Reviews

These reviews were left by TK2187.

by TK2187

Bought this game for someone else and then daughter opened it so I kept it. Turns out it is pretty fun. Kind of scratches the itch for when the full game is too long (for most people). It goes pretty quickly and has many of the same concepts as the full game, just as a lighter version.

12/2/2020

Pipeline

No Review Title

by TK2187

I think this is too complicated for our average gaming groups but Husband really likes it. Troy friends really enjoyed it but we don't see them that often.

12/2/2020

by TK2187

The personal goal cards with the zones seem like they are a lot easier to get lots of points off of than the color goal cards especially when there is any color related public goal on the table. Haven't tried the personal draft boards yet.

12/2/2020

The Grizzled

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

The Climbers

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Spaceteam

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Sagrada

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Space Base

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Bazaar

No Review Title

by TK2187

Played this and had loads of fun with it as a kid. Would play occasionally as an adult and looking forward to playing with my kids.

12/2/2020

by TK2187

We had a lot harder time with this than Season 1. Not sure if it was just us. But it doesn't get quite as good of a rating because I'm not sure it was as balanced as Season 1. Or maybe it just wasn't as shiny because we were already surprised by many of the mechanics the first time around. Still a very enjoyable gaming experience though. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

12/2/2020

Commissioned

No Review Title

by TK2187

The use of theme is absolutely brilliant in this game. I don't know how to describe it without going into super long detail, but one example that I love is that a trial card of persecution will cause you to lose members but also spread the gospel to other cities, just like in history/real life. The whole game is like that. Just perfect.

12/2/2020

Codenames: Pictures

No Review Title

by TK2187

I don't think this is nearly as good as the original codenames because pictures can't carry the nuance that the words do. It definitely does work a different part of your brain though.

12/2/2020

Onitama

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Mechs vs. Minions

No Review Title

by TK2187

We finished the whole game story with Jon, Amy, and Karen and may go back to play through hard mode at some point. Awesome game with great minis, just spectacular component quality. Also very popular with people new to gaming that we introduce it to. Simple mechanic that's lots of fun.

12/2/2020

by TK2187

So we were mistakenly playing with 5 rounds instead of 10 which actually made it way better. 10 rounds would be impossible to get through. With 5 someone always finished and it was more ok that people randomly died because the games were really short and we'd restart quickly. Is an ok fun/random game when played that way. Not really a challenge, just amusing.

12/2/2020

Secret Hitler

No Review Title

by TK2187

Backed the kickstarter. May be a bit too early to rate, having basically only played once with a group of 6, but this seems pretty fun. Better than Avalon? I don't know. I like the theme of Avalon. But the legislative session is definitely interesting. Am looking forward to playing this game with more people. 2020 upped the rating to a 9. It hasn't hit the table as much lately but every time it does its a success. Except for certain people who don't like social deduction games.

12/2/2020

Kill Doctor Lucky

No Review Title

by TK2187

So this is a cute, simple game. It can get kind of long with lots of people. I don't see it getting too much play, but it might be good with younger kids.

12/2/2020

Hanabi

No Review Title

by TK2187

Averaged rating with Husband. I really like this game because it has a very simple concept yet is not easy. However, we played a 2 player game and it was basically impossible. Can get too hard? Husband is tired of it already I think.

12/2/2020

Santorini

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Tak

No Review Title

by TK2187

Simple to play and learn yet there are layers of strategy. Truly a beautiful game.

12/2/2020

Steampunk Rally

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Alhambra

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Ghost Stories

No Review Title

by TK2187

Christmas 2015I really like this game. I'm a fan of co-ops in general and this one is pretty challenging. We haven't moved on from "easy" mode yet and while our win ration isn't terrible for a supposedly difficult co-op, we sometimes get overwhelmed and unable to dig ourselves out of a hole. I feel like there are many strategies we haven't yet developed that we'll need to learn as we play through the game in order to move onto the more difficult levels. I also am a big fan of the theme as someone who loves kung fu. Overall, I feel like this is a great co-op for those who are looking to play one that is more difficult than the Pandemic-type family.

12/2/2020

Sheriff of Nottingham

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Taboo

No Review Title

by TK2187

Great party game. Have good memories circumventing the prohibited words with nerdy references.

