Reviews

These reviews were left by amacleod.

by

A fairly boring aerial version of Chess. The board was quite ugly.

11/3/2020

by

Fun, fun, fun game!!! Unless, of course, the players are all non-adventurous types who refuse to declare themselves Shogun: in that case, the game WILL drag on forever. Otherwise, can be over and done with in an hour to an hour and a half. Be prepared to say, "Hai!" and refer to your opponents as "Honourable Jason" and "Dishonourable Jerry" a heck of a lot. Fantastic for both older kids and adults.

11/3/2020

by

Outstanding game!!! Outstanding, that is, if you enjoy Arthurian literature, as I do. Otherwise, probably most people won't have the patience to wade through the poorly written rules, i.e., extremely murky at points. But for those with patience, it can prove to be quite rewarding. Having said that, in order to make it an enjoyable game as opposed to a disappointment, we've incorporated the variant rule first suggested (I believe) by Mr. Jim Mzik, that the player sponsoring a quest receives a shield if the other players are unsuccessful in attempting the quest. (We don't award this shield if no one shows up, though. Seems a little too easy to get a spare shield that way.) Also thanks to Mr. John Clark for his suggestions (although we play with Mordred as the printed rules state: nice and evil that way!). Finally, boys and girls, remember: this is NOT an advanced strategy game! It is a fun card game. Mind you, I believe that those who are good at card games and know how to handle card management will do much better at this than other players.

11/3/2020

Swoggle

60pts

by

If you'd like a bit more freedom with letters than you get in Scrabble, try Swoggle. I don't generally like word games, so bear that in mind.

11/3/2020

Fluxx

80pts

by

Totally demented game; and I say that in the best way possible. But in all seriousness, folks, if you want a good game of strategy, then buy something else. If you just want to play for laughs, dive in. I love telling people when they ask me what the object of Fluxx is, "I have no idea"; or, if I do, "Do you mean now, five minutes ago, or ten minutes hence?" Great for playing after midnight (which I did on New Year's Eve past) when your brain is fried and you just don't care anymore! As for the rules? There are none...at least, nothing carved in stone!

11/3/2020

by

If you have an interest in the construction industry, you might like this game. Otherwise you're better off playing Monopoly. One good thing I can say about it, though, is that it has a bidding aspect absent from its parent (and superior) game, The Farming Game.

11/3/2020

Catan

100pts

by

One of the best non-cooperative games out there in terms of player interaction. Each player almost always is doing something, even if it's not his turn. There are those who cite the rolling of the dice every turn as a sign that Settlers is light on strategy, but it is a rare game of Catan where luck outweighs strategy. Decisions on road, settlement and city placement are never easy.

11/3/2020

by

One of the worst wargames I've ever played! The rules are fine; the map looks nice; the article in S&T that went along with Siege of Constantinople was outstanding. But you just don't do much in this game...it's a snore-fest. Bear in mind, however, I never played this game with the naval expansion: that might have made a difference.

11/3/2020

by

My rating of "7" is coming from a guy who's not a huge fan of card games. I like this one, though, and it has all the characteristics of a classic trick taking game with a few twists. For example, there's only three suits. As well, the ominous dark shadow of Bob's hat continually looms over the game: will it bring blessing or plunge your point total into negative territory? Speaking of which, it's amazing how often players are in negative territory! The tension level in the game increases with each hand, as the number of cards increases by one with each subsequent deal. People are biting nails by the final hand!

11/3/2020

by

My preferred Catan. This is due to the fact that I am a big fan of exploration games, but on top of that, the addition of sea routes and something new to build (ships) requires much more decision making. There's also a lot more variety in the game set-up and scenario requirements than in standard Settlers. Seafarers is a must have for any fan of the original.

11/3/2020

Samurai

60pts

by

So what am I missing here? The theme is definitely missing: it's lightly pasted on what is essentially an abstract strategy game.As far as abstract strategy games go, it's certainly not bad, but a little dry. I'll play it, but Reiner's done better.

11/3/2020

by

Standard roll-and-move game, with great pictures from the Ape movies. The most interesting thing about it was the 3-D cage ("the Forbidden Zone") that hapless humans could plunge into and disappear forever....

11/3/2020

by

Yes, Virginia, it IS a game. I didn't know this when I was a kid. But now I know better. Excellent game to play when you're under the delusion that FLUXX is a game of grand strategy.

11/3/2020

by

It's a great game, a combination of strategy and psychology; and I can't stand it. Why? Because it is very difficult for anyone to walk away from a game of Diplomacy without hurt feelings, no matter whether you won or not. Having said that, this is the game for you if you want go test your skills of lying, betrayal and deception. I understand this game has been named "Game of the Year" 46 years running now by the inhabitants of Hell. Very popular among the great diplomats of history who are residing there!

