Reviews

These reviews were left by Sin4profit.

Salem 1692

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Haven't played this in awhile but it's one of the social deduction games i can play with new people and people who just don't like social deduction.Still a good time but any game with only one witch can end too soon just by a lucky guess which is pretty deflating.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

It's the kind of co-op game i can get behind. I played this game with 3 and i think i would like this game more if we had 4 players. One of the missions we played (choose one player to never win a trick) just felt broken with 3 players and the puzzle felt dull and obvious after you lose once.

11/8/2020

Silver Bullet

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Pretty ok so far. you do feel involved in your strategic trickery mixed with info gathering.But, this rating could go in either direction with more play thoughs

11/8/2020

Similo

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Simple but an enjoyable filler. I have the mythos pack and since i have little knowledge of mythology i can't correlate charter relationships and can really only go by illustrative details.I can see this one dropping in rating as the clue giver's clues feel more samey with each play though.

11/8/2020

Air, Land, & Sea

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I like it but i need to play more people. If your opponent refuses to retreat the game can be too easy as you'll win in two turns.When you teach this you have to emphasize the importance of retreat.

11/8/2020

History of the World

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I enjoyed this game but because i played, and liked, Small World before it, my preference leans towards Small World and i also enjoy the dynamic character selection of SW to HotW's set empires.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Played this a bunch of times. Though, i don't see myself getting too into the "roll/flip & write" genre i find this i s a good one to have.There is a problem with the "attack" cards in that they are dependent on your neighboring player. Some people are more vicious than others with their placement.Haven't played with the solo attack rules which supposedly helps a bit.

11/8/2020

Friday

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I don't play many solo games but i heard good things about this one and it turns out i really enjoyed it.I was impressed by this deck builders allegory for survival through experience while facing the inevitability of old age.However, after i had beaten the game, despite it having a scoring mechanism, i haven't felt compelled to go back to it. Mainly because i don't play solo board games. Though, if the power goes out and i'm by myself looking for something to play, i'll probably pick it back up.

11/8/2020

Campy Creatures

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Had fun playing this game with the family a few times. Though, it is simple we originally were confused on how the Assistants were distributed and how the clash worked.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

No Review Description

11/8/2020

51st State: Master Set

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Played and enjoyed this game several times now, would like to integrate the expansions into future play troughs.My only problem with it is it feel like there aren't enough factions out of the box. If you're playing with non aggressive players, someone's going to have a bad time being stuck with the mutant faction.

11/8/2020

GoodCritters

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Fun game, creates some good table banter. Only played it once so far via the basic rules but i think the added bribery variant can only make it better.

11/8/2020

The Bloody Inn

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Really wanted to like this game more than i did. I like the macabre theme but the gameplay itself fell flat.

11/8/2020

Can't Stop

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Great, "press your luck" filler. Best if played as a PnP with 4 dice or lay out some tokens for more spectacle.

11/8/2020

Dixit

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

This is my mom's favorite game! Also a great game with a dynamic that changes depending on who you play it with. The scoring is well done as the game has one player giving a clue vague enough that a handful of people can guess the clue's relevance against abstract artwork, but not so obvious that everyone guess the correct art, which earns the clue giver nothing. All while other players are trying to subvert the clue giver's clue and deceive people into guessing their own supplied art.Also, the art cards can be used as an art expansion for Mysterium if you own both games.

11/8/2020

Cryptid

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Excellent game! Was difficult to wrap my head around at first but once you "get it" and are able to deduce the qualifying location, it's a great feeling. Playing with the advanced rules really breaks my brain.You could play the game with a cheat sheet, and i'd recommend trying it that way when your first learning but there's also a part of me that feels like it's cheating.We've run into the issue where we've run out of tokens to place on the board. Supposedly, as you get better at understanding the game that becomes less of an issue.Also mistakes can just flat out break an entire game and it's easy to make those mistakes when transitioning to the advanced rules.We've played at least two games that were won just by random guessing, so that is a concern.But overall it's a very enjoyable deduction game.

11/8/2020

Zombie 15'

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

The amount of time it takes to set up each mission means we're gonna play two missions and move onto something else. The 15 minutes of gameplay doesn't really make up for it.

11/8/2020

Raptor

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I've played this a few times and i've yet to see a raptor win.Though, i enjoy it right now, i can see the rating dropping if it continues to feel unbalanced.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Fun tactics game. Only played it a few times and the end came really came down to the wire each time. On my first play through victory literally hung on one single die roll. Though, it was an exciting ending for me as i was sure i had no hope of winning and came out with the win, i'd imagine the random element could be a bit frustrating for some. In later games, i never saw any of my champions until my draw pile was almost gone.Will have to play more, but so far i've enjoyed it.

