Reviews

These reviews were left by pistonsfan.

by pistonsfan

3.5 out of 5 at the moment. Not the most dynamic CDG political game out there but it feels historic and interesting enough.

5/6/2021

The Shores of Tripoli

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

5/6/2021

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

5/6/2021

Unicornus Knights

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

As someone said this is a co-op logistics puzzle. I'd even say its a wargame. Unfortunately, it feels bloated and needs streamlining.

5/6/2021

by pistonsfan

the bulkier and bigger box is much much worse than the original one

5/2/2021

Bleeding Kansas

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Lightweight and accessible, where the potential choices are many (about 7?) but each card only has 2 of them (your hand is only a max of 3) and those actions are very easy to grasp. Nevertheless, when things slow down, I found that it can really slow down.

5/2/2021

Ruins: Death Binder

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

3.5 out of 5.

4/8/2021

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

4/8/2021

by pistonsfan

Easy to implement the bot

4/8/2021

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

3/18/2021

by pistonsfan

should be similar to original game

3/4/2021

by pistonsfan

Has the theme of the video game but the mechanics are different enough to have both. It's definitely a puzzly and difficult game. You can have both of the different media but it doesnt mean you will likely both automatically. I do certainly like both but the board game version is more taxing to solve because of the puzzly nature of the turret mechanism (they surprisingly have to be re-placed every round, and that unused turrets receive a free upgrade) while dealing damage is dictated by the tetris-like placement of its damage tiles on horde tiles. But if you want a fast-paced read-and-react gameplay like the video game, you wont get it here since you're constantly stopping to build a defense every round to solve a puzzle. Overall, I cant deny its a good game, but my itch is limited to play a solo puzzle tower defense game.

3/4/2021

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

1/5/2021

Tiny Epic Tactics

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

1/5/2021

Sprawlopolis

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Way too stressful for a microgame. I cant wrap my head around how to fulfill the requirements. Despite the 3 rating, I didnt like it personally but was impressed by the punch it packs.

12/19/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/17/2020

by pistonsfan

nothing special and not necessary but also not bad to have

12/17/2020

by pistonsfan

nothing special and not necessary but also not bad to have

12/17/2020

To The Death!

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Not my cup of tea. However, pound for pound, this game is unrivaled in its hero and enemy variety. Rulebook from the box is awful

12/14/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/5/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/5/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/5/2020

Nemo's War

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

At All Costs!

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Escape the Dark Sector

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Codenames: Duet

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Codenames: Marvel

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Stratego

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Azul

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

should be similar to Set a Watch

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Charades

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

should be similar to its predecessor

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

I always like asymmetry in any games. Have not tried the alternate events.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

A much better story telling game than Call to Adventure. CtA does have a story in arcs, however. Nevertheless, its mechanically worse with its reliance on luck. Would never ever recommend this as a competitive game due to the randomness but would suggest it as a story telling game. Probably deserves a revisit with a rework.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

Adds more scenarios, adds an extra card for every class, and a minor update on one of the class trees. Alas, there is errata to be found as usual from the game

12/4/2020

Boggle

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Zombie Dice

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Pandemic: Rising Tide

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

shares many mechanics from This Guilty Land

12/4/2020

SpaceCorp

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

For an inexpensive expansion, it feels weird to say that this game is overpriced. The publishers couldve just posted the whole thing on a file. The cards are just player aid references based on the actions the AI needs to take. If it werent for that issue, I wouldve given it a higher rating. Besides that, its a very solid solo set but its also drastically less dynamic because it has a very predictable action decision tree. Should I have expected that? I should have but it doesnt hurt to have good expectations.

12/4/2020

Brief Border Wars

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Starcadia Quest

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Agent Decker

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Watergate

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Frosthaven

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

game is similar to gloomhaven so it gets the same grade as that.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

Cant play with the rulebook without getting a barrage of a lecture of footnotes first because I somehow have to be subjected to how much he knows the topic. Get a separate book for that which other wargame designers have employed.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

This game blatantly has a thesis paper of some sort but intentionally disregarding a rulebook.

12/4/2020

Bottom of the 9th

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

PARKS

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

I admit I suck at rulebooks but this feels a bit "rulesy" for a low 2.0 weight game. It's not like I dont know how to play the game at all but I am also guilty of forgetting some of the rules, and I am somewhat not very confident simplifying this easily to a non-gamer. Also an ameritrasher so I am still adjusting to the icon heavy style of a eurogame.Thematically from a gameplay perspective, its forced half of the time with the set collection, racing aspect, etc. The other half, it has a chill vibe and you do have to be mindful of your pacing, what good areas you'll be taking, and what gears might help you. Definitely abstract feeling but it does enough for a lightweight game (the meatier the game, the "themier" it should be for me.) I guess that's still better than some of the dry eurogames that BS you about its theme.Overall, neat semi-light weight family game. The mechanics simply mix well. Would like a retheme of another world area with maybe some twist to fit the area.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Glory

