majohnny Reviews

These reviews were left by majohnny.

Niagara Board Game

Great game...

by majohnny

Great game for the whole family. Can be played thinky with the gamers or relaxed with the casuals. Does also appeal to kids, because of the shiny crystals :) I'm recommending this to everyone, because this just is a great game to get everyone together (even gamers and non-gamers).

4/25/2019

Lost Cities

My gf love...

by majohnny

My gf loves to play this and I learned to enjoy it, too. It's a quick two player card game, with some strategy and a little more luck involved. The luck aspect is what lowers the rank of this one a little but I'm enjoying this game a lot now.

4/25/2019

Joggle

Great comp...

by majohnny

Great components but too much luck involved to get a better rank.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

One of the best cards in Dominion in my oppinion because it adds a lot of variety and gives each player something unique.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Very interesting expansion for Dominion, with a lot of text :) I wouldn't recommend this for beginners, but for the more experienced Dominion player who wants some more variation and some more complex cards.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Very powerfull card. Maybe even too powerfull.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Great addition to the base game but probably not my favourite expansion

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Not the best expension for Dominion. Includes some (really) powerful cards, like Golem (play two actions for nothing) and Pocession (as devious as Torturer, people raged a lot more with this one) but you can't really include this when playing with totally random cards. If you want to play with this one you should at least put 3 Alchemy cards in your kingdom, otherwise they would just be ignored.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

I hate to use this card because I just don't want to give my opponents free stuff :D

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Great addition (like probably every expansion) to the base game. There are some nice cards to annoy your opponents. As always there are some good (Torturer nearly too powerfull) and some not so good cards which is perfect if you play with a random set of cards. All in all probably an essential expansion.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

I love to play with the Tower because it adds a cut-throat element at the beginning of the game, but not through the whole game (in our games), because everyone has only so many tower blocks to play. If your looking for a more cut-throat variant for Carcassonne you have to get this.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

Great expansion to Carcassonne. I love the king and robber, which you get for building the biggest city or road, but they can be very powerfull in big games. I also like the count, which in my oppinion adds a lot more thought to the game which made it a lot more interesting but also slowed it down. Its a better game when playing with it, but a better experience playing without it in my oppinion. Recommended though if you want to add some more thought into your Carcassonne games.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

While we often play with this expansion I don't really care about the goods, the builder, while a good idea, adds a lot to the complexity and isn't really that usefull and the pigs I guess can be usefull in some situations. I'm not really to fund on this expansion

4/25/2019

Carcassonne

Great rela...

by majohnny

Great relaxing tile-laying game. Can be played very cut-throart (especially with some of the expansions), but is more often played very easy on one another while watching the city grow and grow, which can lead to a great experience (if you like that kind of game). In my oppinion a great game. Recommended.

4/25/2019

by majohnny

As of yet I never needed the extra colour, though nothing to complain here. I'm not too fund about the cathedrals but new tiles are always good. Recommended only for the die hard Carcassonne fan though, because there are better expansions than this one out there.

4/25/2019

Munchkin

Played it ...

by majohnny

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Munchkin

Played it ...

by majohnny

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Tsuro Board Game

Quick and ...

by majohnny

Quick and easy game for the bigger group. Wouldn't recommend this for less than 4 players, but can recommend this for more than 5 players. Easy to explain, not too much to think, some luck involved.

4/23/2019

Tsuro Board Game

Quick and ...

by majohnny

Quick and easy game for the bigger group. Wouldn't recommend this for less than 4 players, but can recommend this for more than 5 players. Easy to explain, not too much to think, some luck involved.

4/23/2019

Time's Up! Family

One of the...

by majohnny

One of the best party games around. The "no words" part always scares people, but once they get involved its always a blast. The three diferent phases (words, one word, no words) make for a great variety and weakens the fear of charades. This and Telestrations are the two contenders for our best party game.

4/23/2019

Time's Up! Family

One of the...

by majohnny

One of the best party games around. The "no words" part always scares people, but once they get involved its always a blast. The three diferent phases (words, one word, no words) make for a great variety and weakens the fear of charades. This and Telestrations are the two contenders for our best party game.

