Vysetron Reviews

These reviews were left by Vysetron.

by Vysetron

I forgot to add this ages ago. I own it. It's good.

5/15/2019

Matcha

Doesn't qu...

by Vysetron

Doesn't quite work for me.

5/15/2019

Star Cartel

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game is goooorgeous and gets better with repeated plays as you learn how to best manipulate the market. My only real complaint is having to constantly deal out cards, and that's nitpicky.

5/15/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

As satisfy...

by Vysetron

As satisfying as Race without being so impenetrable. Early draws are slightly more impactful than in Race, but that's not the end of the world. Edit: I love that this version has text but I prefer Race, if only because it's lightning fast.

5/15/2019

Melee

Really req...

by Vysetron

Really requires everyone involved to get into the "battle of wits" mentality. Not thrilled with it, but good in that specific scenario.

5/15/2019

Fallout

Oooooh thi...

by Vysetron

Oooooh this is GOOD so far. I'm honestly surprised how quick and smooth the turns are. The stories are really good, both from the cards themselves and choices the players make in their normal play. I can look past the scoring problems because they're generally manageable. Adventure games usually aren't fair anyway. Not sure about 4 players yet so this rating is tentative, but it's GREAT at the lower counts. Edit: There's really only so much game in this box. I refuse to knock it for its eccentricities, but we had no reason to hang onto it after a while. Good while it lasted though.

5/15/2019

by Vysetron

A nutty card game with a little bit of negotiation that gets better as you get to the high player counts. Fantastic art, clever scoring, and a fun theme that'll get your table shouting epithets at a non-existent Robin Hood.

5/15/2019

Condottiere

Have only ...

by Vysetron

Have only played the original version thus far, but I love it. Tense bluffing and light area control. Deserves its classic status.

5/15/2019

Brew Crafters

Solid euro...

by Vysetron

Solid euro with a massively variable setup, optional modules, and a wide array of viable win conditions. The research tree allows for vastly different play experiences depending on how you allocate your actions/resources. The game always ends in 3 years (12 turns), but still has enough time to build a complete engine and run it to great effect. On top of all of this it's also highly thematic, especially with the production line moving step by step as you produce more beer. Just a great game.

5/15/2019

by Vysetron

Fast, smart filler. Hint of engine building, plays in 10 minutes tops. Addendum: finally played with 4. The team variant may have been added due to component limitations, but we loved it.

5/15/2019

Warehouse 51

A real dis...

by Vysetron

A real disappointment. I absolutely love the theme and Funforge continues to have fantastic production quality, but the game itself is just dull. An excessive amount of the playtime is spent waiting for the player to your right to buy something so you can finally get some money. You can only pawn items at 5 or fewer ingots, so if you end an auction at 6/7 you'll often find yourself stuck for several turns in a row. The counterfeit mechanic is interesting, but I just don't see the point in playing this when there are so many better auction games.

5/13/2019

Smile

Mogul/No T...

by Vysetron

Mogul/No Thanks/Capital City bidding with a twist. Super pretty.

5/13/2019

Push It

Table Bocc...

by Vysetron

Table Bocce. Plays fast and goes anywhere. Just fun.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I like just about everything that Forrest-Pruzan has made, and yet I'm still constantly surprised at just how good their games are. Especially the licensed ones, and double especially one themed after monster cereal mascots. It's a really good card shedding game though! Milk tokens and passing create interesting choices, and the powers help too. Plays fast and looks great doing it. Not a deep game, but a fantastic opener or ender to your night.

5/13/2019

Millennium Blades

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game perfectly captures everything about CCGs. The market phase is frantic and fast, and the tournament phase is extremely clever tableau building. The theme pulls you in and is definitely strong, but it's the mechanics that keep you interested for all three rounds. Love it. Edit: gave to Jorge after his car got stolen with MB in it. I can't replace the car, but I can do this much. Edit 2: the cops recovered his car and his game was still entirely intact. He returned it to me. Funny how things work out.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Pure joy in a little box.

5/13/2019

Diamonsters

I legitima...

by Vysetron

I legitimately forgot I owned this. That's never good.

5/13/2019

Cheaty Mages

Fun little...

by Vysetron

Fun little betting game. Orc is the people's champ.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

This is a very good game, and a very good experience. What it isn't is challenging or particularly variable. Do I enjoy it? Absolutely. Is it better than most games in its genre? Yes. Do you still need to love Big Trouble in order to have fun with it? Almost certainly. It's weird because I think that the ruleset, especially the dice mechanisms, are really smart. The pool of shared dice that might hurt you for taking them is something I'd love to see used again.

