Ethereal87 Reviews

These reviews were left by Ethereal87.

Tortuga 1667

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

8/27/2019

Tokyo Highway

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

8/27/2019

Raccoon Tycoon

W/ Exp: Th...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: The Fat Cat

8/27/2019

Getaway Driver

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

8/27/2019

Aeon's End: Legacy

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

8/27/2019

Arcane Bakery Clash

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/25/2019

Dragon Castle

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/25/2019

Ticket To Ride

W/ Exp: US...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: USA 1910 TtR is a good introductory game and it has enough depth for a lighter yet satisfying playthrough.

1/25/2019

Terraforming Mars

W/ Exp: He...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Hellas and Elysium Promo: Small Asteroid A lot of fun, very deep gameplay. The biggest drawback has always been the amount of time it takes to play. For the same footprint on the shelf/table, there are definitely faster games to run through. I like a lot of what it brings though in terms of the variety of options for each player (and by extension, game since the deck is so huge).

1/25/2019

Spirit Island

W/ Exp: Br...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Branch and Claw, Promo Spirits Way too many rules to keep track of, but we had such a blast playing through this. The amount of variety is staggering in just the base box and with it being cooperative, it's a good and heavy game to chew on.

1/25/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Satellites, Drones, and Beyond The Black Such a deep game that can travel almost anywhere. After we picked up Beyond the Black, we can't play without it. The expansion adds so many more options and rarely is there a turn we feel is wasted. The only time we won't play with the expansion is with newer players to the game. We absolutely love this one!

1/25/2019

Scythe

W/ Exp: In...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Invaders from Afar, The Wind Gambit Add-On: Metal Coins, Realistic Resources, Meeplesource Action Tokens, Promo Cards This is our favorite game to break out! It's such a well thought out game and it's one we love to get into whenever we have the chance. With the Wind Gambit just out, it's another good excuse to break this out and we'll look into Fenris when it's out later this year.

1/25/2019

by Ethereal87

Short, quick deckbuilder. I like the race component of it (similar to Clank) but with a substantially lower barrier of entry to get non-gamers to play.

1/25/2019

Secret Hitler

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: The Trump Pack We haven't played this in a while and personally, I think I'm over Secret Hitler but it's amazing how much we played this early on. I think the salty-ness of some of the tabletalk is what has turned me off of playing SH over other hidden role games.

1/25/2019

by Ethereal87

It's Monopoly. Nuff said.

1/25/2019

by Ethereal87

Interesting, portable trick taking game. I liked the balance of trying and forcing the opponent to take enough tricks and tip too far over the line, and would love to play this more.

1/25/2019

Charterstone

W/ Add-On:...

by Ethereal87

W/ Add-On: Realistic Resources We were really excited to play this game and have been chomping at the bit to keep going. We're now past the halfway point and while a lot of mechanics have been introduced, we keep wanting to go forward. Quite the hit!

1/25/2019

by Ethereal87

We weren't sure with the first case if we were "supposed" to try and beat Sherlock, and we completely whiffed on the final solution to try and solve it quickly. For the record, I don't think you should really care too much about how well Sherlock will do. I want to try a second case and solve it when we feel confident we've solved it, not because of some artificial limit.

1/23/2019

Sagrada

W/ Exp: 5-...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: 5-6 Player W/ Promo: GameBoyGeek

1/23/2019

Root

W/ Exp: Th...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: The Riverfolk Expansion

1/23/2019

Concordia

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: 8 Forum Tiles

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: #1-5, Shadowvale (Preorder), #6 (Preorder) For how much I hate Machi Koro, I'm super into this game and I can't explain why. It feels like a much better game overall with a lot of replayability and a low threshold for getting new players involved.

1/23/2019

Unfair

W/ Exp: AB...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: ABDW W/ Promo: Kickstarter cards (#1 and #2), Secret Base and Lockers My girlfriend's favorite game, and we plan on getting the expansion when the time comes. As a two-player game, we try to stay away from being too overly mean and aim for high scoring points. It's a ton of fun!

