Reviews

These reviews were left by Almondropie.

Praga Caput Regni

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

2/15/2021

Whistle Mountain

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

2/8/2021

Yukon Airways

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/31/2021

Brass: Lancashire

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/4/2021

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

Babylonia

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

Watergate

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

Nagaraja

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

SpaceCorp

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

1/1/2021

Dune: Imperium

Fun but luck driven and very confrontational

by Almondropie

It’s interesting to see such a an aggressive 2 player game come out in 2020. Most games in the past ten years are solitary and avoid all confrontation whenever possible. Dune has very aggressive confrontation in the combat, to the point I found it quite irritating. I can’t remember the last time I swore at a game while playing but this one really pissed me off. I added 5 cubes to a battle after paying six spice to get them, did not add my reserves, as I was sure I’d win, and still lost the battle after opponent played their ‘lucky’ draw that added in even more battle cubes. This happened at least 3 times, once with the AI player who also drew the worst possible combat card (used the app) after I had already committed at least 5 cubes to a battle. Losing battles repeatedly due to luck or intrigue cards is not fun. I didn’t really care when I had not committed or not committed many cubes but once you are throwing in 5+, and still lose, it’s a recipe for table flipping. There is a lot of luck involved in card draws and deck shuffles so it can be a very frustrating experience when the luck goes against you. Another example: I bought two cards meant to work together, around the third round, Not once did I see those cards come out together, and that was with trashing at least 4 cards through the game. Another sore point was the rare appearance of any of my alliance symbol cards, so I was not able to move up on the very important allegiance tracks while my opponent managed to grab 3 allegiance markers from the top rows. We had exactly the same amount of allegiance symbol cards in our decks: 4. Or, you would like to buy some good cards with symbols and you can’t afford them because you didn’t get enough buying power in the reveal turn. I don’t understand the point of the mentat as you lose an agent to gain an agent so you end up not gaining anything. I still like the game but I admit this game is definitely not for those who don’t like confrontation or luck. Compared to lost ruins of arnak, I prefer Arnak, which is much less aggressive on confrontation and also more involving for the engaging art and theme and component quality. Dune’s theme could be about anything and we don’t care at all about the movie or book. After arnak at least tries to do deck building a bit differently, it’s disappointing to see dune rely on the extremely tired dominion mechanic (throw everything into discard pile and reshuffle) with no progression. It also reminded me of shards of infinity with the cards that work together but here the game also fails because it’s rare to ever get these cards to appear together in a draw. I would never buy these types of cards again.

1/1/2021

Lost Ruins of Arnak

Beats the pants off fortune and glory

by Almondropie

Needed a good Indy game. This was easy to learn, fun to play. Gorgeous card art and board design. Turns go fast, and your options accelerate towards the end. At first, it seems you’re not going to get much done in five rounds but by the end you are doing a lot of actions. Light to medium weight.

12/31/2020

Caylus 1303

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

12/30/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

12/28/2020

Underwater Cities

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

12/26/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

12/14/2020

Pan Am

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

12/7/2020

AuZtralia

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/30/2020

Beyond the Sun

Beyond the edges of my table

by Almondropie

Pros: 1) Best game of 2020 for us. Severely under hyped. 2) Tech tree works really well. A lot of variation game to game in cards drawn and tech tree order. 3) Turns go fast in 2 player. 4) Variable player set up from 2-4. 5) 2 layer personal boards with slots for your pieces worth the extra $10 for the retail price, which is fairly high for the bland quality of components. They were not even warped. 6) Dice good quality and fun to use. Cons: 1) table hog. Could not even fit the advanced variant for seeing all tech cards as there was no room on an already very large table that I normally would not even use for 95% of my games. 2) visually fairly bland. No art on any tech cards, main board could have been more colourful. 4 Placeholder cards for covering undiscovered techs are plain white like the board itself. Totally drab visual design. 3) Theme is weak. I like space games but you don’t really get a feeling of being in space running a tech tree, The small board for ship movement and planets does look like space but seems like a secondary idea to the overly large tech board.