4/23/2019

Ticket To Ride

Entertaini...

by majohnny

Entertaining game suitable for all ages. With the right group of people this can also be played pretty cut-throat, so this isn't just for the non-gamers.

4/23/2019

Ticket To Ride

Entertaini...

by majohnny

Entertaining game suitable for all ages. With the right group of people this can also be played pretty cut-throat, so this isn't just for the non-gamers.

4/23/2019

Time 'N' Space

I love the...

by majohnny

I love the idea of real-time boardgames. Finally played this one (only once in Essen) but didn't really like it too much. Makes for a good game to have conversation though, because theres always time everyone just sits around and waits.

4/23/2019

Time 'N' Space

I love the...

by majohnny

I love the idea of real-time boardgames. Finally played this one (only once in Essen) but didn't really like it too much. Makes for a good game to have conversation though, because theres always time everyone just sits around and waits.

4/23/2019

Telestrations

Great, fun...

by majohnny

Great, fun party game. I can't think on a negative here, besides the 8-player limitation (I need to get the 12-player version), which can be worked around or the scoring (which we never use). Totally recommend this one. We always have a blast playing this.

4/23/2019

Telestrations

Great, fun...

by majohnny

Great, fun party game. I can't think on a negative here, besides the 8-player limitation (I need to get the 12-player version), which can be worked around or the scoring (which we never use). Totally recommend this one. We always have a blast playing this.

4/23/2019

SORRY! Sliders

Because I ...

by majohnny

Because I love dexterity games this looked like a lot of fun. Unfortunately when I got it and brought it to the tablet nothing really developed. Though the game was enjoyable there weren't too much emotions or any laughter involved so I don't know if I'll get this to the table again. Can't recommend this one.

4/23/2019

SORRY! Sliders

Because I ...

by majohnny

Because I love dexterity games this looked like a lot of fun. Unfortunately when I got it and brought it to the tablet nothing really developed. Though the game was enjoyable there weren't too much emotions or any laughter involved so I don't know if I'll get this to the table again. Can't recommend this one.

4/23/2019

Stratego Legends

While it w...

by majohnny

While it was an enjoyable game its too dependant on those reference sheets. 3 sheets, printed on the front and back so you constantly have to flip them over made it even worse. They also didn't use any kind of icon for specific skills or actions, which is why you always have to search for the character and read what it does. Keeping in mind what those of your opponents do is also nearly impossible for near players. Another negative point is, that this one is out of print, which means you won't get any new characters, which probably is one of the main features of this game. Can't really recommend this one.

4/23/2019

Stratego Legends

While it w...

by majohnny

While it was an enjoyable game its too dependant on those reference sheets. 3 sheets, printed on the front and back so you constantly have to flip them over made it even worse. They also didn't use any kind of icon for specific skills or actions, which is why you always have to search for the character and read what it does. Keeping in mind what those of your opponents do is also nearly impossible for near players. Another negative point is, that this one is out of print, which means you won't get any new characters, which probably is one of the main features of this game. Can't really recommend this one.

4/23/2019

Small World

This game ...

by majohnny

This game gets a lot of attention in the webz and because it also looked great I went and got it. Unfortunately the first game I played of this was way boring. So thought my 2 opponents. The second time I played it with 3 opponents and while it was a little more interesting this probably only was because I was winning. 2 of the 3 opponents thought it was boring, the other one thought it was ok. I would'nt recommend to get this game, though it probably just isn't my taste of game.

4/23/2019

Small World

This game ...

by majohnny

This game gets a lot of attention in the webz and because it also looked great I went and got it. Unfortunately the first game I played of this was way boring. So thought my 2 opponents. The second time I played it with 3 opponents and while it was a little more interesting this probably only was because I was winning. 2 of the 3 opponents thought it was boring, the other one thought it was ok. I would'nt recommend to get this game, though it probably just isn't my taste of game.

