought 2008-06-14 - Played with 4 and thought it was much better than with 6; wouldn't want to play it more than 4. 2013-09-08 - Rating from 8 -> 9; way too much fun with my now-grown-up cousins! Yay for family time!

1/21/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

Didn't lik...

by usagi-san

Didn't like this game at first but I kept mulling over the game for a couple of weeks afterwards. Mulled long enough to buy. Good thing I did so because this is a fun-filled jaunt to be sure. I think I like this game with open scoring. It makes it more likely that conflict will be a big issue in the game; plus that's how I played it PBEM. 2006-11-18 - Bought 2008-07-09 - PBEM 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23 2010-10-15 - Bought at Fallcon 24 (funny, huh?) 2019-01-13 - Sold; Richmond gamer

1/21/2019