Scythe

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (208 Total)

37
123
36
3
2

I enjoyed it, but the lack of interaction is pretty disappointing. I was hoping for something a bit more cutthroat and a bit less point salad.

12/5/2019

Well, I have to say that this game lived up to the hype. I like that there are 25 unique combinations of player powers. The unique miniatures for each country is a nice touch. It incorporate some economic elements, some exploration elements, some war game elements, and some engine building elements. I am realizing that I am a true euro gamer and as such the combat was the least satisfying part of the game for me. I can't wait to explore this more!

12/3/2019

boardlandia

11/12/2019

But not this one. I've played twice. It's my least desired of all the ones I've played. My buddy backed the KS and made sure to get everything deluxed. Beautiful components, but like many of Jamey's designs, it appears he's taken his favorite bits of previous games and stuck them in whatever current one he's designed. I think it worked for Viticulture and Euphoria. I just couldn't get into this one. I'm still figuring out all the hype that was generated on the box cover art alone...

11/2/2019

A resource management game with huge variability, individual player powers, various avenues to victory, hard choices that don't take a long time, reasonable play time, amazing artwork and a little optional conflict thrown into the mix. A 10, especially after the addition of The Rise of Fenris INCLUDED: Scythe: Invaders from Afar Scythe: The Rise of Fenris Scythe: Metal Coins Scythe: Encounters

10/25/2019

SOLD: 2017 RECEIVED: 2016

10/18/2019

After one play: I really really don't understand what people see in this game. After giving this game a second chance: When looking at what the rating system says here, I had no choice but to drop my rating of this game down to a 2. Because for 2 it says "Extremely annoying game, won't play this ever again." The nicest thing I can say about this game is that the metal coins are really cool. The artwork, close up, is good, but the overall presentation looks like a giant Technicolor yawn. I suppose if I got sucked into the hype and spent a fortune on this turd I'd probably be trying to convince myself and others that this game is awesome, too. But I didn't, so I am telling you that this game definitely is not for me as it annoys me and I won't play it anymore.

10/18/2019

way overrated, good looking but boring on board

10/18/2019

Best: 4 Time: 90-115 Min Weight: 3.38

10/17/2019

#9

10/17/2019

I love love love this game. It feels so smooth and satisfying. I love upgrading, I love the "cold war feeling" it engenders. I love the engine building. I can't be reasonable about this game. I just love it.

10/10/2019

With Premium Coins

9/16/2019

Only played once so far, but it was very exciting and had a fun blend of mechanics.

8/5/2019

I really can't say anything more than this is definitely in my top 3 all time games. Pandemic Legacy, Cosmic Encounter, and now Scythe to round it out

7/8/2019

I really need to play this more to be able to eloquate my thoughts.

6/26/2019

I haven't gotten to play with more than 2, but solo and 2 player is fantastic and it's supposed to be even better with 4/5

5/15/2019

k/s backer for collectors box. Pledged £70.93 Notes i keep forgetting! -A structure can be built- on the factory -Anyone can carry resources, only mechs can carry workers -When taking the bottom row action, if you have already enlisted , the player to your left and right and you get a benefit 4 games in, rating a 7.5 for now. 5th game in have changed rating to an 8. This was another four player game and loved it!

4/12/2019

_

3/28/2019

Kickstarter Limited Edition! Promos and realistic resources, larger board. I also have Invaders from Afar, the Wind Gambit, and Rise of Fenris.

3/11/2019

Very nice art. Innovative rolling action system where turns are brief and sort of bleed together as one player finishes their bottom action while the turn passes. Conflict is simple and tangential, the real game is the euro engine building and action selection. Stegmaier does strong work. Wife won our first game. She also really liked it. So I won too :) Rise of Fenris is fantastic.

3/6/2019

Absolutely love this game, even though I'm really bad at it. The theme paired with the gameplay is fantastic, and the fact that it plays so smoothly and is simple to teach are all super welcome

3/6/2019

Definitely not for everybody (as it can be a bit harder to learn), but it's a fun, beautiful, and extremely well-designed game.

2/27/2019

Awesome. Has lots of replayability

2/16/2019

There is so much to this game. It's compelling to both play and to look at. So many ways to play and subtle changes based on your faction and player board that even a veteran player has to stay on their toes.

2/13/2019

Fun game and captivating world. Only a nine because of how long it takes to play

2/12/2019

So clever and beautiful.

2/12/2019

Far more of a euro economy game than I thought it would be, which isn't really my thing. Though it is the best euro I've played. Biggest complaint is the lack of interaction between players. I rarely even have an interest in what the other player is doing. Same problem as Suburbia.

2/12/2019

W/ Exp: Invaders from Afar, The Wind Gambit Add-On: Metal Coins, Realistic Resources, Meeplesource Action Tokens, Promo Cards This is our favorite game to break out! It's such a well thought out game and it's one we love to get into whenever we have the chance. With the Wind Gambit just out, it's another good excuse to break this out and we'll look into Fenris when it's out later this year.