1/23/2019

Tiny Epic Quest

Only tried...

by Ethereal87

Only tried the solo mode of this. Seemed interesting and the Tiny Epic games usually go over well enough with us.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Promo Cards Played a couple years ago and recently acquired.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

Solo, two and three player mode. The game is really great and an interesting take on the "dudes on a map" genre (if the map was the Sun). I was drawn to the look of the game when I saw it and it's definitely one of the most eye-catching games in the collection.

1/23/2019

Ta-Da!

This was a...

by Ethereal87

This was a lot of fun. As soon as we finished playing a full game with four people, we immediately went through it two more times. We cut ourselves off after we saw all the Feats. It's simple to understand and a lot of fun. Also, having to keep your head stuck to the table AND sit up and down every time a die is locked is brutal. More cards would be awesome since each game (or a few sessions back to back) ends up running through a lot of the same challenges each time.

1/23/2019

T.I.M.E. Stories

W/ Exp: Th...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: The Marcy Case, A Prophecy of Dragons, Under The Mask, Lumen Fidei, and Estrella Drive W/ Promo: Beacon Promo Three storylines down (Asylum, The Marcy Case and Prophecy of Dragons) and it's quickly become one of our favorites. It's almost like an escape room in a box, and it's interesting to see what they can do with just a deck of cards. We're all in!

1/23/2019

Suburbia

W/ Exp: Su...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Suburbia Inc., 5-Star Promo: Con Tiles This was on the shelf for a long time before we actually managed to play it. It might actually be on the way out. We really liked the game and trying to build the best engine in our cities.

1/23/2019

Scrabble

Scrabble i...

by Ethereal87

Scrabble is another great classic game. No real complaints!

1/23/2019

Scoville

W/ Exp: La...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Labs Really enjoyed this, but have only tried it with two players. One of the few games we immediately wanted to play again as soon as we were finished with the first game.

1/23/2019

Pit

Haven't pl...

by Ethereal87

Haven't played this in years and suddenly it's come up twice in the last few months. I forgot how much fun this classic game is.

1/23/2019

Pocket Ops

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019

Millennium Blades

W/ Exp: Pr...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Promo Packs 1-5, Set Rotation MB comes out maybe once or twice a year but it plays right into our favorite memories from playing Pokemon/Magic growing up. I always describe it as Magic: The Gathering: The Simulator. A lot to process and take in, and you need to read quickly to have even a little bit of an idea of how your deck would work, but it's well worth it.

1/23/2019

Mint Works

W/ Exp: Ci...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Cinnamon Mints + Co-Op Mode Quick, small, and can go literally anywhere. There's some surprising depth to this game but it isn't overwhelming.

1/23/2019

Mysterium

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Card Pack (2015), Brettspeil 2016 Vision Card One of the few games that has always resonated with the group. It's another good game that can scale up accordingly and reading the Ghost's mind makes it such a good challenge. Beautiful game!

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Side Effects Great story telling game. Get the right group and it is a lot of fun!

1/23/2019

Magic Maze

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Brettspiel 2017 tile Simple chaos is the best way to describe this game. We want to get deeper into the game but we're usually teaching new players too. Also, the "do something" pawn is most definitely a relationship-killer.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

MK is a pretty simple game. I can't tell if I like the setup of Big City more than classic MK, and it's usually not a "chill" game depending on how lucky you get with the cards that come up. We're on a break from this one.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Themenplattchen Played through this once at a meetup and really liked it, enough to grab it myself. It fits into that medium-weight game that I can get the non-boardgamers in my life to enjoy and it has enough depth for the hardcore gamers too. The auction mechanic is probably the hardest for non-gamers to wrap their heads around.

1/23/2019

The Mind

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019

Inis

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019

Jaipur

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: The Monster Book of Monsters W/ Promo: Silencio, Basilisk Sword, The Dursleys, X. Lovegood, The Qwibbler, Reducto Girlfriend loves both deckbuilders and Harry Potter, which made this a no-brainer!

