Scythe

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (332 Total)

48
174
70
3
2

No Review Description

2/14/2020

Scythe is great for veteran board game players, but can be too much for more inexperienced players. The game is well designed, but oftentimes is too long. At least one player will realize they have no chance of winning, and will then complain the rest of the game. Also, get boxes for all the meeples.

2/10/2020

Invaders from Afar & The Wind Gambit. Beautiful, thematic, and more importantly such a pleasure to play each time. With the varied setup each game it is always different enough to always wonder what each game will turn into.

2/3/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Basically everything I want in a short strategy game.

1/28/2020

Only own digital copies. https://store.steampowered.com/app/718560/Scythe_Digital_Edition/ https://store.steampowered.com/app/446980/Tabletop_Simulator__Scythe/

1/27/2020

Played a friends copy a few times. Pretty good. I don't think it lives up to the hype surrounding it however. But it is good, and I will play it again, just not something I will suggest every time we get together.

1/26/2020

Excellent game. Really enjoy it. I play it a bit more tactically than strategically after less than 10 plays, but expect to "graduate" soon as I learn the different capabilities of the factions and player boards. Looks more daunting than it is. Rules fairly simple to remember and implement. Your choices are a delicate balance. To me, it lives up to the hype.

1/26/2020

Collector's Edition. Awesome game! I played it four times in the first week I owned it which I have never done with a big game before. Even my wife loves it and she doesn't really care for complex games with a lot of rules. This one hits the sweet spot between accessibility and complexity. I certainly wouldn't call it a gateway game but I could definitely see teaching it to and playing it with anyone that could handle games like Catan, Small World and Lords of Waterdeep. This is my favorite game of 2016 and the best game/value that I have Kickstarted. It's early to call, but this game is almost certainly destined for my top five. This is the example that game publishers should be striving for in terms of components, rulebook, iconography, art, ease of access, replayability, accessibility and value. Our first three-player game took three hours but our next two with the same players took only an hour and a half each (we played them back-to-back, it's that good). Turns are near simultaneous with three players, so there is very little downtime. The game is very intuitive and after the first few turns, you know what to do and how most things work. From that point on, it's a matter of learning how to optimize your actions and developing an overall strategy. There are five asymmetrical factions, each with their own special abilities. There are also five different player mats that have the same abilities but with slightly different costs and benefits. Each game you play, you get a different combination of these. Then you add in different secret objectives, different factory abilities and different end game bonuses for buildings and you get a heck of a lot of replayability. If I had a complaint (and I don't) it would be that there isn't a whole lot of player interaction during the game. The board is big enough that you can pretty much do your own thing in your own corner of the map without much interference. I am sure in four or five player games there is a lot more interaction as players jostle for resources and space. Super game! If you like worker placement and area control, you should love this one! Expansions owned: Invaders from Afar, Wind Gambit

1/26/2020

Early rating is tentative but very promising. It is indeed much less about combat than economy management, which is as the game describes. Whether this serves to mitigate or mask the problems often inherent in multi-player conflict games is yet to be seen.

1/26/2020

This is a tough game. Tons of mechanics included, tons of thing to remember, not easy to set up (at least 10 minutes if you are alone), hard to explain. Not a good game to play with a newbie. But if you know how to play it, it's fantastic. No luck, only strategy, and there are different way to win. And you doesn't have any idea who is the winner till the game ends.

1/25/2020

First let's get this out of the way. Scythe is basically an overproduced euro... And I LOVE IT!! This game is all about efficiency and posturing. With the threat of war. It has a very ominous vibe throughout the whole game. I think people see mechs and think that this is all about dudes on a map and combat. If you go in with that attitude you will be very disappointed. This game is about building an engine and managing resources. You need to try your best to figure out which 6 stars you will be going for and then go. It might very well be that combat and area control will be a path to your victory or it might be setting up an engine of pumping out tons of resources and avoiding all combat as much as possible. As far as calling a game a 4x or not. I hate how people can get so riled up over terms. I don't care if it fits into that "box" or not. I think the game does an excellent job of giving you the feeling of a 4x game all within a shorter time. (a hour and a half) For me that's why I often prefer to play Scythe over those other games. It won't be very often that I could get a group together to play some epic 6+ hour epic game. So I play Scythe instead.

1/25/2020

Collector's Edition

1/25/2020

[COLOR=#FFFFFF][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#FF0000]Have Game Want Accessories[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color]. [COLOR=#ffffff][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#000000]Want 3D Factory[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] Want the Neoprene Mat & Rise of Fenris Geek Bit Bags (have the other faction bags) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgameaccessory/266152/scythe-neoprene-playmat https://boardgamegeekstore.com/collections/bgg-geekup-bag-sets/products/copy-of-geekup-bag-set-scythe

1/25/2020

This game just doesn't click with me. It's a decent game. It has some unique mechanics. It's interesting enough that I'd play it more but it mostly just feels... unsatisfying.

1/25/2020

1-5p Sleeves Legendary Box Automa in base game box

1/24/2020

This was an odd game for me. I found it to be impressively clean and elegant, but not particularly fun or engaging. Not for me I guess.

