rancidmike Reviews

These reviews were left by rancidmike.

Irish Gauge

One of the best first game experiences in a while

by rancidmike

I'm trying to venture into economic games, so picking this up was a bit of a toss-up for me. I've not had any experience with train games, and I don't usually love auctions. But this game is incredible. It's fantastic. It's fast, thinky, and the stakes always feel high. You'll play it in 45 minutes and want to play again.

12/3/2019

Pax Pamir (Second Edition)

Fascinating, Unusual, Fragile

by rancidmike

I finally got to play Pax Pamir 2E after months of ogling it, and I wasn't disappointed. I knew I was getting myself into an interesting game experience, but the way Wehrle weaves shifting loyalties into an already multi-faceted game is so fascinating. And it's a fun game to boot. As an aspiring game designer, playing Pax Pamir was required reading, but it also ended up being a fantastic gaming experience.

12/2/2019

Great Western Trail

Fantastic Mid-Heavy Euro

by rancidmike

Probably the best all-around Euro in my collection.

11/20/2019

Stone Age

Fun, but not my favorite

by rancidmike

Fun lighter WP, but I find that it's about 45 min too long. For the heaviness of worker placement, I'd rather play Lords of Waterdeep. For a game this length, I'd rather play something like Viticulture or Tzolk'in; maybe even Anachrony.

10/26/2019

Anachrony

No Review Title

by rancidmike

Fantastic WP with unique mechanisms. Must play.

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

Not for me. Too punishing; would rather play Altiplano or Tzolk'in.

10/25/2019

Gùgōng

fun solo, unique worker placement

by rancidmike

Enjoyable, unique take on worker placement. I'd love to play some more. Bought during MM sale. Edit: Just played solo for the first time. Great deal of fun; I played on easy mode and beat the AI by 13 points; will definitely have to up the difficulty next time. Solo game played under an hour, which is probably about as long as I would want it to go. Might be worth incorporating Meng at low player counts.

10/25/2019

Istanbul: Big Box

The game of Geekway???

by rancidmike

Bought at Geekway. This was the game of Geekway for me. Even though it’s not a new game, it’s new to me. Gameplay is incredibly smooth and intuitive. A relaxing game with strategic (and tactical) depth. I’m already developing a meta, which I’m curious to test. Basically, first one to the rerolling upgrade is the player to beat. Race + efficiency puzzle + light engine building.

10/25/2019

Altiplano

kind of a brain burner

by rancidmike

Enjoyed this one a lot. Kind of a brain burner, especially since the game doesn’t give you much direction to start. The game doesn’t overstay its welcome; turns are fast and interesting, and it always feels like there’s at least something you can do. I could see myself bumping this one up after a couple more plays.

10/25/2019

Brass: Birmingham

Too much of a good thing, but not really

by rancidmike

This game probably would benefit from repeat plays. It felt much less complex than the BGG rating would suggest, but I imagine it gets more complex the more experienced you are with it. I love how much the game state changes from one age to the next: at the end of the Canals age, I was winning handily, but by the end I lost by almost 60 points. The long-term engine building is crucial. The game goes by a lot faster than you'd think. Our learning game took about 2 hours. EDIT: The more I think about this game, the more I like it. Brass teeters on the edge of rules bloat, but never really suffers from it; instead, the fiddliness gives it depth and adds to the fun element. The best compliment I can pay this game is that it's a fun game to lose.

10/25/2019

Hnefatafl

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Bananagrams

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Love Letter

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

10/25/2019

Inis

Not what you think

by rancidmike

No matter what idea you have about Inis, you're wrong. This game looks like a dudes-on-a-map game, but it's not. It's a game about deep card play which develops in the form of area control. It's fantastic, easily my favorite game. Well, this or Concordia.

10/25/2019

Mombasa

No Review Title

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

by rancidmike

No Review Description

4/12/2019

Concordia

Perfect is only a slight overstatement

by rancidmike

This is currently my go-to game. I own Concordia, Salsa, and Venus. Simple rules, yet incredible deep gameplay, and plenty of player interaction (especially for such a dry-looking Euro). Can't recommend enough.

2/28/2019

Cards Against Humanity

An activity for horrible people with no imagination

by rancidmike

Impress the judge by joking about the Holocaust and coat hanger abortions. No thanks.

2/27/2019

Nippon

One of my favorites

by rancidmike

Don’t regularly get to play, since my group doesn’t like games this heavy, but I love it. Definitely thinky and the area control can get pretty competitive.

1/11/2019