Vysetron Reviews

These reviews were left by Vysetron.

Winner'S Circle

Ultra fanc...

by Vysetron

Ultra fancy Dice Tree ed. I prefer Magical Athlete, but this is a good'un. Would fit very well into a bougie board game night alongside Masterpiece, Acquire, etc.

1/3/2020

Wavelength

My rating'...

by Vysetron

My rating's a bit deceptive. It's not that Wavelength is bad, or even mediocre. It's that among friends, people you know, it's weaker than other similar offerings. It's a much better icebreaker than anything else. That's really cool, but it's not what I'm looking for most of the time.

1/3/2020

War Chest

Onitama mi...

by Vysetron

Onitama mixed with a bag builder and 4 pounds of poker chips? Pretty much, and I dig it. Very tactical. Does the abstract war thing of not always being able to command your troops. Very enjoyable.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Deceptively deep skirmish game that feels more like learning a fighting game than the genre it resembles. Gets dramatically better with more plays as you learn everyone's cards and start making meta decisions/playing mindgames. Characters are significantly different yet immediately accessible because the rules could fit on a notecard. It's really good, is what I'm saying.

1/3/2020

Tiny Towns

Feather li...

by Vysetron

Feather light spacial game with a clever mechanism for determining what resource everyone has to place. Cute, cleanly designed, and fun, but in being so broadly appealing it lacks a hook. That said I'm only 5 games in so my opinion may change.

1/3/2020

Time Barons

I played t...

by Vysetron

I played the PoD a while back and liked it, but it seemed a bit thin on cards. This version has double the cards and plays up to 4. Yes. Very yes. It's good, but it didn't grab Cindy or other folks I've introduced it to. Not entirely sure why.

1/3/2020

Tichu

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game just isn't very good, is it? Most card games have a release valve. Bidding, folding, shooting the moon, something. Tichu doesn't. Tichu just has you play hands according to reasonable heuristics until it mercifully ends. Compare to Chimera, which introduces great bidding systems and ways to make points on bad hands. It's no contest.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Oracz is a genius. I love Neuroshima Hex and this makes my brain fire off the same way. Tactical, chaotic, wild, and yet it rewards skill and finesse. People say this game is only for 2p. I disagree. Deathmatch and teams in this are fantastic, if completely different. Just great.

1/3/2020

The Captain is Dead

This feels...

by Vysetron

This feels like the best take on "the standard coop" I've seen. Most are a solvable puzzle that runs dry quickly. This one has more variety than several coops combined, and is more than just "handle the bad thing that just happened". Edit: actually got a 7p game of this in, and it sang! I'm frankly impressed this scales as it does. Makes me appreciate it even more.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

What a brilliantly weird game. Perfect information, yet opaque enough to make it challenging in the best ways.

1/3/2020

Texas Showdown

Trick taki...

by Vysetron

Trick taking guild winner and I get why. The multi-color follow is a cool twist on trick avoidance as different suits "weigh" differently in any given trick. My only complaint is that the first half or so of each hand feels like setup for the "real" game, but all of those tricks still score.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

A couple plays in, this actually rocks. It's a pretty standard open market deckbuilder on the surface, but seems to have a good range of strategies while also allowing for (gasp) direct conflict! In a deckbuilder that isn't a Realms game! Be still my heart. Aside from Arctic Scavengers it seemed like most shop-based deckbuilders had given up on conflict, so to have it not only be present but vitally important is awesome. Plus it lets you have big gay weddings and score tons of points for them.

1/3/2020

Street Masters

Maaaaaan. ...

by Vysetron

Maaaaaan. I want to love this game. Like, actively want to. It's fun, thinky, and incredibly evocative. But it's so goddamn easy. 10 games in I've played everyone and fought everything, albeit not in every combination, and I've yet to lose. In solo if you play carefully and take your time you're just going to win. Difficulty is important to me in any coop, and especially in a primarily solo game. And if SM can't bring it then I can't stick with it.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Fantasy Business is a game I thought I'd like but never got to play. Then I found out they put a DS9 skin on it last year. Was that needed? Eh, dunno. But I'm fine with it.

