klz Reviews

These reviews were left by klz.

Frag PvP

It's still...

by klz

It's still Frag, but worth it for the PVP miniatures.

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Tile Chess

Sealed cop...

by klz

Sealed copy of the new edition for trade

1/22/2019

Through the Desert

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Star Munchkin

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Hive

Really goo...

by klz

Really good abstract game with a neat theme and no board needed.

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Give Me the Brain

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Castle Risk

nostalgia ...

by klz

nostalgia rating, and haven't been able to play it since.

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Chez Goth

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Aquadukt

Light stra...

by klz

Light strategy game, but fun.

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Race for the Galaxy

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Mystery of the Abbey

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Munchkin Impossible

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Munchkin 5: De-ranged

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

Frag Gold Edition

Have a sea...

by klz

Have a sealed copy of the Gold edition for trade.

1/22/2019

Fist of Dragonstones

No Review Title

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

No Review Description

1/22/2019

by klz

Very long game, but moves fluidly and plays very well with the experience of building up characters.

1/22/2019

by klz

Very nice puzzle game. A little too much brain warping for most, and can feel really dry for non-puzzle fans.

1/22/2019

Ubongo 3D

Much more ...

by klz

Much more fun than I expected. Not entirely sure how the game will keep up once people are familiar with the boards and pieces, but the competition during the rounds still keeps the game flowing very well. The handicapping of the two sided boards helps too.

1/22/2019

by klz

Very clever yet accessible game design. Like a reverse Clue where you're choosing the location of the treasures, it's a big hit with non gamers and the pieces are amazing to look at.

1/22/2019

by klz

I like this slightly more than the original version because the passengers give an extra way to score points. The separation of route cards also give people more control over how they want to play their game.

1/22/2019

by klz

The weakest of the three sets for me. The Stations help people who like lower conflict, and the tunnel rules still confuse a lot of people.

1/22/2019

Ticket To Ride

One of the...

by klz

One of the best introductory Euro games, I still love to play and teach it. The larger 1910 cards help a lot when shuffling.

1/22/2019

Thebes

Lots of lu...

by klz

Lots of luck, but completely within the theme. Too light if you're looking for a strategy game, but the gambling aspect of finding treasure or pulling out more dirt is more fun than it has a right to be.

1/22/2019

by klz

Nice adventure trip, but takes way too long, and the endgame is painful. Sentimental game needs some updating to make it more fun.

1/22/2019

The Stars Are Right

Despite th...

by klz

Despite the light hearted artwork and the Steve Jackson name, this is one of the most complex puzzle games I've played, and very well done. Sweet spot is 3 players, though it works okay with 2 or 4, and not for those who don't want to think!

1/22/2019

Starfarers of Catan

Fun game, ...

by klz

Fun game, but played with 6 players, it drags worse than Settlers does.

1/22/2019

Small World

Like a tac...

by klz

Like a tactical version of Risk, controlling and conquering territory is important. The variety of combinations works very well.

1/22/2019

Santiago

With 5 pla...

by klz

With 5 players, truly one of the meanest games ever made. If you like backstabbing with great structure, but you don't have all day for Diplomacy, this will fill that hole in just an hour.

1/22/2019

Samsara

An abstrac...

by klz

An abstract that doesn't seem to fall apart near the end game with 6+ players. One of the few multiplayer abstracts that actually works, and negotiation and dealmaking add a lot to the game. Much better than it appears.

1/22/2019

by klz

While the board layout and warping can be a slight turn off, the game has grown on me and the game far outshines the minor problems.

1/22/2019

Revolution!

Plays quic...

by klz

Plays quickly and has plenty of second guessing and outguessing of your opponents. Similar to Arkadia - plenty of Euro in just an hour play time, only for blind bidding games.

1/22/2019

Risk

Sentimenta...

by klz

Sentimental rating since I grew up with it and liked it lots. Seems limited in its gameplay now, but refreshed and definitely improved with the Reinvention's mission design. Onyx edition owned and the combined edition with Castle Risk

1/22/2019

by klz

It has quickly become a favorite despite (or because of) the randomness, it's just plain fun to play, even when you are losing horribly. It gives the feeling of being a pirate and fighting other players with a fairly fast resolution system that still offers room to plan and make decisions during the game.

