adam.skinner Reviews

These reviews were left by adam.skinner.

Werewolf

Awesome ga...

by adam.skinner

Awesome game for a large party.

2/16/2019

Hansa Teutonica

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

BANG!

Too long; ...

by adam.skinner

Too long; player elimination. Fun sometimes.

2/16/2019

Wits & Wagers

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tri-Ominos

Capricious...

by adam.skinner

Capricious.

2/16/2019

Tribune

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Thurn and Taxis

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

SORRY! Sliders

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

San Juan

I've playe...

by adam.skinner

I've played game upon game of JSanJuan, and I'm often able to come out on top in both 3 and 4 player games. Opportunistic, but basic strategy and wisdom still apply. Update 2/13/2009: I played this out a while ago. There are no longer interesting decisions in this game for me, as I "know what to do" in a given situation. I'd rather play something else. Downgraded to a 5.

2/16/2019

The Resistance: Avalon

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Race for the Galaxy

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Quilt Show Board Game

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Magic: The Gathering

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Lost Cities

I just don...

by adam.skinner

I just don't like it!

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Galaxy Trucker

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

EXCEED Fighting System

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Dale of Merchants 2

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Codex Deluxe Set

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Conquest Of The Empire

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Ca$h 'n Gun$

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

Gave it away!

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

BattleLore

I always e...

by adam.skinner

I always enjoy playing this, though setup is a bit of a pain - finding those tiles and putting them where they need to be, then getting all the figures for each unit together. That's the price you pay for modularity and all those unique plastic pieces, however. The game itself is a lot of fun when played. And I haven't even gotten into Lore usage yet. Demands more plays!

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

10 Days in Asia Game

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

5 Second Rule

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

7 Wonders Duel

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Acquire

Acquire is...

by adam.skinner

Acquire is fun to play. I like how companies merge. There's this interesting line you need to tread between buying the right shares and knowing when to pull out and take profits. Acquire is fairly light and simple, but it's engaging and there's enough hidden information and complexity in what other people hold to make competing for first place in a company fun.

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Yspahan

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

ZÈRTZ

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

A fun trick taking card game. I can't decide if it's more forgiving or difficult than Oh Hell! or not.

2/16/2019

XENON Profiteer

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

Fantastic artwork. I love how each land card type has 4 members. Securing territory is great, and the family members add a nice twist to it. The special cards are like mini-expansions and have an awesome impact on the game. Really fun, meaty, approachable, and quick.

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Vikings

Vikings is...

by adam.skinner

Vikings is a lighter game with limited player interaction. That's not to say it's not there: you are looking at your opponents' board to see if they'll take what you want, or likewise so you might take what they need. You need to decide *when* to pull the trigger on that tasty tile up ahead, weighing it's cost vs the risk of losing it entirely. Aside from that, Vikings is largely an efficiency game of building your own board with the tiles present this round. You look forward to see which ships are out that might knock your pieces down, try to obtain the ones you want, and generally just try to play well. This game fits into my collection as a title with limited, non-aggressive player interaction that's light and fairly short. It's fairly peaceful, but you still need to mind your opponents so it's definitely not multiplayer solitaire.

2/16/2019

Vinhos

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Vegas Showdown

A fun bidd...

by adam.skinner

A fun bidding / tile laying game.

2/16/2019

Twilight Struggle

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tower of Babel

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tooth & Nail: Factions

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

True Colors

A big hit ...

by adam.skinner

A big hit with my daughter. Some of the cards can be racy or inappropriate, but most of them are fine. This is not a game you play to win - it's a party game.

2/16/2019

Trains

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Troyes

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Transatlantic

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

Wow, what ...

by adam.skinner

Wow, what a great game.

2/16/2019

Through the Desert

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Terra Mystica

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tichu

Excellent ...

by adam.skinner

Excellent partnership game with 4 or 6. Contains 2 standard decks of cards, plus 4 special cards.

2/16/2019

Telestrations

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Therapy

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Tikal

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Thebes

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

Fun gateway game. Since it's pretty old, the modular hexes are boats are kind of flimsy, and are easy to accidentally knock around on the board. A fun game of strategy and a little luck (no, not the whale!!)

2/16/2019

Tanto Cuore Card Game

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Sylla

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Taj Mahal

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

I used to have this when I was a kid! UPDATE: Rummaging around in my parents garage yielded up the beast! It's now in my collection!

