Takenoko

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (120 Total)

1
39
68
9
0

Would like to have this in my collection one day. It hits a similar level as Ticket to Ride, but I can imagine a few people that would be more keen to play this because of the theme.

11/14/2019

GIFTED TO NICOLE: 2018 RECEIVED: 2016

10/18/2019

2-4 Players 45 Minutes

9/30/2019

Silly, cute game that has every right to exist but does nothing to amaze. Bright colors and adorable theme most likely help carry this game, but there's enough here to have a good time. Admittedly unsure where this game fits in my library these days... Carcassonne stands to provide more satisfaction at the same level of complexity -- but I suppose without such a cute theme, which might be good at times?? The bamboo pieces are fun to use.

8/5/2019

A multiplayer game my wife is willing to play with us. When I was offloading a bunch of games this was the only one she was worried I was getting rid of. The art is also gorgeous.

6/26/2019

nice to see, nice to play ........

5/15/2019

One of my favorite gateway games. Even better with a few house rules.

5/14/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/takenoko-2011/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/takenoko-2011-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Excellent family game.

3/6/2019

A bit of a luck fest. Points per card does not seem to match up well to the difficulty of completing the card. Rushing easy cards seems to be the best strategy.

3/5/2019

Kind of shallow, but a great gateway. Fun components.

2/21/2019

2-4 player (best 3) 60 minutes

2/17/2019

Beautiful artwork, fun game, easy to teach, and enjoyable to play. Would play again anytime.

2/14/2019

Only played once, but I enjoyed it. I suspect my rating would go up if I played it more

2/12/2019

This game is absolutely gorgeous! The gameplay is fun, but not deep. My wife and I enjoyed it, but it is still a little over the heads of my kids. When they age into it, I may find myself bringing up my rating.

2/11/2019

2-4, 45m

1/25/2019

Cute, but much deeper than the first look suggests. Had loads of fun playing, a bit heavy on luck-side though :)

1/22/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Cute and pretty looking, but rather sedate. Great for a family experience or when players don't feel like an aggressive game. The advanced variant is almost a necessity, as drawing completed objectives allows too much luck into an otherwise balanced game.

1/11/2019

There's nothing special about this game (outside of the components), but it's still enjoyable and a pretty stress-free experience.

1/11/2019

Great game, but I think we've outgrown some of the simpler mechanics in this one. We've gifted this to my SO's sister because she loved it so much. We know it's in good hands!

1/10/2019

(10/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 5. A solid enough game with some card management and set collecting and really cute pieces. Still, haven't gone back to it since that first play and don't really feel any strong desire to do so.

12/22/2018

Deeper game than the first look shows. I really enjoy this one

12/22/2018