Chinatown

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (52 Total)

4
25
19
3
0

Super Stressful! Great negotiation game and really puts you in the situation of buying and selling and trying to expand business. Great fast pace negotiation game. 2016-06-27 Ok, so after playing this game again. I found this game to be just absolutely great! It can be a bit of a brain burner when trying to find out proper negotiations, and when will be the best time to make buildings. I also love that sometimes the best trades aren't for locations or things to help you, but something to help you trade with someone else later on. 2018-03-22

1/31/2020

I like trading games, but this one is random at the beginning and quickly stagnates near the midgame--everyone knows what the expected return will be, so everything gets pretty dull and mathy.

1/26/2020

Fun open-ended trading game. Super easy to teach. This is my go-to game for entertaining non-gamers while I play something I actually want to play.

1/25/2020

Really enjoyed this game whenever we've played it at a friend's house. Throw out Monopoly and buy this instead.

1/24/2020

by sky

One play (4p).

1/11/2020

To win without negotiation requires a LOT of luck. Negotiation and bargaining skill -- aided by a sense of what something is REALLY worth in game terms -- is a requirement for winning using skill. Aside from Diplomacy, not many games do this as well as this one does.

1/10/2020

With the right group of people, it's near perfection for a negotiation game Filosofia edition for trade

1/4/2020

Seems to be a mix of luck and negotiation, neither of which I'd have expected to enjoy in a game but this is fun for me. It's a good idea to actually work through what the relative benefits are of any transaction, and don't be generous unless you think it will help in another deal later on.

1/3/2020

Not my sort of game.

12/24/2019

bgg

11/12/2019

Best: 4-5 Time: 60 Min Weight: 2.29

10/17/2019

The best pure negotiation game. Everyone will leave the table feeling brilliant. I have never had a bad session of this.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/chinatown-1999/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/chinatown-1999-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Chinatown is a super fabulous game about the bare essence of business and negotiation. Chinatown is a prime example of the technical term of "game theory" and waging the decision making questions: What happens if I take this action or make this offer, then what are the consequence? How will the other player react? Chinatown is a great game of the high mindedness of negotiation. Warning: do not play with "sensitive" players that could easily feel cheated during the negotiation play. As of this commentary, the game is not in stock, but is expected to be in print in 2018. Check the publishers website. Beware of the high prices and fakes in the secondary market.

2/15/2019

by klz

Pretty decent trading game with a crowd who likes to trade quickly and freely. If any players analyze the trades too heavily, though, it can fall flat.

1/22/2019

Only one play but I like it very much. Lots of wheelin' and dealin' and I like it better than Traders of Genoa. I am not good at negotiation but I do enjoy it. This game manages to pack the negotiation wallop into a nice 60-75 minute game that is loads of fun. 2016-07-05 - Bought Amazon 2016-07-23 - Rating 7 -> 8; it *really* needs the right crowd. 2016-08-21 - My 9yo nephew loves this game; 8 -> 8.5

1/21/2019

So much wheeling and dealing. A great little negotiation game with no rules.

1/15/2019

A notable exception to my dislike for negotiation-heavy games. Chinatown is the game I desperately wanted Monopoly to be; a mix of chance, positioning, and bartering. The negotiation side of things is prone to math-iness, since players can more or less figure out the value of another properties, which is my biggest complaint. Chinatown doesn't have anything revolutionary in the box, but its a near bulls-eye.

1/11/2019