Roborally

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (53 Total)

2
10
24
9
7

Chaotic and hilarious. There is no question that this game is very random, but it is a lot of fun. Games can go on far too long. Starting with one Option card has alleviated some time issues, plus it adds to the chaos and fun.

10/25/2019

I recently upgraded this to a 9 from an 8. A few more sessions as fun as the last two and Roborally may become my fourth 10.

10/21/2019

I want to get this to the table more, maybe with house rules and variants.

10/18/2019

Induces analysis paralysis too easily. Hard to always see that the cards you play go the way you wanted them to go.

6/26/2019

I hated this game when played some ten years ago. Went on holiday in March and was asked to pick up a copy. So, begrudgingly we did. Clearly underselling it's fun to the other people who came with us. Well, this was the fun surprise of the week. It was a quick set-up, fun, interactive and the game everyone was reminiscent of the most.

4/12/2019

X

3/28/2019

Own first print & second edition.

3/8/2019

Fun and chaotic. Lots of similarities in the table atmosphere to Space Alert. Which is no surprise, as Space Alert was clearly inspired in parts by this game.

2/16/2019

It's like Logo (that old kid's computer programming language, remember?), only now your turtle is a killer robot, racing towards the final goal. Fun, and easy to get confused due to turns and board interaction (there are things that turn and move you on the board, as well as other robots that can push you around).

2/16/2019

Played this a few times and it just seemed too much like... work.

2/12/2019

The game's strength is it's tactical level. You'll try to use the actions you have available to you to move yourself towards your goal, maybe by riding on a conveyor belt or sitting on a turning platform to save a few actions. You know which actions are going to execute in which order, so once you have your hand of actions, play is entirely determined by your decisions. The exception to this, of course, is if one of the other players makes a move that affects your path. If a bot ends the register (after each robot has executed that order, and after the terrain has triggered) facing another bot, it will be able to attack with a laser. If a bot runs into another bot, it will be able to push the other bot, potentially throwing off the entire rest of the round for that player. This is an interesting aspect, and the only thing that stops it from being a pure race, but whether or not you'll be a RoboBully or a RoboVictim comes down to whether you happen to start the round close to another bot (which usually happens incidentally, as "Destroy all other bots" isn't usually the goal), and whether you get closer to the cards you need than they do (which comes down to pure, dumb luck).

1/21/2019

Likely won't play this again. In terms of programmed moves, I like Maharaja better. But it's also because I suck at the mental manipulations of this game. And it's really chaotic.

1/21/2019

Embrace the chaos. More often than not, an opponent and/or obstacle is going to push/shoot/kill you, and ruin your carefully planned turn, so just throw caution to the wind and don't worry so much about careful planning. Unfortunately, I don't particularly care for such tumultuous affairs and have trouble following my own advice (also, there is this a not-so little game called Mech v Minions, which is far more enjoyable).

1/11/2019

A chaotic, hidden programming game where any attempt by you to control what's going to happen to your robot is really only going to lead to your frustration. So approach this with a lighthearted and laid back nature to really enjoy it.

12/24/2018

(3/17) 6. A fun programming classic that I really enjoy playing though the fact that even the best-formulated plans can go awry can make it a little frustrating and tough to get to the table. (10/17) Drop to 5. Fun, but maybe juuuuuuuust a little too chaotic for me?

12/22/2018