svenv Reviews

These reviews were left by svenv.

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Great Western Trail

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Spirit Island

Borrowed b...

by svenv

Borrowed by Silvia.

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Trickerion

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Star Realms

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Qwirkle

Quick, che...

by svenv

Quick, cheap, and easy to teach.

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Lancaster Board Game

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Food Chain Magnate

Needs. Mor...

by svenv

Needs. More. Plays.

1/16/2019

Coimbra

This is Lo...

by svenv

This is Lorenzo + Grand Austria + Marco Polo's little nephew. Same feel that takes half as long with two. This is by far the least amount of theme out of all of those but the art elevates it to the point that I don't really care. Some of the rules could have been streamlined (player order, taking track resources in turn, etc.) but it doesn't distract as we ignore the unnecessary bureaucratic fodder. Will adjust if the cards become too samey after multiple plays. I just wish it had more variability with the market.

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Codenames

Replaced w...

by svenv

Replaced with Decrypto

1/16/2019

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

Maybe the best expansion ever made.

1/16/2019

Through the Desert

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

It's not exactly an elegant game - I'm still referencing the round-end steps every single time to make sure I didn't miss anything - but it's all forgiven as it gives so much life to your actions. We love playing this at two (and that's all we've tried). At this time I feel like prophecies should have been cut out of the game. They very rarely make much difference but that might change at higher player counts.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Best game of 2018.

1/16/2019

Trajan

My favouri...

by svenv

My favourite Feld so far. I grabbed the Broken Token organizer and it's made the setup pretty damn simple. If you like stringing together a whole bunch of interesting actions together for a megacombo, this is the game for you. I think the theme comes through more than people give it credit for.

1/16/2019

Star Trek Panic

We load up...

by svenv

We load up some old episodes of the original series and play through a few missions. A bit on the easy side but better than expected.

1/16/2019

Sushi Go Party!

Not horrib...

by svenv

Not horrible by any means - I would just choose almost anything else in my collection, especially with Steampunk Rally being a better beginner drafting game.

1/16/2019

by svenv

One of my very favourites to introduce to new gamers. Always fun.

1/16/2019

by svenv

This expansion brings in something that I adore in co-op games - a strong thematic sense of story. The events, while they add uncertainty to the puzzle, also give you a weaving narrative. The extra spirits and tokens are great. The components show some wear along the creases. Wish it was a playmat or it folded differently.

1/16/2019

Troyes

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Skull

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

Got it for $12CDN new. Felt worth the price even after the first game. Hasn't touched the table since then - the theme is a hard sell with some groups.

1/16/2019

Ra

I wanted t...

by svenv

I wanted to buy one Reiner Knizia auction game. Even though this one was one of the more expensive of the options, it was also the one that gave me the happiest feelings when playing or watching gameplay videos. Introduced it to both gamers and non-gamers with much success. Knizia is still the king of welding simple mechanics with incredible depth.

1/16/2019

Pandemic: Iberia

My first P...

by svenv

My first Pandemic. My favourite out of base, + In The Lab, and Cthulu by far. Railroadman is greatest of all time.

1/16/2019

Santorini

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

San Juan

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Pulsar 2849

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

A steal at $20 or whatever it was.

1/16/2019

by svenv

The extra cards are fantastic. The asymmetric player powers give the game some very interesting replayability. I'm not completely sold on the resource/family bidding - it's a pretty hardcore way of forcing balance. I'd rather it was done like Marco Polo.

1/16/2019

by svenv

I prefer this as a co-op game where we're both running the Nautilus as a team. We loved it as a couple's game.

1/16/2019

Orléans

I always h...

by svenv

I always have a good time playing this one - but it does feel a bit hollow after a few plays. The Trade and Intrigue expansion helps by making the map and other board much more interesting.

1/16/2019

Onitama

Holding on...

by svenv

Holding onto some overpowered cards just feels like a broken strategy that seems to work most of the time. I hear expansions open the game up a bit but I don't want to spend $13 on a few cards.