1/3/2020

Sovereign's Chain

Need to pl...

by Vysetron

Need to play 4p to know for sure but this game is pretty mediocre thus far. Not a lot for hard decisions and the event deck is simultaneously swingy and unexciting. I don't dislike it, but there's not a lot here.

1/3/2020

Smile

Mogul/No T...

by Vysetron

Mogul/No Thanks/Capital City bidding with a twist. Super pretty.

1/3/2020

Slide Quest

Bazaar tra...

by Vysetron

Bazaar trade. The production is fun, I just wish the levels were more interesting.

1/3/2020

Slap .45

Played the...

by Vysetron

Played the mini version a few years ago and had some incredible moments. The full game is just that, but a bit more and with solid production. I wonder if full sized cards will get ruined, but that's fine.

1/3/2020

Skulk Hollow

Weak playe...

by Vysetron

Weak played with two equal players. All attrition and card draw, no spark.

1/3/2020

Shuffle Grand Prix

This is a ...

by Vysetron

This is a quality take that game in terms of production, and I love the shuffle building. Unfortunately some balance issues stop it from being all it could be, which is really disappointing because otherwise it's excellent.

1/3/2020

Senators

The econom...

by Vysetron

The economy of this game is absolutely brutal and the end game trigger's unpredictability keeps everyone on edge. A deceptively crunchy little game chock full of the quality player interaction and moments of "MY HUBRIS, NO" that I've come to expect from La Mame.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Bazaar trade. Had this not too long after it came out, then gave my copy to a friend who loved it. Now I have it again and I'm not letting it go. It's rare that a game this short can tell stories this good. Of the Kanai AEG line this might be the weakest game mechanically, but it's also my favorite.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

One of the best card games ever made. The role selection is deep, the possibilities for your tableau are incredibly varied, and yet the game remains approachable for new players. It's one of my absolute favorites and I'm happy to finally own this edition.

1/3/2020

Rumble in the House

An incredi...

by Vysetron

An incredibly silly, semi-random game that uses both to its advantage. Kwanchai did the art so I'm inclined to like it, but it really is fun to try to suss the game out as it inevitably descends into madness.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Seems like a euro/trash hybrid of resource management and dice rolling. I hope it works. First impressions are that this is not a 2 player game. I mean you can, but you shouldn't. It's also surprisingly dry? Most actions and turns aren't particular necromancer-y.

1/3/2020

Res Arcana

Nothing bu...

by Vysetron

Nothing but a series of conversion puzzles where you make marginal improvements for 4 turns, then explode into points as someone wins. Dinged a little harder because it doesn't even attempt to do more than that. As if a straight up tableau of conversions hasn't been done elsewhere, and better, a million times at this point.

1/3/2020

Relic

Wizkids ed...

by Vysetron

Wizkids ed, AKA the better one. And what an improvement on Talisman it is. Better in every way. Talisman is more enjoyable due to nostalgia than its actual quality, but Relic delivers on the game we remember.

1/3/2020

QE

Actually b...

by Vysetron

Actually backed this one on KS. It's physically larger than I anticipated, which was weird. Very excited to take it out for a spin.

1/3/2020

Pyramid Arcade

A fantasti...

by Vysetron

A fantastic anthology and great devkit as well. Not every game in it is created equal, but how could they be? Some of the best value for money in board gaming.

1/3/2020

Pandánte

I like Sir...

by Vysetron

I like Sirlin's stuff. I knew I'd like this. I did not expect to LOVE it. Poker isn't really a game of bluffing, it's a game of stats and attrition. And I enjoy it for that. But Pandante delivers on what Poker promises in spades.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Fruit/veggie deck. I got this as more of a prototype tool than a game. Turns out there's a slew of games you can play with this thing and some of them are really strong. Regent in particular is worth your time.

1/3/2020

Northern Pacific

Yeah ok I ...

by Vysetron

Yeah ok I love this. It's a mix of perfect information and psychological warfare. The incentives are easy to read and assess value for yourself, but have you figured out what other people value? When do you take a hit to wound another player? Do you know when other people will do the same? No, you don't. And that's why this is great.