11/20/2020

Android: Netrunner

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Hype purchase. Big mistake. When will I learn to avoid BGG rankings? I give myself a '1' for that. The game also gets a '1'. Huge box filled with air. Requires expansions, requires deckbuilding, requires interest in the theme. Could not get one person interested in playing due to the extremely narrow and dry theme. Might be a good game in here (doubtful, as it is built for expansion purchases) but we will never know because of obstacle 1) lack of theme interest. Soon realized I could not get into the theme either, and looking at the cards and their artwork was the height of tedium. I did play the original in 1996. Times change, pc's and their 'mystique' were somewhat interesting in the early years of the internet, now they seem like stale and crash ridden remnants of the past on the way out due to tablet supremacy. That makes this theme an exercise in nostalgia that is 20 years too late. A waste of time (going to store, trying to learn it, trying to find someone interested) and money. Sold. It doesn't help that I hate my PC. It crashes, it loses my data, it's always been a headache. I have virtually zero positive associations with it over the years, unlike my ipad. This game reminds me of my PC. I spend enought time on it. Being reminded of my PC and its problems over the years through a 'game' is actually very unpleasant and not relaxing at all. Bought 'Star Wars LCG' and theme interest at least got it to the table. That one gets an '8' as it does not remind me of my PC.

11/4/2020

Pirate's Cove

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Omen: A Reign of War

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Troyes

No Review Title

by Almondropie

The best dice manipulation game there is. Surprisingly simple to learn, but filled with tough decisions and games that always play differently. Works great with two, plays fast. It’s a shame this kind of streamlined super interactive Euro - with no bullshit minis, oversized box, and Lacerda style cellulite - has gone out of style. Published in 2011, but feels like a 100 years ago. Oh, and it was never a KS, so it gets even more respect. The only neg I can throw at it is Asmodee picked up the reprint and jacked the price to $75.

11/4/2020

Merchants & Marauders

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Initally a 'nine', but 5 hour first playtime with 3 players burned everyone out on attempting it again. I have had no real desire to set it up again. Also this is two seperate games: a merchant game, and a pirate game. Doesn't really fit the pirating theme if two players in a 3 player game play merchants and spend every turn doing the same stupid thing: buying and selling and avoiding battles. There is no engagement/battles with other players, which takes all the fun out of it because I play pirate games to have pirate battles against other players not just the NPC's. It's almost solitaire. Rules for battles are hard to explain for newbies and rule book needs constant referencing.For a high luck game, it's too complex and takes too long to play. Yes, play time could go down on subsequent plays, but first impressions make the most impression so I will have a hard time convincing my wife and limited playing partners to try this again and these are people who actually enjoy playing 'Blackbeard' from Avalon hill. Components are great, but there's a lot of set up time and table space is a priority. 'Pirate's Cove' (a $4 salvation army find) turned out to be a much better fit for us. It's just as random, but plays much faster (2 hours on first play), components are just as good or better, rules were learned in very short time, and most importantly, has more player interaction. Pirate ship battles between players AND Npc's can happen all the time, and are not things to be avoided. You are still buying and selling your treasures (being a merchant) but you are also FIGHTING like a real pirate should. There's much less fear of battle, and even a reward system for those who retreat. My wife is happy to go into battle now. I love it.How 'pirates' cove' can be ranked 516 while 'merchants and maruaders' is at 85 is beyond me. I think it's the cult of the 'new' that is keeping this game ranked so highly.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Wow. Now this is what I hoped 'Agricola' would be like. Here, you also get a lot of cards, but the play is just so much better. And really, who needs 400 combo cards for a game about 'farming'? Not me. At least this game has some scope. I took a year off off board gaming and this is my first purchase in a long time. I feared the top ten, as I usually don't like any of the games in the top ten BGG list, (hated 'race for the galaxy' and 'twilight struggle') but this was an exception. Every person I played it with so far (3 who also played Agricola) preferred 'through the ages'. Beats the hell out of the Avalon hill version.

11/4/2020

4000 A.D.

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

SORRY! Sliders

No Review Title

by Almondropie

I regret listening to recommendations for this game. If you're an adult who's getting something out of this, it's because you might be playing your kids. If you don't have kids, stay away. We played 3 rounds and put it away. There is light gaming, and then there is 'waste of time'.

