Terra Mystica

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (73 Total)

10
37
20
5
1

Tried playing this with two different groups. I am not sure if it was the game or the groups, but I did not have fun either time. I really feel like I should love this game. I may have to see if I can play it in a non-convention setting with people I know.

6/26/2019

Rating after 1 play : 7.5 enjoyed this, even though I hadn't fully appreciated the mechanics until after a round or two. Would like to play again.

4/12/2019

_

3/28/2019

very complicated but also fun.

3/11/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (10.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (8.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: PURE SKILLS (9.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (5.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (8.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (7.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (8.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (9.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (9.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (7.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (6.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 425.0/50 =8.50[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Highly interactive, very tight map can lead to a lot of "f**k you" moments. ++ Every faction is unique and requires it's own strategy. ++ Wood components are fantastic. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Some of the rules are not intuitive for new players, the teach can take some time. -- Opening strategies for the factions are fairly rote. -- Theme is uninteresting.

3/1/2019

on ipad

2/18/2019

Amazing euro with beautiful components. Just the right amount of player interaction. My only complaint is that the cult track feels really tacked on.

2/16/2019

I like the depth of the decisions while it still feels very fluently. More than interested to play in different player and faction configurations.

1/27/2019

2-5, 100m

1/25/2019

I've only played with 2p, but it was very well designed, and a definite brain burner.

1/22/2019

2016-10-16 - Bought BoardGameWarriors 2018-07-02 - Sold CG

1/21/2019

Not the most interesting euro. Quite a dry point grab but the strategic depth is there. Many games feel quite similar with the only differences being which building you build in later rounds, and which tiles you expand to, the later difference being mostly irrelevant.

1/15/2019

The only bad thing about this game is that it is hard to get people to play it as it looks intimidating.

1/12/2019

There is a lot going on in Terra Mystica, a lot of which, at first glance, my appear unnecessary, but upon playing everything falls into place. There is much to do and much to consider in this game, and several actions have a delicious give-and-take. My big complaint is that the game has a tendency to drag players through it, via round bonuses, rather than giving them the freedom to explore. Everything else though is top-notch, and I appreciate the asymmetry between the races and terrain types.

1/11/2019

Unnecessarily dense, with no payoff. In euros I prefer elegant design and this is the opposite of that. Mechanically does nothing exciting.

1/11/2019

Theme/Art: The theme is great and immersive with the landscape shifting, every factions looks and plays unique. However, I'm not a big fan of the art style, but that may just be my taste. Production quality/Design: No miniatures, but none needed since it's a eurogame. High quality wooden meeples and token, as well as a big board and cardboard pieces. Everything feels and plays high quality. No cards. The design is amazing, ones you know how to play you can see what everything does with only one look due to very simple symbols. Replayability: The base game comes with 14 different races, each with its own abilities, so there is a ton of replayability. Also every game is different, because the bonuses for each of the 6 rounds are different everytime. Depth/Difficulty: It takes quite a while to explain to a new player (~1 hour) and you have to think of a ton of things during the game and plan ahead. I wouldn't say that the game is difficult, the mechanics are very easy to understand and also make sense, but there are many many mechanics and many options each turn. I weight it 4/5. Strategy: Strategy is everything here. There is no combat, so you can plan ahead comfortably (as long as other players don't build in your way). Also every race has to be played with different strategies. Luck: There is next to no luck in this game. The only random factor are the round bonus tiles, which are determined at the start of the game, so you can plan ahead. And you have to hope others don't destroy your plans by building on a tile you wanted. If the players know the game it takes about 30 minutes per player, but it can easily take longer. Terra Mystica takes about 30 minutes to teach to new players. Amazing game with insane replayability.

1/10/2019

(11/17) 8. Finally got a chance to play this highly regarded game and it'd didn't disappoint, and I was very pleasantly surprised by how well I felt like I took to it in my first game. I can see so many different styles of play to explore based on the different races so I'm looking forward to running it back soon!

12/22/2018