5/13/2019

Welcome to...

I've recog...

by Vysetron

I've recognized two things thanks to Welcome To. 1) It gives players a lot more choices than most games in the genre. Head and shoulders above other R&Ws in that regard. I'll happily play it when someone offers. 2) R&Ws just aren't my genre. I think I'm done exploring this fad.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Got in a trade at the bazaar. This was a Cindy pull and she pulled well. Ignacy has his fingerprints all over it - resource conversions for days. The theme comes through despite it not being as text heavy as some adventure games, and it's shockingly quick to teach compared to most games of its ilk. Quite good indeed.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

This is the best adventure game. It's also the best sandbox game. To pull both off with a relatively simple ruleset seems almost impossible, yet here we are.

5/13/2019

Zimby Mojo

Review cop...

by Vysetron

Review copy from Jim Felli. The game is a celebration of meanness, a carnival of carnage, and I'm here for it.

5/13/2019

Wordsy

Anti-Scrab...

by Vysetron

Anti-Scrabble sounded wonderful to me, and Wordsy pulls it off. It's sharp, quick, and incredibly clever. Every player will have at least one round where the entire table applauds them for a killer word. It's great.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Fighting games- the card game. Combo system is brilliant and every character feels completely unique. RPS mechanic seems random on the surface but absolutely works. A blast to play with experienced opponents.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It's dumb. It's so dumb. But it fits in my wallet and it's always good for a laugh.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I ended up not liking this as much as I'd hoped. I'm not sure if that's because my anticipation was built over several years or if it's just meh, but either way it's meh for me. Shame because the theme/implementation of said theme is dead on.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I do not understand what people see in this game. It hasn't worked on any level for me or anyone I've played it with. The choices just aren't interesting.

5/13/2019

XENON Profiteer

A deckbuil...

by Vysetron

A deckbuilder with some euro-ish elements that has you getting rid of cards just as often as you get new ones. Plenty of interesting decisions, varied scoring, and great variety from game to game. Brilliant end of game trigger mechanic. Really enjoyable.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Didn't expect to like this, ended up loving it. Gameplay is incredibly tight and balances tactics/strategy very well. It's going to end up leaving because I just don't want to commit the space to it. Not changing my rating because the game is still excellent.

5/13/2019

Traders of Osaka

A deceptiv...

by Vysetron

A deceptively simple game that can become quite cutthroat. Scoring is odd but leads to interesting decisions. Art and components are great.

5/13/2019

Voodoo Prince

Beastly an...

by Vysetron

Beastly and clever little trick taker that fits nicely into 20 minutes. Finishing second to last has never been so rewarding or challenging. Earned the guild's award for the year.

5/13/2019

Tigris & Euphrates

Awwwww yea...

by Vysetron

Awwwww yeah wooden Mayfair ed. Super excited to bust this out.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

What can I say about this game that other people haven't already? It's great fun. I'm glad to have finally found the fancy edition.

5/13/2019

Unlock! The Formula

Absolute d...

by Vysetron

Absolute dumpster fire. Fails at nearly everything it attempts. I wouldn't gift this to anyone I wanted to have a good time.

5/13/2019

Tomb Trader

Condenses ...

by Vysetron

Condenses a negotiation game into a 10-15 minute playtime reliably. That's a feat.

5/13/2019

Tiki Topple

I still do...

by Vysetron

I still don't get how Gamewright makes money. The production here is aces and I just love the theme. May end up giving it away, but still looks great.

5/13/2019

Tiefe Taschen

Had a fant...

by Vysetron

Had a fantastic time with this one. The table talk is fast and furious. Haven't played all counts yet but it's so much fun at the high and low ends.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

T.C. somehow managed to make a euro out of yahtzee mechanisms. I'm convinced this man is a time traveler stealing future designs because no one else does the kind of work he does. Rated a 7 because the BGG scale doesn't care about how much you like it and this game isn't for everyone, but it's definitely for me. Made some laminated sheets. That helped too.

5/13/2019

Tiny Epic Western

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game is so bizarre. I like it enough, but the luck : decisions ratio is admittedly low for a game with so many rules. I like the production but seriously, who is this game for?

5/13/2019

Titan Race

Mean small...

by Vysetron

Mean small box take on Mario Kart. Has a runaway leader problem that's exacerbated if you play the long track, but the long track is also more satisfying. Good dice drafting, good minis, good items. Good!

