KimchiTurtle Reviews

These reviews were left by KimchiTurtle.

by KimchiTurtle

This mini expansion was actually included as the stretch goals for the Kickstarter campaign, so I don't think it'll be included with the retail version. It adds a few new heroes and 2 extra legendary encounters if you decide to do the random encounters mode, which I could see as a must once you get through the game a few times. Kickstarter

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Adds a little more variety to the base game. I'm hoping this gives it even more staying power.

1/21/2019

Monopoly: Nintendo

A gift fro...

by KimchiTurtle

A gift from a friend that only knows Monopoly and Life. Standard Monopoly fare here and doesn't add anything new to the game except maybe some nerdy friends to play with if they like the theme. Maybe it can find a good home somewhere?

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

This showed up as a surprise to me in the mail! I have no idea what this is about, but I'm eager to try it!

1/21/2019

Mob Town

So this ga...

by KimchiTurtle

So this game and one of it's expansions randomly showed up in the mail for me. I've never heard of this game, the designer, or the publisher so imagine my surprise when I received a package! I'm very intrigued and I'm eager to get it to the table!

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

A gift from my dad when I was like 10. It has what you expect from monopoly, but also has a pretty sweet board with cardboard tokens that fit into slots and double as the deeds. I know this movie got a lot of hate, but this game got a lot of love from me.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

One of the earlier Kickstarter games that I backed. It seemed a little pricey for what it was, but it does boast a TON of cards. Pretty cool design that I kept going over and over with in my head and I just had to back it. Scifi planet colonization while trying to avoid obstacles and space that are actively trying to kill you sounds like a lot of fun. Kickstarter

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

I think that this is moreso for advanced players and we'll see this one only under special circumstances.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Probably the most interesting of the expansions and will see the most play.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

I think this just adds a little bit of leg to the base game. I could see us playing with this one every time.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Another social deduction game that I really enjoy. I like the ability to attack other players and the trading mechanism is a different aspect of game that everyone has to adjust to.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Bundled with the Kickstarter.

1/21/2019

Hoplite

As a Class...

by KimchiTurtle

As a Classical history major, the theme piques my interest more than anything. I've watched some playthroughs and this heavy, heavy game seems way over what my SO would play on a regular basis :/ Unfortunate for me. Edit: Holy crap! This is 1/2 of what my 2015 BGG Secret Santa got me. I can't believe it! I'm usually not, but I was totally speechless to see this one come out of the box. I can't wait to get this to the table!!! You cheeky, cheeky Santa!

1/21/2019

GOSU 2: Tactics

Fun little...

by KimchiTurtle

Fun little tactical card game that was as gift from a /u/Topheth. Great art and easy gameplay shadows over the iconography in this game and it really scratches my deckbuilding itches. For now.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Adds a little variety to the base game and seems to be for the larger players counts.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Fun little card game that my SO really likes. It has just the right amount of luck to be enjoyable, but not too much were a pinch of strategy helps you do well. Plus, it has a cool, little magnetic box.

1/21/2019

Exoplanets: Stars

Just adds ...

by KimchiTurtle

Just adds some variation to the planet set up at the beginning of the game.

1/21/2019

Exoplanets: Gravity

Adds a new...

by KimchiTurtle

Adds a new element to contend with and I think it adds the most out of all the expansions.

1/21/2019

Exoplanets: Space

Adds some ...

by KimchiTurtle

Adds some new end game goals and ways to interact with other players.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Expansion that adds a little more to the base game. I really like the Coachman cards that add a little extra kick to each round.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Great game that my SO and our friends love to play. I already have the original version, but this edition comes with Kodiak Colby and Felicia Day and even has a new box cover to accommodate the new characters. I'll probably give the other copy to one of our friends.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Probably one of the heaviest games that I've gotten my SO into so far. It's light relative to a lot of other "heavy games", but I was so elated to get my SO into this game. I would love to have an expansion to this game solely bc of my my SO's interest in it.

1/21/2019

Chess4

4 player c...

by KimchiTurtle

4 player chess really changes how you play the game. More a talking piece in the house than something we play.

1/21/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Interesting play with the new boards that'll add a little extra to an already beloved game around my house. Don't think it's a "must have" expansion, but it does a decent job of adding just a enough to keep it fresh.