1/24/2020

Kickstarter Project http://kck.st/1hCoAn1 - Backed: 10/13/2015 - Funded: 11/05/2015 - Pledge Level: Pledge $99 or more: "COLLECTOR'S SCYTHE - 1 board extension (50% bigger hexes), all wooden resource tokens replaced by realistic resource tokens, individually numbered box, 80 custom metal coins, 4 plastic resource containers, 1 copy of Scythe (includes all 25 miniatures), 1 Factory promo pack, all stretch goals, and money-back guarantee ($172 value). Add up to 2 more copies at $99 each." - Payment: $99 - Survey: 11/05/2015 - Projected Delivery: 08/2016 - Shipped: 07/01/2016 Status: DELIVERED

1/20/2020

I have almost everything Scythe related. I fell in love with this game shortly after it was commercially released and my love for it has not waned years later. It's a perfect mesh of complexity with iconography that once understood (which is easy to do) feels simple! The different factions work your brain in every which way - and you over time you will realize that there is a group of people that believes every single faction is overpowered....which to me means that they are pretty balanced (well...as balanced as asymmetric factions CAN be). Scythe will always be a collection essential for me.

1/2/2020

Whether with other gamers or against the Automa in solo mode, I am finding Scythe to be incredibly challenging and rewarding. An atypical 4X in that it emphasizes combat (and never eliminates units), it offers a plethora of choices and decisions only get harder (and the right ones more rewarding) as the game goes on. It's already crept from 8.5 to 9 in my estimation and once I give The Wind Gambit a try it could very well climb more.

1/2/2020

Love this game and the more I play it the more I love it. It brushes the edges of an RPG with a great little world to play out in. I still feel it ends to abruptly, but that's probably what makes me keep coming back to it.

12/31/2019

This game feels like Copycat, in that it shamelessly steals mechanics from other good games in an attempt to make one cohesive game, but without the satire. The end result is typical of the designer; a reasonably good game with nothing remarkable or groundbreaking about it except for the amount of chrome applied.

12/20/2019

Had a blast each time playing this. Plenty of paths to victory and the different combinations of boards give this a lot of replayability. The only negative in my mind is the encounter cards all feel the same.

12/20/2019

So far, Scythe has lived up to the hype. The artwork is beautiful and there's so much to do that you can take a different approach each game and still be competitive.

12/12/2019

Immediately engaging and with a presentation that matches form and function to a degree rarely achieved in modern games.

12/11/2019

fully painted "table top" quality

12/11/2019

I enjoyed it, but the lack of interaction is pretty disappointing. I was hoping for something a bit more cutthroat and a bit less point salad.

12/5/2019

Well, I have to say that this game lived up to the hype. I like that there are 25 unique combinations of player powers. The unique miniatures for each country is a nice touch. It incorporate some economic elements, some exploration elements, some war game elements, and some engine building elements. I am realizing that I am a true euro gamer and as such the combat was the least satisfying part of the game for me. I can't wait to explore this more!

12/3/2019

boardlandia

11/12/2019

But not this one. I've played twice. It's my least desired of all the ones I've played. My buddy backed the KS and made sure to get everything deluxed. Beautiful components, but like many of Jamey's designs, it appears he's taken his favorite bits of previous games and stuck them in whatever current one he's designed. I think it worked for Viticulture and Euphoria. I just couldn't get into this one. I'm still figuring out all the hype that was generated on the box cover art alone...

11/2/2019

A resource management game with huge variability, individual player powers, various avenues to victory, hard choices that don't take a long time, reasonable play time, amazing artwork and a little optional conflict thrown into the mix. A 10, especially after the addition of The Rise of Fenris INCLUDED: Scythe: Invaders from Afar Scythe: The Rise of Fenris Scythe: Metal Coins Scythe: Encounters

10/25/2019

SOLD: 2017 RECEIVED: 2016

10/18/2019

After one play: I really really don't understand what people see in this game. After giving this game a second chance: When looking at what the rating system says here, I had no choice but to drop my rating of this game down to a 2. Because for 2 it says "Extremely annoying game, won't play this ever again." The nicest thing I can say about this game is that the metal coins are really cool. The artwork, close up, is good, but the overall presentation looks like a giant Technicolor yawn. I suppose if I got sucked into the hype and spent a fortune on this turd I'd probably be trying to convince myself and others that this game is awesome, too. But I didn't, so I am telling you that this game definitely is not for me as it annoys me and I won't play it anymore.

10/18/2019

way overrated, good looking but boring on board

10/18/2019

Best: 4 Time: 90-115 Min Weight: 3.38

10/17/2019

#9

10/17/2019

I love love love this game. It feels so smooth and satisfying. I love upgrading, I love the "cold war feeling" it engenders. I love the engine building. I can't be reasonable about this game. I just love it.

10/10/2019

No Review Description

9/30/2019

With Premium Coins

9/16/2019

Only played once so far, but it was very exciting and had a fun blend of mechanics.

