Le Havre

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (101 Total)

4
53
34
10
0

Gift from my BGG Secret Santa 2015! Tristan 143

2/2/2020

The time investment can be great, if you're playing with any AP folks, but enjoyable.

1/26/2020

Makes your head hurt, but in a good way. Long, but time flies. Complex, but everything clicks soon. So it's very good--but very good despite hurdles is still only a qualified excellence. Time will tell. [EDIT] And it seems to have told me that Le Havre is too long and repetitive for its own good. There appears to be one dominant strategy, that of shipping coke, so every ~3 hour game feels the same. As for solo, I'm not sure how it compares to Agricola. Agricola works solo largely because of the cards, whereas the only variability in Le Havre is in the order of the buildings and which specials come up. I doubt that will be enough to hold interest.

1/26/2020

3

1/25/2020

Setup is rough and this game can be unforgiving. But it's pretty fun.

1/25/2020

This is a newcomer, having only hit the tables a few times. Too deep for the kids -- INITIALLY. This will change, as they are asking a million questions. They certainly pick things up fast. It's possible this will rate higher, but for now it's an 8... and solidly there. Nice game, if a little on the long side. UPDATE: The nine year-old played through about half of the two player game (not the short version). He loved it. This will see table-time again. UPDATE 2: Le Havre and Agricola are two of our family's favorite games. UPDATE 3: My only gripe with Le Havre is that it's LONG with more than... one. Still, a wonderful game.

1/10/2020

There is so much to do but time and resources are scarce. Decisions must be optimized which means new players are at a significant disadvantage. A leader can be identified well before game end and there is little than can be done to catch up.

1/7/2020

It's a good game, but like Imperial lasts to long. I might find that the shortened (easier) version more to my liking now that I know what's going on. Playing only with others that know what they're doing will probably bring down the time, that may mean I enjoy it more as well.

1/3/2020

I like this a lot more than indigopotter does.

12/20/2019

It's an Uwe resource management game. What's not to love?

12/12/2019

mm on hold

11/12/2019

Fantastic game. Every turn has a meaningful decision to make. Turns are usually short. Short term goals are balanced with long term strategies. Very tactical, which is the way that I like games. The choices are tough because there are so many good things available every turn. The only bad part is that the game can get a little too long, specially with inexperienced players as they learn what all the buildings do. INCLUDED: Le Havre: Le Grand Hameau

10/25/2019

With [thing=65996][/thing]

10/20/2019

entretenido mucha lectura de cartas.

7/19/2019

Sleeved

3/1/2019

I am awful at this game but it is a lot of fun. Lots of long and short term planning culminates into a frantic end game, similar to Agricola.

2/16/2019

An amazing resource conversion game with loads of agonizing decisions—my gaming partner excels at resource conversion games. We were so engrossed we didn’t realize how long the game took to play—and that’s a positive. Production quality was okay and the illustrations were pretty good too, though clearly earlier work by Klemens Franz.

2/14/2019

An amazing resource conversion game with loads of agonizing decisions—my gaming partner excels at resource conversion games. We were so engrossed we didn’t realize how long the game took to play—and that’s a positive. Production quality was okay and the illustrations were pretty good too, though clearly earlier work by Klemens Franz.

2/14/2019

1-5, 150m

1/25/2019

It really puzzles me why people think this game is so great.

1/23/2019

Racing to be the most successful (i.e. richest) shipping magnate in Le Havre, France. Many paths to take to making the most money (i.e. points), and it's not about scarcity as much as it is about wealth. I find the game is a little too long, and after several plays it doesn't quite have the variety of experience I was hoping for. The length of the game is reduced in the iPad version, and matters less anyway, as you can play asynchronously.

1/22/2019

Played the physical copy for the first time and I like the iOS implementation better. Used to be on my wishlist, but might take it off due to the seemingly dominant strategy of taking out loans.

1/22/2019

I think this is an excellent "game experience".

1/21/2019