Brass: Lancashire

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (88 Total)

5
54
26
3
0

Had so much fun. But Tough to know how many other situation (non heavy game group) would work as well.

1/26/2020

It's heretical, I know, but I prefer Age of Industry. I do not find Brass' fiddly and cumbersome bits (the most salient and obtuse of which is clearly Birkenhead, but it is by no means lone) to add significantly to the decision space or to the enjoyment of play.

1/26/2020

This may possibly be a better game than Age of Steam. Not sure yet though... the board is a mess and a nightmare that might be laid out a bit better, but that doesn't mean the game underlying that physical design isn't wonderful. I will need more plays of this to get a handle on this more clearly. Update: This game has been one of the harder to "grok", but the more layers I reveal, the more I realize there is to come. Simply brilliant.

1/10/2020

Complex rules can be tough to remember, especially if not played frequently, also can be a challenge to teach. Extremely deep strategy with enjoyable mechanics and nice presentation. Lacks a catch up mechanism.

1/7/2020

I think I like it even better than Age of Steam... 2009/09 update: Although the mechanics are better, the game itself is harder to explain.

1/4/2020

Only the one play, with a group of others that hadn't played much (or at all). Seemed like an efficiency game which means that if I played more I'd probably enjoy it.

1/3/2020

This game challenges you. It is difficult to grasp. Both teaching and learning the game systems is demanding. The network of interlocking decisions can seem opaque at first. But as you build experience with the game, it starts to make more and more internal sense. I find this game very immersive. I do ocassionally win, but often I fall short. I like the battle against the game itself as well as the other players. I expect that I will always love this game.

12/24/2019

Beautiful game with such tight economic conditions. Excited to play Birmingham sometime.

11/3/2019

This game is Martin Wallace at his best. What PoR does for a themey conflict game, Brass does for economic game. Thankfully, the online engine allows for many plays - otherwise I would be sadly thinking about how I could get my friends to play this one.

8/31/2019

I really tried to not like this, as the designer is on my list of people not to do business with. But I just can't help but like the game. Between the theme and the implementation of the mechanics it is a really fun game.

6/26/2019

7.5 After first play. Euro game with lots of strategies for players to take. Elements of luck as the cards picked can determine your options possibly more than they should, but perhaps its down to the player to make the best of the situation. Would like to play again. 18/5/2014 - rating changed to 8 after 2nd play. Yes there are fiddly scoring rules but the gameplay is engaging.

4/12/2019

Original printing.

3/11/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (10.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY FUN (10.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (9.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (9.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: PURE SKILLS (10.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (8.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (7.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (7.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (9.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: GORGEOUS (10.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 467/50 = 9.34[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Roxley Repring is gorgeous. ++ Rules are easy to learn, hard to master. Lots of tactical and strategic depth. ++ Tense interction between the players. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- The theme is forgettable, as per usual with euro games. -- Nothing else.

3/1/2019

Quite heavy and generally interesting, but it really feels dated and bland.

2/16/2019

Masterful economic game of interconnected supply/demand systems. It's status as an all-time classic is well-earned, and it's one the great tactics-meets-strategy economic games. Trade notes: Edition for trade is the Eagle Gryphon edition. It is in excellent condition and includes a two-sided board with the 2p variant board.

1/23/2019

After first play I love the subtle interaction and thinkyness of this game. Simple mechanics but a lot of strategy. Love the balance between tactics and long term strategy. Game is moving up after play two.

1/23/2019

A bit too dry for me. The game play is also a bit counter intuitive.

1/22/2019

The vast majority of my games are PBEM. All my [url=http://brass.orderofthehammer.com/oldgames.php?UserID=1259]PBEM games are here[/url]. 2009-02-10 - Bought 2009-09-07 - 1st play; only until the end of canal period. 2009-09-13 - 2nd play; more rules bungles but made it to the end! Excellent game. Very much exactly the kind of game I want to play! 2009-09-19 - "Speed Brass" started at 10:30pm and finished at 12:30 am. A few more rules errors but loads of fun 2009-09-23 - Got 98% of the rules down pat. Excellent game. Love it! 2017-07-16 - Sold old version river market 2018-08-07 - Arrived; Kickstarter version + Iron Clay fillout

1/21/2019

Brass: Lancashire is obviously a strong design. The economy is dynamic and facilitates meaningful player interaction. There are various strategies to employ, but the 'fork in the road' comes far too early, and players risk being pigeon-holed by the quarter-mark. Additionally, unlike its sequel, Brass: Birmingham, where the final board state can vary drastically between plays, Lanchashire seems to develop in a repetitive arc, with players competing to secure a bigger piece of the end-state, rather than crafting the end-state. I respect the original, but will prefer the successor.

1/11/2019

(10/17) 7. This type of game is right up my alley. Card driven, area control, engine building. Love everything about it. Looking forward to the suped-up reprint.

12/22/2018