8/5/2019

I really can't say anything more than this is definitely in my top 3 all time games. Pandemic Legacy, Cosmic Encounter, and now Scythe to round it out

7/8/2019

I really need to play this more to be able to eloquate my thoughts.

6/26/2019

I haven't gotten to play with more than 2, but solo and 2 player is fantastic and it's supposed to be even better with 4/5

5/15/2019

k/s backer for collectors box. Pledged £70.93 Notes i keep forgetting! -A structure can be built- on the factory -Anyone can carry resources, only mechs can carry workers -When taking the bottom row action, if you have already enlisted , the player to your left and right and you get a benefit 4 games in, rating a 7.5 for now. 5th game in have changed rating to an 8. This was another four player game and loved it!

4/12/2019

_

3/28/2019

Kickstarter Limited Edition! Promos and realistic resources, larger board. I also have Invaders from Afar, the Wind Gambit, and Rise of Fenris.

3/11/2019

Very nice art. Innovative rolling action system where turns are brief and sort of bleed together as one player finishes their bottom action while the turn passes. Conflict is simple and tangential, the real game is the euro engine building and action selection. Stegmaier does strong work. Wife won our first game. She also really liked it. So I won too :) Rise of Fenris is fantastic.

3/6/2019

Absolutely love this game, even though I'm really bad at it. The theme paired with the gameplay is fantastic, and the fact that it plays so smoothly and is simple to teach are all super welcome

3/6/2019

Definitely not for everybody (as it can be a bit harder to learn), but it's a fun, beautiful, and extremely well-designed game.

2/27/2019

Awesome. Has lots of replayability

2/16/2019

There is so much to this game. It's compelling to both play and to look at. So many ways to play and subtle changes based on your faction and player board that even a veteran player has to stay on their toes.

2/13/2019

Fun game and captivating world. Only a nine because of how long it takes to play

2/12/2019

So clever and beautiful.

2/12/2019

Far more of a euro economy game than I thought it would be, which isn't really my thing. Though it is the best euro I've played. Biggest complaint is the lack of interaction between players. I rarely even have an interest in what the other player is doing. Same problem as Suburbia.

2/12/2019

W/ Exp: Invaders from Afar, The Wind Gambit Add-On: Metal Coins, Realistic Resources, Meeplesource Action Tokens, Promo Cards This is our favorite game to break out! It's such a well thought out game and it's one we love to get into whenever we have the chance. With the Wind Gambit just out, it's another good excuse to break this out and we'll look into Fenris when it's out later this year.

1/25/2019

1-5, 120m

1/25/2019

Another game I really don't like, but this is one of the first that had me not liking it from turn 1. I kinda stuck through it for the whole game but I regret that, the worst part is I felt like I was losing from the point I realized the faction placement and mine was against what I planned to do. I guess it's like blood rage that completely polarizes me even though it's not a horrible game.

1/23/2019

lived up to my expectations. Easy to teach, can be quick, just an amazing all around game from one of the best publishers out there. Edit 1/16/18: Bumped from 9.4 to 9.7 I was initially skeptical of all the hype surrounding this game, but it has honestly exceeded the hype for me after 22 plays. Attacking with the mechs may be more sparse than initially expected, but the tension created by the threat of attack is just as effective for area control and board manipulation. Wind gambit adds significantly to this tension. Love love love this game.

1/22/2019

A favortie in our group. Great mix of Euro and conflicting area control mechanisms. Love the threat of combat and the consequences of battles.

1/21/2019

My currently favorite game. Gorgeous, streamlined, great replay value. It has everything a gamer is looking for in a game. The best gift I have received!

1/21/2019

(+) Great balance between engine building and conflict, multiple paths to victory, feels epic but plays quick, production quality is fantastic, rules are clear and organized well, randomized player boards and cards for variability, good balance of strategy and tactical choices, cool end condition of placing stars (-) Randomly dealt player mats can result in some factions being overpowered IMO (ex. Rusviet with Industrial board), new players can get overwhelmed with all the different things to keep track of (+/-) The game is fun at all player counts but it feels really different from a spacial standpoint. Some people will not like the act of combat being primarily about bluffing/mind games. There is a lot to keep track of, but action choices are simplified and it provides a lot of paths to victory.

1/21/2019

You dont have time for everythig you want to do?.

1/18/2019

"Baby steps the board game" with the occasional satisfying turn. Very pretty game.

1/11/2019

From a design perspective there is not much to critisize. The different clans seem balanced, and provide each player with a unique strategy, and the same can be said for the action boards. However, from a gameplay perspective some of aspects fall a bit short. For instance, the early game is incredibly limiting, and players fall into scripted openings. And though I enjoy the star-based end game trigger, it appears that a few are more or less mandatory. Completing secret objectives, and winning a battle, are much easier to accomplish than maxing out the power or popularity tracks. All together, the decision space appears to be bigger than it really is. The biggest win here, surprisingly to me, is the world building. The premise and setting alone will likely lure me into several more plays.

1/11/2019