1/3/2020

Nine Tiles Panic

A very cut...

by Vysetron

A very cute, but somewhat overwrought real time game. Scoring overshadows the fun of building towns especially when balancing them with making towns legal. Familiarity with the tiles makes the real time element more relevant as getting free points for finishing fast is a big deal. It's kind of a shame. It really is adorable.

1/3/2020

Mr. Face

Seems like...

by Vysetron

Seems like a Jackbox game put in a physical box. Sure it's a gimmick, but it's a good gimmick. Very easily improved by giving players a point for successfully having their answers guessed no matter what. That essentially turns this into a more accessible/bad-artist-proof version of Drawful in a tiny box, and that's good stuff.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

I have complex feelings about Moneybags. It's not a great game, but it's a great experience for the table. It's truly, genuinely funny, and not just because of all the bag jokes. Does that make sense?

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Secret Knizia! Can't hide from me, doc. This seems...familiar? Like Circus Flohcati from an alternate timeline, but slightly worse. Instead of having events in the deck they're in front of each player and refreshable. Bit overproduced for my tastes but I understand why. Could have had an insert.

1/3/2020

Medium

I'm torn h...

by Vysetron

I'm torn here. On one hand it's a boxification of a folk game that you can play with no components. On the other, it's a genuinely great game that creates some of the best and most earned high five moments in board gaming. Plus the production is gorgeous. If all product-versions of old nameless games were as good as Medium we'd be better off.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

I didn't grow up with this at all, I just think it's great. This game hasn't aged as gracefully as Sid Sackson's output but it's so ridiculously fun that I don't care. It's fast and furious auctions with juuuust enough bluffing. Value card mechanisms are really cool.

1/3/2020

Maskmen

A game ver...

by Vysetron

A game very specifically for people who play this -kind- of game, which is a description that helps no one. Not intuitive to learn but then it clicks it flows beautifully. Also WRESTLERS. YEAH.

1/3/2020

Latice Hawai'i

Underrated...

by Vysetron

Underrated abstract tile game with some pretty satisfying combo plays. It isn't that Latice offers anything you haven't seen before, it's that it does those things just a bit better.

1/3/2020

Karate Tomate

Every once...

by Vysetron

Every once in a while I import a Knizia that isn't likely to come stateside. Last time it was Voodoo Prince and that went well. This time it's Karate Tomate, which almost seems like Taj Mahal: The Card Game.

1/3/2020

Jaipur

Finally go...

by Vysetron

Finally got off my ass and bought a copy of this one after years of playing it on other people's copies/BGA/the new-ish app. It's as sharp as ever.

1/3/2020

Irish Gauge

After a bu...

by Vysetron

After a bunch of games I think I finally "get" this one, and it's real good. The dividends bag giveth and taketh away in equal measure. I still prefer the purity of Northern Pacific for a quick train-ish thing but make no mistake, IG is fantastic in every regard.

1/3/2020

Indigo

I like til...

by Vysetron

I like tile laying. I like path building. I like Knizia. Shoot, I even sort of like Tsuro. This is a no brainer.

1/3/2020

I'm the Boss!

Good negot...

by Vysetron

Good negotiation game for sure, but a bit awkward when stacked up against games like Chinatown or Tiefe Taschen. For a very similar game in a much smaller form factor there's always The Fittest.

1/3/2020

Horrified

A horror-t...

by Vysetron

A horror-themed game with no tension is a strange thing indeed, and that's what we have. It's certainly a solid coop and it's a total winner for mass market shelves, but it just doesn't invoke its theme enough for me to champion it.

1/3/2020

Greedy Kingdoms

Good at 3 ...

by Vysetron

Good at 3 and 4, but GREAT at 2. The development cycle on this has honed it to a fine point. Wish AEG marketed and packaged this one a bit better because it deserves to be known and played.

1/3/2020

GKR Heavy Hitters

It's like ...

by Vysetron

It's like Battletech kind of? But card driven which I love. A bit long to play but worth that time. Not shocked that Weta Workshop is able to make board game miniatures that actually look good.