1/21/2019

Argonauts

LOVE the t...

by KimchiTurtle

LOVE the theme in this one. Really neat co-op with an engaging story (at least for me). It looks like it might be a one-off if the game play is too easy. After looking over the rules, it looks like it's gonna be a nice challenge. Kickstarter

1/21/2019

Steam Park

My SO real...

by KimchiTurtle

My SO really, really liked the artwork in this one and has pestered me to get it. Though it is intriguing to me, I don't think that the 2-player variant is what floats her boat as far as board games are concerned. I found it on sale at MM for $20. At that price, this is a steal, so I had to pull the trigger. We'll see how this is received and maybe I see what other 2-player variants there are of this one.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

The only CE game I own and the quality of it is AMAZING! Secret Santa gift 2014!! Thank you thank you thank you hntrbass! My SO and I can't get enough of this! This one will NEVER be up for trade!

1/10/2019

Scene It? Squabble

One of the...

by KimchiTurtle

One of the very first party style games I got. Mostly a men vs. women game that is just a lot of fun. It requires a DVD player, which kinda kills it for us: We like getting out games, listening to some music and just chat without the distraction of TV. UPDATE: Ended up giving this one up to a family in the neighborhood. I hope it has a good home there.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

A very well themed and cooperative euro that really caught my SO's eye. It fits her criteria of games that she's into right now and it kind of has a lot to live up to. We hope that it can offer the same tense feeling that Dead of Winter offers, but still offering a full play through experience without the need for a traitor.

1/10/2019

Mottainai Mini

Great litt...

by KimchiTurtle

Great little card game that's hard to teach, but easy to play. Definitely rewards multiple plays and will probably take you a couple to even get the game down! Beautiful successor to Glory to Rome and it's one that I take with me everywhere. Kickstarter I've got two copies of this and am more than happy to trade one away so someone else can enjoy the magic that is Mottainai!

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

It was one of the first cost-heavy games that I came across and stayed faaaar away from it because there was so little about the actual game play out. I saw a demo and GenCon and BAM I jumped on that wagon. Really cool minis and really cool design element that I think I could get a group interested in and may be a gateway for me to get in to other tabletop style games.

1/10/2019

Jamaica

Our only r...

by KimchiTurtle

Our only racing game. Bought it for one of our quieter players who LOVES pirates. She loves this game. Watching her get animated makes the game play that much better. Edit: We've been finding the game play in this one lacking as of late. Not because it's a bad game, it was just and early addition when we were newer to the hobby. May be looking at Black Fleet to replace it.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

This very realistic sim game for space exploration has really, really piqued my interest on theme alone. A heavy, heavy, heavy game that I think will max out the amount of game that I can handle. Though I don't really plan on playing this with my SO, maybe some of the included solo games will get here interested. I expect this one to sit on the table for days when it finally hits.

1/10/2019

Elysium

Medium wei...

by KimchiTurtle

Medium weight card drafting/set collection game that I thought would get my SO to explore more gaming mechanics. We love the short play time, but can see the depth the game has to offer in just an hour of play. Having to decide to make those Legends and score those points or continue to keep cards for their abilities is getting my SO more and more into strategy games.

1/10/2019

CO₂

Though the...

by KimchiTurtle

Though the learning curve of the game is kinda high (terminology and learning how the game's market works), this game was a blast. I really enjoyed the semi-cooperative aspect of the game and the interaction of the scientists on other player's turns. Will definitely be bringing this to my group night to see how it plays with more than 2.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Neat WP game with variable powers that seems to have a lot of replayability. Will probably take a lot of plays until I can get a good opinion on it. SO many possibilities! I would rate it higher, but it's length keeps a lot of people at bay since we can usually find a worker placement that plays in half the time. But when the feeling is right...

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Very, very interesting "couples" game I came across. You can vary the difficulty by limiting the communication that goes on between each player. Has some very interesting hand management mechanics that I think will be seen in some yet-to-be-published games that will be acclaimed as innovative. People will have to remember that this was the first. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Love the theme, the art and most of the game play, but I don't think this is a necessity for my collection. The biggest complaint that we had was that it took waaaay too long to filter through enough items to be able to kill a Fattie.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Fun little rummy style game that really caught my SO's eye. It's easy to teach, fun to play and the western theme actually works really well with this one.