11/3/2020

by

Tactics always seemed to be the same: Germans pound the British with everything they've got and charge westwards. The British run away with everything they've got beyond the Canal du Nord, and then win. No contest, really. But the rules system was very well done; the problem is that, as far as I can see, both historically and in the game, the Germans couldn't win.

11/3/2020

by

If you incorporate the various optional rules that appeared in "The General" (especially the diplomatic rules) you have a very good simulation of WW1. Avoid the optional unit production rules, however: highly unrealistic things can happen. The rules system is fairly straightforward. Sadly, however, it IS a good simulation of WW1: therefore, the players get bogged down in a very long, increasingly dull game. What is worse, each player's turn is rather lengthy, with next to no player interaction, and so the non-phasing player is left with plenty of time to read the collected works of Enver Hoxa.

11/3/2020

by

Yes, there's a lot of luck involved, with the drawing of newly discovered tiles; but, in fact, there's actually less luck here in Entdecker than there is in Herr Teuber's more popular Settlers of Catan. It must always be borne in mind that this game, above all else, is a game that requires very, very careful financial management. You cannot simply spend as much money as you want every turn, or else (through the income generating die)you will eternally be supplying the other players with gold. When cash is low, explore little; when cash is high, go on lengthier journeys. And always become nervous when you find yourself with four gold pieces left. In addition to the economic decisions, tense strategic decisions are needed for placement of units, and in particular, the scouts. The rule system is remarkably easy and straight-forward, so much so that my 71 year old, non-gaming mother-in-law enjoys it! I love it! Hey, Herr Teuber: how about some historical variants for Entdecker, bitte?

11/3/2020

by

A HUGE improvement on Battleship! Played this quite regularly as a pre-teen. As opposed to Battleship, there's actually a bit of strategic challenge in this game.

11/3/2020

by

Boring. No strategy, no fun. Why Battleship is still being made, and yet the similar and better game Sub Search is not is beyond me.

11/3/2020

by

An excellent strategy game for kids, but certainly leave it behind after you're ten or so. Certainly far better than that snoozer Battleships.

11/3/2020

by

The first true wargame I ever owned (and, sadly, gave away decades ago!). Certainly not a deep simulation, but a reasonable facsimile of the historical situation in Belgium in 1815. As a game, it's quite enjoyable and challenging (especially for the French) and is an excellent three player game. Battles are fought on an abstract battle mat, and this is where the game shines (especially if your tastes tend to go towards abstract strategy games).

11/3/2020

Risk

40pts

by

I loved it as a kid, but there's just not too much to it, once you realize it's almost entirely luck driven.

11/3/2020

by

Take this game for what it is, folks: a simple strategy game for kids with a good dose of luck; and a fun, super-quick filler for adults. Don't try to compare it with the Labyrinth board games: two different species.

11/3/2020

by

One of the best strategy games for younger kids! Fun for adults, too, but I'd prefer Master Labyrinth.

11/3/2020

by

An extremely well-themed abstract strategy game, and much superior to its predecessor,Amazing Labyrinth. Any drawbacks? Two: very frequent analysis paralysis; and (with three or four players) it is very difficult to plan a long term strategy. With two players, however, this is not an issue.

11/3/2020

by

The one and only monster game I ever owned (and the only one I played, too). Contrary to many other reviewers, I thought the rules system was outstanding, and highly realistic...too realistic, in fact. The game system seemed to always force you into particular choices, it kinda played itself, and was too predictable. This, combined with the huge amount of time and space needed, gives it my rating. (The best thing about the game by far were the cavalry charges!)

11/3/2020

by

I've rated the WWI Ace of Aces games much higher. I think this is solely because it's more fun to be a World War One flying ace...just ask Snoopy.

11/3/2020

by

Much preferred the original. I'm not sure why. For some reason, I found the original black and white line drawings much more appealing than the black and white photos in the deluxe.

11/3/2020

by

Not anywhere near as good as Flying Machines, Handy Rotary (original) or Powerhouse. Moderately boring for Archie, and quite regularly deadly for the pilot. Not bad, though, if you're incorporating it into an Ace of Aces campaign game.

11/3/2020

by

I was absolutely addicted to Ace of Aces (World War One series) in the latter half of the eighties. Played it everywhere with my old buddy Danny MacDonald, including on the bus and over the phone! Very realistic, but eventually, the system becomes predictable. I'm just thankful it took me so long to figure that out! POOKA-POOKA-POOKA!

