Haggis

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (30 Total)

1
8
14
4
1

Inevitable to be compared to Tichu. Missing the card passing mechanic, and bombs are seen much more frequently. Worth owning and playing as a climbing game that works well with 2 and 3 players. Lacking the stress of not wanting to let down your partner that Tichu offers. Other than that, it works very well as an alternative when 4 players aren't available. On the plus side, it plays quicker and doesn't overstay its welcome.

4/1/2020

Unique (for me) card game, but I suck at it. Fun to play if I'm up against players of equal experience, but it's a beat-down to play veteran opponents.

2/28/2020

I think I like climbing games more in theory than in practice. This struck me as a little too repetitive, a little too incremental, and as a result a little boring. [EDIT] Ugh, I can't for the life of me grok this game. I take it as my fault rather than the game's, but a rating is what it is.

1/26/2020

TRADED AWAY Not as engaging as I had hoped. Too difficult to teach new people when there are so many better games to play. At least it's portable.

10/25/2019

Nice trick-taking game. I like it better with 2.

2/16/2019

From Ashley's first book. Not a bad game, but she didn't enjoy it.

2/11/2019

Growing up playing Gin, Hearts, and Euchre, I'm glad to have discovered the family of climbing games, even if I am very late to the party. A 2p game will be easier to spread, and there is hope that Tichu may be in my future because of Haggis.

1/23/2019

Similar to Tichu, but for two players. More tactical than Tichu; we have a lot of experience with that game and can plan most of what we will do with during a hand just by looking at the cards. Haggis calls for more adaptability during play. More strategic than Tichu; only two players, so play is more predictable, and both players have three powerful wild cards available, but their existence and usage is open information, resulting in a chess-like feel.

1/22/2019

In most ladder climbing games, it makes strategical sense to play weak cards early and 'climb' from there, but in Haggis, players are confined to one exact set-type each round, which I find very restrictive and dull. Instead of climbing, it feels as though players descend the ladder, which leaves the game feeling flat rather than having an escalating sense of tension.

1/11/2019