11/4/2020

Thebes

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Citadels: Classic

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Old Avalon hill finicky game. Tons of rules look ups. Outmoded and obsolete.

11/4/2020

BattleLore

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Kingsburg

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Lost Cities

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Probably my no.1 reason I can't take the BGG ratings sytem seriously anymore. Well, this and 'twilight struggle'. This game, and the pasted on theme, the description on the box, which has absolutely nothing to do with the game, puts me in the 'I hate Knizia' camp.

11/4/2020

Starship Catan

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Thurn and Taxis

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Traders of Osaka

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Love the artwork on the card, the vibrant colors, the mini board. It's really cute and very portable. The pink wooden score counter is an odd choice for a player color. The game can result in ap if you're not careful, but it has surprising depth for the simplicity of the rules. Good two player, and should scale well for more. Game ended about the time the entire deck was run through once, and there are a lot of cards.

11/4/2020

Dominion

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Really enjoyed this game, but would not buy it. Usually I don't like BSW, but this game is made for BSW play only. In real life, there would be way too much shuffling and degradation to the deck, and also overpriced at $40.

11/4/2020

Global Pursuit

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Pyramids and Mummies

No Review Title

by Almondropie

This game looks great, has a 3d pyramid. 2 games included: the first one is a match the symbols on the cards to figure out which 'stone' tile should be placed on the 3d pyramid. Quite simple, but good for younger children. The second game, search for the mummy, has a bit more strategy to it, as you collect cards, and try to reach the mummy's tomb before anyone else.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Assassin

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Worse than survival. I threw this game in the garbage to prevent anyone else having the misfortune of playing it.

11/4/2020

Flight Leader

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Columbo Detective Game

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Got this game as a Christmas gift in 1974. I had never watched the show but I enjoyed the game.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Dealer's Choice

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Battlestar Galactica

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Pure 70's Roll and move garbage.

11/4/2020

Puerto Rico

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Had if for six years. Played twice. Just didn't get the fuss over this one. Very dry and boring. Traded for Arkham horror, which now in retrospect, was a step down: trading a boring game for something even worse: a boring and incredibly LONG game.

11/4/2020

Stephenson's Rocket

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Driest game I ever played. The worst of Knizia's 'math' games. Tedious as well as AP mania.

11/4/2020

Merchant of Venus

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Nice game, but played it once in ten years. Way too much set up time, but one of the better AH titles. I was happy to sell it for $105 on ebay.

11/4/2020

Race for the Galaxy

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Dreaded learning this game. Sat on my shelf for 3 months before I got the courage to plow through the minefield of icons. Took 2 hours to get through first game, but surprise: we both liked it. I'm glad I held off on my initial reaction of 'trade this asap!' after I first saw the rulebook and the 299 icons on each card. I look forward to game 2 when we can cut it down to an hour. And bonus for my wife: she won the first game, so you know that's going to make her happy to play again.Update: This game is solitaire, and does not work unless you play with someone at exactly the same level. For this mechanic, I much prefer 'glory to rome' and have not gone back to Race after the initial 2 plays. Highly overrated. Update: game is superb when played on keldon. Game is much better on pc than playing the card version. Also, easy to get games in, which is very hard to do in real life, as this game appeals only to a very small subset of hardcore gamers. You learn quickly from your mistakes on keldon, but it still takes many games to get familiar with all icons, amd many more games to actually win. Playing against live opponents requires all players be equal in play skill, which seldom happens. Game is much too complicated to teach to casual gamers. For sale.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Found it at flea market for $4. Great components but not much gameplay. Sold it on ebay for $150 in 1999.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Found it at flea market for under $10. Played a couple times. It was okay, but not good enough for me to keep when ebay beckoned with prices over $50. Sold it in 2000.

11/4/2020

Up Front

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Bought from game store, used, for $10 in late 90's. Found it ridiculously complicated and sold it on ebay for about $50.

11/4/2020

Gangsters

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Bought in 1992. Had fun with it for a few years, mostly from the water gun shootouts. Game was a bit too easy. Finally sold it last year after it sat on the shelf for ten years unplayed. Got a whopping $10 for it on ebay.