1/10/2019

WINK

This game ...

by KimchiTurtle

This game is just stupid fun. Trying to wink at others without being caught and being the one to catch others winking is such a ridiculously fun time that goes over well with just about anyone.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Fantastic dice roller than reminiscent of Alien Frontiers, but without the "take that" mechanic that you can employ. I think this would be a great way to get my SO into heavier and heavier euros.

1/10/2019

Viceroy

Has a real...

by KimchiTurtle

Has a really unique pyramid building set collection mechanic that's also part engine building. I pretty neat little game that's not to heavy, but the final scoring is pretty mathy. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

Tides of Time

Neat littl...

by KimchiTurtle

Neat little 2 player drafting game that we picked up on a whim. I think this will be one of the many filler games that we end up falling in love with.

1/10/2019

Traders of Osaka

I own both...

by KimchiTurtle

I own both the original Traders of Carthage and the newer Traders of Osaka. I'm not quite a collector, but I'd like to keep the ToC copy in pretty mint condition. I really enjoy the theme, but if I can get the same gameplay out of a game that is readily available, I will try to keep my copy as fresh as I can!

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

A silly 'take that' card game that I think would go over well in almost any situation. It plays up to 6 and I think the more, the better with this one.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

The 'first' expansion is a lot less puzzle oriented and is more focused on dice rolling and brute strength to finish the campaign. I really like to innovation of Asylum, and I think this one falls short of being innovative like its predecessor. I think this one had a lot of potential, but its release so soon hindered Space Cowboys from hearing what people wanted out of expansions. We REALLY lucked out on solving the case in this one and I think part of it was the lack of emphasis on clue gathering and overwhelming use of combat that this scenario kind of pushes on players.

1/10/2019

Takenoko

Great game...

by KimchiTurtle

Great game, but I think we've outgrown some of the simpler mechanics in this one. We've gifted this to my SO's sister because she loved it so much. We know it's in good hands!

1/10/2019

T.I.M.E. Stories

This game ...

by KimchiTurtle

This game was a fantastic one-off to play through! I do see why they say the replayability was low, but I had a BLAST playing this. Innovative puzzle mechanics and some built in time wasting tasks really made this one fun to go through.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Ever run that scenario through your head where you and your buddies are running from some kind of monster? This game isn't about out running the monster, but about tripping your buddy. Lots of fun and silliness. Bought on a whim and still no regrets.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

I've heard some very, very cool things about this expansion and I can't wait to get a hold of it!!!

1/10/2019

Suburbia

Looking fo...

by KimchiTurtle

Looking for a good 2 player set collection game for my SO and me. I think the theme is perfect for the gameplay and I can see it getting a ton of play between us without being as fiddly as Castles.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

What's more fun than tripping 3 people? Tripping 5!

1/10/2019

Spyrium Board Game

Interestin...

by KimchiTurtle

Interesting little WP game that I kinda bought on a whim. Trying to decide if we really want to keep it in the collection though. We played this and Cacao in the same night and they felt a little samey. Will have to get a few more plays in before we can make a solid decision.

1/10/2019

Space Movers 2201

Love the d...

by KimchiTurtle

Love the dice rolling mechanic in this game, though it can be brutal at times and is completely random. There's almost no skill whatsoever involved in rolling and hitting other dice, so you just kinda have to hope for a good run. Has some very interesting mechanics the likes of which I think we'll see in a very successful game in the future. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Great closed economy trading/bluffing game that is always a hit. Really fun theme and easy gameplay makes this a great gateway. Can't wait to see the expansions that come out for this!!

1/10/2019

Skull

Fun bluffi...

by KimchiTurtle

Fun bluffing game my SO really fell in love with at a game night. Her favorite game is Liars's Dice, and this one streamlines it in an enjoyable way for her.

1/10/2019

Secret Hitler

This looks...

by KimchiTurtle

This looks amazing! It looks like a great blend of The Resistance and Two Rooms and a Boom and I see this potentially replacing The Resistance in my collection. April can't come fast enough! We have the P&P and believe that we will play this until the 'official' copy arrives!

1/10/2019

Small World

My first v...

by KimchiTurtle

My first venture into the hobby and boy, am I glad I did. A close friend didn't like the simple, repetitive dice rolling of Risk and wanted something new. Picked this up on an Amazon sale and haven't looked back. It's fantasy theme was an instant hit and it's replay value is super high.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

We always play with this expansion. Never have we had less than 6. UPDATE: My SO's brother moved about 4 hours away for a job and didn't have any games of his own, so we gave him our copy of Settlers where it'll see more play with him and extended family that live there.