1/3/2020

Friday The 13th

Figured it...

by Vysetron

Figured it was finally time to own a version of Poison. $5 was the right price.

1/3/2020

Empires

This is a ...

by Vysetron

This is a good negotiation game with an Achilles heel of its last round often falling flat. Normally that's not a problem, but Empires is so short that it can sometimes feel like you didn't get to play enough. Still a cool design though. Notably unique in its niche.

1/3/2020

Dynamite Nurse

It's not a...

by Vysetron

It's not a "good" game. Not really. But I think that's by design. Every single design decision in this game flies in the face of conventional deckbuilders. Constant conflict and take that. No culling ever. Lots of random elements that you constantly have to juggle. Incredibly dark setting and themes covered in cheesecake. It's actively and intentionally subversive and I think that was its goal. The problem is I have no idea who this is for, because the game's actively unpleasant to play. For all of its interesting design choices it doesn't manage to actually execute on a fun experience. I'd introduce it to new people just to watch them wrap their heads around it because it's so damn weird, but that's all.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Dice Throne is a bit deceptive. Roughly 1/3 of its characters are deceptively similar in play despite appearing asymmetrical. Some characters, like the Pyromancer, straight up don't have choices. They just take the best possible roll and resolve for numbers. It's...fine? It's fine. But only fine.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

I didn't know what to expect. Now I've played it multiple times and it just leaves me baffled.

1/3/2020

Curios

Really int...

by Vysetron

Really interesting twist on worker placement with hidden values. Reminds me of a cleaner Code of Nine. After more plays: so this is reminiscent of Code of Nine, but only on a surface level. There's really no secret depth to Curios. just a fun, light, sometimes-food. I'm not convinced it's particularly replayable but we'll see.

1/3/2020

Cthulhu Wars

I've playe...

by Vysetron

I've played other peoples' copies of this. First impressions were mediocre. Then it got better. And better. And better still. I loved it, but didn't want to drop the ludicrous price of admission. Then I found a hell of a deal on snatching up an Onslaught 2 edition, along with the currently in-print factions, and I went for it. Figured just noting errata was worth the discounted price of admission. Turns out it was actually an Onslaught 3 so no errata needed. Hell yeah.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Initial games are very promising. I quite like the powers as a means of breaking up/preventing stalemates. Seems to be a bit of a marmite game though, as some players really do not want to give it more chances.

1/3/2020

Citadels: Classic

Certainly ...

by Vysetron

Certainly shows its age with nothing-turns (assassin) and the buildings could be a lot more interesting. Several other games capture elements of this better at this point.

1/3/2020

Champions of Hara

I don't kn...

by Vysetron

I don't know if I -get- Champions of Hara. Don't get me wrong, I like it and the hand management is very clever, but it simultaneously feels like too much and not enough. The scenario-based second half feels tacked on and uneven, while the main competitive game is almost too light. I feel like there's more to explore here, hopefully I'm right. Rating could very well go up.

1/3/2020

Camp Grizzly

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game is just lovely. It's not fair, it's not particularly elegant, and you need to handwave some of the rules ambiguities, but it just captures slasher movies so perfectly. I've yet to have a session of this that didn't tell a great story, even the ones where Otis is a complete non-threat.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

It's four card golf 2.0. Four card golf is already a good game, and this variant adds just enough to improve on it without it being overwrought. Looks great, gets people shouting, can't ask for better than that.

1/3/2020

Bohnanza

Still the ...

by Vysetron

Still the best Uwe game. Beans is a classic. I've still never played this at 2 or 3p, but it works at the rest and that's good enough.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

I like this less than I remembered. Ending every hand with a blind-ish bid for an unknown thing is iffy.

1/3/2020

Among the Stars

A solid dr...

by Vysetron

A solid drafting game with some actual crunch and a spacial element. VERY good 2p variant that seems to have been adopted by the designer.

1/3/2020

Air, Land, & Sea

Picked up ...

by Vysetron

Picked up for Blue Moon-esque "lose the battle to win the war" shenanigans, combined with a lot of posturing to force concessions. It delivers on both, but in an entirely different way that has impressed me far more than I expected. It's an easier teach than most games of its ilk but reveals itself to have surprising depth.