11/4/2020

Advanced Civilization

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Bought in 1992. Played it a few times, usually over entire weekends. Got fed up with the play time and sold it on ebay for at least $100 in 2000. 2 day games likes this just don't cut it anymore.

11/4/2020

Tigris & Euphrates

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Played a couple times. Found it very dry and boring, something I find in a lot of knizia games. Could be because we only had 2 players, but again, another game that I could not understand what the hype was about. Sold a month after purchase.

11/4/2020

Circus Maximus Game

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Bought it used in the lat 90's. Had a couple games. It was okay, but not something you'd play much in the age of the Euro. Most AH titles are now severely dated in components and mechanics and playtime.

11/4/2020

Tikal

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Looks great, but gameplay gets old very fast.

11/4/2020

La Citta

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Roborally

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Regret selling this. Recently played again online after ten year break and became addicted to it. I never win but it's still a blast, and even better online.

11/4/2020

The Republic of Rome

No Review Title

by Almondropie

You need a phd to play this game. One of the worst ruoebooks in existence, and that goes for most of the Avalon hill catalog.

11/4/2020

Magic: The Gathering

No Review Title

by Almondropie

the rare game that you can get burned out on, take a 10 year break and get back into with another 10,000 new cards. I only play forge on pc and it is highly addictive. Sealed deck and booster draft with full pool of 40,000 cards is constantly entertaining. There is absolutely nothing that can come close to matching the sheer amount of entertainment and variability this game offers in a two player format. And it hasn’t cost me a dime. The only real negative I can give it is getting too much or too little land. But for this I have a battle box of 600 Proxy cards carefully picked for fun and we start with 10 lands. I play at least one or two 7 player gauntlets in booster draft per day, so that’s at least 50 duels a day. It’s so good on forge, using all the cards, I deleted magic arena because of the incredible boredom of playing the same predictable and broken decks over and over again online. Everyone just copies what everyone else is doing . Power Deck building kills this game and if that where the only way I could play it, the rating would go down to 5.

11/4/2020

Löwenherz

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Elfenland

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Flat Top

No Review Title

by Almondropie

The worst of avalon hill and finicky rules overload. It's hard to believe that these kinds of "strategy" games used to be all you could play in the 70's amd 80's.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Freedom in the Galaxy

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Takes forever to play.

11/4/2020

Aton

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Not as good as our other 2 player game by Queens, Roma, but a quick and not too brain burning filler for 2 players only. Make sure you get the rules correct or you will be saying 'this is broken/boring'. Took us a while to figure out the details from the rule book which is a bit opaque on important aspects of turn order/scoring. At first we were scoring at the end of every round and wondering why the 'trail of the dead' track didn't fill up. I've come to realize I'm not crazy about 'abstract' games. They just don't get my imagination going, and that's what I want when I play games.

11/4/2020

Wyatt Earp

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Not keen on traditional card games, so this was a 'hesitant' purchase. The theme is great and fits well with the rummy/canasta variations. Good, quick, light 2 player filler when you can't be bothered to put in two hours for a deeper game. Very much luck driven on the card pulls but does have some strategy with the sheriff cards,

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Wow, what a difference from the boredom and rules tedium of our first play of Arkham horror. Now, THIS is what a horror game should be about: Easy to assimilate rules (at least in comparison to AH), no endless flow charts to follow (this really turned my wife off when we played AH), well defined theme that gets everyone involved, tension right to the end of the scenario, (something missing in AH even with variants) and even if the game is 2 hours, it's FUN. My wife immediately wanted to play again. The zombie and hero figures really add to the game. If these were just chits, it would not have been as much fun as we made up our own little stories and dialogue while fighting back and forth. Update: after dead of winter, this game is not needed. Update: retrospect I’d rather play last night on earth. Dead of winter was terrible.