1/10/2019

Seasons

Card draft...

by KimchiTurtle

Card drafting game that seems a little more complicated than Fairy Tale. Wanted to play Fairy Tale before investing in this game, but I heard that it plays with 2 so much better. My SO doesn't seem to be too enamored with this one, so I think we'll give it a few more plays then see if anyone wants it in a trade.

1/10/2019

Catan

The second...

by KimchiTurtle

The second "new classic" we purchased. Got it really early in our collection and saw a TON of play. This is our groups nostalgia game. We love it. UPDATE: My SO's brother moved about 4 hours away for a job and didn't have any games of his own, so we gave him our copy of Settlers where it'll see more play with him and extended family that live there.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

I think I got this right when it came out and played it a ton with my friends. It has, sadly, seen better days and I'm looking for a good family home for it. It requires a DVD player, which kinda kills it for us: We like getting out games, listening to some music and just chat without the distraction of TV. UPDATE: Ended up giving this one up to a family in the neighborhood. I hope it has a good home.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Bought this with the base game at Wonko's. It may be a while before this one gets to the table, but I love supporting local shops!

1/10/2019

Russian Railroads

Been looki...

by KimchiTurtle

Been looking at this one for a while and actually just bought in a whim at a board game shop in Austin, TX called Wonko's Toys and Games. I think I'm the "euro" guy in my group (which is fine by me!) and it's up to me to get these good games to the table.

1/10/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

Picked up ...

by KimchiTurtle

Picked up on a whim and my SO loves this game! Simple iconography and a whole lotta dice. She tends to love the dice versions of most games (see Pandemic: The Cure) and this one is no exception. This is our competitive version of PtC.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

We haven't even successfully completed a scenario yet, but I had to go ahead and get this one, if not just for the absurdity.

1/10/2019

Rhino Hero

Fun little...

by KimchiTurtle

Fun little dexterity game that I think would go over well with any age group, granted there's table space.

1/10/2019

The Resistance

Our go-to ...

by KimchiTurtle

Our go-to bluffing game when we get the whole family together (the full 10 players). Can't say enough about the fun of lying to you mother-in-law's face and knowing it'll be okay! This has been replaced by Secret Hitler in our group!

1/10/2019

Quantum

Great, sim...

by KimchiTurtle

Great, simple 4X game for me and my SO. We had a play through with 4 players and it lasted a lot longer than we had expected, so we usually just play together. Game time has not been a problem since, so it's one we like pulling out to meet our space game fix.

1/10/2019

Quelf

I got this...

by KimchiTurtle

I got this game when I was in high school and had a lot of fun with it. Now that I'm into heavier, more strategic aspects of board games, this off-the-wall game just no longer has a place in the collection. UPDATE: Donated this to our FLGS where it has a much better chance of being played.

1/10/2019

Power Grid

Played thi...

by KimchiTurtle

Played this game for the first time tonight and all I can say is wow. This game deserves all the praise it gets. The balance in this game is just superb. 10/10

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Heavy rules game that seems is almost the perfect race game for me. Customizable characters and outlandish gameplay will keep this post-apocalyptic game in my collection for a long time. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Just a little spice to change some things up with the base game without getting a new map.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Came bundled with the Kickstarter. Adds some new items and characters and allows the game to play up to 6. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

I just wanted to be able to play Korea as a map.

1/10/2019

Patchwork

No Review Title

by KimchiTurtle

No Review Description

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Thought I'd be able to get another group to play this copy with, but it never worked out. Traded with /u/Littleleo5 for Empires of the Void.

1/10/2019

Nippon

I really l...

by KimchiTurtle

I really like the worker "un"placement mechanic in this. The tracks are kind of clunky, but I think the gameplay is elegant overall.

1/10/2019

Pandemic: The Cure

My SO real...

by KimchiTurtle

My SO really loves dice games and this seemed a logical fit seeing as we don't have the regular, base Pandemic. It scratches the itch very nicely and I don't know if we'll ever have to get base Pandemic. We love the dice play more than the card mechanics.

