Tigris & Euphrates

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (110 Total)

10
51
36
7
5

Very heavy compared to the other Knizia games I've played. This game reminds me of multiplayer chess…in a good way. This is a very solid game, and I'm critical of it only because spatial games aren't my thing.

4/1/2020

One of my favorite games. I will always love this game. The interaction between players and the rise and fall of kingdoms is interesting to watch. And always makes for a different game.

4/1/2020

2-4 players, 90-120 minutes, medium heavy, tile laying, KniziaRecently purchased this game and tried it out tonight with my son (7). We had fun and did not bother each other....yet. That is something for next game. All in all the game looks nice and has a nice theme, the best part is the condition to win: you need to collect stones of 4 different colours, but you need to balance this, as only the colour with the least number of stones counts. I want to play this again soon Update: played several games with 2, 3 and 4 players and upgraded the rating, as this is indeed a very good game and i.m.o. one of Knizia's best, possibly the best one.Verdict: Keeper!

3/18/2020

Enjoyed my first game. Looking forward to more.

3/16/2020

i can't believe what a clever game this is. although there are some odd concepts to get your head around (not playing a colour ect) this is not difficult. and it's not a long game either. very satisfying.

3/4/2020

Tried this with the wife once, and it turned out to be way too heavy for her. I would love to play it one day, but have not been able to sell my group on it due to the potential length and the plethora of lighter, quicker options.SOLD, October 2014

2/28/2020

by paka

Scratches my tactician itch, would really love to play it more but the abstract nature of it and brainburn that most people get from it, doesn't let it come off the shelf (plays done are before the record, ~4-5 I think)

2/25/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

No need to sleeve

1/28/2020

The very best. Engrossing, pretty, and a terrific blast to play. The mechanics are a sheer joy, and it plays well with any number of players. A masterpiece.

1/26/2020

1.5 x

1/25/2020

Great game! One of my favorites.

1/22/2020

A deceptively heavy, but wonderful game that unfolds like an onion with each successive play. Knizia's best. It's really a masterpiece.

1/10/2020

Mechanically simple but strategically deep.

1/7/2020

Simple yet deep strategic game, that cracks your brain

1/4/2020

I'd been aware of this since not long after I joined the site, at that point there was a turn-based implementation here and I had a look at it. Never really got around to spending the mental energy on learning the game until the one game I have recorded a play of. Both the teacher and the other new guy had better final scores than my best colour score. I don't feel inclined to bother trying another time.

1/3/2020

Tablet app, not physical boardgame

11/14/2019

Great game with a lot of possibilities every turn and many strategies to follow. Very tough on newbies.

10/25/2019

I'm really starting to love this game. Could move onto my top ten games of all time soon.

10/21/2019

Received 2018 (Traded for Tammany Hall)

10/18/2019

Brilliantly designed game that can be a real brainburner despite its relatively simple rule set. Though I guess it may be a touch abstract/dry, that's really only a minor complaint.

6/26/2019

the "game" of Knizia...

5/15/2019

N/A

5/15/2019

Awwwww yeah wooden Mayfair ed. Super excited to bust this out.

5/13/2019

_

3/28/2019

Wow! What an experience. It's abstract but feels like an ancients civ game. Has appeal with my wargamer friends, and with my eurogamer family. Not ultra complicated but nearly endless depth. I see why "brilliant" and "instant classic" and "Kinizia's Masterpiece" all apply to this achievement of a game.

3/6/2019

Nasty, mean, horrible game. I like a fair amount of conflict, but this game just takes it to a whole new level. It might be too much for me.

2/16/2019

Wow, what a great game.

2/16/2019

Like new condition. Played once. Pieces have been assembled.

2/11/2019

A unique competitive positional battle. Random tile draws are a little frustrating, but this is among the deepest tactical games I know of.

1/23/2019

Extremely deep and vicious tile-placement game; abstract civilization building. A bit random, and hard to find others that enjoy it. The abstraction doesn't sit well with people. I really want to love this game, but the random factors don't sit well with me.

1/22/2019

Near perfect area control game with perfect scoring mechanic.

1/22/2019

Didn't like this game at first but I kept mulling over the game for a couple of weeks afterwards. Mulled long enough to buy. Good thing I did so because this is a fun-filled jaunt to be sure. I think I like this game with open scoring. It makes it more likely that conflict will be a big issue in the game; plus that's how I played it PBEM. 2006-11-18 - Bought 2008-07-09 - PBEM 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23 2010-10-15 - Bought at Fallcon 24 (funny, huh?) 2019-01-13 - Sold; Richmond gamer

1/21/2019

It's quite easy for one player to get too far ahead very early, especially when playing with new players. In later stages of the game, choices become very limited. Still enjoyed playing.

1/18/2019

A decent, albeit quiet, puzzler masquerading as a semi-war game with Knizia's great scoring twists that cause real problems for a player's domination strategy in one area. Scoring incentives are key to the theme (which, ultimately, is paper-thin).

1/15/2019

An interesting twist on the civilization genre. Instead of building out a tableau, players seed the Eyptian desert and witness the rise and fall of empires. Once the few rounds of peaceful growth pass, the game enters a state of constant flux, where monuments will be built, usurpers will rise, and civilizations will be fractured by war. Tactics rule, but medium-term strategies are necessary as well. The rapid escalation the game undergoes after a few monuments/buildings have been placed is incredible, and helps round out the scope of the game. Tigris and Euphrates taxes your brain in a unique way, and while not being very accessible, it is vastly rewarding.

1/11/2019

didn't appreciate in until my 5th play... a classic

1/11/2019

(2/17) 8. A classic and much deserving of the title. Just a fantastic, fantastic game that is full of interesting choices. Extremely deep, but not necessarily that heavy or overly complex. Both my plays included players new to the game and they were able to figure things out after a turn or two. My onlllly complaint, and it's quite minor, is that it's a touch long but that's mostly due to players being very careful and thoughtful about their moves (at least in our games) and not because of the game. (10/17) Raise to 9. Such a brawny, thoughtful classic. My #16 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018

A good game requiring strategy and balance to succeed. The lowest score of each of your colours win forces you to balance yourself so as to get a high score overall instead of trying to dominate in one area.

12/22/2018