11/8/2020

A Feast for Odin

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I've played it a few times now and i like it so far. Should play a solo game of it at some point.I find the idea of crafting from raw materiel and then building that up to be fun in games, so i'm slightly concerned that the raiding/pillaging options negate the "ground up" approach.I'll have to play it more often to see if that is the case.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

I really enjoy San Juan but i wonder, right now, if i would enjoy Race for the Galaxy more. As of now, San Juan is a great card variation of Puerto Rico but from what little i experienced of Race for the Galaxy, i may enjoy that game more if i get a chance to play it more often.

11/8/2020

Nations

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Good game, simpler than i thought it would be. The game warns you about adding the "advanced" cards in too early, like they were going to explode in your hand if you mishandled them or something, but i didn't find the game too complex.The difficulty adjustment that limits your resources per-round is a nice addition.I feel like the game plays differently depending on the scale. In a two player game the "books" really aren't as valuable as they are in games with higher play counts. Dunno if that's a good or a bad thing but i'm not too keen on having an aspect of a game too easy to ignore and still come out ahead. Could be fixed by awarding 2VP for the 2 player lead instead of just 1VP.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

I enjoy the corruption aspect of this expansion, Though i don't like the corruption tokens. Haven't really played the other half of it too much.

11/8/2020

Port Royal

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Despite it being very luck based at times, i find Port Royal to be a fun game. There are ways to negate the bad luck aspect of the game, by way of investing in swords. though, when it's early in the game and you only draw two cards and bust, it's a bit frustrating.

11/8/2020

Roll Player

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

It's hard to judge the weight of this game. If't fairly simple in what you do but it's a puzzle which you can easily back yourself into a corner; It's very "thinky" and I like it for this reason.The expansion, Monsters & Minions, adds a great deal of theme that maybe lacking in the original game, as you fight minions along the way in a preparation to fight a final boss monster.Good puzzle, the M&M expansion is a must have.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

A must have expansion for Roll Player that adds a lot of theme and excitement to the base Roll Player game.

11/8/2020

Snake Oil: Elixir

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Yet more Snake Oil. Played recently and it's still a good time maybe only losing a bit of it's luster.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

It feels like Cutthroat Cavers-lite. I bought it because i liked the idea of a faster playing CC but the simplifications didn't give me the "take that" peeks that i felt in CC. Instead i just felt like i was using what i had because it was what i had, there as no deep planning or strategy.Maybe a few more play throughs with a few more players can bring something out of this game but as of right now, i'd rather play Cutthroat Cavern.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

The fun is in pointing fake foam guns at people like you're the bad guys in a heist that went wrong.It's somewhat amusing but i struggle to find it all that compelling.

11/8/2020

Fuse

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Fuse is a fine realtime game as long as everybody's playing at an even pace. Once you get that slow player in there it can be a bit frustrating as you openly negotiate as to why you are more deserving of the dice that you want.

11/8/2020

Deep Sea Adventure

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Fun little press your luck game, very simple.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

It's good for a laugh but not something i think most people are going to want to come back to.

11/8/2020

Burke's Gambit

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Played this once or twice, didn't blow anyone away at the time and there's concern that the randomness may end the game too early.My opinion can change with more playthroughs but for now this game's only slightly above average.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Played this game with too few people. I think you need a minimum of two wolf players before it gets interesting but for now it sits at 6 until can play it with a larger group.

11/8/2020

Cheating Moth

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Played it a few times. Surprisingly harder to catch people cheating than you would think.Maybe a bit difficult to teach people the concept of having to cheat to win, while also having to be honest about the cheating or difficult for people who tend to be nervous about getting caught cheating.Can be fun with the right people but probably not something you'd come back to over and over.

11/8/2020

Strike

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Let's be real here, Strike is a dumb fun random game. It's not some deep strategy game you work a game night around but it's the perfect filler game while you set up a much more complex game in the background.I bought this game used with a massive dent in the box and i wasn't that plexed, as i knew that it was not worth worrying about, but a good time nonetheless.