1/10/2019

Mysterium

I really l...

by KimchiTurtle

I really like the artwork in this one compared to its Polish/Ukrainian counterpart. Though a lot of people want to play this with Dixit cards, I don't think it'll work out to well. Playing Dixit with THESE cards though... that's a game I would play! It's like a 2-in-1!

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Absolutely love the theme and artwork in this game. Its similar play style to Magic without the collectible aspect piqued my interest enough to go out of my way and get the Deluxe version. Kickstarter

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Really enjoy the artwork and streamlined gameplay that this game offers. The only differences that I see are that this one has GREAT components and the order cards count down, rather than up (which I think makes better sense thematically) and, instead of there being 10 spaces on Mars, the extra space is on Phobos. The only thing that I like more in 1st ed is that the space tokens have the value on the face, rather than just a picture.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Fun little rummy-style game. Though we're not too big on the theme, I think the gameplay works really well with two and it's exactly what we need in place on Wyatt Earp when it's just the two of us.

1/10/2019

Mice and Mystics

My SO and ...

by KimchiTurtle

My SO and mine's favorite "dungeon crawler"-esque game. We both love the theme and miniatures and was really the first time she's role-played anything. Love the fact of no GM and the game is still relatively simple.

1/10/2019

Monty Python Fluxx

Exactly wh...

by KimchiTurtle

Exactly what you would expect from it. Most of my group had actually never seen any skits/movies by Monty Python and this surged an interest. Helps add playful banter and a constant thread of jokes within the group. Nothing new gameplay wise though, and now that we've seen most of the sketches and movies, hits the table less often.

1/10/2019

Morels

2 player g...

by KimchiTurtle

2 player game that gets some good love from the community. I don't know if it's something my SO would be into, but I'll keep it on the list to see if we go in that direction.

1/10/2019

Merlin

There is n...

by KimchiTurtle

There is nothing to enjoy about this game. The mechanics felt disjointed, it's roll to move, and the dice mitigation in Feld's classic titles was lacking, all of which made decisions feel meaningless.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

My SO loves loves loves this game! She beats me every time with the Ranch/Cheese Factory combo. Would be awesome to have the variability that comes with the expansion.

1/10/2019

Lost Cities

We keep se...

by KimchiTurtle

We keep seeing this at our FLGS and I keep eyeing it. Now that I have Arboretum, a few plays of that will determine if this one is worthy to keep on the shelf.

1/10/2019

Love Letter

Our absolu...

by KimchiTurtle

Our absolute and undeniable king. Have AEG and Kanai Factory versions for playing 2 groups. A filler that sometimes takes center stage.

1/10/2019

Machi Koro

Fun set co...

by KimchiTurtle

Fun set collection that my SO kicks my ass in! Love the player interaction and card powers in this game. Definitely want to try this with more players.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Initially looked at this as another pirate-themed game for one of our players who loves pirates. She says she's content with Jamaica to scratch that itch for now. Will look into it if that sentiment changes.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Nifty little expansion that just adds a few more platforms.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Fun "take that" game with a quirky theme and some quirky gameplay. I think this can go really well with the right group, so we went ahead and picked up ALL the expansions when we saw it on a clearance rack.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Reminds me a little of Cacao, but is a bit lighter and still beautiful to look at.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Beautiful card placement game that has art reminiscent of Studio Ghilbli work and my SO completely fell in love. Short, simple gameplay will probably see us coming back to this time and time again with new gamers.

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

The Power Up cards really change the dynamic of the game and makes it a little more "gamey" and I could see this becoming more of a serious filler game and a better way of getting people into the hobby than the base game.

1/10/2019

Ladies & Gentlemen

Was lookin...

by KimchiTurtle

Was looking for a party game and stumbled on Ladies and Gentlemen. The psuedo-co-op really grabbed our attention. Though not big on the theme, hectic party games are fun to pull out every once in a while. Though our group is mostly guys, may pick this up when the dynamic changes.

1/10/2019

King of Tokyo

Giant figh...

by KimchiTurtle

Giant fighting monsters and monster sized dice. What's not to love?

1/10/2019

by KimchiTurtle

Bought this one on a whim at 50% off MSRP. Orange dice, new power ups and new characters for $10? I couldn't pass it up! I can add a copy of this to sweeten a trade a little bit. I was able to come across another copy that I would gladly give so someone else can enjoy!

1/10/2019