thomasjbradley Reviews

These reviews were left by thomasjbradley.

Via Nebula

The gamepl...

by thomasjbradley

The gameplay is complex enough to keep us engaged—and it’s really fast with just the two of us—with a fun theme. The production quality is fantastic: amazing artwork, amazing wooden resource tokens—and the insert is divine, even for standing the box on its side.

2/16/2019

Troyes

We very mu...

by thomasjbradley

We very much enjoyed the game. The decisions are really difficult and require a lot of thinking. It works really well as a 2-player game. I love the illustration style, but my gaming partner does not. Either way the component quality is fantastic.

2/16/2019

Ora et Labora

Super grea...

by thomasjbradley

Super great, thinky game—we just loved playing the game—though quite long. I personally liked it because I didn’t constantly feel like I was fighting my gaming partner to complete my village. Great components, good graphic design & good illustrations.

2/16/2019

Morels

A fun, med...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, medium-weight game that we both really enjoy. It has good decisions without being overly complex. My gaming partner does find it really stressful, which I think is caused by the unpredictability of the game engine.

2/16/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds some nice variability.

2/16/2019

by thomasjbradley

A nice addition to Orleans without too many drastic changes. The addition of the contracts make the map more useful and the new beneficial deeds board adds more helpful choices.

2/16/2019

Madeira

Amazing—an...

by thomasjbradley

Amazing—and hard. It’s not the kind of game I’d want to play every night because it’s completely brain melting but my partner and I absolutely loved the game and revelled in it’s difficulty.

2/16/2019

Kingdomino

I really f...

by thomasjbradley

I really fun, light, fast game. The spacial aspects and tile choosing is great. The component quality is fantastic. The little touch of the 3D castles if fun, totally unnecessary, but great.

2/16/2019

Lost Cities

It’s fairl...

by thomasjbradley

It’s fairly simple but we enjoy the strategy of the this game—and especially love that it’s so quick to play.

2/16/2019

Indigo

We really ...

by thomasjbradley

We really enjoyed the game: it’s light & easy to play but with tough decisions and some decent competition. The production quality is pretty good, the insert is quite nice. I would have like to see bigger gems, maybe glass, but that doesn’t really detract from the quality play time.

2/16/2019

by thomasjbradley

An absolutely fabulous game. I was very reticent to get it because it’s always so expensive and have always heard many mixed review. But it’s fantastic: good decisions, fast play time and lots of variability.

2/16/2019

Honshū

A fun, fai...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, fairly light, puzzly game with enough decisions to keep us engaged. The 2-player experience is different than the 3-player experience, though I’m not sure if we enjoy one better than the other.

2/16/2019

Gold West

We absolut...

by thomasjbradley

We absolutely loved the game—the puzzle was a little more difficult than we expected, but still very enjoyable. The production quality was fantastic, as expected from TMG.

2/16/2019

The Gallerist

We absolut...

by thomasjbradley

We absolutely love the game! It took us a little while to understand the mechanics—and we still don’t understand what strategies to take—but it’s fantastic. The graphic design & iconography is superb and the insert & components are wonderful.

2/16/2019

by thomasjbradley

A really fun & creative game. Making the dinosaur skeletons brings out a lot of laughs. My gaming partner & I loved the game more than expected and can’t wait to play it with our daughter. The production quality, graphic design & illustration was fantastic. (Just my inner graphic designer was a little irked by some of the kerning.)

2/16/2019

Fresco

An enjoyab...

by thomasjbradley

An enjoyable game with a fun theme. The idea of choosing when to get up in the morning & it affecting your mood is really poignant. Overall it’s a little too easy for our tastes but is good for nights when we’re tired. We aren’t a big fan of the dummy player—though this one isn’t too bad.

2/16/2019

Dragon Castle

Amazing pr...

by thomasjbradley

Amazing production quality and a wonderfully think-y game.

2/16/2019

First Orchard

An fun lit...

by thomasjbradley

An fun little kids game. Our kiddo is still a little to young to understand and comprehend the rules but she enjoys the large, chunky fruit pieces.

2/16/2019

Code Monkey Island

Fun progra...

by thomasjbradley

Fun programming game that’s not too complicated—works great with kids. The artwork is fresh.

2/16/2019

Carcassonne

Super fun,...

by thomasjbradley

Super fun, light, peaceful game. We enjoyed that it wasn’t too complicated and that it was very quick.