1/25/2019

1-5, 120m

1/25/2019

Another game I really don't like, but this is one of the first that had me not liking it from turn 1. I kinda stuck through it for the whole game but I regret that, the worst part is I felt like I was losing from the point I realized the faction placement and mine was against what I planned to do. I guess it's like blood rage that completely polarizes me even though it's not a horrible game.

1/23/2019

lived up to my expectations. Easy to teach, can be quick, just an amazing all around game from one of the best publishers out there. Edit 1/16/18: Bumped from 9.4 to 9.7 I was initially skeptical of all the hype surrounding this game, but it has honestly exceeded the hype for me after 22 plays. Attacking with the mechs may be more sparse than initially expected, but the tension created by the threat of attack is just as effective for area control and board manipulation. Wind gambit adds significantly to this tension. Love love love this game.

1/22/2019

A favortie in our group. Great mix of Euro and conflicting area control mechanisms. Love the threat of combat and the consequences of battles.

1/21/2019

My currently favorite game. Gorgeous, streamlined, great replay value. It has everything a gamer is looking for in a game. The best gift I have received!

1/21/2019

(+) Great balance between engine building and conflict, multiple paths to victory, feels epic but plays quick, production quality is fantastic, rules are clear and organized well, randomized player boards and cards for variability, good balance of strategy and tactical choices, cool end condition of placing stars (-) Randomly dealt player mats can result in some factions being overpowered IMO (ex. Rusviet with Industrial board), new players can get overwhelmed with all the different things to keep track of (+/-) The game is fun at all player counts but it feels really different from a spacial standpoint. Some people will not like the act of combat being primarily about bluffing/mind games. There is a lot to keep track of, but action choices are simplified and it provides a lot of paths to victory.

1/21/2019

You dont have time for everythig you want to do?.

1/18/2019

"Baby steps the board game" with the occasional satisfying turn. Very pretty game.

1/11/2019

From a design perspective there is not much to critisize. The different clans seem balanced, and provide each player with a unique strategy, and the same can be said for the action boards. However, from a gameplay perspective some of aspects fall a bit short. For instance, the early game is incredibly limiting, and players fall into scripted openings. And though I enjoy the star-based end game trigger, it appears that a few are more or less mandatory. Completing secret objectives, and winning a battle, are much easier to accomplish than maxing out the power or popularity tracks. All together, the decision space appears to be bigger than it really is. The biggest win here, surprisingly to me, is the world building. The premise and setting alone will likely lure me into several more plays.

1/11/2019

Theme/Art: Scythe is the most beautiful game I own. Jakub Rozalski is an amazing artist and the art is 11/10, if not more. Same goes for the theme as the game sets place in an alternative history in the 1920s where countries build giant battle mechs. Production quality: Amazing production quality, the board has 2 sides with one having a bigger map so you have more space for resources (you need to purchase a board extension to use it), the miniatures are very good, and every faction has different worker meeples, which is a nice touch. Nothing feels cheap in Scythe. Replayability: There are 5 factions with different abilities and different starting resources and also 5 player mats with different top and bottom rows, as well as different action costs. So you have to take a different approach each game, even if you play the same faction twice. Depth/Difficulty: The game takes a bit to explain, but it is actually not that hard and once you get the hang of it it has a nice flow. Since everybody only takes one top row action and maybe a bottom one on his turn, you don't have to wait long until you are up again. The game has very interesting mechanics, especially how the game ends. Once someone placed all their 6 stars it's over. So if you are ahead and only have one star to place you can end the game immediately, but if you are behind in money you can drag the game out by not placing your last star (unless someone else places all their stars of course). The fact that you don't get resources you produced into your supply, but they are placed on the hex they are produced on, is also very interesting, because you can steal resources from others if they don't watch out. I also like that the encounter cards have no text on them (aside from your options), but only a picture of the scene, so you have to interpret it in your own way. I weight it 3/5. Strategy: Scythe is a strategy game, so of course their is a lot of strategy involved. Your strategy should depend on your faction, player mat, and starting position. There are 10 ways to plays stars, but you only need to place 6 to end the game, so focus on 6 of those ways. E.g. if you draw shitty objectives, ignore them. Oh, and get your popularity up to at least 13, you need it for the scoring! Luck: Aside from your starting setup (faction and player mat) and the cards you draw (encounters, objectives, factory cards) there is no luck involved. Even combat is not luck, but using power and power cards (and knowing how much power your enemy will spend. Scythe takes about 80-150 minutes to play, depending on player count and how familiar players are with the game. Teaching the rules takes about 20 minutes. In summary I like Scythe very much and it is the best looking game I own at the moment. We will see if its rating stays that high after a few more plays.

1/10/2019

Dagfinn has this. Need more plays for higher rating.

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

No Review Description

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018

One of my most favorite games. No luck involved at all. You get to do whatever you want, focus on any objectives... Need to focus on how to achieve different objectives at the same turns.

12/17/2018