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Interesting game. Its a very simple game and mostly random which might bring up an alarm that this will be a bad game but the designer created a game as such in that it never feels punishing for the most part. Dont like your movement roll (yes, this game uses the archaic roll and move mechanic)? Dont worry, the map is filled with spaces that can offer you a chance to try to gain some sort of reward. Dont like the battle chances or the dice not going your way? Dont worry, withdraw is free and battles dont have to be that bloody unless youre risk-heavy; cards can also add modifiers as well. My biggest problem however is when things are super tense in the end and a single random draw can determine the winner (just imagine both of you are a point away and the person draws a +1 VP card.) Its pretty much a more controlled ameritrash game than usual. You always have avenues to try to gain points while retaining the random nature of battling and adventuring to keep it from getting stale. I have noticed there a few take that cards but I dont find it cruel unless its played in a last round game but then again I like the ameritrash genre. I guess you can take them out if you want.Early verdict: best played as a chill light-weight game as others have said. Even the designer indicates this game is house-rule friendly. Not epic, not very confrontational or dramatic theme or style but all of you should be progressing as adventurers along the way. I do think some of the decks still have more room for variability. Biggest gripe for me sadly is that this game is too long.Side comment: publisher went HAM on the components---theyre gorgeous! I find it too indulgent for a simple game but then again you can write on the cards and components so it seems warranted. However, the holders for the stands are useless because they are so loose. Game could also offer some chits as reminders or reminders. You could write on the board or cards but either the cards are too dark or some may find note taking/scribbling on boards as weird.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

With the drawing of the chits and dice rolls, this game can be rage-inducing and very cruel, but what did you expect when you take up a game of great historical difficulty like this?If you want a competitive solo game, avoid this since there is too much randomness (a few early bad draws or very delayed good chit draws can make or break your already weak chances of winning) but if you like a good thematic experience, this will work well for you. Played twice (had to quit early due to the dire situation) and I already was frustrated at the relentless Union attacks/economy and my abysmal economic situation. Ultimately sold the game because I never seem to have the itch to repeatedly play these kid of games despite my respect for it. Also lowered my rating because I felt the randomness was a bit too much compared to other SoS games.The game also tackles slavery well and contrary to what the other rater said, the game doesnt gamify the use of slaves; it bluntly presents the reality of the historical situation. Using them does offer great short-term economic benefits but also negative long-term consequences such as loss of foreign military intervention (obviously a boost to the South) and a weaker VP score (aka the foreign powers look less upon you after the war when you need it badly.) Whether that is a moral or historical revelation or not to the player, I like that this presented the ugly reality of the war (which many dont) without being too preachy about it in gameplay to its already mature adult audience.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Sanctum

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Ehh I find the game lukewarm after much excitement of a Diablo-esque game. Too many "ok" things going on but not a lot of great things either. This game feels like a solid first draft that needs another few rewrites for it to shine. Ultimately, the idea to create a super Diablo lite board game requires too much sacrifices.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Solar Storm

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Similar to Pandemic in mechanics but simpler in a much smaller box. First half consists of integrating fully repaired rooms back into the ship while last half of game is trying to repair rooms from constant damage while hoping to integrate the last few rooms. Straightforward game and quite simple. Pandemic is obviously better but for pound for pound, I might find this better at smaller player counts. Pandemic seems better at bigger player counts due to its added asymmetry and more epic play however.

12/4/2020

Exploding Kittens

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

Combat is great. Campaign character growth is sort of weak as progression is heavily reliant on random treasure items; individual skills build up per scenario but always reset back to zero before a new one. Campaign style and story doesnt give me an itch as a solo player but I can see myself enjoying it with others which will never ever happen.

12/4/2020

Uno Flip!

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Not a must have but it can be a nice change of pace from traditional UNO. The dark cards having alternate colors was completely unnecessary however.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Mindburners

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Early thoughts:1. Solo is a breeze to learn and play but you lose a lot of tension and I found it boring because the the take that tension is now predictable since youll know that mechanic will now just come at the void cards which you have to run through. I guess it becomes a puzzle since you will always know the exact 10 cards you need to run through and you just need to survive it.2. I will need to try this with other people but I know the fun will come at the push your luck aspect while knowing other people may have the means to screw you over with ability cards so its all mind-games and maybe even minor and indirect negotiation. Beyond that, thats pretty much it. Its a filler and easy to learn game but will have to check if it adds a bit more to it than that.

12/4/2020

5-Minute Mystery

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Due to the short timer like its cousin 5-Minute Dungeon, it has your typical frantic nature as you scream out or violently point out the symbols in the scene card to the codex operator who has to turn it to the right symbol. Your objective is to match all of the symbols properly so you can get a clue tile which could lead you to the suspect. Deduction seems rather light but it's there. There is probably OK replayability, depending on how good you are with the game. The better you are, the fewer case cards you will probably be playing with. The frantic nature of the game makes it somewhat hard to memorize all of the scene cards and their corresponding symbols, unless you have someone with eidetic memory, but frequent plays do alleviate it.