2/16/2019

by thomasjbradley

Pennsylvania: A nice addition to the system with very few changes. We very much enjoy the stock aspect because it changes up the end-game and makes it less predictable. UK: We absolutely love the UK board—it’s much think-y-er than we were expecting and is comparable in difficulty to other games that we very much enjoy.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Pennsylvania: A nice addition to the system with very few changes. We very much enjoy the stock aspect because it changes up the end-game and makes it less predictable. UK: We absolutely love the UK board—it’s much think-y-er than we were expecting and is comparable in difficulty to other games that we very much enjoy.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds some nice variability.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds some nice variability.

2/14/2019

Hawaii

A fun game...

by thomasjbradley

A fun game with interesting strategy and good decisions. It has similar mechanics to other games (very similar to Vikings) but was different enough for us to still really enjoy it. The one thing that struck me the most was how, in a point-salady–like game like this, you actually have to choose what to get points for by selecting specific tiles. Near the end of our first game I realized that I wasn’t really concentrating on point generators but on just building my villages which don’t necessarily give points. Also the wooden feet are awesome!

2/14/2019

Hawaii

A fun game...

by thomasjbradley

A fun game with interesting strategy and good decisions. It has similar mechanics to other games (very similar to Vikings) but was different enough for us to still really enjoy it. The one thing that struck me the most was how, in a point-salady–like game like this, you actually have to choose what to get points for by selecting specific tiles. Near the end of our first game I realized that I wasn’t really concentrating on point generators but on just building my villages which don’t necessarily give points. Also the wooden feet are awesome!

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Makes the game so much better—with more varied and complex decisions and lots more ways to build engines (pun intended).

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Makes the game so much better—with more varied and complex decisions and lots more ways to build engines (pun intended).

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

An enjoyable gateway game with enough challenge to keep us engaged. The randomness of the round disks is great. My gaming partner was initially disappointed that you only got one worker-placement per round but eventually enjoyed the idea. The production quality and illustrations were fantastic.

2/14/2019

Whistle Stop

It’s super...

by thomasjbradley

It’s super straight-forward to play, with interesting decisions and a hint of analysis paralysis—just what we like. We love how simply it flows and how, really, all you’re doing on your turn is moving your trains. The graphic design and illustration is simple, functional and really well done.

2/14/2019

Whistle Stop

It’s super...

by thomasjbradley

It’s super straight-forward to play, with interesting decisions and a hint of analysis paralysis—just what we like. We love how simply it flows and how, really, all you’re doing on your turn is moving your trains. The graphic design and illustration is simple, functional and really well done.

2/14/2019

ZhanGuo

We really ...

by thomasjbradley

We really love the game, it’s simple to play but we keep forgetting points for palaces. The level of difficulty makes for really great decisions. The artwork & production values are wonderful.

2/14/2019

ZhanGuo

We really ...

by thomasjbradley

We really love the game, it’s simple to play but we keep forgetting points for palaces. The level of difficulty makes for really great decisions. The artwork & production values are wonderful.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

We really enjoyed the game quite a lot! It was surprisingly more complex than we anticipated—but that’s okay because we love complex.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

We really enjoyed the game quite a lot! It was surprisingly more complex than we anticipated—but that’s okay because we love complex.

2/14/2019

Vikings

The theme ...

by thomasjbradley

The theme is fun and it has some decent level of thinkyness and strategy without being too overwhelming. It’s like a slightly more complex version of Carcassonne—still including the relaxing aspects.

2/14/2019

Vikings

The theme ...

by thomasjbradley

The theme is fun and it has some decent level of thinkyness and strategy without being too overwhelming. It’s like a slightly more complex version of Carcassonne—still including the relaxing aspects.

2/14/2019

Yokohama

A really e...

by thomasjbradley

A really enjoyable, brain-burning game with lots of great decisions and lots of ways to victory. The mechanics are extremely simple and fulfilling. We have the deluxe edition which has the most amazing components!

2/14/2019

Yamatai

Really enj...

by thomasjbradley

Really enjoyable and much more difficult than we expected. There unfortunately isn’t much strategizing—it’s purely tactical because you can’t plan too far ahead because you’re opponent will probably mess it up. The production quality & illustrations are amazing! The insert isn’t as nice as Quadropolis but works okay.

2/14/2019

Yamatai

Really enj...

by thomasjbradley

Really enjoyable and much more difficult than we expected. There unfortunately isn’t much strategizing—it’s purely tactical because you can’t plan too far ahead because you’re opponent will probably mess it up. The production quality & illustrations are amazing! The insert isn’t as nice as Quadropolis but works okay.