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

This was a game I played at a convention and decided to buy after the weekend was over. The novelty of building insane-looking dinosaurs never wore off and while you can choose to hurt other players, you never really had to. Not that great at two players but otherwise a surprising hit!

1/23/2019

Hanabi

I played H...

by Ethereal87

I played Hanabi a long time ago so when I received Deluxe, I was definitely interested. My girlfriend loved the game as soon as we played it. The biggest thing it has over regular Hanabi is the tiles can stand up vs. holding cards out. It's far easier to sort, organize, and not-accidentally-look at your tiles as opposed to juggling a hand of cards. Came as a "best man" gift and it's great!

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

After seeing how well hidden identity games went in our group, I thought a hidden movement game would also be worth it and we've had a blast playing this! Overall this was a unique experience and I'm glad I was able to pick it up. I'd recommend allowing first time players to always "come back" if they die as an alien, since we had one instance where they were knocked out way too fast and sat out.

1/23/2019

Fugitive Card Game

This is an...

by Ethereal87

This is an excellent two player game and we really took to playing a lot of Fugitive when it first showed up. It's not a game with a *ton* of staying power after we've played it so many times though, as the Marshall usually ends up winning in the games played with my SO. We know each others' strategies just a little too well, but we can play with other people.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

As a standalone game, I don't think this is really worth it. As a set of additional cards to integrate with the base Flip City game and change the dynamics, I think it's far better in that position for an entry-level deckbuilding game.

1/23/2019

Ex Libris

The concep...

by Ethereal87

The concept of the game was what drew me into getting Ex Libris, and the resulting game is interesting. Each game feels a little similar to one another, but this may be due to playing it only at two players. They really need to do something about how small/hard to read the print is on the action tiles though, or offer some sort of reference card.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

It's the game of life. Nothing to really write home about.

1/23/2019

Flip City

W/ Exp: Re...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Reuse Played at Geekway to the West and bought it right there. Straightforward deckbuilder and extremely fun. Easy to teach as well. Hardest thing is trying to shuffle your deck properly without accidentally flipping/seeing cards! The Reuse cards definitely add some nice benefits into the game. I already enjoyed the base, but I think I'll keep these extra cards into my games going forward. Mixing in Wilderness helps too but I'm probably ready to get some more cards in here!

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

This went from not getting a lot of play to seeing the table a lot with larger groups. It's replaced Secret Hitler in terms of social deduction games and it doesn't force anyone to really lie overtly. Seems easy at lower player counts.

1/23/2019

Clank! In! Space!

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Code Red After falling in love with Clank!, Clank! In! Space! was iffy. I was afraid it would be too similar to the original game but the theme resonated with me a lot more and the modular board was a real draw. We now think this is better than the original Clank since there's a lot more to track and do that I think the original game doesn't have. Each game is a new experience. I wouldn't use this to teach someone who's new to Clank, but after they get a game under their belt this is what we pivot to. Hopefully there isn't another different type of Clank! but I want to see more for Space! going forward.

1/23/2019

Coup

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Jester, Bureaucrat, and Speculator Almost traded away because I hadn't played it until a friend showed me how fun this was. Easy, quick and flexible depending on the roles mixed in, you just have to be able to bluff!

1/23/2019

Codenames

W/ Exp: De...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Deep Undercover My go-to party game for something lighter and fun that anyone can play. Always a hit!

1/23/2019

Dracula's Feast

W/ Exp: Ct...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Cthulu and Friends We've had a blast with this game as the larger group really likes the social deduction-type games. Dracula's Feast has almost replaced all of our social deduction games.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Sunken Treasures, The Mummy's Curse Promo: Snack Table, Dire Wolf, Wishing Wall This was a game I bought purely on the hype, *then* played a demo of it. I could not wait to try my copy of it. It's also become a favorite game in our group and comes out fairly regularly. We still haven't tried the expansion yet just because we're having so much fun in the base game.

