trentellingsen Reviews

These reviews were left by trentellingsen.

Gloomhaven

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

9/5/2019

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

8/31/2019

Pipeline

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

8/19/2019

Century: Spice Road

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

The game is wonderful and I like how easy it is to teach and jump in. I will say that after playing Golem Edition this one does feel a bit lacking.

8/15/2019

Tiny Towns

Solid puzzle!

by trentellingsen

This game felt like a great set of puzzles and outplaying your opponent. Making the city was great and we immediately played it again after the first round

8/10/2019

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

8/8/2019

The Estates

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

8/7/2019

Joust for Fun

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

7/29/2019

Cake Duel

Components, Box and Art are great. But that's it

by trentellingsen

The actual gameplay fell short. I can see what the strategy style it's going for with bluffing and outplaying your opponent but it's very limited and because it's dueling focused it's harder to imagine ever playing this over love letter.

7/29/2019

by trentellingsen

What a spectacular way to enjoy a night. I was putting off playing it since I don’t really like the original Pandemic all that much but I should have played sooner! What a great first month and I look forward to more!

7/28/2019

Wingspan

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

7/24/2019

Welcome to...

Best Roll and write

by trentellingsen

This is my favorite roll and write and such a great game for new gamers!!

7/6/2019

Tournament of Towers

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

5/27/2019

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

5/21/2019

Dungeon Drop

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

The art is lovely and wonderful and the idea is novel, but the actual gameplay is lacking. It felt like most of the abilities didn't have an effect and the visual noise to work through was a little much trying to look a table full of scattered cubes. I think adding a "flick" step in each turn would make the game a lot better because it just ins't interactive enough at this point for me to want to play it again.

5/20/2019

Wisdom of Solomon

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

Solid worker placement game! The fortune cards were a little confusing at first but add a lot of fun to the game!

5/8/2019

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

4/24/2019

Kings of Israel

Pandemic Like Game

by trentellingsen

It was easy to catch onto the rules since it’s got a lot of mechanics similar to Pandemic. I liked the theme and how well each different component interacted mechanically that felt thematically appealing.

4/17/2019

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

4/11/2019

by trentellingsen

The concept and mechanics were fine. It just felt a little lack luster over all. I’d rather play Last Stand if I want the kind of dice rolling experience that this is trying to go for.

4/10/2019

by trentellingsen

I really like having this game to be able to play while our group is waiting for the last person to come. It's probably the best game to fit this need.

2/13/2019

Poker

Love the strategy

by trentellingsen

I just started playing poker again and wow the depth of strategy is fantastic and so much fun! I'm playing a lot of Texas Hold 'em right now.

2/13/2019

Ice Cool

Awesome dexterity game

by trentellingsen

This was so awesome playing with my wife!

2/11/2019

Dominion: Intrigue 2nd Edition

Fantastic addition to the base set

by trentellingsen

I really love the new dynamics of the cards and how they fit in with classic Dominion!

2/2/2019

DC Deck-Building Game

I'd rather play Ascension

by trentellingsen

It was fun but ultimately felt like a much longer and drawn out game of Ascension. I'd rather just play multiple rounds of Ascension instead.

1/21/2019

POOP: The Game

Very disappointed

by trentellingsen

I got this game as a gift and of course the theme is silly, but the gameplay was terrible.

1/18/2019

by trentellingsen

It’s a simple introduction to coop board games but I don’t think I’ll be playing it anymore.

1/17/2019

Enfutown Bumpers

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

1/14/2019

Railroad Ink: Blazing Red

Great fun for larger groups

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

1/8/2019

Last Stand

No Review Title

by trentellingsen

No Review Description

1/3/2019

Skull

Solid bluffing game

by trentellingsen

I’m definitely not good at bluffing games but this is fantastic. It’s elegantly designed and playing with the discs and fun art makes it special.

12/26/2018

Decrypto

Like codenames but more thinking and more laughing

by trentellingsen

It was fun and still different enough that I’m glad I have both this and codenames in my collection.

12/26/2018

by trentellingsen

I was excited after playing the original so much but it felt a little less fun. The images are clever but it felt difficult to connect more thab 2 or 3 each turn.

12/23/2018

Coup

It was fun

by trentellingsen

We played it a few times and I keep thinking its a great game but I recently realized that I never choose it.

12/18/2018

Reef

Wonderful simple and tactile game

by trentellingsen

It's so enjoyable to place these pieces and fun to solve the puzzle of how to optimize points!

11/26/2018

Codenames

Great for a Bunch and Even for 2!

by trentellingsen

The game is great with the intended 4-8 player count but what was surprising is that it's pretty great with just 2 and 3 players too! It's a fun quick alternative coop game that I can pull out instead of something heavier like Pandemic to play with my wife!

11/23/2018

Santorini

So replayable!

by trentellingsen

The base game is great and I love how quick it is to teach. The god cards though. They make the game so great! I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how much fun it’s been with 2 and 3 players!

11/14/2018

Root

Battle of the Forest

by trentellingsen

This game is all about the asymmetry. It's created such a fun balance between shared goals and unique interactions. It's certainly got a great aesthetic as well.

10/19/2018

Imhotep

Wonderful Strategy Game

by trentellingsen

This game has continually grown on me. It's such a fun mash up of mechanics and theme that stands out. I'm a fan of the open information style game where you need to make optimal decisions and play off of your opponents. If you play 1v1 it is seemingly even in terms of how well each player can score but the burden is higher for the second player to make the right decisions each turn. Overall I always enjoy bringing it to the table though!

10/16/2018

Pandemic: Iberia

Great Co-op Game

by trentellingsen

I just played this for the first time last night and had a pretty good time. We got down to only 2 player cards in the deck which made it exciting to win at the last minute. It isn't a game I'd pick off the shelf for my next game night but that's probably because Co-op games are a little lower on my list in general. Overall a fun game though!

10/8/2018

Dominion 2nd Edition

My Favorite Game

by trentellingsen

This is the game I continually bring to teach newer gamers and know that I can enjoy with experienced gamers at the table too. It’s so quick to teach and full of fun!

10/8/2018

Azul

Fantastic

by trentellingsen

I played this 13 times in the first two days. It's my new go to for players who are new gamers!

10/8/2018