11/3/2020

by

My first Ace of Aces game. I always seemed to do better in a DH2 than in anything else; had to be that swivel gun!

11/3/2020

Saga

80pts

by

My opinion of Saga has increased considerably since my first review! Very attractive(albeit unrealistic)cards in this quasi-Mediaeval game. The rules system works very well, but one must memorize the attributes of all the kingdoms to plot an effective strategy. And it is definitely a strategy game, with luck playing exceedingly little part. This is a fun game; it would be a lot more exciting if it was more realisticly themed. In spite of that, I doubt I'll ever turn down an offer to play it. It certainly has the potential to drag, but the excitement level does tend to rise as it enters the end-game phase.

11/3/2020

by

A very realistic, fun and playable wargame of Age of Sail combat. Overall, a lighter version of WS&IM, the latter being the one that I would (probably) always prefer.

11/3/2020

by

If you have an interest in the Age of Sail, you WILL love this game! Some have lamented about the "bookkeeping" in this game, but I don't think it's that big an issue; it's there, but it's not onerous. There can be slow spots during the game, but it will pick up. Excellent for DYO scenarios.

11/3/2020

Pente

100pts

by

This rating applies to the two player game, and not to the multi-player version, which probably rates a seven. I have yet to play this with the new "power stones".

11/3/2020

Anzio

40pts

by

11/3/2020

by

Almost certainly, my rating would be higher if I was actually any good at Scrabble! It's just a little constraining for those of us who are scrabbly-challenged.

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

by

It doesn't matter whether you're good or bad at this game. Either way, in less than a minute,it quickly becomes a real snoozer.

11/3/2020

by

My favourite party game! Also the only game I play that I never play to win: I just try to come up with the goofiest definitions, without caring whether or not anyone falls for them (although it's hilarious when someone does!). Not a game to be taken seriously, folks; just play it for laughs. Loads of fun!

11/3/2020

by

If this was 1980, my rating would probably be a 5, but it's now hopelessly outdated in it's technology. For an electronic game, it was extraordinary for one's ability to cheat at it.

11/3/2020

by

I like this game; it's fun. A good game, but not a great one. And, oooohhhhh, how it can drag on! Frankly, if I had my choice of card games, I'd choose Coloretto. Now that the negative is totally out of the way, a MAJOR positive: in terms of player interaction, Bohnanza can't be beat! Settlers of Catan I certainly prefer, but SOLELY in terms of interaction, Bohnanza is far, far, superior. And, if I was only rating Bohnanza on player interaction, I would have given it a 9.

11/3/2020

Kaboodl

60pts

by

11/3/2020

Loot

80pts

by

As far as card games go, it's great, with the huge amount of luck that one should expect from a card game. Nevertheless, there is room for a modicum of strategic thought. One should not play this game unless one is willing to talk with a pirate accent. The cards are somewhat flimsy. With its short length, it has all the requirements for a great filler game. I have yet to play the partnership version; it sounds very good.

11/3/2020

Othello

100pts

by

Some criticize Othello for having no strategy apart from "get the corners". Yes, the corners are extremely important. Nevertheless, I've seen games with experienced players where one player has held three corners...and lost! I also saw one four player game where one player held all four corners, and won...by a mere four points! There's more than just corners in this game, folks.

11/3/2020

by

One of my favourite word games! Definitely a party game, and definitely the players who are good at anagrams will have the upper hand. Overconfidence will, however, result in you calling out words that have no correspondance with any letters on the board! Also (unlike a lot of word games I'm familiar with) it is delightfully brief, allowing more time for Twilight Struggle and the like.

11/3/2020

by

One major improvement over the mechanically similar Five Crowns.Part of Quiddler's appeal is certainly the attractive Medieval Celtic lettering on the cards. I find it far more suspenseful than Scrabble, since you have no idea when the other players are going to go out. Quiddler solitaire is dreadful. As well, the more players involved, the more boring Quiddler can be, as you wait forever for the opponents to make their moves. I would probably recommend Quiddler for 3 or 4 players, and certainly never more than 5.

11/3/2020

by

For those who thought standard Settlers was too simple, lots has been added to Cities and Knights: LOTS!!! Much more rules, much more time and much more fierce competition. I've seen this game described as being more strategic and less luck oriented than the original Settlers, but IMO, the new progress cards have a habit of throwing a host of monkey wrenches into the best laid plans. Nevertheless, a very good game.

11/3/2020

by

Not a bad game at all, but there's so much out there that holds my interest far, far more.