1/23/2019

Cottage Garden

W/ Promo: ...

by Ethereal87

W/ Promo: Brettspiel 2017 Easter Bunny Simple, relaxing, zen garden building. Grabbed this on whim and it works well as a solo and light game experience.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Fan Favorites, Helping Hands, and Wardens Attack Loved the books and knew I'd be going all in when the Kickstarter came around. The biggest perk of Dresden Files is it's designed to be quick. One key drawback is the amount of luck you could end up with depending on the cards that wind up in your deck or in the story, but resetting and trying again is easy enough.

1/23/2019

Dice Forge

The idea o...

by Ethereal87

The idea of "dice building" over the course of the game is really neat. I wish there was more variety in some of the monsters you can battle, but it's a very unique/striking game.

1/23/2019

Codenames: Duet

I was pret...

by Ethereal87

I was pretty sick of Codenames playing it as a group, but the mechanics of Duet re-invigorated it and at a player count I'm far more likely to hit. A worthwhile upgrade for this straightforward game.

1/23/2019

Century: Spice Road

I was surp...

by Ethereal87

I was surprised at how much we bring this game out for how simple it is. We're interested in the next Century game and how the two will interact as well. We tried one five player game and that didn't go over as nicely, but it's perfect for 2-3 players.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

W/ TONS of expansions Usually a great simple, conversational game, easy to get people into. I enjoy it sometimes, but really with new or large groups of people. Haven't touched it in a while.1

1/23/2019

Burgle Bros.

This is su...

by Ethereal87

This is such a good logic puzzle type of game for two players. We're trying to figure out how to best avoid the guards and make trade offs with stealth tokens or player powers and it's a lot of fun. It's HARD too and we've never won with the default three-floor scenario. My only complaint is that it's a lot of setup and we've had some games that end really quickly for a really unlucky streak of actions. I'm concerned that an app is better just on the setup side of things.

1/23/2019

Azul

This game ...

by Ethereal87

This game is a great abstract game to get into. The components are beautiful with each of the tiles, and somehow leveraging the same exact tiles each game yields interesting strategies depending on how they come out of the bag. It requires a lot of hate-drafting to stick your opponents with the worst possible tiles to take.

1/23/2019

by Ethereal87

First heavy game and it really resonated with my friends. We love breaking this out, but every time it's with a new player or two and we use the base game.

1/23/2019

Burger Up

W/ Exp: Bu...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Burgers of the World The novelty of the game is great, and I've been able to pull in family to play this game rather easily. It's become our go-to gateway game. Plus, you can laugh at the most ridiculous burgers you end up creating over the course of a game.

1/23/2019

Broom Service

We goofed ...

by Ethereal87

We goofed up something with the witches' movements but we liked it and I'm feeling a pull to play this again. It seemed alright with two but I'd really like a higher player count for it as well. It seems like there is a lot of variety in the cards.

1/23/2019

5-Minute Dungeon

W/ Exp: Cu...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Curses, KS Pack We've played and beaten so many different bosses in this deck, but we really have enjoyed it and it's an easy introductory game. Now that we've finally beaten the final boss, it's probably something we'll set aside and come back to down the road. Actually setting the game up takes longer than the game itself.

1/23/2019

Aeon's End

Incl. Aeon...

by Ethereal87

Incl. Aeon's End: War Eternal (KS), Aeon's End: Legacy (KS) W/ Exp: (All KS) The Depths, The Void, The Nameless, The Outer Dark, Buried Secrets W/ Accessories: (All KS) Playmat, Accessory Pack Bought this based on the buzz and it's one of the few games that I wanted to play as soon as we (inevitably) lost the first time. There are a lot of interesting ideas, such as the whole not-shuffling item and holding onto cards to build combos. I can see this being our go-to coop game.

1/23/2019

7 Wonders Duel

W/ Exp: Pa...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Pantheon Promo: Statue of Liberty, and The Messe Essen This is one of the few two player games I have, but it goes over very well when we want to play a heavier game. It can be a pain to setup and get started. The depth of the game though is a real draw, even if we're not a fan of the Science victory. Worth it!

1/23/2019

Blueprints

No Review Title

by Ethereal87

No Review Description

1/23/2019