Baltasilian Reviews

These reviews were left by Baltasilian.

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Spirit Island

Coop; Euro...

by Baltasilian

Coop; Euro

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Learning curve for new inexperienced gamers is higher than expected. - Long play time makes it hard to get to the table and learn the ropes. With experiences players, it can be played in 3 to 4 hours. - The box says 2-4 players, but it is really 2-player. I would only play with more to give new players a smooth introduction to learn the rules.

1/21/2019

Tokaido

It looks b...

by Baltasilian

It looks beautiful, we enjoyed this online, but we never even got it out of the box after we bought it. 2 players is not the best count for this game, and I guess it is not as exciting as some of our other games. Update: moved it from 6 to 7 after playing with 5, mostly first-time players. It plays very nicely at that count. The beautiful art and relatively easy rules make a great game to play with less experienced gamers. The duration (45-60 mins) seems not that dependent on player count, so it does not outstay its welcome at 5.

1/21/2019

Race for the Galaxy

+ This gam...

by Baltasilian

+ This game offers awesome depth vs simplicity of the rules and relatively short duration. + Great at two players. o Don't let the iconography scare you - it is not that hard and even novice players can learn. - Requires quite a few games to learn and discover strategies, which may seem daunting at first, but then the game has excellent replayability.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

2P; Expansion

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Lost Cities

A simple 2...

by Baltasilian

A simple 2 player game. Easy to learn.

1/21/2019

Hive

A bit too ...

by Baltasilian

A bit too chess-like and 'thinky' for us.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

6 Nimmt!

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Friday

Friday is ...

by Baltasilian

Friday is good at killing some time. After a few plays I felt I had 'solved' it. Probably I haven't, really, but I've not felt the urge to come back to it since then. Update: I came back to this game a year later, and was not able to beat it! I quite enjoyed trying, though! Upgrading from 5 to 6.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Twilight Imperium is the one game that has it all: variable player powers, space battles, conquering planets, trade, negotiations, tech tree, politics, and space cats! It is not perfect, but comes closer to the 'perfect game' than any other. Playtime is very long, which makes it hard to get to the table. Games are always epic and memorable. Currently setting up monthly games to 'train' a larger group of players, which hopefully lowers the threshold and duration for future plays. TI2 used to be a huge favorite with our groups 2 decades ago, when we still had the time to indulge in these types of games. TI4 brings back a lot of good memories and has improved the overall experience.

1/21/2019

Terraforming Mars

One of our...

by Baltasilian

One of our 2P favorites. Very satisfying combination of engine building and populating the planet. Can't wait to get the expansions.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Adds great variety to an already excellent game. 2P; Expansion

1/21/2019

Sushi Go Party!

Great fun ...

by Baltasilian

Great fun with larger amount of people. Suitable for all ages and skill levels.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

+ Very enjoyable solo experience, building your capabilties, exploring the galaxy. - If plays didn't take so long, I would play this a lot more often. - The art is a bit bland. Not sure if I would like it if I hadn't seen so much Star Trek in the past. - I can't imagine this being fun at more than 1 player, just because it would take so long. Then again, if both can do thinking during the other's turn. I'm curious about the PvP and coop features, though.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Not sure if the Gambits are balanced, but they are fun and add variety.

1/21/2019

Star Realms

Fun to pla...

by Baltasilian

Fun to play, but after a few dozen plays I suspect the depth is less than I thought. The starting player appears to have a higher chance of winning. All my friends really like this game, which makes it a fun experience.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

The Events are a fun way to add some unexpected breaks to this game.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Same as Star Realms. When combined, it allow to play with 3 or 4 (either teams or individual). Playing with two teams of 2 is quite fun and play quite differently from the 2 player game. 3 players is not that much fun - one player will be targeted and killed off first, who then sits out while the other two finish the game. Giving this a 6.5 to reflect the 4p improvement.

1/21/2019

Take 5

Great fun ...

by Baltasilian

Great fun with larger amount of people. Suitable for all ages and skill levels.

1/21/2019

Scythe

A favortie...

by Baltasilian

A favortie in our group. Great mix of Euro and conflicting area control mechanisms. Love the threat of combat and the consequences of battles.

1/21/2019

Roll For The Galaxy

This quick...

by Baltasilian

This quickly became our 2-player favorite. Replaced Race for the Galaxy for us. (for now at least, I'm sure we'll get back to Race once we have played Roll some more) Consider the Ambition expansion a must-buy.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Must-buy if you enjoy the base game. Adds a lot of variety, especially on initial setup. Objectives are a lot of fun too.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Really liking this after 3 games. + Compresses the experience of the Civilization computer games in just a few hours. I'm impressed how much of it they were able squeeze in such a relatively simple rule set. + Easy enough to get into even for people not familiar with the Civ series. + Feels like a euro, but with a good deal of direct confrontation, especially in the end-game. + Turns play quickly. Action selection reminds me of Concordia or Scythe. + Plays great at 2 players. - Movement and combat are a bit tricky to figure out - how and when do terrain modifier apply. It takes a game or two to internalize these rules. Downloaded player aid helps a lot.