2/14/2019

Vasco Da Gama

Gameplay w...

by thomasjbradley

Gameplay was really fun and engaging with great problems to solve. Choosing the numbered order token was a very interesting mechanic that we’ve never encountered before. The decisions were difficult but not overly stressful. The production quality & illustrations were good, as expected from What’s Your Game.

2/14/2019

Vasco Da Gama

Gameplay w...

by thomasjbradley

Gameplay was really fun and engaging with great problems to solve. Choosing the numbered order token was a very interesting mechanic that we’ve never encountered before. The decisions were difficult but not overly stressful. The production quality & illustrations were good, as expected from What’s Your Game.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Absolutely love this game! It’s like a think-y version of Dominion. So far I’d say it’s our favourite deck builder. The component quality was fantastic. We got some good chuckles out of the history written on every card.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Absolutely love this game! It’s like a think-y version of Dominion. So far I’d say it’s our favourite deck builder. The component quality was fantastic. We got some good chuckles out of the history written on every card.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds a nice variety to the base game without changing too much. And having women in the game is a very welcome addition.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds a nice variety to the base game without changing too much. And having women in the game is a very welcome addition.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

The worker placement & gear mechanic provides for some good strategy and required forethought. The game is really enjoyable at two players, but at four players it takes a little too long between turns. The production quality of the gears and the components as well as the illustration is all fantastic.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

The worker placement & gear mechanic provides for some good strategy and required forethought. The game is really enjoyable at two players, but at four players it takes a little too long between turns. The production quality of the gears and the components as well as the illustration is all fantastic.

2/14/2019

Vinhos Deluxe

An absolut...

by thomasjbradley

An absolutely fantastic game: mechanically simple with very difficult decisions—just what we like! The production quality & illustrations are stunning!

2/14/2019

Vinhos Deluxe

An absolut...

by thomasjbradley

An absolutely fantastic game: mechanically simple with very difficult decisions—just what we like! The production quality & illustrations are stunning!

2/14/2019

Unicorn Glitterluck

Really fun...

by thomasjbradley

Really fun & simple. Our 3-year old enjoys the game and can grasp the rules well—if she chooses to. The production values are great—especially the cute unicorn-eeples!

2/14/2019

Unicorn Glitterluck

Really fun...

by thomasjbradley

Really fun & simple. Our 3-year old enjoys the game and can grasp the rules well—if she chooses to. The production values are great—especially the cute unicorn-eeples!

2/14/2019

Tsuro of the Seas

Playing by...

by thomasjbradley

Playing by ourselves isn’t too engaging—with kids it’s more fun for sure. Aiming to fill the board as much as possible does add a little more challenge. We usually just play this as plain Tsuro and drop the whole sea monster stuff because it doesn’t really add to the game for us.

2/14/2019

Tsuro of the Seas

Playing by...

by thomasjbradley

Playing by ourselves isn’t too engaging—with kids it’s more fun for sure. Aiming to fill the board as much as possible does add a little more challenge. We usually just play this as plain Tsuro and drop the whole sea monster stuff because it doesn’t really add to the game for us.

2/14/2019

Sushi Go Party!

A fun, qui...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, quick, simple game. And the artwork is really cute.

2/14/2019

Sushi Go Party!

A fun, qui...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, quick, simple game. And the artwork is really cute.

2/14/2019

Trambahn

It’s a fun...

by thomasjbradley

It’s a fun and challenging game with a good amount of strategy in a short time.

2/14/2019

Trambahn

It’s a fun...

by thomasjbradley

It’s a fun and challenging game with a good amount of strategy in a short time.

2/14/2019

Tobago

Very uniqu...

by thomasjbradley

Very unique mechanics, super smooth to play and a decent amount of thinking makes this game really wonderful. The production quality is top-notch with the resin sculptures and amazing trees. And the illustration is fantastic.

2/14/2019

Tobago

Very uniqu...

by thomasjbradley

Very unique mechanics, super smooth to play and a decent amount of thinking makes this game really wonderful. The production quality is top-notch with the resin sculptures and amazing trees. And the illustration is fantastic.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

The puzzle of delegating labour to plant & harvest the paddies and the flow of water is absolutely fantastic. We had troubles remembering the flow of play and a couple times did things slightly out of order or forgot to claim achievements. The production quality is great, especially the inset boards. Also, the addition of the official Rahdo Care Bear variant is wonderful, we probably would have removed the mean cards anyways.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

The puzzle of delegating labour to plant & harvest the paddies and the flow of water is absolutely fantastic. We had troubles remembering the flow of play and a couple times did things slightly out of order or forgot to claim achievements. The production quality is great, especially the inset boards. Also, the addition of the official Rahdo Care Bear variant is wonderful, we probably would have removed the mean cards anyways.