1/3/2020

by Vysetron

Oh this is good. Really good. More than I thought Tiny Struggle would be. Takes the card driven game system, which I love, and adds a tricky area control game full of feints and bluffs and tactical withdrawals so as to not blow yourself up. If replayability is there it's going to get a strong recommendation from me.

1/3/2020

Looping Louie

I forgot t...

by Vysetron

I forgot to add this ages ago. I own it. It's good.

5/15/2019

Matcha

Doesn't qu...

by Vysetron

Doesn't quite work for me.

5/15/2019

Star Cartel

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game is goooorgeous and gets better with repeated plays as you learn how to best manipulate the market. My only real complaint is having to constantly deal out cards, and that's nitpicky.

5/15/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

As satisfy...

by Vysetron

As satisfying as Race without being so impenetrable. Early draws are slightly more impactful than in Race, but that's not the end of the world. Edit: I love that this version has text but I prefer Race, if only because it's lightning fast.

5/15/2019

Melee

Really req...

by Vysetron

Really requires everyone involved to get into the "battle of wits" mentality. Not thrilled with it, but good in that specific scenario.

5/15/2019

Fallout

Oooooh thi...

by Vysetron

Oooooh this is GOOD so far. I'm honestly surprised how quick and smooth the turns are. The stories are really good, both from the cards themselves and choices the players make in their normal play. I can look past the scoring problems because they're generally manageable. Adventure games usually aren't fair anyway. Not sure about 4 players yet so this rating is tentative, but it's GREAT at the lower counts. Edit: There's really only so much game in this box. I refuse to knock it for its eccentricities, but we had no reason to hang onto it after a while. Good while it lasted though.

5/15/2019

by Vysetron

A nutty card game with a little bit of negotiation that gets better as you get to the high player counts. Fantastic art, clever scoring, and a fun theme that'll get your table shouting epithets at a non-existent Robin Hood.

5/15/2019

Condottiere

Have only ...

by Vysetron

Have only played the original version thus far, but I love it. Tense bluffing and light area control. Deserves its classic status.

5/15/2019

Brew Crafters

Solid euro...

by Vysetron

Solid euro with a massively variable setup, optional modules, and a wide array of viable win conditions. The research tree allows for vastly different play experiences depending on how you allocate your actions/resources. The game always ends in 3 years (12 turns), but still has enough time to build a complete engine and run it to great effect. On top of all of this it's also highly thematic, especially with the production line moving step by step as you produce more beer. Just a great game.

5/15/2019

by Vysetron

Fast, smart filler. Hint of engine building, plays in 10 minutes tops. Addendum: finally played with 4. The team variant may have been added due to component limitations, but we loved it.

5/15/2019

Warehouse 51

A real dis...

by Vysetron

A real disappointment. I absolutely love the theme and Funforge continues to have fantastic production quality, but the game itself is just dull. An excessive amount of the playtime is spent waiting for the player to your right to buy something so you can finally get some money. You can only pawn items at 5 or fewer ingots, so if you end an auction at 6/7 you'll often find yourself stuck for several turns in a row. The counterfeit mechanic is interesting, but I just don't see the point in playing this when there are so many better auction games.

5/13/2019

Smile

Mogul/No T...

by Vysetron

Mogul/No Thanks/Capital City bidding with a twist. Super pretty.

5/13/2019

Push It

Table Bocc...

by Vysetron

Table Bocce. Plays fast and goes anywhere. Just fun.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I like just about everything that Forrest-Pruzan has made, and yet I'm still constantly surprised at just how good their games are. Especially the licensed ones, and double especially one themed after monster cereal mascots. It's a really good card shedding game though! Milk tokens and passing create interesting choices, and the powers help too. Plays fast and looks great doing it. Not a deep game, but a fantastic opener or ender to your night.

5/13/2019

Millennium Blades

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game perfectly captures everything about CCGs. The market phase is frantic and fast, and the tournament phase is extremely clever tableau building. The theme pulls you in and is definitely strong, but it's the mechanics that keep you interested for all three rounds. Love it. Edit: gave to Jorge after his car got stolen with MB in it. I can't replace the car, but I can do this much. Edit 2: the cops recovered his car and his game was still entirely intact. He returned it to me. Funny how things work out.