1/16/2019

Modern Art

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

The Mind

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Lisboa

I've only ...

by svenv

I've only ever played it with two. The mechanism of 'following' is probably much more utilized in a higher player count so I'm looking forward to seeing how that changes the game. However, this one is so satisfying once you wrap your head around it. I almost wanted to give it extra points because it was so fun to learn. I've ordered the upgrade pack with my Escape Plan pledge to get some variability in the store positions. Multi-use cards are my jam.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Really great with 2.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Not big on lying in my games but here it just... works.

1/16/2019

Innovation

Our travel...

by svenv

Our travel card game for Spain. Wild and swingy. Always pretty fun.

1/16/2019

Inis

Not the bi...

by svenv

Not the biggest fan of the 2-player variant. At 3+, it's pretty great. It's quite an irregular game where the board state is fragile and the contests are extremely expensive. But once you get a couple games going with the same group it really shines. I personally haven't seen much kingmaking in this game.

1/16/2019

Keyflower

It took me...

by svenv

It took me forever to get this game because the graphic design is just horrendous (the art, though, is wonderful). It's like someone popped it into Microsoft Word and started making boxes on these beautiful tiles. The game is superb. One of my very favourites.

1/16/2019

Junk Art

Starts as ...

by svenv

Starts as a filler, ends up being a 2-3 hour event where we're laughing most of the time. I'm looking forward to Men at Work coming out from the same people.

1/16/2019

Jaipur

Our travel...

by svenv

Our travel game for the UK. Our couples gateway game. Borrowed by Cam.

1/16/2019

by svenv

As a 2-player, we play with the houserule that we don't completely block off the harvest and production extra spots - it's just too cutthroat and the -3 penalty is harsh enough. Other than that, I love the system of building up my engine on a selection of many dozens of cards. The megadice are icing on the cake.

1/16/2019

Hanabi

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Gaia Project

Just jumpe...

by svenv

Just jumped into this one on release without having played Terra Mystica. This game is all about that tech tree and using your faction with the initial setup to get the most out of it. Really good solo option and the 2-player game is quite fun.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Our annual Halloween game. It drags a little at the start when Dracula is still hidden - however, once the case is on, the highs are really high. Some of my favourite board game moments are of this game.

1/16/2019

Grand Austria Hotel

Sometimes ...

by svenv

Sometimes I absolutely adore this game, and sometimes the dice aren't agreeable with the visitor market and you feel helpless as you keep trashing dice and your plan falls apart. Since there aren't that many moves in the game, it can be frustrating. Thankfully it's rather rare. Always played with 2.

1/16/2019

Fugitive Card Game

Fun on a b...

by svenv

Fun on a bun. A great, beautiful little asymmetric game of bluffing.

1/16/2019

Ethnos

A real sur...

by svenv

A real surprise hit! Would basically play at any time. The random map of Slovakia gives me a personal connection to it.

1/16/2019

El Grande

I would ne...

by svenv

I would never get this to the table but it's damn fun.

1/16/2019

Evolution: Climate

Needs 4+ t...

by svenv

Needs 4+ to really shine. Every time I think I have a good strategy, it's usually destroyed by something I didn't think about. Wish the promo pack III was sold more widely.

1/16/2019

Everdell

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Concordia

Comes off ...

by svenv

Comes off as a little two-dimensional but the complexity unravels over the course of the game. My Catan-killer.

1/16/2019

Fog of Love

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Cyclades

Wonderfull...

by svenv

Wonderfully frustrating. I love seeing the board state change over the course of the round and watching my best-laid plans squandered by an overzealous Poseidon. My copy came with some broken pieces and Matagot was fantastic in replacing them quickly.

1/16/2019

Decrypto

While simi...

by svenv

While similar to Codenames, you feel a whole lot more clever when some wild clues are guessed properly.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Non-boardgamer friends love this. I wish it came out more often. Don't see the need to get the expansion until it's hitting regular rotation.