11/3/2020

by

Similar to Stratego, but a vast improvement. If you like LotR, you'll love this game: very well-themed with great artwork. If you like abstract strategy games, you'll love The Confrontation: a very difficult strategic challenge that one can enjoy even if you haven't the foggiest idea who Frodo is.

11/3/2020

by

A party game, really. The person who can think fast (and sort out their cards fast) has a decided advantage. I've only played it once (with four people) but I strongly expect that it get's better with more players.

11/3/2020

by

A very nice looking game, great bits (especially the ships) and generally a great theme for a game. The problem? The utterly broken rules! Just to give one example: there is no indication anywhere in the rulebook as to what exactly the game objective is!

11/3/2020

Twister

20pts

by

11/3/2020

Triune

80pts

by

A very good abstract strategy game that has absolutely nothing to do with ancient warfare (except for the fact that the pieces look like ancient Greek helmets). Like most abstract games, it is a completely different game when you are playing two players, as opposed to three or four. One drawback of Triune is that it seems very difficult to recover from errors made early in the game.

11/3/2020

by

I'm very good at this game; and find it quite boring.

11/3/2020

Sorry!

40pts

by

11/3/2020

Clue

40pts

by

Even "The Secret Door" is better.

11/3/2020

by

My rating is given as a forty year old. However, it is one of the best games out there for kids just starting in school (and in games!). A great combo of Memory and Clue.

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

BANG!

60pts

by

For those who enjoyed playing "cowboys&Indians" as a kid. A lot of fun, even when shouting out the Italian on the cards rather than the English ("MANCATO!" just sounds so much more dramatic than "missed").Bang is definitely a game for a large group of people, or else the sherrif just becomes a target. The artwork is a little drab and a little on the unclear side.

11/3/2020

Mexica

80pts

by

Beautiful game, and a beautiful 3D Mesoamerican city at the end of it!

11/3/2020

Yahtzee

20pts

by

Dreadfully boring...........

11/3/2020

Mancala

100pts

by

An elegant, fun abstract game. What's not to like about it? If you don't like the rules, there's sure to be a set among the gazillion variants that will suit you.

11/3/2020

SET

60pts

by

A very odd game: it seems that children have a much greater ability to do well at this game than adults. Thus, I suspect that my rating would be much higher if I was thirty years younger!!!

11/3/2020

Domaine

100pts

by

Fantastic game of strategy, with only four pages of rules!!! As well, it's over and done with in no more than an hour. Very well themed, for such a simple game. It has very much exceeded my expectations!

11/3/2020

by

No theme, no strategy. Profoundly frustrating to play, once you've figured out the rules.

11/3/2020

by

A delightfully fun game! Essentially luck driven, but with a decent modicum of strategy. So if you're looking for a good game of pure strategy, don't look here! If you're looking for a realistic simulation of piracy in the 1600's and 1700's, don't look here! If you're looking for a great family game that is fun, fun, fun for all players, you've found it!

11/3/2020

by

A very strategic game for one that has such simple rules! A young child (my seven year old niece, for example) can catch on to it quickly, while the older strategists (myself and her 18 year old brother) can nit-pick at tactics, while ignoring what the 7 year old is doing: she won, by the way! The art is fantastic, and, like everyone else has said, the only real drawback is in the double-sided tiles.

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

by

Based on what I had read about the game, I wasn't really all that interested in Basari: but now I've played it! An outstanding game. The rules are fairly easy and it takes far less than an hour to play, but it feels and plays like a much deeper game. In spite of the dice, I would argue that it is NOT dominated by luck, but requires shrewd judgement and a good understanding of psychology to out-negotiate your opponents. Speaking of opponents, there is a danger of analysis paralysis right in the middle of haggling, depending on whom your opponent is.

11/3/2020

by

One of the best "co-operative" game I've ever played! After playing it several times, you realize that it's really an abstract strategy game that is dripping with theme. Roll playing seems to develop as the detective players start speaking with pathetic pseudo cockney accents, and Mr. X starts to laugh demonically. Due to the time limit on the game, it becomes fairly tense fairly quickly, especially for the dastardly fugitive. I love it!

11/3/2020

by

Good, cartoonish artwork; gruesome theme. Strictly as a game, it's fun, and requires very little thought on the part of the players. It's nothing to lose your head over, though.

11/3/2020

Nautilus

100pts

by

A most beautifully themed exploration game, with a mix of luck and strategy. The strategy lies in managing your constantly dwindling financial resources (in spite of how it looks at the start, you DON'T have heaps of money!!!). The two features that you can invest in (research and exploration) are MULTIPLIED together at game's end, and so you must constantly balance the two. The English translation of the rules is pathetic; but thankfully, the Geek has provided us with an excellent rules summary, which makes life beautiful. Finally, don't assume you've lost or won until the game is over: with the Secret Orders cards, you just can't be sure.

