Champions of Midgard

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (59 Total)

2
33
20
3
0

Vikings going into battle for glory. Great theme for a worker placement with dice rolling. Nice to see dice rolling games have mitigation for bad dice rolls. Bumped up after including expansions. INCLUDED: Champions of Midgard: Valhalla Champions of Midgard: The Dark Mountains

10/25/2019

No Review Description

10/22/2019

I don't know why it is about this game, but every time I play I get sucked in to the gameplay. Wonderful theme and despite the dice chucking, the battles are always exillerating.

9/25/2019

A very solid worker placement game. It is easy enough to tech to a relatively new gamer yet has plenty of choices to satisfy a more experienced player. The Valhalla Expansion adds a ton to the game without over complicating things and can be easily included in a teaching session.

6/19/2019

I'm truly shocked that people compare this to Lords of Waterdeep. Lords of Waterdeep is a far superior game and a true euro (though lightweight). This is Ameritrash all the way. Way too much dice chucking and random/lucky effects. I suppose it does feel a lot like somebody took the basic idea of Lords of Waterdeep, then removed the engaging quest elements and card play, added a bunch of dice/luck and vikings and called it a game. If LoW didn't exist, I might play this again, but since it does I don't think I ever would have a reason to.

6/15/2019

7.6 / 2-4p Best 4 / 60-90min / Strategy 174 / 2.54

6/15/2019

Has elements that remind me of Mission Red Planet, Clank!, and Viticulture. The art is cartooney but well done. The theme is relatively strong for a eurogame.

3/6/2019

donation to library

1/22/2019

An incredibly enjoyable worker-placement game with a nice push your luck mechanic. This is probably my new go-to gateway game for new board game players.

1/19/2019

An awesome worker placement that's fairly light, which works well with the dice rolling combat. The theme is excellent, and all of the action spaces are fun to use. However this drops half a point because it is kind of weak at 2 players, its definitely best at 3-4. Feels like it could really use a good expansion!

1/15/2019

Looks like this one is replacing Lords of Waterdeep for a lot of others. I think they both have room in a collection, so I might looking at getting this one soon. I like the theme better and the dice rolling is always fun. We have a member in our game group that has a copy, so I'm in no rush to get it.

1/10/2019

8.5 with the expansion

1/10/2019