11/8/2020

Magic Maze

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Solves one of my problems in Co-op games in that noone is allowed to talk, therefore no one can be an alpha player. Outside of that at the end of the game it is fun to discuss intentions and where things went wrong. Would like to play more often with more players as I've only played with 3 players so far

11/8/2020

Ethnos

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Liked this game a great deal. The setup makes for an exciting ending as you reveal two dragon heads and have to determine if you're going to press your luck with a long play or squeeze in a few easy points.One of my main problems with the game is it's scoring. It presents you with many ways to score points but from my experience, larger set collections are the way to win. I just wish the other ways to score were better balanced or the game featured some bonus end game scoring that can make for some exciting come backs.

11/8/2020

Captain Sonar

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I can easily see this being higher in the future as i get more "real time" playthroughs with more players.This review is based on a 4 player count playing the game as turn based as a slow paced means of teaching the game. I'd imagine it plays best in a frantic real time setting with more people but i haven't played it that way yet.As a turn based game, i still thought it was ok.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

i enjoy Love Letter and this feels a little more meatier than love letter or at least different enough that i can switch to it before i burn out on Love Letter.

11/8/2020

Snake Oil

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Snake Oil is my favorite party game. A game that requires creative input while bringing out something in people you never expected was there.Snake Oil is the reason most of the crap party games (such as Apples to Apples/Cards Against Humanity) should not be played.There's better out there, and it's called Snake Oil

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

More cards, more options, but supposedly more kid friendly?

11/8/2020

Dead Man's Draw

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Quick fun card game with plenty of variant cards included to change up the game and strategy.

11/8/2020

Chronicles of Crime

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I've only played one scenario through and quit through half of the starting scenario. It's an adventure game come to life in board game form. Though i like the game I do have a handfull of issues with it: -It's disappointing that the scenarios weren't "remixed" to give the game more replayability. The nature of using the app and the nameless cards almost implies that the game can be changed up to keep players coming back to the same scenarios but that doesn't seem to be the case.-Taking notes to keep up with the cases is a chore, though i have dealt with that by making marker tokens that can be used to make note taking more dynamic, rather than slow the game down with written notes.-Little disappointed to find out the expansions require buying more physical cards. I was under the impression that the base game was all you'd need and the nature of the design meant you'd only need to buy digital scenarios.As is, the game suffers from the same lack of replayability as most games of this nature. while i thought the technology involved could help innovate and alleviate that issue here.You'll be relying on the company, and your wallet, to get more replay value from this game where the technology involved could have helped treat that issue.I'd like to see a community driven option where people can use the base components to construct their own cases creating a game with infinite replayability.

11/8/2020

Champions of Midgard

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Like this one quite a bit the more i play it. The theme is fun, the competitive nature of fighting the better monsters while still having to concern yourself with the chore monsters (trolls) is an interesting dynamic. I will say, i think this game plays better without the "Wealthy Stranger" market card as the game is more interesting when money is harder to come by.Also it can be difficult for new players to deal with their warriors "dying" as it tends to feel like they're doing something wrong and may make them play conservatively with the warriors. This is why the Valhalla expansion is a good option to start with.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Makes a good game even better. Taking the inevitable death of your warrior dice and turning them into a commodity for even more powerful components doesn't just make losing warriors easier to bare, it also reinforces the mytho-viking themes.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

From what i've played of it, which is not a lot, it makes a simple and fun game overly complicated.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

It's one night ultimate werewolf mixed with 20 questions. This is, at least and easy premise to teach as new players, unfamiliar with One Night Ultimate Werewolf, can wrap their heads around this one a bit better.I still much prefer One Night but maybe you can use this game to transition new people into the One Night formula.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Not as hot on this game as most people are but i keep playing it hoping to eventually get more out of it. Though it is very thematic, it's not that exciting.I believe the visitor cards maybe more important to the enjoyment of the game than i've given it credit for, but the random nature of collecting visitor cards makes me shy away from that aspect.

11/8/2020

Space Base

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Space base was a good time but the production was a bit "iffy". I swear i need to check the weight of the die as it landed on 9 way too often and one of the pips was not colored in so when the dice read "4" i had to remind people that it was a four and not a three.Outside of that, any game that allows for massive combos is a pretty good time to me. The rules maybe a bit confusing as to when/where you can use "charged cards".

11/8/2020

Western Legends

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Played the short game, dunno how long it actually took but it felt too short as i felt like i wanted to accomplish more.Want to play it again with the Ante Up expansion and i'm also writing a fight variant adding a bit more poker into the gameplay that i want to play test.

11/8/2020

Pinball Showdown

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

you have to be a pinhead to enjoy this game. By that, i mean a fan of pinball. The game itself is just kind of OK but if you're a fan of pinball, like i am, you may appreciate the allegorical mechanics that bring the concept to life.For everyone else, i think they'll just find the game mediocre.

