Reviews

These reviews were left by Kent38.

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Epic Card Game

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Elysium

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Guardians

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Arcane Academy

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

Fun, unique 2-player asymmetric dueling game. More abstract than you might expect, but in a good way. Note that I'd remove a star for the retail version because it has only 2 teams, giving it much less replay value than the Kickstarter edition.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

The otters and the lizard cult are both very fun to play. Excellent expansion.

4/1/2020

Root

No Review Title

by Kent38

Fantastic asymmetrical war game but do note that it takes a few plays to really appreciate and the players need to balance the game by dynamically keeping the leader in check from turn to turn.

4/1/2020

Forbidden Stars

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Assault of the Giants

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Battle for Rokugan

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Dogs of War

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Chaos in the Old World

No Review Title

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Argent: The Consortium

No Review Title

by Kent38

My favourite worker placement game. This is highly interactive, unlike most worker placement games. It also has that trademark Level 99 replay value with a very variable set up that can significantly change how the game plays. And it has a more interesting victory condition than simple points.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

No Review Description

4/1/2020

by Kent38

The new half decks are fun, interesting and add a lot of replay value. Unfortunately, I have to take off a star because they use a noticeably different card stock to the base game. Still well worth getting, but note that you'll need opaque card sleeves to prevent it being obvious which cards are from the expansion and which are not.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

My favourite deck builder and my favourite three player game. I've played this game far more often than any other I own and I still love it. I've filled all the score sheets on both sides and am about half a dozen plays into a third run.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

All 4 characters are useful, with this and the 2 character HP set being the main source of ranged attackers in Funkoverse. Harry is difficult to knock out and has a mix of offensive, control and support abilities. Hermione is a useful support character, though I personally don't see myself using Harry and her together as their passive abilities are somewhat redundant. But they are both good additions to a wider collection. Voldemort is a glass canon of note while Bellatrix is a useful controller with some enhanced mobility.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

All 4 characters have useful ability kits that match their theme very well. Batman and Batgirl have some enhanced mobility, particularly Batgirl, with Bruce being the best melee fighter in the first wave of Funkoverse releases while Barbara mixes combat and support. Joker lays traps and Harley can move a rival character as well as attack multiple adjacent enemies at once.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

Both characters' kits are flavourful. Morty is one of the best support characters in the game and the player can engineer a situation where he loses his temper and makes a strong melee attack. Rick's kit is just OK but does fit the mad scientist theme.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

Both characters are worth getting. Catwoman is extremely mobile and Robin helps you get additional use out of one of your other characters.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

Both characters have interesting kits, with Ron being a useful support character while Draco can summon a serpent minion.

4/1/2020

by Kent38

A simple base system creates interesting matches through the character's ability kits, which are unique, flavourful and often quite clever. Note, though, that it works best at 2 players and you need at least 3 characters per player to get the full experience.

4/1/2020