Dead of Winter: A Crossroads Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (92 Total)

3
37
42
10
0

Would rate the game an 8.5 if it was not Zombie themed.

6/26/2019

Dice and card draw dependent games that are lengthy and heavy such as this are really no fun to me. I hate to lose something I've invested so much time into over something so random. That said, this game can be enjoyable, and it's theme was executed extremely well. I just can't rate it higher.

6/14/2019

After our 3rd 3 player game. Game stats so far: lost our first game due to low morale. won our second game, going to the police station sure helped. everyone else won the third game and i failed on the secret objective. no betrayer cards yet. dice tower promos - i aint dead yet, lets settle this, drop out, this tastes funny, ive suffered worse, you selfish jerk.

4/12/2019

VENDU $50

3/19/2019

I have come to accept that I really don't like cooperative games that much. That being said, this is a good one. It may be a bit more complicated than it needs to be, but it has a nice mix of mechanics. The crossroads cards can seem to be unneccessary at times, but they really add a nice thematic element. The challenges are not as interesting as they could be, but they definitely add challenge. Balancing characters is important and adds a nice twist. I enjoyed playing, which is novel for coops. I would play it again.

3/8/2019

Due to my mistake on a previous trade of DoW: TLN this game has the box bottom of The Long Night. Everything in the box is correct, the box bottom is just for the expansion and not the base game.

3/8/2019

Fantastic game, I love the way they ratchet up the tension with just the fact that there MIGHT be a traitor. Gameplay is take it or leave it, but the theme works well for me

3/6/2019

Based on my only play, I was a bit underwhelmed. It has too much luck for a seemingly strategic game. There were definitely points where I made the incorrect choice (I put the good of the colony too far ahead of my own good), but I was definitely hurt by some very poor rolls. I got all of my high rolls and good searches in the early game. In the late game, I could do nothing and when I did try, I lost characters for it.

3/5/2019

Need to play more before rating. A fair bit of stuff to keep track of, but the theme and crossroad cards are fun.

2/21/2019

Love dead of winter. I want to play it more. Very fun game. Highly recommend you try it if you like co-op with a possible hidden traitor in your group. It really is Walking Dead the game if you watch the TV show and like it, pick it up if you can find it!

2/14/2019

This games is really fun with the right set of gamers. If you’re playing with people who get excited about the story and understand the traitor mechanic it’s awesome.

1/23/2019

The value of this game for me is the story and them. And not because I particularly love that story and theme, but because other people, especially non-gamers, love it. This is a game where people can make thematic decisions and look back at what happened as a great story.

1/22/2019

The game, that dares you to beat it. Needs a group who's played before though as explaining the rules can take forever, only to go sideways by not having a strategy. Recommend always starting with the simpler objectives before "randomly selecting".

1/22/2019

Wasn't a huge fan on my first play. I need to give it another chance.

1/22/2019

This game has spread like wildfire in one of my gaming groups. A casual-gaming friend picked up a copy, and we played twice with a group of mostly non-gamers. Everyone freaked out, and several have since gone out and purchased their own copy. I have witnessed many people have "Oh! I didn't realize there where board games like this..." moments, but none have been as fast nor engrossing as those that DoW has insighted. The co-op nature of the game keeps it accessible, while the 'traitor' aspect keeps it tense. It also has one of the best risk-reward mechanics I've seen as players must balance food/resource scarcity, and the dangers associated with venturing out of camp. And the red die is ruthless.

1/11/2019

Some of my thoughts on this game are in the BSG review. I love the crossroads cards, I love a lot of the theme. I love how HARD this game is. Having to complete a side objective while also working towards the main objective while ALSO working to not look like a betrayer is difficult to balance, and makes the decisions another layer of difficult. It's brutal, with a 1/12 chance one of your characters will die from doing much of anything of value. If anything, it's so difficult being the betrayer is almost too easy. I really like this game though.

1/11/2019

Extremely tense and thematic zombie apocalypse game that my SO and I love to play, whether with just us 2 or or a group of friends. It's so easy to come back to this game over and over bc the theme is so easy for people to recognize and the gameplay is just so fluid. UPDATE: Gave this copy to my Brother-in-Law who lives a couple of hours away. It's good to know that my games are going to good homes!

1/10/2019

Theme/Art: I love both. The art is really good and the theme very immersive. It surprised me how dark the game is, some crossroads cards are really intense with cruel decisions to make. Production quality: No miniatures (but none needed), all standees and lots of token. The location cards could be thicker, but aside from the it's very good. Replayability: There are many crossroads cards, different personal goals, different team goals, different crises, etc. so replayablity should be no problem. Depth/Difficulty: It takes a bit to explain and to get all of it, but it's not the heaviest game I own. I weight it a 3/5. Strategy: Depending on you being the traitor or now you have to plan your steps. You have to avert crises, achieve your personal goal, and also achieving the team goal. And you have to kill zombies. A lot. Luck: There are dice involved and the crossroads cards are random and you don't know the trigger, but it's not too much dependent on luck for my taste. Dead of Winter is a great game and depending on the mission takes between 30 and 180 minutes to play. I really like the crossroads mechanism and the dark theme and if you like zombies, I recommend getting the game. The only complaint I have is that during short missions one player can be lucky and do all the work while the others can't do much. But that only happened once.

1/10/2019

Dagfinn has this.

1/10/2019

10X10

1/9/2019

This game is always so tense. Can be hard to teach newcomers sometimes, but once they start playing it all clicks into place. We've played so many games where no one wins because it's often so difficult to do your personal objective while not failing the main objective. The cross road cards are great too and we always play them where the person has to make a choice without knowing what the actual reward/consequence is. Love it.

12/24/2018

(7/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 4. I should probably play this again. Just took too long and was too fiddly in retrospect. But happy to be proven wrong!

12/22/2018