12/2/2020

Ace of Spies

No Review Title

by TK2187

Eh. Interesting enough game but the interrupt card kind of make it broken. Just save up all your interrupts til the end and then steal your way to victory. Sold 2020

12/2/2020

7 Wonders

No Review Title

by TK2187

I like the fact that there aren't really turns. Its constant action unless someone (usually me) is taking too much time to decide. However, its a completely different game when there are more people (5-7) versus fewer (2-4). I think there's more strategy at the less person level.

12/2/2020

Apples to Apples

No Review Title

by TK2187

Can be fun depending on your group. Have some good memories playing this game.

12/2/2020

King of Tokyo

No Review Title

by TK2187

Good gateway game. Easy to pick up. Only problem is if people die early they're not doing anything for a while. We're trying to work out a good house rule where if they die they loose VP or the cards they've bought or some combination thereof so they can stay in the game.

12/2/2020

Sequence

No Review Title

by TK2187

I own this game strictly for nostalgic purposes and also to play with kids to teach them to follow rules. Its like a more complicated tic tac toe.

12/2/2020

Bang!: The Bullet

No Review Title

by TK2187

Great game and loads of fun. Slightly hard to introduce to new gamers because of all the pictures and confusion on what they mean.

12/2/2020

Dominion

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Balderdash

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Pandemic

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

This game is genius. I love it. The only bad thing is that it makes regular Pandemic kind of boring.

12/2/2020

Catan

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Ticket to Ride: Europe

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Tokaido

No Review Title

by TK2187

Initially I thought this game was pretty fun. Very beautiful and relaxingly simple. However, after playing it several times during one month I think we kind of got bored of it so I'm revising my rating downward because it lacks staying power. Still good for new gamers or those who don't like things that are super complex or maybe to just break out once in a while.

12/2/2020

Takenoko

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

This game has a great dynamic and has tons of replayability value. I just don't like it as much because in the beginning stuff just happens TO you and there really isn't much you can do about it one way or the other. My husband loves this game however so really I averaged our ratings.

12/2/2020

Codenames

No Review Title

by TK2187

When I read the description for this game, I was like eh. Then I played it and was wowed by how difficult and complex it actually was. A hallmark of a good game, simple premise and complex play.

12/2/2020

Munchkin

No Review Title

by TK2187

The art and captions on these cards are hilarious and its worth playing the game just to use those. But I feel like the mechanic leave something to be desired. The first person to get to lvl 9 never wins because everyone spends all they have defeating them and then the next person to get there wins because the players have nothing left. Sold 2020

12/2/2020

Star Fluxx

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Exploding Kittens

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Coup

No Review Title

by TK2187

This game is quick and easy to teach to new people and yet more advanced players don't necessarily have a huge advantage. (except for the fact that new people never lie)

12/2/2020

by TK2187

I LOVE the teams expansion. Adds a whole other layer of strategy. Haven't tried using the inquisitor yet. I like being able to play with a bigger group, but it makes the game slower.

12/2/2020

The Resistance

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

The Resistance: Avalon

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Carcassonne

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Puerto Rico

No Review Title

by TK2187

The most perfectest rulebook ever.

12/2/2020

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Tsuro

No Review Title

by TK2187

This is a beautiful, simple game but for more advanced players I think it doesn't hold interest very long. I keep it around mostly to play with non-gamers or younger kids that I'm trying to introduce to gaming.

12/2/2020

Splendor

No Review Title

by TK2187

I think the lack of actual crystals in this game is a total lost opportunity. This is basically a slightly more complicated version of Bazaar, which I loved as a kid but not so much fun as an adult.

12/2/2020

Kingdom Builder

No Review Title

by TK2187

Both Husband and I really like this game. Very simple mechanic yet every game is different. Considering purchasing all the expansions.

12/2/2020

Five Tribes

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Bananagrams

No Review Title

by TK2187

No Review Description

12/2/2020

Dixit

No Review Title

by TK2187

This is what everyone is thinking: http://www.uptofourplayers.com/comic/45-trip-of-the-trade/But it is a good gateway game. We don't play it with the same group of people that often, but I feel like if you did you'd need to keep buying expansions so you can get new crazy pictures.

12/2/2020

by TK2187

This game can get sooo hilarious. Also its harder than it looks. Also definitely planning on using it as a subtle educational tool in the future.

12/2/2020