rancidmike Reviews

These reviews were left by rancidmike.

Stone Age

Fun, but not my favorite

by rancidmike

Fun lighter WP, but I find that it's about 45 min too long. For the heaviness of worker placement, I'd rather play Lords of Waterdeep. For a game this length, I'd rather play something like Viticulture or Tzolk'in; maybe even Anachrony.

10/26/2019

Anachrony

No Review Title

by rancidmike

Fantastic WP with unique mechanisms. Must play.

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

Not for me. Too punishing; would rather play Altiplano or Tzolk'in.

10/25/2019

Gùgōng

fun solo, unique worker placement

by rancidmike

Enjoyable, unique take on worker placement. I'd love to play some more. Bought during MM sale. Edit: Just played solo for the first time. Great deal of fun; I played on easy mode and beat the AI by 13 points; will definitely have to up the difficulty next time. Solo game played under an hour, which is probably about as long as I would want it to go. Might be worth incorporating Meng at low player counts.

10/25/2019

Istanbul: Big Box

The game of Geekway???

by rancidmike

Bought at Geekway. This was the game of Geekway for me. Even though it’s not a new game, it’s new to me. Gameplay is incredibly smooth and intuitive. A relaxing game with strategic (and tactical) depth. I’m already developing a meta, which I’m curious to test. Basically, first one to the rerolling upgrade is the player to beat. Race + efficiency puzzle + light engine building.

10/25/2019

Altiplano

kind of a brain burner

by rancidmike

Enjoyed this one a lot. Kind of a brain burner, especially since the game doesn’t give you much direction to start. The game doesn’t overstay its welcome; turns are fast and interesting, and it always feels like there’s at least something you can do. I could see myself bumping this one up after a couple more plays.

10/25/2019

Brass: Birmingham

Too much of a good thing, but not really

by rancidmike

This game probably would benefit from repeat plays. It felt much less complex than the BGG rating would suggest, but I imagine it gets more complex the more experienced you are with it. I love how much the game state changes from one age to the next: at the end of the Canals age, I was winning handily, but by the end I lost by almost 60 points. The long-term engine building is crucial. The game goes by a lot faster than you'd think. Our learning game took about 2 hours. EDIT: The more I think about this game, the more I like it. Brass teeters on the edge of rules bloat, but never really suffers from it; instead, the fiddliness gives it depth and adds to the fun element. The best compliment I can pay this game is that it's a fun game to lose.

10/25/2019

Hnefatafl

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Bananagrams

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Love Letter

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Inis

Not what you think

by rancidmike

No matter what idea you have about Inis, you're wrong. This game looks like a dudes-on-a-map game, but it's not. It's a game about deep card play which develops in the form of area control. It's fantastic, easily my favorite game. Well, this or Concordia.

10/25/2019

Mombasa

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

Concordia

Perfect is only a slight overstatement

by rancidmike

This is currently my go-to game. I own Concordia, Salsa, and Venus. Simple rules, yet incredible deep gameplay, and plenty of player interaction (especially for such a dry-looking Euro). Can't recommend enough.

2/28/2019

Cards Against Humanity

An activity for horrible people with no imagination

by rancidmike

Impress the judge by joking about the Holocaust and coat hanger abortions. No thanks.

2/27/2019

Nippon

One of my favorites

by rancidmike

Don’t regularly get to play, since my group doesn’t like games this heavy, but I love it. Definitely thinky and the area control can get pretty competitive.

1/11/2019