Terra Mystica

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (175 Total)

18
99
46
10
1

Fun game - maybe slightly dated.+ Races are all different and easy to learn.+ Rules are easier than the weighting suggests. - Buildings seem like left over Catan pieces

4/1/2020

APP ONLY

3/24/2020

You can see why this a classic: no hidden information, perfect strategy game with variable player powers.For this kind of game, I prefer much more Clans of Caledonia, wich was inspired in great part by Terra Mystics - it scratches the same itch, but plays faster and it's more streamlined.

3/24/2020

Recommended for 2-5 players, best with 4. 60-150 minutes, heavyPlayed two games to get to know the game, and on one hand I can see why people like this so much, on the other hand I'm not sure this will be played a lot as we usually play with 2. As you need to be close to other players, more players would be better than just two. This also depends on your race of course.Have found a good online platform to play this. Although poor graphics, gameplay is quite alright.

3/18/2020

2-5

3/7/2020

Had to buy the app on iPhone to understand this game before I broke it out for my group. Took a really long time to play. I'd play it again, but half of my group has no desire to replay it.

3/5/2020

by paka

Really liked it. Start was really bumpy and I was really just waiting for the end of it. At one point is suddenly all clicked and it was fun and tense from that point on. All the diffrent races and possibilities just intrigue me even more. If it were cheaper it would probably be at my shelf already.

2/25/2020

WOW! The elegance, the strategy, the iconography!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!/ I can see how the Gai Project makes objective improvements in functional and graphic design. Unfortunatly I just cant handle the janky art. Looking forward to the next in the terra mystica series.

1/26/2020

A lot of calculations for not a lot of progress. Sure, the different races change the variables involved in said calculations, but in the end it's the same. I prefer a game where you can build an engine that really sings, and/or you feel like you've accomplished something substantial at the end. Well-designed, but short of truly exceptional. [EDIT] Yeah, a little too scripted, a little too unbalanced, a little too long.

1/26/2020

2.5 xx

1/25/2020

Highly complex Euro with constantly fascinating decisions. It's competitive but not aggressive. I rarely give 10's, but this game is fantastic and I genuinely believe I'll always love it. TM vs Gaia: Get TM if you want something a bit tighter with fewer options. Get Gaia if you want more ability to chain moves together in interesting ways. I personally prefer Gaia, but they're similar enough that it's just a small matter of preference. (Also TM supports 5 players, and Gaia supports 1 player.)

1/25/2020

2-5p All contents in base game box.

1/24/2020

Didn't love it.

1/24/2020

MM Ding and Dent $40

1/12/2020

I know how this works, I've even explained it to others on a couple of occasions. I do not however manage to plan my turns in a way that leaves me with a competitive score at game end. More experience will no doubt serve to give me a better understanding, but if I want to play something heavy and involved I will much prefer Agricola. There's a choice of seven actions (and an eighth which is pass) each time the round comes back to you. Even with a couple usually being safely ignored working out what is best seems beyond me.

1/3/2020

A solid game, but not as good as its ranking would suggest. Maybe the most overrated game I've played.

12/20/2019

One of my new favorites.

12/20/2019

Love this game. Once you get going it all is very intuitive. It has a lot of complexity. July 2019 $48

12/14/2019

Love the variety and versatility of this game. There are so many different factions to play with and they all play differently. There is nearly no luck involved in playing this game. Doesn't play great with two players so we play two factions each to keep things interactive.

12/12/2019

Having played Gaia Project first, this game hit all the same notes, but didn't quite seem as refined, nor did the theme engage me as much. Still great.

12/11/2019

Heavy Euro, no luck and with the expansion and promo pack, extremely well balanced. Made for hardcore gamers. Plenty of rules to memorize. Many different asymmetrical factions to play offering much replayability. Better player almost always wins. Only complaint is that sometimes the choosing of the starting locations, in the eyes of veterans, may already decide the game if no one makes any silly mistakes or arbitrary choices. Also once experienced, play patterns become quite common and almost textbook(like in chess openings).

