thingamarob Reviews

These reviews were left by thingamarob.

Ice Lake

Lame. Can...

by thingamarob

Lame. Can't find it. (9/13/14)

1/22/2019

Completto

This game ...

by thingamarob

This game is like an addictive snack.

1/22/2019

Games Attika

I've only ...

by thingamarob

I've only played two-player on BSW and I like it a lot.

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

DONATE

1/22/2019

The Palaces of Carrara

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Hanabi

Too stress...

by thingamarob

Too stressful for some.

1/22/2019

Rise of Augustus

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Hamsterrolle

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

King of Tokyo

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Rocky Road a la Mode

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

The 7th Continent

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Ganz schön clever

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Forbidden Island

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Dominant Species

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Tides of Time

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Thurn and Taxis

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Star Wars: Rebellion

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

World's Fair 1893

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Timeline: Events

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Telestrations

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

donation to library

1/22/2019

Manhattan

Excellent ...

by thingamarob

Excellent introductory game.

1/22/2019

Connect 4 Game

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Cockroach Poker

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Coldwater Crown

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Between Two Cities

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Brass: Birmingham

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Century: Spice Road

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

I really like this as a two player game.

1/22/2019

Quicksand Game

This game ...

by thingamarob

This game is quite a bit of fun. Not just a ton of control, but the deduction aspect makes it stand out to me. This is a game that I have no trouble getting just about anyone to play.

1/22/2019

Kingdomino

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

La Isla

You can re...

by thingamarob

You can really get screwed by the card draw in La Isla, but puzzling out the best combo for the current board state each turn is fun.

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

Fun game. Accessible to kids and adults alike.

1/22/2019

Hawaii

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Hanamikoji

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Happy Salmon

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

The Gallerist

First 4-pl...

by thingamarob

First 4-player game took a little under 3 hours.

1/22/2019

Gaia Project

Any game I...

by thingamarob

Any game I can play for hours and hours and not notice how much time has passed is top notch. The build-up to that one huge move, the balance between tactics and strategy, the ability to destroy the plans of others or see yours destroyed because your "friend" built a better federation than you out of nowhere: all of these factors make for a fantastic game. I also like the math crunch that occurs in the last two* rounds and the weird balancing act of rewinding your buildings to jive with the round scoring. This game might become a 10 for me. *Experts are probably crunching the entire game.

1/22/2019

The Estates

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Ethnos

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Can't Stop

Fun, press...

by thingamarob

Fun, press-your-luck game. It really is hard to stop.

1/22/2019

Carcassonne

This was o...

by thingamarob

This was one of the first Euro games I ever bought. I had a hard time getting my wife interested, but my buddies and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I like the "screw your neighbor" aspect of edging in on other peoples' cities or cutting off their farmers. I haven't purchased any expansions, but I might in the future. There's a bit of luck in the tile draw, but it doesn't usually outweigh strategy. Scoring is kind of a pain and definitely contributed to some people I played with not becoming interested. UPDATE: My 7 year old daughter loves this game! We play without farmers, but it's still fun. I'm bumping up to an 8 due to her liking it so much.

1/22/2019

Captain Silver

Digging ar...

by thingamarob

Digging around in your bag for the right piece is fun. Not bad for a family game.

1/22/2019

Burgle Bros.

Great them...

by thingamarob

Great theme and probably my favorite cooperative game. Love the art too. Better than Forbidden Island/Desert.

1/22/2019

Cagola

Purchased ...

by thingamarob

Purchased 12/18/07 at Target on the cheap. Incredibly easy in its basic set up. Tilted the deck at first to increase difficulty, but then something dawned on me: stack the pieces on top of each other. We added a rule that requires any solo pieces already placed to have another piece placed atop it, except with the semi-circle. More fun but still not hard this way. Can't find it. (9/13/14)

1/22/2019

Bowling Solitaire

Fun, origi...

by thingamarob

Fun, original solitaire variant. Plenty of skill involved. Does a good job with the theme too.

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Adrenaline

Pure tacti...

by thingamarob

Pure tactics with very little control. I don't know what I expected. Dealing out loads of damage is fun. The rulebook and flavor text are amusing. Traded 5/17

1/22/2019

12 Days

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Yokohama

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Yedo Board Game

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Tsuro Board Game

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Such & Such

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Shipyard

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

PitchCar

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

No Thanks!

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Mysterium

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Love Letter

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Macao

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Lotus

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Coimbra

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Concept

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Cartagena

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Batik

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Bezzerwizzer

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Jenga

I love Jen...

by thingamarob

I love Jenga.

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Jaipur

I prefer L...

by thingamarob

I prefer Lost Cities for a two-player card game.

1/11/2019

Hansa Teutonica

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Gold West

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Going, Going, Gone!

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

La Granja: No Siesta

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Great Western Trail

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Grand Austria Hotel

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Formula D

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

First Class

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

A Feast For Odin

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Dinosaur Island

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

Highly addictive.

1/11/2019

Dixit

MISSING 3 ...

by thingamarob

MISSING 3 CARDS

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Dale of Merchants

No Review Title

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

by thingamarob

No Review Description

1/11/2019

Dingo's Dreams

Neat mecha...

by thingamarob

Neat mechanism but not much to it.

1/11/2019