1/16/2019

by svenv

I will never play without Salsa. The new tiles give it more of a modern feel by adding some excellent, restrained asymmetry to the game. Looking forward to trying out more of Gerdts' games.

1/16/2019

Dungeon Petz

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Coup

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Colt Express

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Concept

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

As with Keyflower, I love building up my own little thing and then tell stories about it after the game is over. The bidding works well, even for two. I got the wood organizer and it's made the game a breeze to set up.

1/16/2019

by svenv

THE game that got us into collecting Eurogames. We learned this at a board game cafe and basically immediately bought it.

1/16/2019

Bananagrams

Dozens of ...

by svenv

Dozens of games really. My mom loves this game to bits to the point that she won't play anything else.

1/16/2019

Clank! In! Space!

While I'd ...

by svenv

While I'd be happier if I could more easily trash my cards - this game does so much right. It's one of the most tense when the endgame is nigh and cubes of all sorts are coming out of that godforsaken bag. The references are great and the app is incredibly well-done. I would even recommend it as a lighter solo game.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Pretty much the perfect expansion. More decisions, interesting card additions, new fun mechanic with the schemes.

1/16/2019

Captain Sonar

Only playe...

by svenv

Only played a handful of times as it's hard to get the proper player count - but everyone seems to love it.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Low complexity, high depth. Always play with the first two expansions. I haven't even touched the others included in this box but looking forward to it eventually.

1/16/2019

Brass: Birmingham

Why do I s...

by svenv

Why do I simultaneously feel so dumb and so smart playing this game. It's one of those ones where analysis-paralysis prone players may experience full brain meltdowns. I have no idea how to play this properly. Flipping tiles is fun. Having others flip your tiles is fun. Trains!

1/16/2019

Blood Rage

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

Burgle Bros.

With a tow...

by svenv

With a tower I built from foam! My pick for best lighter co-op. A contender for my favourite gateway game. Prone to quarterbacking but I've never experienced it.

1/16/2019

Anachrony

A big prod...

by svenv

A big production with a relatively low price tag. Mindclash knocks it out of the park with the theme here - pairing it with a colourful quilt of clever mechanisms. The iconography is mostly good but necessitates a quick manual check every now and then. The Superprojects fill me with geeky delight.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Need to play this a few more times before I settle on a rating. While it gives interesting options (and needed ways out of cornering moves) - it does make the game a lot swingier.

1/16/2019

Alchemists

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

While the rulebook is unfortunate, the game is the best tableau engine builder I've played. The theme really elevates it. If you like engine building and the new Mad Max movie, this is a no-brainer.

1/16/2019

Azul

No Review Title

by svenv

No Review Description

1/16/2019

by svenv

Just the first box - I hate the business model for LCGs and wish I knew more when I bought this. While the stories were fun, I'm the type of gamer to not replay the campaign the different deck builds. I disliked the "finding clues" mechanism - felt like it should have been something a little more clever. Going around and discovering an abstracted clue was missing the thematic flair that could have made is more interesting. Maybe a deck of interesting clue cards. Imagine picking up an amulet, a spell book, tentacles, a chemistry kit, a journal, scratch marks, potion materials, sulfur smell, etc., some of which give you extra clue tokens, some of which give you none but maybe a special ability. I just wish it was more. Maybe the expansions did cool things. Maybe the Arkham Horror game does it (I have not played it). I also wish I could cycle my deck better. And the fact that people recommend that you get two core sets is just infuriating. Borrowed by Alex.

1/16/2019

by svenv

Unnecessary. And totally worth it. Still haven't touched the expansions.

1/16/2019

7 Wonders Duel

I've defin...

by svenv

I've definitely forgotten to input a bunch of plays for this. I actually prefer this to something like Through the Ages, which gives me similar feelings but takes an order of magnitude longer. Borrowed by Cam.

1/16/2019