Camel Up

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (93 Total)

1
27
53
12
0

Great little family game with some real stand up and cheer moments. The score is somewhat luck based, but it's a short game about racing camels, so that's OK.

10/25/2019

For some quick dice-driven luck, I haven't experienced a game this fun since Manila. Camel Up is not going to blow your mind. It is not going to make you think. But, by letting go of pretensions, I have seen tables shouting with joy and groaning in dismay, which is a pretty fantastic feat for a game about camel meeples being pushed around a square space. What makes the game? The "dice pyramid"! There's something about seeing the dice pop out of that pyramid that is so much more exciting than just chucking dice. Update: I dropped the score after being over-exposed to this one. The game's betting mechanic offers diminishing returns but I'll still play it once in a while if requested.

10/18/2019

This is a rough game to categorize. It definitely has it's place. The problem is that when you try to play this game out of it's place, it's really bad. It's not a game to play with any serious tones at all. No one will have fun if anyone is taking the game too seriously. For me, the perfect place for this game is with some kids or people not looking to deep dive into a game at all. In that spot, it works pretty well. The game does take a bit too long for what it is though. It says 20-30 minutes, and I'd say it's closer to 30 minutes, which is too long. I think 15 minutes would be about perfect for this game. All in all, it's not a bad game to have in a collection, but I wouldn't say it's a "must have".

10/17/2019

Alex owns.

8/5/2019

Camels and bidding, what more can you ask for.

6/26/2019

This game is a blast with group! The simple actions make teaching a breeze and the randomness of the gameplay keeps players engaged until the very end. I highly recommend this as a party game staple!

6/19/2019

Pure, joyous fun. With the right crowd, few games can top the experience this game exudes.

4/11/2019

Excellent family game. Everyone loves it, and the betting aspect keeps my interest. Big upsets and major underdog victories make this quite fun. The rules are accessible to kids (with a bit of parental help)

3/6/2019

Game seems hard to learn (several types of begs) for how automatic it seems. I guess whoever played the game most wins?

3/5/2019

2-8 players (best 4-5) 20-30 minutes

2/17/2019

A fun, light family game. Very luck dependent and very different from our standard fair. The dice dropping pyramid is really fun and the wooden camel meeples are much bigger than we expected.

2/14/2019

The movement mechanics are unique and fun to adapt to, and lead to very swingy gameplay, which in a betting game is great. However, anyone with an understanding of probability will simply take actions with the highest expected value, and sit back and see how the game pans out. And due to the limited actions and scoring methods in the game, determining the optimal move is very easy. This is much more of a show than a game, but its a decent show.

1/11/2019

$39.99 23-May-16 Happy Birthday to Me!

1/10/2019

(7/16) 6. Game tends to go over pretty darn well with new player and I do like it, it's very unique and clever...I just don't think I'm super excited to play it very soon again. Reddit Trade (9/17) Drop to 5. A well made, beautiful game that I'm just a little indifferent to.

12/22/2018

Feels a little dry and mechanical to start with, but the tension is quite gripping in the final round. It's a quick little game (30 mins with 5 players). I would definitely play again.

12/19/2018