11/4/2020

Arkham Horror

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Looks amazing when you first open it and dig into the rules and bits, but the gameplay itself can't live up to the bits. Too much errata/rules to get sorted out. Wife getting impatient with the constant back and forth from playing to reading the rules/flow charts. She expected more tension in the game, considering it is a horror game, but I have to say 'Pandemic' offers far more tension. They use similar mechanisms such as 'doom/terror track' and 'outbreak track' to move the game along, but in AH, there is rarely a time when the game feels 'tense' or that we are running out of time. The terror track never moves, and even the AO track never gets very high. A 3,4 hour game without tension is not a good thing. In 'pandemic' the tension is palpable almost from the start. Full points to AH for theme, though. Hopefully, some variants will increase the tensions factor, otherwise, the wife will be hesitant to play this again. I think her response was, 'Okay, there's a monster. I fight it, I almost always win. I don't win, I just get knocked out. Big deal. Where's the horror?" I cannot understand the rabid fandom that this game attracts. I love horror, but the only horror here is the ridiculous play time, the luck, the boredom, the lack of tension, and the endless setup. Since my wife doesn't like it, and I'm not too enthusiastic myself to try to get it back on the table, it's going to be placed on the 'trading' gate to get sucked into another dimension.

11/4/2020

Blue Moon

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Love this game. Played with java version mostly, but will start actual games soon...Susanne wasn't too impressed with her first play. Never asks to play it. Got burned out on the online version. Again, wasted money on extra decks that now sit on the shelf. I've got to stop this impulse buying.

11/4/2020

Cartagena

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Cold War: CIA vs. KGB

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Glory To Rome

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Despite the gaudy cartoon art and the 'cheapass' packaging, this inspires me much more than 'RFTG'. Could be that I prefer 'Rome' themes much more than sci-fi. I love the mulitple and 'humorous' use of cards, which opens endless strategies, and it doesn't have the iconitis and absolute dryness that RFTG has. Much more player interaction than RFTG. Update: sat on shelf for five years. Sold.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Had this for 2 years. Still haven't managed to have a game yet. Sold.

11/4/2020

El Grande

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Played this a couple times ten years ago. Can't remember much about it. Hasn't hit the table since I never have more than 2 players. Rating would likely go up if I play it again with the right amount of people. this is `97 edition

11/4/2020

Give Me the Brain

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Original 1997 cheapass version.

11/4/2020

Filthy Rich

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Enemy in Sight

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Bitin' Off Hedz

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Cheapass version. Why did I buy this? Oh, yeah I thought saving money was a good idea when it comes to games.

11/4/2020

Power Play

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Very good. This game is actually fun to play, with board moves and cards. The figures look more like chess pieces from outer space than hockey players, but it's fun.

11/4/2020

Shazamm!

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Twilight Struggle

No Review Title

by Almondropie

And here I thought I'd never find anything more tedious than Arkham horror. I tried to like this, I really did. When at first it seemed dry and boring and the opposite of 'fun', I re-read the rules hoping to find something I was missing that would make it click. Horrid/contradictory rules in the 8.1, 8.2.4 layout of old AH rulebooks, some cards are events that can be discarded and they are printed 'remove from play', and at the same time, they are underlined to mean 'they stay in the game. All this on the same card! Reminds me of the worst of the Avalon Hill rulebooks. Drier than ginger ale; tedious gameplay/setup; miniscule thin cardboard chits and cereal box game board should be outlawed. How can this game cost $45!!!??? These kind of crap components were already tedious in the 80's when AH was doing it all the time, and here it's 2008 and we still have games that have a game board that makes AH components look like they were produced by 'Days of wonder'. I talked my wife into playing this, using every trick I knew to cajole her past the 'politics theme' and I've never seen such a glazed look of utter boredom within five minutes of playing a game. It was like looking at the Medusa. I think my arm turned to stone. At first I was upset with HER, like she was missing something of this great game, but I realized that my anger was because I was trying to convince her the game was good, when it wasn't. I was upset because I bought this game, and I was duped. This is supposed to be strategy, there is supposed to be a reason to plow through the opaque rules and the endless errata for cards/combos on BGG, and yet, you get dice with the game! You rely on card draws! It's luck based! It's like MTG without any of the cool art or engaging cardplay, and takes 50 times as long to play! What a deal! And did I mention this game takes even longer than Arkham horror? There is no excuse anymore for 5-7 hour games, especially not for two people. I overlooked the cheap game components in spite of the fact that this game is roughly ten bucks cheaper than Agricola', a game which actually includes fun gameplay along witlbs of quality components. (Update: I hate Agricola because it also takes 4 hrs)You really have to be seriously into cold war politics and US/Russian history to appreciate this game at all, but really, being a history buff for the cold war should not be a pre-requisite for getting something out of the game. This is another inexplicably highly rated game on BGG, like Arkham horror, where I clearly expected its ranking of '3' to deliver some amazing gameplay. Biggest gaming disappointment ever. And I traded an OOP 'Ace of aces' game for this? I have tried, but can't find any incentive or jo in playing this game. I'm almost tempted to burn it for the satisfaction. If this is the best the US can come up with in 2006 game design, Europe has clearly won the board game war, and that was with 'Bohnanza'. Update ten year later: bought the app. Pushed through the pain and played 20 times before I learned enough to beat the stupid AI. Then started playing against real people online. Had some amazing games. App Solved all my problems. Probably the only board game that is absolutely superior as an app, and renders the board game version obsolete . Rating up to 9. (Board version would still be a 5.) How ironic that I don't even own my favorite game. Update: be aware of playing online with playdek app, a lot of arrogant assholes there. It is not newbie friendly.