11/8/2020

Puzzle Strike

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Dunno that i'm that into it. The deckbuilding genre has fizzled out for me over the years. It's a neat idea, and i like the spoof on the Super Puzzle Fighter videogame.One of my main problems with it is it just seems to go on and on, back and forth. The manual implies that the game will get shorter as you get better at it, i just don't think i'm that willing to play it that often.Also, i wasn't aware that i didn't own the 3rd edition so it didn't come with the player board and you don't get the -1$ on the "combine" chips, which may be contributing to the length of the game.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

it adds a bit of complexity and variability to the base game but unfortunately it adds more time to the game as well. For what Stockpile is i prefer it to be short and sweet and the expansion, though it does make it a bit meatier, also makes it feel a bit more bloated.

11/8/2020

Stockpile

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Stockpile's a fun time. We've played it to death, it's a very lite game but the theme is quite fun.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

We all really love this one. Playing as Dracula is arguable the most fun in the game and realistically it's a two player game that you can play with 5 players.However, the deduction is just as much fun as the deception.The weakest part of the game is likely the combat as it is basically a few , slightly more complex,rounds of rock, paper, scissors, but it gets the job done and if you manage to double team Dracula that's where you're going to get to do heavy damage.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

One of the best social deduction games. In this game you have a more immediate understanding of the deception concept of social deduction, through use of the clue cards, so it's easier for new players to jump in.The game also plays very quickly so it's one of those games you'll play over and over in a single sitting.

11/8/2020

Starfighter

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

It's pretty ok. I liked what this game does but for a game with a combo system it wasn't as exciting as i expected. Maybe need a few more plays.

11/8/2020

Biblios

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I enjoy this abstract game quite a bit. A simple game with two distinct phases you play through that keep things from feeling too same-y and simple scoring.

11/8/2020

Paperback

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

though the game is decent as a mix of Dominion plus Scrabble i mostly bought this game to play with my sister who is a fan of both Dominion and Scrabble.it's good but i'm still bad at word games.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Really enjoyed this one. Only played it as a two player game. Though i lost every game i played, what was really impressive was the swings in the scoring. Each game i played i felt a little bad for how high ahead i was, but when calculating the end game scoring i was destroyed.The scoring is what really makes this game for me, as the score board can give you a false sense of achievement only to see those achievements crumble underneath what feels like a massive comeback play.I did find one instance, however where the placement of your first castle can really bone when playing with the various sided boards but that's a hard lesson you learn quickly if it happens to you.

11/8/2020

Puerto Rico

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

This one has fallen pretty flat with the people i've played with. Though, i've enjoyed a bootleg digital version on my Android phone (official version doesn't exist) i still don't get the hype for this game.Could change my mind with a few more plays.

11/8/2020

Mafia de Cuba

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Though the game does solve a problem in social deduction games, people who are not comfortable with lying can choose their roles. Ultimately Mafia De Cuba is a memory game as you have to memorize what you see in the box if you want to provide valuable information or just play dumb.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

may add some interesting characters for larger play counts but we mostly stick to the base game.

11/8/2020

Funemployed

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

hate it for much of the same reasons i hate But Wait There's More, though this game has even less redeeming qualities.The comedy's on the card, and often relying on the written card to sell the joke is a common crutch. I think the game would be better with some kind of variant where you never show your cards until the end of the interview and you are scored, per card, for how well that qualification was woven into your interview.Snake Oil, still miles away better.

11/8/2020

Welcome to the Dungeon

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

i think i've played it a couple of times and have mostly forgotten about it. Forgot i even owned it. Maybe i need to play it more often but for the most part it was fairly forgettable.

11/8/2020

Love Letter: Batman

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

(2019 8.5) I still remember this game fondly. Though we don't play it as much anymore it's still a great filler game.(2005 - 9)Excellent game. Works as a quick play by play game or with the included tokens to add desired length, which also adds tension and drama to the gameplay.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