1/21/2019

Secrets

Fell flat ...

by Baltasilian

Fell flat with our casual gamers (family) group. Apparently people find it hard to follow who is who, which makes it very random. Did surprisingly well in our "gamers" group, where people got very deep into deducing and influencing the roles. - It is not very satisfying to win as a team, especially since your team can switch at the last moment, or you might not even know which side you are on. Would probably need to play a few times in a row and accurately track the wins per player. - We had to create a house rule to reduce table talk, else it would be too obvious who is who.

1/21/2019

Seasons

It looks g...

by Baltasilian

It looks great, and offers a very enjoyable 2-player experience. - The drafting phase at the beginning is key to winning. This places players with less knowledge about the cards and combinations at a significant disadvantage. - Some events (end of round, end of season) are easy to forget. It is managable at 2P, but can imagine this would be an issue at higher player counts. - The scoring (crystal) track is a bit fiddly.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Adds a good deal of variety, but not recommended until after many plays of the base game.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

+ Fun, sandbox-y game. o First plays can be a bit tricky and require looking up the finer rules, but the game plays quite fast when 'grokked'. I wasn't planning on getting this, but I played it at a friend's place and had a lot of fun. Decided to purchase it when there was a good 2nd hand offer.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Pick-Omino Board Game

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Puerto Rico

Enjoyed th...

by Baltasilian

Enjoyed this a lot when it just came out. Now we tend to turn to Race or Roll for the Galaxy instead.

1/21/2019

Patchwork

Lovely lit...

by Baltasilian

Lovely little 2-player game, but the fun was reduced a bit when we discovered the 'formala' to select the optimal patch. Even after that, there is sufficient strategy to the game, but it doesn't hit the table quite as often.

1/21/2019

Mystic Vale

I don't li...

by Baltasilian

I don't like this game without the expansions, but it is quite enjoyable with them. One of my girlfriends favorites. Good for 2 players and works well for 3 and 4 since the only way where players 'meet' is buying from the same pool of cards.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Awesome experience. Lots of surprises and plote twists. Looking forward to Season 2. - Does require a heavy investment of time with a fixed partner / group.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Adds well-needed variety to the base game.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Must-buy to make Mystic Vale enjoyable. Adds a variety of new possible strategies.

1/21/2019

Pandemic: Iberia

Beautiful ...

by Baltasilian

Beautiful and fun version of the classic coop.

1/21/2019

Munchkin

Meh. Funny...

by Baltasilian

Meh. Funny to play once, if you are familiar with D&D or similar RPGs.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Bought this for solo, but now we only play at 2+ players because it is more fun. + Feels like Star Realms with a story line and objectives. - There are some great variants in the box, using hidden (traitor) roles, an Alien deck that can be played when someone is devoured, but these do not seem to work or make it too hard for 2 players. I feel it needs some good variant to enjoy these added resources.

1/21/2019

Mexican Train

Was very f...

by Baltasilian

Was very fun for a while. Until we discovered more satisfying games.

1/21/2019

Katoiz

+ Decent a...

by Baltasilian

+ Decent abstract strategy. + Multiple variants in one box. - Not very inspiring, feels a bit too "educational" maybe.

1/21/2019

Catan Dice Game

There is n...

by Baltasilian

There is not much more to this game than rolling dice.

1/21/2019

Istanbul

+ Fun game...

by Baltasilian

+ Fun game, finding the optimal route to trade your goods for rubies. o Not incredibly deep, but fun and thinky enough considering a relatively short duration. - Does not feel related to the city of Istanbul in any sense, but the trading part itself is pretty thematic.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

+ Great variety between different games. + Fun at two players. Much deeper at higher player count. - Doesn't feel very immersive or thematic.

1/21/2019

Illuminati

LOVE the i...

by Baltasilian

LOVE the idea, theme, humour and the cards, but the game itself is a bit disappointing. I have not played this in almost 20 years maybe, so it is about time to give it another shot. In any case I could not bare to part with it. - The income phase is quite fiddly.

1/21/2019

Kakerlakensuppe

Not my cup...

by Baltasilian

Not my cup of soup. Might be a good laugh with more players and/or kids.

1/21/2019

Jaipur

+ Fun, qui...

by Baltasilian

+ Fun, quick 2-player. - Becomes a bit samey after a number of plays.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Improves the base game - would not want to play without anymore, except maybe with new players.

1/21/2019

Gubs

+ Great si...

by Baltasilian

+ Great simple game for new players and children with enough variety in the cards to make it fun + Cute art and theme - Heavily luck based - Can be a bit mean

1/21/2019

No Thanks!

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Grimslingers

Beautiful ...

by Baltasilian

Beautiful artwork and I really wanted to like this, but it is not a very good game. Have been wanting to play through the story to at least get my money's worth, but there always seems to be something which is nicer to play.