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Basically Ascension with a board, only the second currency is board control. Not all games need to be innovative to be solid! The expansion adds loads of combinations and very few of them aren't fun.

5/13/2019

Via Nebula

I wish thi...

by Vysetron

I wish this was the gateway game people recommended universally. It's simple on the surface, but absolutely worthy of multiple plays at every player count. I would love if this had more maps, project cards, etc, but it probably won't.

5/13/2019

Timeline: Challenge

Best Timel...

by Vysetron

Best Timeline. Amazing game for almost any group. It's an absolute crime that this didn't get popular.

5/13/2019

Tides of Time

Two player...

by Vysetron

Two player drafting that actually works, and survives replays better than you would think. It succeeds at its microgame distillation. That's a rare feat.

5/13/2019

Sushi Go Party!

Completely...

by Vysetron

Completely replaces Sushi Go in the best possible way. Almost all the new foods are just as easy to play with, but the card interactions are so much more interesting now. Production on the board and tiles is phenomenal. An excellent drafting game.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Nasty, brutish, and short enough to not overstay its welcome. A solid choice for when you want something take-that and silly.

5/13/2019

Startups

The pretti...

by Vysetron

The prettiest Oink. Gives me Knizia vibes, and those are good vibes. Wrote a bunch about this one on the blog. It's just a blast to play.

5/13/2019

Tem-Purr-A

Uno +. It'...

by Vysetron

Uno +. It's silly, fast, and plays a crowd. The push your luck mechanism is really satisfying. We play with the "1 indigestion and you stop drawing" variant because it tightens the game up a bit, otherwise someone can go from 0-3 tokens in one turn and that's not great. Addendum: turns out you can break the game pretty easily in the opening turn if you manage to get 20+ cards eaten. The whole table has to commit to not letting the total get there or it can be over as soon as it starts.

5/13/2019

Star Trek Panic

Less tense...

by Vysetron

Less tense than some coops, but more than makes up for it with humor. Likely the best in the Panic series. 3D Enterprise could work better than it does, but it still looks great.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It's Ticket to Ride: Filler Edition. You probably know whether or not that's something you want. It definitely was for me. It's kind of made or broken by how good your starting tickets are, and I wish there was a second map, but I enjoy TtR anyway and the taxis make me happy.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Such a goofy game. It doesn't matter that the scoring takes longer than the "game" because watching it all unfold is part of the fun. Real time is hard to do well but James Earnest pulled it off ages ago, and that's still true now.

5/13/2019

Tatsu

Backgammon...

by Vysetron

Backgammon 2.0, now with powers on the pieces! Production is sub-par and it tends to run a tad long, but a strong game overall.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Haven't played much but Strife is pretty fascinating for such a small game. Perfect information games appeal to me if the choices aren't obvious, and that's definitely the case here. The Fatestone might be my favorite tie breaker mechanism I've seen in a long time. It helps that the game is just gorgeous.

5/13/2019

SpyNet

Resounding...

by Vysetron

Resounding meh. There are only so many team games and I like that dynamic, but the gameplay itself just isn't all that interesting. If there was more variety in the cards outside of higher or lower numbers I'd probably like it more, but that's 90% of the deck.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Solid reprint/retheme of what was a good game to begin with. The mindgames in the votes are really enjoyable, especially with some table talk. Best at higher player counts.

5/13/2019

Spires

It works w...

by Vysetron

It works well and I enjoy it, but I can't help but feel like it's missing some real depth to its decisions. That will probably improve as you form a metagame over multiple plays, but it still lacks a proper hook to keep people coming back.

5/13/2019

Space Park

Bland blan...

by Vysetron

Bland bland bland. Gorgeous for sure, but bland. No real variety from game to game, just going through the same simple motions until whoever had the best start wins.

5/13/2019

Splendor

Has the fe...

by Vysetron

Has the feel of a classic game. Often played in silence, and sometimes that's exactly what you want. Chips are amazing quality. Game seriously needed to come in a smaller box.

5/13/2019

Star Wars: Destiny

I'm just t...

by Vysetron

I'm just tired of it. Played a ton over the last 1.5 years, new cards are objectively more powerful but less interesting.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Wew lad this game has an awful rulebook. That said, decent solitaire that invokes Space Invaders quite well. Great way to kill 10 minutes.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Putting an asterisk on this one because we weren't taking heat for black market until round 4 of 6, but I think I got the gist. I feel like I'm missing something here. Negotiation didn't feel particularly viable or valuable. We largely moved our gangs as large groups as opposed to splitting them up, so fights were fairly infrequent but huge when they happened (including a 4 way at the end). I'll need to give it a few more goes. Note: gonna trade this to folks who really love it. I think it's better than I initially gave it credit for and would recommend it, but there's parts of it that don't quite click with me.