12/4/2020

Bag of Dungeon

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

It sounds strange but the dungeon tiles are so linear that it has become a big turn off for me, probably because there is always only one way to go and that ruins the exploration and risk-taking aspect of dungeon crawling. Everything else is fine, however.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

Has somewhat of the Clash of Cultures feel to it.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Mansions of Madness

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

War for Indagar

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Verdict so you wont have to read my thoughts: a probable hidden gem but needs a second edition/version.Solo gameplay is a race for VP points in limited turns because you must expand and level up while AI scripted monsters are attempting to destroy your plan. It works so thats good. I havent tried multiplayer, although that might be a never due to my group.The asymmetric factions with their 3 different heroes (which you can level up 3 times!) and 3 different faction abilities to pick (which you can also level up!) from the faction strategy board before every round is great. AI monsters also add ameritrash fun. Resources and expansion are also important since outposts reward VP points and resources; without resources you cant upgrade your outposts and theyre also the currency for your hero abilities which you will be using a lot.Gonna be a long one but here is my thoughts on the main weakness, the rulebook:How you can handle the rulebook really depends on how you play and learn. I survived it but I think it because I somehow adjusted to its weaknesses and used common sense when I found ambiguities but if youre nitpicky, you'll hate this because some gameplay terms or situations can be tricky to figure out.The game also really neglects to make referencing easier. I wouldve liked a sole reference page for tiles instead of going back to the middle of the book, there were no reference cards for factions which makes you wonder what your opponent can do while playing, abilities are stashed somewhere in the book when another reference page wouldve worked such as a glossary, chits for special situations wouldve been nice to use as reminders, and much more. The rulebook also couldve been organized better (tile explanations shouldve been placed near the game setup page so you wont have to flip pages as much when setting up, strategy board explanation section was placed after the actions, resources, and combat explanation sections even though its one of the first things you will do before even doing your turn.) Despite those, I found the rulebook survivable despite those complaints because at least it keeps its concepts together albeit in a rather loose manner.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

Typical euro in which everything is tight because there are only 4 rounds! I do feel like it totally misses out on any feeling of a thematic grandeur of a development. The action programming mechanism means there are lot of a calculating and mind games. The main actions are very simple and accessible which would be medium light but fighting for those tight points bump this to medium game environment. Game might induce AP as you want to outmaneuver your opponent for bidding those maximum action points but there is only so much you can guess from your opponent's intentions especially with more players. Game also might lend to some light negotiation?Solo works but the main source of fun and tension completely falls on the action programming mechanism and this suits sooo much better for higher player count. You are still fighting for the best actions in a solo to 2p environment but you still get some decent actions for not being first; in a 3-4 player setting, the lowest actions can be dull, if not punishing, as you will have to pay a coin to use them.Based on limited plays, the game is accessible, charming, interesting, and the main mechanic definitely has strong merit. It might need a bit more oomph however...it feels restrained sometimes because of its euro nature (e.g. abrupt ending, expanding or strengthening your realm feels subdued and short, and the potential points from the deeds are meh at times.)

12/4/2020

Monopoly: Socialism

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Socialism =/= communismIf socialism is that bad then how did Western Europe with their socialist policies manage to stay economically competitive to this day? Americans really need to start thinking beyond their own world. Lastly, its a very poor parody because the references are random with no connections (ex. vegans?) and very cliche (e.g. the overtly overused and misleading socialist=communism argument.) There are interesting critical and silly parodies of communism, this isnt one of them.

12/4/2020

Freedom!

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Bad board due to the very dark colors or too light fonts. I also think they could have incorporated the supply and money tracks into the board. Otherwise it wouldve been fine. Rulebook is fine and organized but the set up image was poor. Wouldve liked better examples. Overall the game is well-done and incorporates TS mechanics. Judging on how I play based on the options given to me, this feels like an deliberately paced and attritional game but I am bit more impatient than the game's style.

12/4/2020

Campaign Trail

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Solo works but the sessions feels very quiet. Will shine more with more people for table talk. The more simplistic but more unpredictably interesting The Primary just fits more of my style than this routine-like and heavier Euro game, so I will be moving on from this.

12/4/2020

Sub Terra

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Dungeon Brawler

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

Much more simplified gameplay of Set a Watch. Simple with thinking ahead strategy but also more random. I do agree with the others: rulebook could be better (could use more organization, outlining, sections) and the game is too long for what it is. Very clever in some aspects nonetheless.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

I like it but the longer the game goes, the more I run out of patience with the unpredictable trajectory of the game due to its random draws. There is indeed a deeper strategy of mitigation than a euro player might want to admit but I still prefer a more predictable adventure game.

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Smash Up

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

Smash Up: Munchkin

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020

BattleLore

No Review Title

by pistonsfan

No Review Description

12/4/2020