11/4/2020

Pandemic

No Review Title

by Almondropie

First play with 2 players on easy was fun, but we were close to winning. Started over to add third player (normal) and that ramped up the fun and tension considerably. We lost the game within 40 minutes! Can't wait to try again. Never played a co-op game before and this genre hits a sweet spot that is sorely missing from my games and all games in general. I hope designers pick up on this mechanic and run with it!Update: Our second 3 player game was so tense, such a nailbiter to the end, that I got a stomache ache. I love it! We had one round (six card draws) to figure out a way for one person to give another person the needed cards to cure the fourth and final disease. We threw strategies back and forth, and at one point seemed so close to a solution, but to no avail. The last infection draw of the game caused the final outbreak, and we lost even before we could try for a cure. This game now goes up to a 9, my first 9, based on the excitement of that 3 player game. Update: game quickly lost its appeal.

11/4/2020

Vikings

No Review Title

by Almondropie

This is one game I always lose to my wife. But I still like playing it!

11/4/2020

Roma

No Review Title

by Almondropie

After one play, wife and I agree this is the best of the five new games we've tried in the last 2 weeks, which includes Kingsburg, Thebes, Louis XIV, and Jambo. Funny how the $20 games turn out to be the best, while the $50 games didn't do much for us. Roma has simple rules, still retains strategy, just the right amount of luck, great looking cards, and most important, it's entertaining!

11/4/2020

Babel

No Review Title

by Almondropie

No Review Description

11/4/2020

Jambo

No Review Title

by Almondropie

First play with wife went very well. Easy to learn, lots of variety in the cards and combos without adding MTG complexity, and a great theme. She likes it better than Thebes and Kingsburg, said she'd have no problem playing this many times, and it was less than half the price of those games! Update: too random. Too much take that. Sold.

11/4/2020

Ra

No Review Title

by Almondropie

First edition.

11/4/2020

Louis XIV

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Heard good things, but a little disappointed on first play. The playing for influence system is great, but the end scoring using random pulls from the 'shield' bag is a weak victory element that doesn't belong in a strategy title. Maybe it's because we only played two player. I can see this being much better with 3 or 4 players. Initial rating was 7, but now dropped to 6 because I (and my wife) never think about bringing it to the table for a second go. Finicky setup time detracts, and she found it a bit boring to just be placing influence bits around the little boards. It's very dry. Historically accurate, but so is the discovery of knitting. Will consider giving it another chance using variant of 2 additional dummy players, one for each player. But with so many new games we have not played, can't see getting around to this one again for as while, unless we get more players.

11/4/2020

Galaxy Trucker

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Building fun. Rest of the game not so much.

11/4/2020

Spree!

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Been ten years since I played this, so it can't be more than a five.

11/4/2020

Verräter

No Review Title

by Almondropie

German edition. Played a couple times. Don't have 4 players for this.

11/4/2020

by Almondropie

Highly rated on BGG, but we found it boring.

11/4/2020

Netrunner

No Review Title

by Almondropie

Bought a couple decks and got a lot of extra cards. Built two very good head to head decks based on a recommended setup.

11/4/2020