5/13/2019

Secret Hitler

A okay att...

by Vysetron

A okay attempt at Resistence 2.0. Brilliant production. Bit too random.

5/13/2019

Skull

Dead simpl...

by Vysetron

Dead simple bluffing game about lying and flipping coasters. Gorgeous components and art draw people to the game. The game itself is fine.

5/13/2019

Sellswords

Triple Tri...

by Vysetron

Triple Triad inspired card game with lots of crazy powers. Gets even better as you introduce the variant rules.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It's an economic set collection dexterity game. Definitely not for everyone, but I love everything about it. It helps that the components are amazing and the board is gorgeous.

5/13/2019

Seal Team Flix

A fantasti...

by Vysetron

A fantastic, innovative game that definitely isn't for everyone, but is for me. Entirely skill-based coop where your goal is to avoid randomness as much as possible.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

I like this game, but you have to compare it to Star Realms and Star Realms this is not. Pros: mastery mechanic is brilliant, infinity shard guaranteeing a late game option, diverse card effects. Cons: card diversity makes game more tactical than SR (and that's saying something), not enough ways to gain levels, not enough deck culling cards.

5/13/2019

Smash Up

The card c...

by Vysetron

The card combos are definitely entertaining, but it tends to run too long for the kind of game that it is. Best played with at least one random faction per deck as certain combos are objectively better than others, though that's kind of inevitable. Innsmouth Locals for life!

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Thematic coop in a tiny box. Feels like its own beast, not just "the card game" version of its source material.

5/13/2019

Samurai

Knizia's b...

by Vysetron

Knizia's best design, and that's saying something. Every player count is enjoyable for totally different reasons. Can appeal to just about anyone. Amazing game.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

Has fallen a bit out of favor for us as of late. Also runs a tad long. Companion app helps with the scoring a lot.

5/13/2019

San Juan

One of the...

by Vysetron

One of the best card games ever made. The role selection is deep, the possibilities for your tableau are incredibly varied, and yet the game remains approachable for new players. It's one of my absolute favorites and I'm happy to finally own this edition.

5/13/2019

Scoundrel Society

I adore th...

by Vysetron

I adore the theme and the mechanisms all work, but the game is just too long for what it is. If we cook up a variant to shorten it without hurting the card interactions/set collection it'll stay in my filler rotation. Addendum: I think Grifters just stole any enthusiasm I had for this one. They don't play similarly, but I can't see this one sticking around without heavy house ruling and I'm not sure I have the patience to test changes.

5/13/2019

Santorini

I knew thi...

by Vysetron

I knew this was going to be in my wheelhouse. A wonderfully clean abstract with a 10 second rule rundown. The massive spread of god powers and incredible production give this game tons of replayability.

5/13/2019

Samurai Spirit

Cooperativ...

by Vysetron

Cooperative blackjack-esque game. Theme is a cross between The Seven Samurai and Bloody Roar. Worth noting that its packaging and insert have absolutely no waste, which I appreciate tremendously. I like it quite a bit (especially for the theme) but there are stronger coops.

5/13/2019

Schüttel's

It's hard ...

by Vysetron

It's hard to criticize Shuttel's. It delivers on exactly what it promises. Whether that's for you or not is something I'm sure you can determine. It's definitely a sometimes-game, but I dig it.

5/13/2019

Run, Fight, or Die

A yahtzee ...

by Vysetron

A yahtzee mechanic game with some unnecessarily cluttered rules (book of the dead), decidedly unthematic mechanics (competitive zombie survival?), and some blatantly sexist characters. Downtime is an issue.

5/13/2019

Rumble in The House

An incredi...

by Vysetron

An incredibly silly, semi-random game that uses both to its advantage. Kwanchai did the art so I'm inclined to like it, but it really is fun to try to suss the game out as it inevitably descends into madness.

5/13/2019

Room 25 Board Game

I wanted t...

by Vysetron

I wanted to like this more than I do. It's incredibly easy for the traitor to make winning almost impossible if they wait to reveal themselves until the late game. The hazardous tiles are not as interesting as one would hope.

5/13/2019

Resistor Card Game

It require...

by Vysetron

It requires several plays with the same person to establish strategy, but the strategy tends to be shallow and tactical. I love the theme and concept here and the production is fantastic, but I'm not sure there's enough game here to justify it.