1/21/2019

The Gallerist

+ Love the...

by Baltasilian

+ Love the theme and looks of this game. + Interesting strategies buying art from artist and then promoting them to increase value, or better yet, benefit from your opponents investments. o Heavy and will burn your brain analyzing the options and planning the order of actions. - Enjoyed 2 games of solo to learn the rules, but don't think this makes an exciting solo game. (the automa does not influence the prices of artworks)

1/21/2019

Forbidden Island

Great intr...

by Baltasilian

Great introduction to coops for new/young players. Replaced by Pandemic and other coops for more experienced players.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Chaos, mayhem and stress! And dice, so many dice! Fortunately never longer than 10 minutes. A fun way to get everyone at the table into active mode.

1/21/2019

Eldritch Horror

+ Great va...

by Baltasilian

+ Great variety in Great Old Ones, events and growing characters, although it does need expansions to prevent running into the same cards too often. + Very thematic, I love the stories that unfold, the way you can upgrade and equip your characters. - Long set up time - Brutal, can feel hopeless and undefeatable. Update: after repeated plays, we've also had some where we got through just fine. Don't be afraid to adjust difficulty using the hard and easy cards to adjust to your taste.

1/21/2019

A Distant Plain

For solo p...

by Baltasilian

For solo play. Okay, wow, I may have bitten off more than I can chew here. I should have listened to the advice and not started with the Automa's. So far, I managed to get through the tutorials and half of a game, which took 12 hours. Would love to find the time to really grok this - not sure how realistic that is, though. Update: after a couple of solo games, I'm now enjoying a Vassal game against three 'real' opponents, which really helps understanding both the rules and strategies. I'm still not convinced whether COIN is for me, but for now it is interesting enough to keep playing and discovering.

1/21/2019

Dixit: Odyssey

Great fun ...

by Baltasilian

Great fun game for all types of audiences, gamer and non-gamer alike.

1/21/2019

Concordia

+ Relative...

by Baltasilian

+ Relatively simple rules, all explained on the cards, so no need to reference the rule book during play. + Quick turns, while having lots of options to choose from. Great depth for simplicity of rules.

1/21/2019

Citadels

This was g...

by Baltasilian

This was great 15 years ago when hidden role selection was still new. Still fun at times today, but it tends to drag at larger player counts. Not nearly as much fun at 2 players, though.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

A nice little distraction.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Humorous, but the jokes are easily lost on non-native English speakers. I don't think we'll be playing this much again, as we have so many better games.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

Very enjoyable, looking forward to more plays. Will need to re-evaluate after more plays.

1/21/2019

Carcassonne

Combined b...

by Baltasilian

Combined base game, Big Box and expansion to make huge game. + Great gateway game. A good way to introduce new gamers, and slowly up the depth and difficulty with expansions. + Fun with 2 + Expansions offer a lot of variability and difficulty settings o The farmers, although seemingly simple, offer a lot of depth. (even more when adding Barns) Which is great for experienced players (I'd rather not play without) but might be difficult for beginners, or those who have trouble 'seeing' how they can expand their farmland. - We hardly play this anymore, because with the amount of tiles we have, it takes hours to complete. We'd rather spend our time on a heavy euro. Whenever we want to have a quick 1:1 Carcassonne experience, we turn to Carcassone: Star Wars, which add a bit of direct conflict.

1/21/2019

Carcassonne Big Box 5

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

We probably don't like this enough to play more. Let's see if we can give it a second chance. In the same boat as Jaipur and Lost Cities.

1/21/2019

Cartagena

So simple,...

by Baltasilian

So simple, yet so hard! The rules are easy to learn, but hard to find a winning strategy. Gets very chaotic at 3+ players.

1/21/2019

by Baltasilian

+ This game adds some direct conflict to Carcassonne, which is great to introduce new players to games with more direct interaction (attacks) and the timing of those. (stealing the Planet the other playing has spent a lot of effort building) + Entertaining for quick and light plays. - Lacks the 'depth' of expanded Carcassonne.

1/21/2019

Bohnanza

I suppose ...

by Baltasilian

I suppose this is a pretty good game - I just don't like auctions and beans all that much.

1/21/2019

Anachrony

+ A solid ...

by Baltasilian

+ A solid heavy worker-placement euro. + Looks great. o Heavy. During the first game(s) you might have no idea what you are doing. It is very much about converting one resource to another and yet another and then buy a building which can do one more conversion. - The time travel mechanism plays less of a role than the title implies.

1/21/2019

Android: Netrunner

Android: N...

by Baltasilian

Android: Netrunner has always been on my radar, because of the theme, asymmetry, and its depth. I did not get into it after the news it would end, and grabbed more than enough to be able to experience the different angles of the game. Not planning to focus much on deck building, instead playing with balanced decks with my SO. I was afraid it might be hard to teach, but the tutorial decks have worked very well to grasp the basic structure. Moving on to "real" beginner decks.

1/21/2019

Saboteur

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Rat Hot

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Pulsar 2849

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Love Letter

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Metro

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Magic Maze

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Colt Express

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019

Al Cabohne

No Review Title

by Baltasilian

No Review Description

1/21/2019