5/13/2019

Magical Athlete

Pure joy i...

by Vysetron

Pure joy in a little box.

5/13/2019

Diamonsters

I legitima...

by Vysetron

I legitimately forgot I owned this. That's never good.

5/13/2019

Cheaty Mages

Fun little...

by Vysetron

Fun little betting game. Orc is the people's champ.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

This is a very good game, and a very good experience. What it isn't is challenging or particularly variable. Do I enjoy it? Absolutely. Is it better than most games in its genre? Yes. Do you still need to love Big Trouble in order to have fun with it? Almost certainly. It's weird because I think that the ruleset, especially the dice mechanisms, are really smart. The pool of shared dice that might hurt you for taking them is something I'd love to see used again.

5/13/2019

Welcome to...

I've recog...

by Vysetron

I've recognized two things thanks to Welcome To. 1) It gives players a lot more choices than most games in the genre. Head and shoulders above other R&Ws in that regard. I'll happily play it when someone offers. 2) R&Ws just aren't my genre. I think I'm done exploring this fad.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Got in a trade at the bazaar. This was a Cindy pull and she pulled well. Ignacy has his fingerprints all over it - resource conversions for days. The theme comes through despite it not being as text heavy as some adventure games, and it's shockingly quick to teach compared to most games of its ilk. Quite good indeed.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

This is the best adventure game. It's also the best sandbox game. To pull both off with a relatively simple ruleset seems almost impossible, yet here we are.

5/13/2019

Zimby Mojo

Review cop...

by Vysetron

Review copy from Jim Felli. The game is a celebration of meanness, a carnival of carnage, and I'm here for it.

5/13/2019

Wordsy

Anti-Scrab...

by Vysetron

Anti-Scrabble sounded wonderful to me, and Wordsy pulls it off. It's sharp, quick, and incredibly clever. Every player will have at least one round where the entire table applauds them for a killer word. It's great.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Fighting games- the card game. Combo system is brilliant and every character feels completely unique. RPS mechanic seems random on the surface but absolutely works. A blast to play with experienced opponents.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It's dumb. It's so dumb. But it fits in my wallet and it's always good for a laugh.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I ended up not liking this as much as I'd hoped. I'm not sure if that's because my anticipation was built over several years or if it's just meh, but either way it's meh for me. Shame because the theme/implementation of said theme is dead on.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I do not understand what people see in this game. It hasn't worked on any level for me or anyone I've played it with. The choices just aren't interesting.

5/13/2019

XENON Profiteer

A deckbuil...

by Vysetron

A deckbuilder with some euro-ish elements that has you getting rid of cards just as often as you get new ones. Plenty of interesting decisions, varied scoring, and great variety from game to game. Brilliant end of game trigger mechanic. Really enjoyable.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Didn't expect to like this, ended up loving it. Gameplay is incredibly tight and balances tactics/strategy very well. It's going to end up leaving because I just don't want to commit the space to it. Not changing my rating because the game is still excellent.

5/13/2019

Traders of Osaka

A deceptiv...

by Vysetron

A deceptively simple game that can become quite cutthroat. Scoring is odd but leads to interesting decisions. Art and components are great.

5/13/2019

Voodoo Prince

Beastly an...

by Vysetron

Beastly and clever little trick taker that fits nicely into 20 minutes. Finishing second to last has never been so rewarding or challenging. Earned the guild's award for the year.

5/13/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

Awwwww yea...

by Vysetron

Awwwww yeah wooden Mayfair ed. Super excited to bust this out.

5/13/2019

Unexploded Cow

What can I...

by Vysetron

What can I say about this game that other people haven't already? It's great fun. I'm glad to have finally found the fancy edition.

5/13/2019

Unlock! The Formula

Absolute d...

by Vysetron

Absolute dumpster fire. Fails at nearly everything it attempts. I wouldn't gift this to anyone I wanted to have a good time.

5/13/2019