(2019 - 6) i feel like i was more lenient with this game when i first reviewed it, as it was the first real time board game i had played, but the review still stands as to why i don't care for real time board games.(2015 - 7.5) More fun as an activity than a game. The rules are frustrating to teach, which leads to a lot of unintentional rule breaking during gameplay.We had to create a house-rule of pausing for, "movement" since it was easy to dismiss flying through hazards without resolving them, but this lead to other convoluted scenarios that seem to need more house-rules to compensate.However, it still manages to be a lot of fun as an activity despite being somewhat sloppy as a game.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Basing this review on my past memory of playing this game. Bought this to move away from Dominion and i remember liking the game a lot but the expansions i thought, at the time, muddied the experience making it unnecessarily complicated.My opinion of this game could easily change, either way, with a few more playthroughs.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Didn't care for it. As a big fan of Snake Oil i was hoping this game could fit the bill while being something slightly different but i feel like it suffers too much from the comedy being "on the card". There isn't a lot of insensitive for being creative as you just throw out the cards hoping the absurdity if the written card will sell itself.The voting system in the game is the best part as voting is kept secret until the end of the game so there's no sense of, "playing favorites".Very group dependent and i would say it would probably play better if you had to keep all the feature cards secret until the end of your pitch.

11/8/2020

No Thanks!

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

My relationship with this game comes from my fandom of a Korean game show called The Genius. Love that show and this game was clearly used in a few of the segments.It is a decent, though simple card game.

11/8/2020

Concept

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Concept starts out pretty great for people who don't like charades and enjoy creatively constructing ideas through iconography,but over time devolves into familiar meta clues that seem to ruin the fun of the game.Things like laying out the cubes to represent word count while everyone shouts random conjunctions until one sticks. Also, flat out making a row of 26 cubes to represent the alphabet to just spell out the cards is something we had to stop and disqualify. Scoring is mostly something that we ignore in the game.It's a game that devolves over many playthroughs with too familiar groups.

11/8/2020

Sushi Go!

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Simple card Drafting game with cute illustrations, but really i wish i'd bought Sushi Go Party! to change up the variability a little bit.

11/8/2020

Zombie Dice

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

(2019 - 4) I don't even know where my copy of this game is anymore and i can't be bothered to care. I think my little cousins took it when they were 8 and i can't say i've missed it. It'll waste you some time as a filler game, but there are much better options out there for that.(2015 - 6) It's an ok press your luck game but without including any victory tokens it comes across as a fairly cheap product.

11/8/2020

Lords of Waterdeep

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Really like this one, i'm aware of the curse surrounding this game where playing it obsessively will lead to burn out, but it's still new to me. One of the first worker-placement games that actually appealed to me. I'm a big fan of building places that other players can use that will benefit the owner.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

(2020 - 5) Originally, just gave it a matching score with the base game and, though i think reformation improves the base game, it's just not a good value.(2019 - 6.5)The ability to convert players to different teams helps keep players interested, though realistically you can add two cards from any other game and play by these rules without having to buy the expansion.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Was a lot of fun early on but the finicky randomness can ruin the game. If the haunt is triggered too early it can be a bummer and if you happen to get a haunt that you've already played before generally my group will just skip that haunt and keep going.The quality of the components are pretty bad as well. The character sheets come in a card stock that is too thin for the plastic arrow markers, so it can be easy to lose track of your characters' progress.

11/8/2020

New York 1901

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I would argue that this game is better than Ticket to Ride but you get the same vibes from this.

11/8/2020

Codenames

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Easy to teach and fun little party game. You only really need the word cards as i use the phone app for everything else.

11/8/2020

Mysterium

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Though it is a bit long, it is a fun mystery game of deducing abstract art. Playing as the ghost can either be the most fun for s player or the most frustrating.Replaced a bit by the similar, but faster playing Deception: Murder in Hong Kong.

11/8/2020

Cosmic Encounter

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I really like this game a great deal. The dynamic and often unbalanced nature of the various alien races makes for some self correcting political playthroughs as players may work together to suppress overly powerful characters. The variation often means you get a vary different game each time and the rules variants further the replay value.

11/8/2020

Shadows Over Camelot

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

played it a long time ago and the vast amount of things to focus on made it hard to have a clear opinion of the game overall. Right now it'll set it at 7 but this score may change if i get more time with the game.

11/8/2020

Galaxy Trucker

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

A bit novel, but fun. Building up your spaceship is a good time as you dream of all the hot space trucking action that will ensue only to be ripped apart by complete randomness.It's amusing but not too deep.

11/8/2020

Ticket To Ride

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

It's an OK game but i feel like, at this point i've played other games that scratch that same itch while giving me something i like better.

11/8/2020

Forbidden Desert

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

The game that help establish the fact that i don't like Co-op games very much.Co-op games, to me, tend to feel like solitary games you play with other people and those people just listen to the one person feeding them suggestions.