5/13/2019

Root

Root is ju...

by Vysetron

Root is just phenomenal. Deceptively simple, deviously complex, deliciously interactive. What a game.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It looks great and nearly pulls off what it's trying to do, but the bolted on bluffing mechanic hurts it. Unfortunate because I normally love bluffing but it's so out of place here.

5/13/2019

Ra

Such a cle...

by Vysetron

Such a clever and unorthodox auction system. Plays well with two, which is impressive. Love love love.

5/13/2019

R-Eco

Was glad t...

by Vysetron

Was glad to get my hands on a copy of this. The hand management is very simple and clever and the game is easy to teach, but it's a little luckier than I'd hoped. I like it quite a bit but it isn't my favorite cards/numbers game.

5/13/2019

Roll Player

Every sess...

by Vysetron

Every session is a unique puzzle and ends in a functional, if suboptimal character sheet that you could actually use! Clever, a tad silly, and very enjoyable.

5/13/2019

Quartz

Eeeeeeeh. ...

by Vysetron

Eeeeeeeh. It almost works? It's beautifully produced and the push your luck mechanism itself is satisfying but the card play is mediocre at best, and actually annoying at times. Add in a couple of persnickety rules that slow down rules explanation and it's hard to recommend.

5/13/2019

Raptor

I've come ...

by Vysetron

I've come to realize that I was a bit harsh on Raptor. It does simultaneous selection well, if not in an original way, and stands up to repeat plays better than many other games of its ilk. The choices are rarely obvious and I appreciate that. A decent 2 player game.

5/13/2019

Revolution!

Really hap...

by Vysetron

Really happy to find this at the bazaar. Been meaning to track it down for a while. It's simple, funny, and quite good! I heard it needs an expansion and I'm not surprised. Edit: got pretty stale, even with the Anarchy expansion. I appreciate that it lets you play 6p but you shouldn't. It exacerbates the already severe rich get richer problem.

5/13/2019

Quadropolis

Classic ga...

by Vysetron

Classic game is light and fast, Expert game is just long enough and offers some crunchy decisions. It's just puzzle-y enough to be interesting without encouraging AP. Exceptionally well produced.

5/13/2019

Quantum

Mini 4X wi...

by Vysetron

Mini 4X with bizarre transforming ships. Super fun, just enough randomness in the combat to give the gameplay some kick. Weird middle ground in terms of weight and a bit tricky to get to the table as a result, but I really enjoy every time I do.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

DEEP. LORE. This is an odd one. I like it fine, but mostly because everyone just tries to understand what the hell is going on with the theme.

5/13/2019

Quarriors

There are ...

by Vysetron

There are so many better deckbuiders out there. There's even better bag builders at this point. The dice look great, but that doesn't save it from being horribly balanced.

5/13/2019

Pit Crew

Engelstein...

by Vysetron

Engelstein makes yet another game that I can't believe hasn't been made. Not my favorite real time game, but a good small-box one that I'm glad exists. Definitely has a runaway leader problem but honestly, who cares in this case?

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

The best thing about this game is that everyone is going to have at least one moment where they drop a great word and feel like a genius. I'm always willing to play this and I'll play it with anyone.

5/13/2019

by Vysetron

It's...fine? The plot is bad but it introduces new mechanisms at a good clip. I just don't find it particularly engaging, and the same seems to be true for everyone else in our group.

5/13/2019

Pirate Den

This game ...

by Vysetron

This game deserved better. Seriously, look up the story of how this got made and what's happened to everyone who touched the production. It's sad. Also everything about Pirate Den's presentation lies to you. The box says 14+ and 30 minutes. These are lies. The box is large and has playerboards. These are sort of lies. What this game is is a 10-15 minute slapfight over gems and gold nuggets. Laughter is inevitable. Steal from your friends. Succumb to greed. Take all the shinies. It's good stuff.

5/13/2019

Pandemic: The Cure

Has fallen...

by Vysetron

Has fallen flat for me every time I've gotten it to the table. I'll still play it if people want to, but it just doesn't work for me as well as comparable games.

5/13/2019

Pantone: The Game

I did not ...

by Vysetron

I did not think this would be the best party game of the year (and possibly longer!), but here we are. Granted it needs more cards and the category is specific, but you're on BGG. You're going to play this with nerds. That's what this game was built for. Just fantastic all around.

5/13/2019

Now Boarding

Received f...

by Vysetron

Received from most recent Fowers KS. It feels like the real time elements may as well had not been there. The core mechanisms are strong enough, but I don't see this having a particularly long shelf life.

5/13/2019