2/14/2019

Signorie

Really cha...

by thomasjbradley

Really challenging with interesting decisions to make—a real brain melting game. The sexism is obvious when explaining but doesn’t really come through too strongly when playing. The illustration and production quality are good—as expected from What’s Your Game?

2/14/2019

Signorie

Really cha...

by thomasjbradley

Really challenging with interesting decisions to make—a real brain melting game. The sexism is obvious when explaining but doesn’t really come through too strongly when playing. The illustration and production quality are good—as expected from What’s Your Game?

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds a little more complexity to the game—we often play this one instead.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds a little more complexity to the game—we often play this one instead.

2/14/2019

Trajan

Fun brain ...

by thomasjbradley

Fun brain challenge. My partner finds that there are too many things going on that it doesn’t present her with a direct strategy. But after more plays is starting to develop her own strategies.

2/14/2019

Trajan

Fun brain ...

by thomasjbradley

Fun brain challenge. My partner finds that there are too many things going on that it doesn’t present her with a direct strategy. But after more plays is starting to develop her own strategies.

2/14/2019

Tikal

A really e...

by thomasjbradley

A really enjoyable, straight-forward game, with good decisions. We didn’t find it to be nearly as AP-prone as people suggest. We got the Super Meeple (French) edition with the resin temples: it’s absolutely beautiful.

2/14/2019

Tikal

A really e...

by thomasjbradley

A really enjoyable, straight-forward game, with good decisions. We didn’t find it to be nearly as AP-prone as people suggest. We got the Super Meeple (French) edition with the resin temples: it’s absolutely beautiful.

2/14/2019

Steam Time

We enjoyed...

by thomasjbradley

We enjoyed the game very much—it’s more thinky that we originally expected. The theme is really fun and the little blimp-eeples are really fantastic.

2/14/2019

Steam Time

We enjoyed...

by thomasjbradley

We enjoyed the game very much—it’s more thinky that we originally expected. The theme is really fun and the little blimp-eeples are really fantastic.

2/14/2019

Star Realms

A super fu...

by thomasjbradley

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

Star Realms

A super fu...

by thomasjbradley

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

Shipyard

The game i...

by thomasjbradley

The game is really great with lots of interesting and difficult decisions. There are lots of mechanisms and roundels but they all mesh together really nicely. Building out your boats and sailing them is very satisfying and engaging. The production quality is good with lots of cardboard. It does definitely require a plastic organizational bin to keep everything easy to set up.

2/14/2019

Shipyard

The game i...

by thomasjbradley

The game is really great with lots of interesting and difficult decisions. There are lots of mechanisms and roundels but they all mesh together really nicely. Building out your boats and sailing them is very satisfying and engaging. The production quality is good with lots of cardboard. It does definitely require a plastic organizational bin to keep everything easy to set up.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

We loved the near characters and actions—and especially loved that we got to use all five workers each round. The backstage component makes the game significantly more brain-meltingly difficult to play—and therefore adds lots of time—but it still super fun.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

We loved the near characters and actions—and especially loved that we got to use all five workers each round. The backstage component makes the game significantly more brain-meltingly difficult to play—and therefore adds lots of time—but it still super fun.

2/14/2019

Ticket To Ride

One of my ...

by thomasjbradley

One of my partner’s all time favourites—and rightly so, it’s a simple, fun game. Works well at 2 people but just as well with more people.

2/14/2019

Ticket To Ride

One of my ...

by thomasjbradley

One of my partner’s all time favourites—and rightly so, it’s a simple, fun game. Works well at 2 people but just as well with more people.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Doesn’t really change the base game, just gives more variety. We tried playing it as a 3-player game and found it fun. We’re a very non-conflict group so there wasn’t really any teaming up and everybody’s points dropped about the same pace. Which kept the game enjoyable and peaceful.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Doesn’t really change the base game, just gives more variety. We tried playing it as a 3-player game and found it fun. We’re a very non-conflict group so there wasn’t really any teaming up and everybody’s points dropped about the same pace. Which kept the game enjoyable and peaceful.

2/14/2019

Shakespeare

A really f...

by thomasjbradley

A really fun & engaging game. We thoroughly enjoyed the mechanics and the level of difficulty. The artwork & illustrations were fantastic.