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Suburbia

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Starcraft

Starcraft ...

by adam.skinner

Starcraft is a solid game. An FFG production with excellent components, it looks stellar on the table. The order placement mechanic from "A Game of Thrones" is in place here, whereby you place orders in stacks and then resolve them top down, so you kind of have to think in reverse order, which is a little weird at first but later grows on you. Combat is resolved through unit skirmish matchups and card plays, modified by keywords. In practice, this works out very well and introduces a hand management aspect into the game. In most of the games I've played, each player feels like they're still "in it to win it" until the last game turn. You're always "this close" to having victory yourself when someone else pulls out the win. This is largely due to special victory conditions, which flavor each faction differently. The game is highly thematic, moderately complex, takes a while to play, has little downtime (mostly when other players are in combat), takes a ton of table space, is kind of lengthy to teach, and has excellent reference material. It's a fun, interesting, and engrossing game that plays best with 4 or less, but can support up to 6 (which increases the table space required, the potential downtime, and game length).

2/16/2019

Sticheln

Sticheln i...

by adam.skinner

Sticheln is one of my top trick-taking games. What's great about Sticheln is how it turns the concept of trump on it's head and beats it flat. When playing, you're always looking at how you an screw your opponents and considering how the people who follow you in each turn might be able to screw you.

2/16/2019

Steam

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Stone Age

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Shogun

Shogun is ...

by adam.skinner

Shogun is a very cool game. The cube tower works out very well to resolve battles, and also looks and feels super when it's being used. I like how Shogun gives you certain actions and allows you to assign a territory you own to take that action. Each season (game turn), you plan by assigning your cards and then resolve them in order. The first half of this order is revealed when the cards are laid down, but the second half is hidden until just before it's resolved. This gives you enough information to plan smart, but not enough where you'll get bogged down by AP and second-guessing. Everybody needs to build stuff in their territories to score points, but they also need to protect their stuff with armies and/or strategically attack their opponents to steal their stuff. And then there's rice. You need to feed the people in your territories, and if you don't have enough they will revolt and potentially kick you out of the territory (wiping out anything that was built there). Each year, there are 4 event-style cards that modify gameplay somehow, and each has a negative rice amount on it. You're shown these at the beginning of the year, but then they're shuffled and come out one by one each season, so you're not quite sure what the rice penalty will be when winter comes. This provides variation and an interesting planning component each season. I like playing Shogun because battles are fun, planning is interesting, and there are always power struggles over limited terrain and valuable buildings. It's a big game that plays in around 2 hours.

2/16/2019

Small World

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Slide 5

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Biblios

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

Purchase to represent "Mechanic: Cooperative"

2/16/2019

Settlers Of Canaan

I've tried...

by adam.skinner

I've tried to play this three times. Absurdly boring. Same goes for Settlers of Catan.

2/16/2019

Seasons

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Samurai

Outstandin...

by adam.skinner

Outstanding strategy game. Elegant. High quality components. Praiseworthy.

2/16/2019

Santiago

Excellent ...

by adam.skinner

Excellent bidding game with good screw your neighbor possibilities.

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Saboteur

Plays lots...

by adam.skinner

Plays lots of people. Fun theme and a nice hidden role mechanic.

2/16/2019

Reef Encounter

Reef Encou...

by adam.skinner

Reef Encounter is hard to learn by yourself, because to understand why you'd want to take a given action, you need to understand the game as a whole. So this one is tough to learn and teach, but after a few turns it should click. Your first game should definitely be approached as a "learning game". Fortunately, locking in color dominance doesn't come until the latter half of the game and most players should have a grasp of what's going on before that time comes. Speaking of dominance, there's this really cool mechanic for flipping a bunch of tiles rather than just the one you want, so each decision definitely has knock-on effects. For the first few games you play, delving into that aspect of the game will be "too deep"; just don't worry about it. There's room for interesting tactical plays here, especially in terms of cutting big coral clusters up and protecting yourself from attack. It's very much war on the table, and you're constantly thinking about how to attack and defend. It's a little like Tigris & Euphrates in how it feels, but it plays out much differently. It's a fun and very engaging game. A brain burner, but not super bad. The rules aren't very complex, but they're hard to grasp. It has the honor of being "surprising woman friendly".

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Roborally

It's like ...

by adam.skinner

It's like Logo (that old kid's computer programming language, remember?), only now your turtle is a killer robot, racing towards the final goal. Fun, and easy to get confused due to turns and board interaction (there are things that turn and move you on the board, as well as other robots that can push you around).

2/16/2019

The Resistance

2012-01-25...

by adam.skinner

2012-01-25: Upped from an 8 to a 10. Loads of fun, all the time. 2012-03-21: Too much of a good thing. While by no means "played out", this has been overplayed in my local circles, and needs some time to breathe. Downgraded from a 10 to 7.5.

2/16/2019

by adam.skinner

The first time I played this it was a debacle. The fiddly nature of the game works against it, and the rule book is horrendous. Still, I'd like to give it another shot. I think I'm not all that interested in pick up and deliver character building quest games anymore. Talisman was fun back in the day, but random. I guess I've had my fill in MMORPGs and computer RPGs. Or not. Requires more plays.

2/16/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Rheinlander

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019

Risk

No Review Title

by adam.skinner

No Review Description

2/16/2019