11/8/2020

Good Cop Bad Cop

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

a decent game that maybe suffering fatigue from too many playthroughs. It can be very satisfying to pull off a strategy using the object cards.

11/8/2020

Super Motherload

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Maybe i need to play more of this game but from the two times i've played it, i just couldn't get into it.

11/8/2020

Suburbia

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Suburbia is a great game that is tarnished a bit by it's visual design.It's a great city building game but when you get to tiles like the, "all your" tiles or the "for every" tiles it's easy to overlook these options in the mess of graphic design and simply forget to take their benefit.I'm working on some maker tokens to help with the game at a glance, but realistically the game's graphical interface should have been designed with more distinguishability to those features that extend outside of tile adjacency.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Good fun. I prefer it over Spyfall, maybe because i haven't played it as much.It makes playing the spy less stressful and the worse the artists around the table are, the better.The only problem is the odd player out situation as one player who creates the word clue sits the game out and just watches.

11/8/2020

by Sin4profit

Here's another game that exemplifies what i don't like about real time board games. I feel like these types of games would be better played with a moderator who can keep people honest as, within the chaos of it all, it's easy to just occasionally cheat your way through a bad situation out of frustration.As a host you want everyone to have a good time and if you have that one player who wants to play these games a little more thoughtfully it will just break the entire game and that's frustrating.

11/8/2020

Cockroach Poker Royal

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Cockroach poker is a decent bluffing game that's only marred by the fact that there really isn't a winner, just a single loser which is not that satisfying.

11/8/2020

Skull

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Dead simple bluffing game rooted to the core of bluffing games.Truth about this game is you can literally use napkins or coasters you find out in a bar to play this game. Just pass out for napkins/coasters to each player and drawn an X on one of them and you have this game. Ready to play anytime, anywhere whether you own a copy or not.

11/8/2020

Chinatown

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Good game. Was worried that a pure negotiation game would fall a bit flat but it's gone over very well so far.Drawing the deed cards after the first round gets pretty exciting when you inherit property that will benefit you, and even more exciting when you feel you have good leverage on your opponent.The final round can be a bit anticlimactic if you've managed to get everything you want done too soon and it's the only place where the randomness is a bummer but it's a good ride until you get there.

11/8/2020

Lords of Vegas

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

The reason no one should play Monopoly. The game shares a lot of common threads with monopoly, benefiting from randomization. But in the end you do have a lot more control over your strategy.

11/8/2020

Carcassonne

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

(2020 - 4) After playing Carcassonne: Hunters & Gatherers (digitally) The original Carcassonne feels even more flat. Playing H&G i was surprised to find it enjoyable since i wasn't a fan of the original but since then H&G has served to force my rating here even lower.(2019 - 6.5) Maybe a bit too light for me, or the hype around it was built up so high that it just fell a little short of it's consistent praise.

11/8/2020

Cutthroat Caverns

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

I'm personally a big fan of it, though it is a mean game. It's a bit of a bluffing game and a take that game and i find it fun when your strategies backfire on you.The expansions add modules that make an already fairly long game last even longer so i'd recommend the expansions only if you want the additional monster cards.

11/8/2020

Spyfall

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

We've had our fun with Spyfall but we've also had to establish some rules to make the game better. One rule we established; you're not allowed to look at your card during questioning. It was all too common for players to just reference items depicted on the cards to establish themselves which, in the already frustrating position as the spy felt a bit unfair.Also we never played with the scoring system. At this point i wonder if incorporating the scoring system will eventually make being the spy more worth it, as without the scoring, being the spy is just kind of a drag.

11/8/2020

Kobayakawa

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

i enjoy this simple card game. Go for big numbers or hope for a win with a smaller number.

11/8/2020

Small World

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

i really enjoy this territorial game and which to get more playtyhroughs of it. I bought some expansion packs but have yet to play with any of them.It's basically a better version of Risk.

11/8/2020

Dice Town

No Review Title

by Sin4profit

Pretty sure i hate this game. I haven't played a game yet where the main strategy wasn't just, "collect as much aces as possible and maybe you'll get something else if you fail". When i see someone else only going for that strategy, and winning, it forces me to play that same strategy just to try and block them.I was intrigued by the poker element of this game but the fact that everyone has the same dice with the same faces kinda ruins that element. Maybe more randomized dice types pulled from a bag could be more interesting - or hell, playing with a deck of poker cards would be more interesting.As is i just really don't like it despite playing it multiple times trying to figure out what i'm missing.

11/8/2020