2/14/2019

Shakespeare

A really f...

by thomasjbradley

A really fun & engaging game. We thoroughly enjoyed the mechanics and the level of difficulty. The artwork & illustrations were fantastic.

2/14/2019

Snowdonia

The idea o...

by thomasjbradley

The idea of competing to build a railway is really interesting the worker-placement mechanics are simple and straight forward. There’s lots of interesting and difficult decisions and many ways to get points. We immensely enjoyed it. The production quality is fantastic—but I would have preferred the first edition with the wooden worker pawns instead of the plastic minis, it would have made for better hand feel.

2/14/2019

Snowdonia

The idea o...

by thomasjbradley

The idea of competing to build a railway is really interesting the worker-placement mechanics are simple and straight forward. There’s lots of interesting and difficult decisions and many ways to get points. We immensely enjoyed it. The production quality is fantastic—but I would have preferred the first edition with the wooden worker pawns instead of the plastic minis, it would have made for better hand feel.

2/14/2019

Santa's Workshop

A fun, sim...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, simple worker placement game with an enjoyable theme. It’s pretty lightweight, lighter than Lords of Waterdeep, with an interesting mechanic for completing the gifts. The illustration is overall a little too dark for what I’d expect from a Christmas themed game.

2/14/2019

Santa's Workshop

A fun, sim...

by thomasjbradley

A fun, simple worker placement game with an enjoyable theme. It’s pretty lightweight, lighter than Lords of Waterdeep, with an interesting mechanic for completing the gifts. The illustration is overall a little too dark for what I’d expect from a Christmas themed game.

2/14/2019

Sagrada

An absolut...

by thomasjbradley

An absolutely wonderful game with fun decisions that have enough weight to make them meaningful. The production quality of the game is absolutely fantastic with the insertable game boards and the multi-level window boards.

2/14/2019

Sagrada

An absolut...

by thomasjbradley

An absolutely wonderful game with fun decisions that have enough weight to make them meaningful. The production quality of the game is absolutely fantastic with the insertable game boards and the multi-level window boards.

2/14/2019

by thomasjbradley

Adds nice variability and different paths to victory without changing the game dramatically—which is great!

2/14/2019

Rococo

We absolut...

by thomasjbradley

We absolutely love the game—it’s got much more braining than we expected. The theme is so unique and fantastic, production is great and the artwork is very well done.

2/14/2019

Rococo

We absolut...

by thomasjbradley

We absolutely love the game—it’s got much more braining than we expected. The theme is so unique and fantastic, production is great and the artwork is very well done.

2/14/2019

Santa Maria

This game ...

by thomasjbradley

This game contains so many different things that we enjoy: dice drafting, tile placement, contracts, resource collection—it’s just wonderful. The game offers lots of different and wonderful decisions. The production quality is great, the illustrations are really nice & sharp—and we especially love the smiley faces (though my partner things they’re maybe a little creepy).

2/14/2019

Santa Maria

This game ...

by thomasjbradley

This game contains so many different things that we enjoy: dice drafting, tile placement, contracts, resource collection—it’s just wonderful. The game offers lots of different and wonderful decisions. The production quality is great, the illustrations are really nice & sharp—and we especially love the smiley faces (though my partner things they’re maybe a little creepy).

2/14/2019

Russian Railroads

Super thin...

by thomasjbradley

Super thinking and really fun game with lots of variable options for scoring victory points. The production quality and illustrations were top-notch.

2/14/2019

Russian Railroads

Super thin...

by thomasjbradley

Super thinking and really fun game with lots of variable options for scoring victory points. The production quality and illustrations were top-notch.

2/14/2019

Sanssouci

Very simpl...

by thomasjbradley

Very simple, straight-forward mechanisms and lots of fun. We played it three times consecutively the first time! The theme of making a garden is fun and the decisions are simple but still challenging enough. The production quality is excellent—we love the extra thick garden tiles.

2/14/2019

Sanssouci

Very simpl...

by thomasjbradley

Very simple, straight-forward mechanisms and lots of fun. We played it three times consecutively the first time! The theme of making a garden is fun and the decisions are simple but still challenging enough. The production quality is excellent—we love the extra thick garden tiles.

2/14/2019

Quadropolis

A quick, f...

by thomasjbradley

A quick, fun puzzler of a game. The theme is very light but the grid-number mechanic is unique. Production values are fantastic—especially that the box interior was designed to be stood on its side.

2/14/2019