Seasons

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (115 Total)

2
44
59
7
1

If you are interested in setting up wild card combos to try to maximize your score every turn, with a little bit of drafting for a base each turn, then this is your game.It was okay, but it gets to a point where the dice don't matter at all, and it's all about what you have out in front of you each turn, which after a while makes it kind of fiddly trying to keep up with all the interactions. It's just not for me I guess.

4/1/2020

The game seems interesting, playing it was fun, though a bit hectic, a lot of luck seems to be in the cards you manage to get and it takes effort to keep an eye on that you don't miss a point from here or there. The artwork is nice, but the scoring board and tracks should be bigger and while at it, the wooden cube isn't the best counter here. Rating given after first play.

3/24/2020

Liking this one more and more after a few online plays. It does take a few games to really grok it, though. Also, I think best as a 2-player game.SOLD March, 2015: Never could get this to the table, and Chad owns it anyway. If I ever do play again, it would be with him, but I think it will be rare if we choose to play: the cards take a few games to learn and are not so intuitive to use. And I can play online if I really get the urge.

2/28/2020

A great card game with some dice for randomization. Noticeably similar to MTG in a few respects but stands on its own very well.

2/28/2020

Surprisingly good! I was concerned it was going to be too overlong, but gameplay was certainly engaging enough. The decisions are mostly front-loaded on the draft, which is unfortunate--your choices after you draft your cards aren't always as consequential as you drafting decisions--but this was awfully fun nonetheless. [EDIT] Yeah, there are too many good drafting games now. Seasons can't hold its own.

1/26/2020

Seasons has great artwork, chunky dice, and card drafting (one of my favorite mechanisms). I really enjoyed this game with my first few plays while I was learning the cards and combos. In fact I would say this game is fantastic during the first 10 or so plays while you are discovering everything. What I've found is that there's not near as much engine building as I had hoped and the deck can get pretty diluted especially with expansions. But my main beef is the BOOKKEEPING!!! You will feel like an accountant after playing a game of Seasons. Between dealing with all the card interactions, managing your summoning gauge, managing your energy, keeping up with all the point tracking on that terrible terrible scoreboard you will feel like you're working instead of playing a game sometimes. I really think this game is much better suited in an app form. Also, the game can get pretty mean which will turn off some people considering there's not much interaction in the game except for those few "mean" cards. Those "mean" cards can really cause frustration for some. Despite all this I think there's a good game here with unique and interesting mechanics but I'm finding it hard to bring to the table when games like 51st State and Race for the Galaxy exist.

1/25/2020

Absolutely love this. It's got a great theme, clear mechanics and a lot of variation. Can't wait to play more.

1/25/2020

2-4p Sleeves All expansions in box Upgraded element tokens

1/24/2020

I resisted playing this game for so long and I now regret it. This is a phenomenal game with loads of good decisions to make and engines to build.

1/24/2020

Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #100 also Ryan Metzler thinks it is good dice building great 2-player game

1/20/2020

MM Ding and dent $20. side were a little warped

1/12/2020

Always different, always interesting... The Dummbot's Challenge solo variant is brilliant (Mage Level or higher), if you can't get this to the table with others often enough. It's relatively fast with four, even, and offers many different strategies. The drafting segment of the game is very important. An excellent balance of working with what you have and some luck to supplement your strategy.

1/10/2020

I love this game! I wish I played it more often. It is the type of game that requires players to be fairly well-versed in the rules and cards available. I haven't even scratched the surface with the expansions because my wife doesn't enjoy games like this one. One day...

1/4/2020

The wife hated this. Didn't like how long it took to build up exciting combos. Cards seemed to lack any sort of interaction or were way too harsh. The artwork and components are beautiful though.

12/12/2019

Very clever game. The dice create variety from game to game and the cards create variety from game to game. Without knowledge of the cards, there is a lot of reading. I enjoy dice drafting and engine building, so this game works for me. INCLUDED: Seasons: Enchanted Kingdom

10/25/2019

First couple games were fun. Then the game started feeling a bit Munchkin like in its length.

6/26/2019

Both Lauraine and I, enjoyed playing this as its different enough to other games we already own. Most post here suggest its best as a two player game and that will suite us just fine. The aim of the game is to collect crystals, using a combination of dice rolls and card drafting.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/seasons-2012/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/seasons-2012-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

signed. First released copy. Grand prize won in BGG contest.

3/8/2019

My wife's favorite game. I think its a bit fiddly, but I still enjoy it. Love the drafting mechanic.

2/21/2019

Great as a 2-player game. With 3 it is good as long as the players can trust each other and you can more or less take simultaneous turns. The cards in this game just interact in so many interesting ways. I can see playing this quite a few times without tiring of it. This game is all about the draft. Picking the cards and then seeing how you work with them, and refining that process. It's fantastic.

2/16/2019

Very fun game, components are out of this world excellent. Wife loves this game. Will be playing it again soon.

2/14/2019

2-4, 60m

1/25/2019

A unique dice-drafting mechanic gives each player a different combination of actions in every round, which they can use to gather energy, crystals, and artifact cards to become the top wizard in all the land. Easy to learn and easy to teach. Seasons is a good game, but with a better set of cards, it could be a great game. Each card provides the controller with some sort of special ability, and there are combinations of cards that nearly eliminate the need for energy (resources), or combinations that severely restrict other players' abilities to play cards or abilities, which severely restricts their ability to actually enjoy the game. There is also an issue where some cards pay off over time, while others have abilities that don't matter when you get them. These problems would be fairly minor if the only cards you received were the ones that you chose in the draft at the beginning of the game, but there is also the possibility of gaining cards throughout the game, making it fairly common for one player to get hindered by drawing cards in the wrong order, or for a player to assemble a ridiculous combo without anyone being able to do anything about it. It doesn't always happen, but when it does the game can be miserable. The components in this game are amazing. The art is good, though I'm not a fan of the anime-like aesthetic, the dice are chunky, the cardboard counters are thick, and the box insert has a place for everything, even after the cards are sleeved,

1/21/2019

It looks great, and offers a very enjoyable 2-player experience. - The drafting phase at the beginning is key to winning. This places players with less knowledge about the cards and combinations at a significant disadvantage. - Some events (end of round, end of season) are easy to forget. It is managable at 2P, but can imagine this would be an issue at higher player counts. - The scoring (crystal) track is a bit fiddly.

1/21/2019

Each of Seasons' mechanics I like well enough on their own. Dice-drafting, card combos and the like are fun, but when combined for this game are lesser than the sum of their parts. The initial card-draft and assignment to the different years, while strategically pivotal, makes the remainder of the game scripted and less interesting. The numerous variants and cards will keep each play distinct, but as a whole Seasons fail to create a game worthy of so many sessions.

1/11/2019

Card drafting game that seems a little more complicated than Fairy Tale. Wanted to play Fairy Tale before investing in this game, but I heard that it plays with 2 so much better. My SO doesn't seem to be too enamored with this one, so I think we'll give it a few more plays then see if anyone wants it in a trade.

1/10/2019

(7/16) 8. (10/17) 8. A really great game that I always have this weird feeling that I won't enjoy as much as I always end up enjoying it after a game.

12/22/2018