1/22/2019

Ra

My favorit...

by klz

My favorite of the "Knizia auction trilogy". While I like Medici a lot, this one is much more focused than that game. I also find Modern Art oddly dry, and at points it seems that you have less control than this game.

1/22/2019

Friday The 13th

Simple yet...

by klz

Simple yet deviously mean game that works great as a filler.

1/22/2019

Puerto Rico

I haven't ...

by klz

I haven't played it so much that it's solved for me, and it still plays well for me. Homemade expansion included when it was first released as a PDF.

1/22/2019

Power Grid

After many...

by klz

After many games, this has become my favorite game and keeps getting better. Lots of bizarre rules that somehow work to create a genuine masterpiece.

1/22/2019

Pirate's Cove

The only r...

by klz

The only real problem is that someone who fights early and loses a few times will be out of the running. Otherwise,it's a fun, light game. The rulebook could be organized better, too.

1/22/2019

No Thanks!

One of the...

by klz

One of the best fillers I've tired, and works great for people unfamiliar with the newer games.

1/22/2019

Nexus Ops

Terribly u...

by klz

Terribly underrated and likely unknown for a while due to the lackluster AH releases by Hasbro prior to this game's release, but totally worth the original price tag. Tactical dice rolling fun that plays in about an hour with awesome pieces that you have to play just once in life under blacklight.

1/22/2019

by klz

Surprsingly fun strategy game with some of the best looking dice I've played with.

1/22/2019

Ninja Burger

Used first...

by klz

Used first edition for trade includes Sumo Size Me. Also have an extra sealed copy of the Death Touch edition from the first printing.

1/22/2019

Munchkin

I'd like i...

by klz

I'd like it much more if it could be played in an hour, but teaching excited people makes it tolerable. True across the entire line.

1/22/2019

Memoir 44

I love the...

by klz

I love the way the game is so flexible. It's dropped a point because BattleLore improves on the system in a few ways, and I love the fantasy theme more.

1/22/2019

by klz

So many people love this game, and I am still trying to find a group to help me see the appeal. I really want to like it, but it seems too mechanical compared to Shadows Over Camelot. I keep trying to pull it out and try it out, but it just doesn't feel coherent to me yet.

1/22/2019

King's Blood

Reminds me...

by klz

Reminds me of Uno with some structure, it is fun for a few rounds, but it kind of loses its appeal for some due to the multi-round system to get to 100 points.

1/22/2019

by klz

Still a favorite of the Cheapass line, and fun in a twisted way. I find there's more strategy than it appears at times. Own both Cheapass version (tuckbox - 3rd print) and SJG versions.

1/22/2019

Knightmare Chess 2

The older ...

by klz

The older edition is for trade. One sealed copy and one without the plastic(came off over time)

1/22/2019

Jungle Speed

This didn'...

by klz

This didn't impress me at first glance, but I'm glad I gave it a chance. Bad reflexes and dexterity didn't hinder my enjoyment of the game. Just make sure nobody has any finger jewelry on and everyone's nails are cut!

1/22/2019

Jambo

Great 2 pl...

by klz

Great 2 player game, though the animal cards can be too mean for players not really into heavy conflict.

1/22/2019

by klz

While based off of the Illuminati engine and supposed to help it play quicker, it feels under tested and the showdown is less fun than the regular version.

1/22/2019

Illuminati

Impressive...

by klz

Impressive how an old game still works so well with no real changes in rules. Can take a really long time to play, however. Extra sealed copy for trade.

1/22/2019

by klz

Deeper than it looks, and the Hasbro name would suggest. The collector mentality makes it pretty expensive, though.The terrain alone is worth having a few copies.

1/22/2019

by klz

Still fun, though many jokes are dated,and some of the concepts are no longer close to true to life.

1/22/2019

by klz

I love the Xxxenophile based mechanics. Unique and fun.

1/22/2019

For Sale

Ok filler,...

by klz

Ok filler, but feels like it's missing that something that makes a game relly good.The two halves of the game are different enough that it feels a bit schizophrenic, but it is still fun and quick enough to sty enjoyable.

