Takenoko

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (235 Total)

2
74
133
18
2

A fun family game. The panda and the gardener quests are good, but the other type of quest (emperor quests I guess) are not balanced at all, do not go for them or yo'll lose!

5/3/2020

One of my first purchases after Splendor. I love the quality of this game, the relative simplicity, and the vibrant color pallete. Some pieces of bamboo don't fit into each other, but it's not really a problem. On a side note, the copy I purchased came with one of the panda's ears broken off. I emailed Bombyx (or Matagot, I can't remember), and they were INCREDIBLY quick to have another sent out to me, free of charge. I was impressed beyond comprehension.

4/14/2020

One of my first purchases after Splendor. I love the quality of this game, the relative simplicity, and the vibrant color pallete. Some pieces of bamboo don't fit into each other, but it's not really a problem. On a side note, the copy I purchased came with one of the panda's ears broken off. I emailed Bombyx (or Matagot, I can't remember), and they were INCREDIBLY quick to have another sent out to me, free of charge. I was impressed beyond comprehension.

4/14/2020

Very cute very light worker placement game with adorable pieces. Family friendly, a little fiddly for that crowd though and a little light for the normal gamer crowd though.It has a place, but I'm not sure what that place is. There are better worker placements out there.

4/1/2020

I love this game from the first round. Really well thought out and the theme is lovely. It's a whole family favorite right next to Sushi Go Party and Kanagawa. Thinking of buying it (I rented a copy from the city library)

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.98 / 5 Traded for Glass RoadSecond copy traded in June US Math Trade

3/18/2020

2-4 players, 30-45 minutes, light medium, territory buildingPlayed two dozen games so far, with two, three and four players. Looks great and plays very easy, so it's easy to learn/teach to new players. My son really likes this, so I guess we'll play this more often

3/18/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

SOLD, June 2017Good with the kids, and with more casual adult gamers. Will be introducing it to some couples in that regard soon.

2/28/2020

Sold on August 5 2018

2/26/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

Great family-friendly gateway action selection game.

2/14/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Not a complicated game, but plenty of strategy. My wife won't play deep complicated games, but she loves this one. She rarely, if ever, loses.

1/26/2020

Entirely tactical and far too dependent on luck, but extremely cute and good for a little fun.

1/26/2020

This was the game that got me into modern board gaming and it will always hold a special place on my shelf. I love the tile laying aspect and the game looks fantastic on the table with all the bamboo sticking off the board. In the end though the strategy is not near as deep as I'd like in a game but this is still a great gateway game and I know my kids as well as newer gamers will enjoy this.

1/25/2020

[b][size=10][BGCOLOR=#f8f8ff]Need 64 Mini Euro Sleeves[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b]

1/25/2020

0.75 xx

1/25/2020

I expected more from this game. The components are awesome. The gameplay is just okay.

1/24/2020

Surprisingly strategic. Very enjoyable game, with a fun theme and good mechanics. Works as well with 2 as it does with 3 or 4. The giant collector's edition is one of my grail games (if I can get someone else to pay for it).

1/2/2020

Cute and fun game. Picked this up for the kiddo to have a family game to grow into.

12/12/2019

Such a charming game. The weather die makes it a bit heavier than I think it needs to be for playing with a casual crowd that it appeals to. Need to try without the die next time. Overall, though, good game.

12/5/2019

Would like to have this in my collection one day. It hits a similar level as Ticket to Ride, but I can imagine a few people that would be more keen to play this because of the theme.

11/14/2019

GIFTED TO NICOLE: 2018 RECEIVED: 2016

10/18/2019

2-4 Players 45 Minutes

9/30/2019

Silly, cute game that has every right to exist but does nothing to amaze. Bright colors and adorable theme most likely help carry this game, but there's enough here to have a good time. Admittedly unsure where this game fits in my library these days... Carcassonne stands to provide more satisfaction at the same level of complexity -- but I suppose without such a cute theme, which might be good at times?? The bamboo pieces are fun to use.

8/5/2019

A multiplayer game my wife is willing to play with us. When I was offloading a bunch of games this was the only one she was worried I was getting rid of. The art is also gorgeous.

6/26/2019

nice to see, nice to play ........

5/15/2019

One of my favorite gateway games. Even better with a few house rules.

5/14/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/takenoko-2011/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/takenoko-2011-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Excellent family game.

3/6/2019

A bit of a luck fest. Points per card does not seem to match up well to the difficulty of completing the card. Rushing easy cards seems to be the best strategy.

3/5/2019

Kind of shallow, but a great gateway. Fun components.

2/21/2019

2-4 player (best 3) 60 minutes

2/17/2019

Beautiful artwork, fun game, easy to teach, and enjoyable to play. Would play again anytime.

2/14/2019

Only played once, but I enjoyed it. I suspect my rating would go up if I played it more

2/12/2019

This game is absolutely gorgeous! The gameplay is fun, but not deep. My wife and I enjoyed it, but it is still a little over the heads of my kids. When they age into it, I may find myself bringing up my rating.

2/11/2019

2-4, 45m

1/25/2019

Cute, but much deeper than the first look suggests. Had loads of fun playing, a bit heavy on luck-side though :)

1/22/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Cute and pretty looking, but rather sedate. Great for a family experience or when players don't feel like an aggressive game. The advanced variant is almost a necessity, as drawing completed objectives allows too much luck into an otherwise balanced game.

1/11/2019

There's nothing special about this game (outside of the components), but it's still enjoyable and a pretty stress-free experience.

1/11/2019

Great game, but I think we've outgrown some of the simpler mechanics in this one. We've gifted this to my SO's sister because she loved it so much. We know it's in good hands!

1/10/2019

(10/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 5. A solid enough game with some card management and set collecting and really cute pieces. Still, haven't gone back to it since that first play and don't really feel any strong desire to do so.

12/22/2018

Deeper game than the first look shows. I really enjoy this one

12/22/2018