High Society

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (45 Total)

0
16
23
3
1

Tablet app, not physical boardgame

11/14/2019

CSI otw

11/12/2019

Excellent filler. Good tension when few red cards remain. Valuation is nicely difficult. Plays fast.

10/25/2019

I enjoy that you have to be mindful of the money you have in hand as well as the number of high society cards you win. The bidding mechanic on the misfortune cards also adds an interesting layer to what For Sale! provides. Would like to get in a few more plays.

10/23/2019

I enjoy that you have to be mindful of the money you have in hand as well as the number of high society cards you win. The bidding mechanic on the misfortune cards also adds an interesting layer to what For Sale! provides. Would like to get in a few more plays.

10/23/2019

No Review Description

10/20/2019

GAMEPLAY In High Society, players are bons vivants looking to impress their circle with their magnificent spending while still managing to retain some of their wealth. On a turn, players take turns bidding for one “possession” card until all but one player has passed. Players bid with money cards of differing values, but once a money card has been bid, it cannot be replaced and it cannot be retracted until the player has passed. Special multiplier cards and negative cards are peppered throughout the deck of possession cards. Bidding for negative cards (the three negative cards either halve your score, lose 5 VP, and forfeit one possession card) works the same as other cards. However, the first person to pass, takes the negative card while all others lose the amount of money they bid. When the fourth special card is revealed, the game ends, and the player with the least amount of money automatically loses. Of the remaining players, the player with the highest sum of possession cards wins. THOUGHTS This is a Knizia auction game at its most stripped down and elegant, and I absolutely adore it. Auctions automatically hook me as they make for great player interaction and table talk. Then you throw in all the neat twists—the auto lose for the player with the least money, the way bidding works, and the way the negative card auctions work—and you can see why he is called doctor. PROS -Osprey Games took a game that looked like a child’s clipart dump and elevated it to one of the prettiest games out there. I’m a big Mucha fan so seeing his art style imitated so lovingly was a big factor in me wanting to own a copy. -HS has nearly all the things I’m looking for in a game: easy to teach and learn, brutal player interaction, lots of table talk, and some fun wrinkles already discussed above. NEUTRALS -I’ve had this game fall flat once or twice but I view that as a player problem and not a game problem. Even though this is a very simple game, newer players may need to be ushered in to auction games with something a little less punishing. -It was interesting to hear the Board Game Barrage podcast say HS is not a feel good game. Paying a lot to not take a negative card or the auto-lose condition suck, especially if players are not used to more cutthroat games. As always, with the ‘neutral’ section, YMMV.

10/18/2019

I like Knizia auctions. This one's portable and the theme is hilarious. Usually has at least one moment that "breaks" the table. Not the game, the players. With laughter, shock, etc. Anything that incites real emotion is good by me.

5/13/2019

Ordered 12th June 2018 Light filler fun

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/high-society-1995/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/high-society-1995-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Great game, such a simple game with such heavy strategy, thinking involved, was great fun and a good lighter/shorter game.

1/9/2019

(7/16) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. I should like this game more than I do. I like tight auction games with a quirky spin and this IS that game. Just didn't seem to work out the way I expected on last play. I expect this to rise.

12/22/2018