At the Gates of Loyang

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (55 Total)

2
24
24
5
0

If only real vegetable farming were this easy! Seems quite a bit more strategic with the Regular Customers. Downside is the AP-ness of trying to be super-efficient (and becoming familiar with the various cards). I actually enjoy this game quite a bit and would like to play it more often. These Rosenberg games have wonderful components and artwork to compliment the great gameplay. Unlike Agricola and Le Havre, there is no mandatory feeding of workers/family. Just plant and harvest vegetables to sell to customers and use the proceeds to buy VPs. Add in some market stalls so you can more easily manipulate what vegetables you have and some Helper cards to change some of the rules and that's pretty much the game.

4/1/2020

Weight: 3.14 / 5

3/18/2020

Haven't managed to get this one to the table. I'm depressed by the prospect of teaching it when there are so many other good, quicker to learn games to teach/play.But, it is a great solo experience.

2/28/2020

Initial rating. Will refine with subsequent plays. UPDATE: This is a brain-burner, for certain. Personally, I frequently find action combinations that solve a problem I have in the game, but only after carefully thinking things through. Whenever I get "stuck" I keep thinking that there's a possibility to reason it out and get "unstuck." This kind of observation leads me to believe that analysis paralysis could develop... hence I would suggest a timer (loosely applied, in this case) for the action phase to speed things along. This is not to say this isn't a FANTASTIC GAME... it really is. It's just that there seems to be creative ways to solve problems in which you find yourself -- something I really like about this. At the Gates of Loyang is different enough from Agricola, but similar enough as well. While this IS a fantastic game, I don't believe that it compares to the heavier Agricola/Le Havre pair of games. It's easy to see how THIS game inspired Agricola (not the other way around, judging from release dates). Not a bad title by any means. I simply PREFER Agricola and Le Havre to this, that's all.

1/10/2020

Quickly becoming me and indigopotter's favorite 2-player go-to game. Agricola is getting a needed break and we will play this sometimes two or three times in a row. Still #3 (after Agricola and Antiquity) but very close.

12/20/2019

Great economic tableau building game. I love harvesting my veggies and planning out how to serve all my customers. This is definitely on the lighter side but it has enough interesting decision making going on to keep our brains engaged.

12/12/2019

We absolutely loved the game and were blown away by how much more complex it was than we were expecting; it’s a real brain melter. The production quality, the cards, the wooden veggies, everything is amazing.

2/14/2019

1-4, 60-120m

1/25/2019

Management of farmed goods, suppliers and customers; very interesting card-drafting mechanic and thought-provoking puzzle-like game play. The scoring is extremely, almost irritatingly tight; most final scores will be within a point or two of each other (if not tied).

1/22/2019

Ever present agony. Sweet game which will give you a nice headache.

1/22/2019

So many vegetables.

1/11/2019

At the Gates of Loyang is the purest refinement of Rosenberg's familiar reap-and-sow mechanic. Players are challenged to create an oiled supply chain to support their growing customer base and expanding fields. The balancing of regular and casual customers introduces an element of prioritization, but from a point generating this distinction often results in a zero-sum benefit. Additionally, the recurring action card draft, though unique, deserved more focus. Loyang has a decent narrative arc, but varies little from game to game. Players first build up their infrastructure, maintain steady production, and finally cash everything out for points. While reap-and-sow is an enjoyable mechanic, Loyang is a bit too long, and could have benefited from brevity.

1/11/2019