11/15/2019

Great game! Fun decisions and different factions with different feels. INCLUDED: Terra Mystica: Fire & Ice

10/25/2019

With [thing=161317][/thing]

10/20/2019

Tried playing this with two different groups. I am not sure if it was the game or the groups, but I did not have fun either time. I really feel like I should love this game. I may have to see if I can play it in a non-convention setting with people I know.

6/26/2019

Rating after 1 play : 7.5 enjoyed this, even though I hadn't fully appreciated the mechanics until after a round or two. Would like to play again.

4/12/2019

_

3/28/2019

very complicated but also fun.

3/11/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (10.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (8.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: PURE SKILLS (9.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (5.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (8.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (7.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (8.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (9.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (9.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (7.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (6.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 425.0/50 =8.50[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Highly interactive, very tight map can lead to a lot of "f**k you" moments. ++ Every faction is unique and requires it's own strategy. ++ Wood components are fantastic. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Some of the rules are not intuitive for new players, the teach can take some time. -- Opening strategies for the factions are fairly rote. -- Theme is uninteresting.

3/1/2019

on ipad

2/18/2019

Amazing euro with beautiful components. Just the right amount of player interaction. My only complaint is that the cult track feels really tacked on.

2/16/2019

I like the depth of the decisions while it still feels very fluently. More than interested to play in different player and faction configurations.

1/27/2019

2-5, 100m

1/25/2019

I've only played with 2p, but it was very well designed, and a definite brain burner.

1/22/2019

2016-10-16 - Bought BoardGameWarriors 2018-07-02 - Sold CG

1/21/2019

Not the most interesting euro. Quite a dry point grab but the strategic depth is there. Many games feel quite similar with the only differences being which building you build in later rounds, and which tiles you expand to, the later difference being mostly irrelevant.

1/15/2019

The only bad thing about this game is that it is hard to get people to play it as it looks intimidating.

1/12/2019

There is a lot going on in Terra Mystica, a lot of which, at first glance, my appear unnecessary, but upon playing everything falls into place. There is much to do and much to consider in this game, and several actions have a delicious give-and-take. My big complaint is that the game has a tendency to drag players through it, via round bonuses, rather than giving them the freedom to explore. Everything else though is top-notch, and I appreciate the asymmetry between the races and terrain types.

1/11/2019

Unnecessarily dense, with no payoff. In euros I prefer elegant design and this is the opposite of that. Mechanically does nothing exciting.

1/11/2019

Theme/Art: The theme is great and immersive with the landscape shifting, every factions looks and plays unique. However, I'm not a big fan of the art style, but that may just be my taste. Production quality/Design: No miniatures, but none needed since it's a eurogame. High quality wooden meeples and token, as well as a big board and cardboard pieces. Everything feels and plays high quality. No cards. The design is amazing, ones you know how to play you can see what everything does with only one look due to very simple symbols. Replayability: The base game comes with 14 different races, each with its own abilities, so there is a ton of replayability. Also every game is different, because the bonuses for each of the 6 rounds are different everytime. Depth/Difficulty: It takes quite a while to explain to a new player (~1 hour) and you have to think of a ton of things during the game and plan ahead. I wouldn't say that the game is difficult, the mechanics are very easy to understand and also make sense, but there are many many mechanics and many options each turn. I weight it 4/5. Strategy: Strategy is everything here. There is no combat, so you can plan ahead comfortably (as long as other players don't build in your way). Also every race has to be played with different strategies. Luck: There is next to no luck in this game. The only random factor are the round bonus tiles, which are determined at the start of the game, so you can plan ahead. And you have to hope others don't destroy your plans by building on a tile you wanted. If the players know the game it takes about 30 minutes per player, but it can easily take longer. Terra Mystica takes about 30 minutes to teach to new players. Amazing game with insane replayability.

1/10/2019

(11/17) 8. Finally got a chance to play this highly regarded game and it'd didn't disappoint, and I was very pleasantly surprised by how well I felt like I took to it in my first game. I can see so many different styles of play to explore based on the different races so I'm looking forward to running it back soon!

12/22/2018