1/22/2019

Empire Builder

Sentimenta...

by klz

Sentimental rating. Older version with the jigsaw board and no Mexico map.

1/22/2019

Endeavor

Amazing ga...

by klz

Amazing game where the player boards lay out the turns cleanly with plenty of variety and strategy. A mish mosh of worker placement and area control that comes across as really polished.

1/22/2019

Dragonriders

Should hav...

by klz

Should have been so much better, but the board's tightness often means that the person in the lead going into the first tight area will win if they aren't careless.

1/22/2019

by klz

Trying to ignore the hype, I tried to give it a shot on its own merits, and found a game that truly distills a CCG experience down to a 30-40 minute game, from buying to deck building to playing against the other players, it's quite impressive and addictive. My only worry is that the cards used for every game (Treasure and Victory) will get marked soon due to the incredible amounts of shuffling.

1/22/2019

Dork Tower

Surprising...

by klz

Surprisingly fun game that does a good job parodying Dark Tower while beign a fun game in its own right. Can be too long for some in a Munchkin-like way with too many people screwing each other.

1/22/2019

Dino Hunt Dice

Fairly fun...

by klz

Fairly fun for kids, though the balance of dinosaurs we know about push the vast majority of cards towards the same area of the timeline.

1/22/2019

by klz

Memory with vampires. Expensive but worth it, and a good reminder of how adults fall into patterns of memory while kids do not (and have a big advantage when looking for still empty graves). Wish it sold well enough to bring the expansion to the states, though.

1/22/2019

by klz

Mostly a nostalgia rating as the game is fun in a beer and pretzels way, but the game is less clear than I remember.

1/22/2019

Cosmic Encounter

Just the b...

by klz

Just the base Eon version, and i haven't had the time to try to put together the many expansions out there.

1/22/2019

Colosseum

Interestin...

by klz

Interesting trading game with some nice ideas that force you to adapt while making long term plans. Experience has told me that the 60-90 minute listed playing time is wrong and closer to a 2-2.5 hour game.

1/22/2019

by klz

Perhaps lighter than many like, but a good introductory Euro game with lots of chrome. Lots of chaos with the deck building, but I find it makes the game more fun that it would otherwise be. 1 extra sealed copy available for trade.

1/22/2019

Chinatown

Pretty dec...

by klz

Pretty decent trading game with a crowd who likes to trade quickly and freely. If any players analyze the trades too heavily, though, it can fall flat.

1/22/2019

by klz

Good game that I thought would have lost its lustre by now, but it's still fun in a(n im)mature way.

1/22/2019

Coloretto

Quite simp...

by klz

Quite simply one of the best fillers on the market. More screwage potential and it first looks and despite the name and theme, one of the most colorblind firendly games I've ever seen.

1/22/2019

by klz

It's okay, but mostly feels like it adds more stuff to Catan with little reward for the extra time.

1/22/2019

by klz

Only owned for the conventions I help with their libraries. The game drags far too long with the extension to be fun.

1/22/2019

by klz

Makes Catan more strategic, but lengthens the game. I enjoy it more than the base game, but people who like Catan don't usually want the game to be longer, and other people usually want something with more direct interaction for 3 hour games.

1/22/2019

Catan Dice Game

Light and ...

by klz

Light and fun. Sort of like Yahtzee or Phase 10 but you feel like you have a little more control over things. Still a dice game at its heart.

1/22/2019

Caylus Board Game

Deep game ...

by klz

Deep game deserving of the hype, but the possibility that the game can be dragged out for an extra hour or two can be annoying.

1/22/2019

Catan

I don't li...

by klz

I don't like it as much as I used to, but after a year away, it's grown on me again. Can't play it with more than 4 people, though.

1/22/2019

by klz

A little too vicious for some,it works for the right crowd. Very difficult to plan long term strategies, however.

1/22/2019

Ca$h 'n Gun$

More fun i...

by klz

More fun in 15 minutes than it has any right to be. Described to me as Reservoir Dogs the Boardgame, it's quite apt, and pointing foam guns at each other with appropriate bad accents is hysterical.

1/22/2019