andrewishi Reviews

These reviews were left by andrewishi.

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Polterfass

Two plays ...

by andrewishi

Two plays only

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

2 plays only

1/21/2019

Seven Card Samurai

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Eruption

Single pla...

by andrewishi

Single play only

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

2 plays only

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Champions of Midgard

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Great Wall of China

2 plays on...

by andrewishi

2 plays only.

1/21/2019

Favor of the Pharaoh

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Cosmic Encounter

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Magic: The Gathering

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Family Business

Single pla...

by andrewishi

Single play only

1/21/2019

Forbidden Desert

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Hacienda

2 plays on...

by andrewishi

2 plays only

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Xenoshyft: Onslaught

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Sheriff of Nottingham

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mystery Express

A more inv...

by andrewishi

A more involved Clue. There are two cards of each type floating around instead of one, and they switch between play areas constantly, so you'll really have to make an effort to track down both copies at the same time to eliminate something from your list. There are different train cars with different actions available to reveal cards and move cards around, of which you'll take a few each turn. There are four separate types of clues (Suspect, Location, Motive, M.O.), which are identical, plus a fifth (Time), which operates in a completely different way, but not in a good way: it feels tacked-on, taking place at stages of the game specifically set aside for the Time, using a mechanic that is not seen elsewhere in the game, and basically amounts to a trio of speed-memorization contests. Another frustrating feature of this game is that it seems to be set up so that you don't solve the mystery by the end. You have a limited amount of actions available, and a competent set of opponents will be able to prevent you from learning too much too quickly (this probably changes with # of players, my experience is based on 5 players). Not some sort of objective flaw, but I find it frustrating for the curtain to come down when I'm still trying to work things out (thematically, it's especially annoying to know where, when, how, and why the murder occurred, but not whodunit!). It's got more going on than Clue, with some good card-manipulation ideas, but it's not as good at the same basic idea as Mystery at the Abbey.

1/21/2019

Nile DeLuxor

Single pla...

by andrewishi

Single play only.

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

A Few Acres of Snow

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

XCOM: The Board Game

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Forbidden Island

I don't th...

by andrewishi

I don't think it would be unfair to call this game Pandemic for Kids, as it's the same designer and the same core mechanics, but with everything simplified a bit and the theme changed to be more kid-friendly (I assume kids would rather be treasure hunters exploring island ruins than be the CDC trying to prevent biological Armageddon). If kid-friendly was a priority for me, I'd probably rate this game more favorably, but I don't have kids, and I don't play with kids, so I'd rather just play Pandemic.

1/21/2019

Kingsburg

This is a ...

by andrewishi

This is a thematically fun and mechanically solid game, with just the right amount of luck for my tastes, at it's core is a sort of worker-placement-with-dice mechanic. However, there does seem to be a best strategy, both when placing influence (Can I somehow make my dice add to 14 this turn?) and when constructing buildings, which detracts from the replay value a bit. The combat mechanic leaves much to be desired. In my mind, it either needs to go away completely, or raise the stakes and complexity a bit to make it a big climactic experience. The To Forge a Realm expansion helps with the replayability concerns.

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

This is a pretty small expansion pack: 2 new maps and one new character. Based on only a few plays, one map seems to be quite difficult, and one seems to be quite easy, but given that we usually play on the medium difficulty anyways, this is a good thing. They both have a very different layout from the original 2 which seem more similar, plus the office has some special rules for operating above ground floor. I haven't yet made up my mind about the new Structural Engineer.

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

When I saw this in stores, I always ignored it, assuming that a game based on a TV show was designed primarily to be fun for fans of the show (which I am not), at the expense of being fun for anyone else (which I am). I have been pleasantly surprised. I've only played a few games, but this game's loyalty system blows those in Shadows Over Camelot or Bang! out of the water. Additionally, there is an interesting mix of character abilities, and the core skill check mechanic is fairly solid. My complaints are simple and few: there is a disappointing lack of different strategy cards, and there is a significant range of power in the Crisis deck, making the luck-to-strategy ratio a bit high for my taste. (Update) Unfortunately, going to downgrade this one from an 8 to a 7, as either we're hopelessly terrible at this game (but only some of us, sometimes) or this game is hopelessly imbalanced. The part of me that likes to win is starting to get excited every time I see a "You are a Cylon" card, since I've basically been assured an easy victory. However, the part of me that actually likes competitive games is starting to get a bit tired of this game. (Update Update) We've been playing this with the recommended variant of "Start the humans with 2 more of everything", and it seems to do the trick (Maybe a little too much; we should try "Start the humans with 1 more of everything"). If your group finds that the Cylons win too often for your collective taste, try this.

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

I'm not sure how they justified printing this expansion pack, especially when I look at it alongside Cities and Knights. This game adds more of the same (now with sea-roads!), but is really an "expansion" in the same way buying another set of the game and playing on twice the game board is an expansion. The scenarios are alright, but not really necessary, and certainly not worth buying the expansion for. The boats perhaps correct an imbalance between the resources, but not much else.

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Ticket to Ride: Europe

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Station Master

2 plays on...

by andrewishi

2 plays only

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Star Realms

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Risk (Revised Edition)

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Race for the Galaxy

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Russian Railroads

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Rummikub

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mage Knight

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mice and Mystics

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mastermind

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mechs vs. Minions

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Ladies & Gentlemen

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Knightmare Chess 2

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Kingsport Festival

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Mancala

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Dominion: Cornucopia

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Boss Monster

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Chicago Express

Single pla...

by andrewishi

Single play only

1/21/2019

Ca$h 'n Gun$

Single pla...

by andrewishi

Single play only

1/21/2019

Bang!: The Dice Game

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Alchemist

2 plays on...

by andrewishi

2 plays only

1/21/2019

Zombicide

In the int...

by andrewishi

In the interest of full disclosure, I was one of the many who backed this game while it was on Kickstarter, so go ahead and assume whatever you want about my biases based on that. I bought a fat stack of minis, and got a decent game as a bonus. As the name implies, there's very little horror and a lot of zombie-shooting, zombie-smashing, and zombie-chainsawing. As a Left 4 Dead player, I approve. The rulebook isn't great, and there are some minor rules ambiguities, and some rules I just don't care for, but it's FUN, dammit. Too many tiny plastic zombies for it to not be. EDIT: Really wish they had rules for playing with 7 or more players for us Kickstarter folks. I've got 9 heroes, with more on the way, but the game gets too easy if I play with more than 6? EDIT: OK, the first rating (8) was good for the first scenario, but after playing a few of the others, going to have to downgrade this a bit. Scenario 1 has you scavenging around a town for necessary foodstuffs to help the group last in the post-apocalyptic world. It's hard, and tense, but in the way that all good co-ops are hard. It's also a very long scenario. After trying several other scenarios, it almost feels like Scenario 1 was the one that the game was built for, and the rest are all afterthoughts. Afterthoughts that have neither the challenge nor the fun factor of the game we thought we were playing. I'll try the rest of them, since I've seen the game's potential. I'm keeping an eye out for fan-built scenarios, and might build some of my own, but some of these scenarios that come with the game are just poorly designed.

1/21/2019

Yahtzee

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Wizard's Brew

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Village Inn

No Review Title

by andrewishi

No Review Description

1/21/2019