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

by

Not the most colourful wargame in the world, but great fun nonetheless.

11/3/2020

by

A fun, but certainly not a very deep game: avoid like the plague if you hate luck. I've only played once, but I suspect there is a limit to the number of strategic options one has, on either side. Having said that, with luck being such a strong factor ("SIX!! I NEED A SIX!!!"), it seems that even with limited strategic options, each game will play quite differently than the last. I like it, but am definitely not in love with it.

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

by

A themeless gem! Low price, super-simple rules, very fast play and outrageously tense! Forget about the usual luck/strategy controversy: this is a game of pure psychological brinksmanship.

11/3/2020

by

How can you not like a game with a bicycling frog? The nice thing about this word game is that there are so many different types of word games within it, so those who don't like word games can pick their favourite, when it comes right down to it. The bad thing about it is that it is inevitable for players just to return to their favourite type of puzzle over and over again, and it grows stale after that.......

11/3/2020

by

11/3/2020

BuyWord

80pts

by

Like many other good quality word games, only with a fun financial element thrown in to appeal to non-word game types. There really seems to be no end to what you can do with Buyword in terms of variants.

11/3/2020

by

An OK game.....but it just doesn't hold a candle to the boardgame version!

11/3/2020

by

Very silly and very fun!

11/3/2020

by

The theme is pasted on, but there's no glue bleeding through anywhere! The board and bits are simply beautiful. It is not, by any stretch of the imagination, a deep game (either in rules complexity or in strategy), but some strategic thought is required. Yes, there is little player interaction at first glance, but that all depends on how you choose to play it: you MUST constantly be aware of what your opponents are up to. T&T goes by quickly, and this makes it nicely tense.

11/3/2020

by

The first hex-and-counter wargame I ever owned. It's not a bad game in it's own way, and I certainly had fun with it at the time, but as a game system, there's just not a lot of room for DYO scenarios. Therefore, the fun fades after a certain number of plays.

11/3/2020

UNO

40pts

by

Mindless fun! But, the rules are definitely broken in places, in the sense that it can be easy to cheat and difficult to be detected.

11/3/2020

by

The fact that the moving ring provides for a definite end-time for the game, and the Tolkeinesque theme generally, makes this a major improvement on standard Risk. However, seeing as how Evil can suddenly end the game with a single roll of a pair of dice, the horrid luck element of the original is now magnified.

11/3/2020

Jarnac

80pts

by

11/3/2020

Blink

80pts

by

Good game for both adults and kids.

11/3/2020

by

A rather weak theme (e.g.: why is the Green Knight armed with a morning-star, rather than an axe?), but there's enough of a true Arthurian theme to make for a fun filler.

11/3/2020

Oceania

80pts

by

For a two player game, I give it a 7.5; for it's solitaire version, I give it a 5.5.

11/3/2020

by

Basically Balderdash but using slang instead of standard English. A dictionary of slang is used: you choose the word, rather than have it randomly determined from a deck of word cards. If you like Balderdash, you'll like Slang Teasers: they're that similar. Don't know if you'd want to spend the money on it if you already own Balderdash, though.

11/3/2020

by

Not bad at all, for a Parker Brothers game. At the time, the rules were fairly innovative.

11/3/2020

by

Not anywhere near as bad as original Monopoly! The essential strategy (it seems to me) is not so much what card do I play to my best advantage, but what card do I play to my opponents' greatest DISadvantage. A light and fast game.

11/3/2020

Coloretto

100pts

by

An incredible little game! So simple, you can start playing in less than 5 minutes. One of the best filler games I've ever played. Although you always know what your opponents' have, you're never entirely sure just what they're going to do; and therefore you're sweating as to whether to grab a row of cards (and bow out of the hand), or stay in, and possibly lose that precious row. Highly competitive.

11/3/2020

by

A delightfully good hex-and-counter game of the old school! It never seemed to bog down, and no strategy seemed to be completely foolproof (apart from the "Invasion of Canada" Scenario; and even then, there were a few near run things).

11/3/2020

Jambo

100pts

by

I love Jambo! My only real criticism of it is theme-related: as far as I know, tea and pineapples (two of the wares in the game) were not available in Africa until AFTER the colonial period had begun.

11/3/2020

Bazaar

60pts

by

An abstract game, although the art on the cards is quite nice. No player interaction, really, and the skill required to win is one's mathematical ability (of which I have none!).

11/3/2020

by

Nicely themed...but with more than a few historical errors! A challenging game.

11/3/2020