4/23/2019

Nox

When I fir...

by majohnny

When I first saw it it looked like a UNO replacement with a in-your-face-aspect. This seems true, but when we played it nothing really funny happened in my oppinion. It was still enjoyable because it plays quick and easy, but I'll probably not recommend it to get it to the table.

4/23/2019

Nox

When I fir...

by majohnny

When I first saw it it looked like a UNO replacement with a in-your-face-aspect. This seems true, but when we played it nothing really funny happened in my oppinion. It was still enjoyable because it plays quick and easy, but I'll probably not recommend it to get it to the table.

4/23/2019

No Thanks!

This one i...

by majohnny

This one is a mixed bag for me. Most of the people I hear talking about this do like it. For me most of the plays were pretty boring though. There isn't really any decision to make in this game, it mostly comes down to : Do I take 15 negative points so the next one doesn't get 10 positive points? For us this game needs someone to sacrifice himself for the team to make this interesting. On the other hand I found this pretty funny and interesting while playing with a big family (all ages). I assume this came down to never knowing what the kids will do next. So I may recommend this for families, but not for someone who isn't scared from something like Hanabi.

4/23/2019

No Thanks!

This one i...

by majohnny

This one is a mixed bag for me. Most of the people I hear talking about this do like it. For me most of the plays were pretty boring though. There isn't really any decision to make in this game, it mostly comes down to : Do I take 15 negative points so the next one doesn't get 10 positive points? For us this game needs someone to sacrifice himself for the team to make this interesting. On the other hand I found this pretty funny and interesting while playing with a big family (all ages). I assume this came down to never knowing what the kids will do next. So I may recommend this for families, but not for someone who isn't scared from something like Hanabi.

4/23/2019

Kingdom Builder

Another ga...

by majohnny

Another game from Donald (Dominion) with a lot of variability. Found this one a little boring, my girlfriend liked it though. There isn't really that much to do/to think and you only have one card in your hand which tells you where you have to put your houses. Therefore this makes for a good family game I guess. Easy to explain, flows pretty quick, not too much to think about.

4/23/2019

Kingdom Builder

Another ga...

by majohnny

Another game from Donald (Dominion) with a lot of variability. Found this one a little boring, my girlfriend liked it though. There isn't really that much to do/to think and you only have one card in your hand which tells you where you have to put your houses. Therefore this makes for a good family game I guess. Easy to explain, flows pretty quick, not too much to think about.

4/23/2019

Keltis

A (multipl...

by majohnny

A (multiplayer) variation of Lost Cities with the additional board to consider. Adds some decisions (which way to go on the board) but also gets a little more lucky.

4/23/2019

Keltis

A (multipl...

by majohnny

A (multiplayer) variation of Lost Cities with the additional board to consider. Adds some decisions (which way to go on the board) but also gets a little more lucky.

4/23/2019

Hanabi

I totally ...

by majohnny

I totally recommend this one. Surprisingly it was a hit with nearly everyone I played it with. While it does need a fair amount of concentration its a cooperative card game variant of Solitaire. The great twist of not seeing your own cards is always a hit. It's also very portable so you can take it everwhere and play a quick round.

4/23/2019

Hanabi

I totally ...

by majohnny

I totally recommend this one. Surprisingly it was a hit with nearly everyone I played it with. While it does need a fair amount of concentration its a cooperative card game variant of Solitaire. The great twist of not seeing your own cards is always a hit. It's also very portable so you can take it everwhere and play a quick round.

4/23/2019

Friday

Mechanical...

by majohnny

Mechanically a great game, I just hadn't really fun playing it. Looks like I'm not really into solo games after all.

4/23/2019

Friday

Mechanical...

by majohnny

Mechanically a great game, I just hadn't really fun playing it. Looks like I'm not really into solo games after all.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

This is probably the most stressfull game I ever played (and probably will ever play). Even the solo variant stressed me out. I love the real time idea behind it what makes it a great game for my collection and table.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

This is probably the most stressfull game I ever played (and probably will ever play). Even the solo variant stressed me out. I love the real time idea behind it what makes it a great game for my collection and table.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Can be usefull. Can't have enough cards when playing with random sets, so thumbs up from me.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Can be usefull. Can't have enough cards when playing with random sets, so thumbs up from me.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I love this expansion. Though there are some pretty useless and crappy cards in it (great to give your opponent when playing with a swindler, and I know, every card can be usefull in the right situation) I just love the orange cards too much to whey this one down. Orange cards, thumbs up.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I love this expansion. Though there are some pretty useless and crappy cards in it (great to give your opponent when playing with a swindler, and I know, every card can be usefull in the right situation) I just love the orange cards too much to whey this one down. Orange cards, thumbs up.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Pretty decent card. I occasionally like to play with it.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Pretty decent card. I occasionally like to play with it.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Dominion base set with Cornucopia and all the Promos. What's not to like about that.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Dominion base set with Cornucopia and all the Promos. What's not to like about that.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I don't know why but at the moment this is my least favourite expansion. I don't really like how the game turns out with this expansion. Before adding the "10 Victory points card" it always made sence to me. 3 '1s' equal one Duchy. Two Duchys equal one province. Now its more like one of each (1, 3, 6) equal the new card (10). Doesn't really make sence to me but I'll have to play some more games to be sure about my rating.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I don't know why but at the moment this is my least favourite expansion. I don't really like how the game turns out with this expansion. Before adding the "10 Victory points card" it always made sence to me. 3 '1s' equal one Duchy. Two Duchys equal one province. Now its more like one of each (1, 3, 6) equal the new card (10). Doesn't really make sence to me but I'll have to play some more games to be sure about my rating.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Most of my friends and even my family love to play this game. The only drawback for me is the limited player interactions. While you have to watch your opponents moves it is not that critical and in some cases seems like a solitaire race for the provinces (not the case with every set of cards). But that could be also one of the plus points for this game, because it just flows. Its quick and easy has a TON of variety with thousands of strategies. Love it.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Most of my friends and even my family love to play this game. The only drawback for me is the limited player interactions. While you have to watch your opponents moves it is not that critical and in some cases seems like a solitaire race for the provinces (not the case with every set of cards). But that could be also one of the plus points for this game, because it just flows. Its quick and easy has a TON of variety with thousands of strategies. Love it.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I'm always getting this one out if I want to play a quick and easy game without the expansions (which I have mixed in my base game). While being a 'clean' version it still adds some variety to the game. The wheel gets used fairly often in our games and the actions on the wheel add something to the game. For me a good variant. I can recommend this to the Carcassonne fan.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I can't tell you why, but I don't like the river too much. While it adds to the scenery of the city it often also adds a lot of gaps. I just love a city without the gaps which is why I'm not always playing with the river (but sometimes I do).

4/23/2019

by majohnny

Neat little expansion which also supports a school in Ghana. I like to add this one to my game, but I'm usually already plaing with the count, the river or the wheel of fortunes, so it doesn't get too many plays.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I can't tell you why, but I don't like the river too much. While it adds to the scenery of the city it often also adds a lot of gaps. I just love a city without the gaps which is why I'm not always playing with the river (but sometimes I do).

4/23/2019

Ave Caesar

Great game...

by majohnny

Great game both for the family and your cut-throat gamer group. I can see people getting upset in this game (and I have seen people getting upset ;-)) so be aware when playing this with your kids. Other than that very fun game with some tactical decisions, but not too hard ones or too many, so this fits a lot of tastes. Recommended.

4/23/2019

by majohnny

I found this one pretty boring, most of the people I played this with thought it was decent, though. For me there just weren't real decisions to make. Probably something with the weight of UNO.

4/23/2019

Alhambra Board Game

Some neat ...

by majohnny

Some neat concepts in here. Not a game I would like to play every time, but decent now and then. Can be played with families or gamer groups and needs a good amount of thought. All in all a good game, but not higher because we never wanted to play it again after doing one round.

4/23/2019

Alhambra: Big Box

Alhambra i...

by majohnny

Alhambra is a neat game and the expansions add a lot to it.

4/23/2019