Magic: The Gathering

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (162 Total)

19
47
75
13
3

My first and only foray into CCGs. I still have bags and boxes full of cards. I still think about playing this, but the time and financial investment isn't possible right now.

4/1/2020

Played this a lot in high school (1992-95). Wasted lots of money on it, but had a good time. Stopped playing it after I realized that the expansions would never end and I would always be trying to "keep up with the Joneses".It was fun when it was new and there weren't so many cards and expansions.

4/1/2020

Just love this game. It never gets old.

3/24/2020

Some cards are to hard to work out as the rules have become very itibittyfidlythingy

3/4/2020

It´s a good game, very expensive to play.

1/28/2020

What can I say, it's Magic! Has some big flaws, but when played in a draft, can be quite an enjoyable activity.

1/28/2020

2-4

1/26/2020

http://www.deckbox.org/PhaseLoss

1/25/2020

Always a classic. Too much of a money sink for my tastes though.

1/24/2020

My girlfriend and I play Magic very casually. We have 3 half-decks of each colour, and we just randomly mash up two half-decks each and play a round or two. This is actually what I like most about Magic. Sure, you can be intensely competitive and spend hundreds of dollars a year crafting the best decks. But you can also spend $35 on a Deckbuilder's Toolkit box, and be perfectly happy to play casual games for months or even years.

1/24/2020

...dat blind distribution.

1/11/2020

I play casually with friends (no tournaments) in a legacy format with proxy cards.

1/7/2020

Have the entire Rath cycle in my collection. If it wasn't such a money drainer, it would have a higher rating!

1/4/2020

My former flatmates seemed to have an intermittent interest in playing this, and at the start of 2006 they taught me how to play. I don't seem to be very good.

1/3/2020

Love the duel decks... not much of a fan of the pay to win deckbuilding aspect.

12/20/2019

I like the idea of a battle card game but I don't want do deal with the meta game and deck building aspect.

12/12/2019

Very small collection now, since my original VAST collection was stolen years ago and took me a long while to get back into it. Nobody to play with anymore; and it's gotten too competitive.

12/11/2019

Not as good as netrunner but it does its job of providing fun, entertainment and the chance to meet others with similar interests. Downsides: might be too expensive for some. I for example only play commander (casual) and wasted enough money to buy all the board games I wanted (makes me think of my life choices sometimes). However if you are only thinking of kitchen table, and casual games, try to focus on the pauper commander format and search online for all the cheap single cards you can buy at your local gamestore. The Commander's Quarters is a youtube channel that can help you find those cards or cheap decks to build. DO NOT BUY BOOSTER BOXES AND PACKS, its a waste of money if you have no intention of playing the draft format.

11/15/2019

Old time classic and still evolving. The mother of CCGs. Not buying anymore but I still enjoy duels using my old cards.

11/11/2019

2-player only

10/18/2019

99% of which comes from Revised/4th? and Ice Age era of cards. Not really anything since.

10/18/2019

I haven't played for a few years..

9/10/2019

The addiction I just can't bring myself to drop. Haven't played much recently though.

6/26/2019

Bloated, over complex, and overwhelming to jump into, but still a whole hell of a lot of fun.  Most importantly there need to be an "agreement" between players to make decks that are of comparable power levels. The complete lack of balance in casual play is exactly what got me to move on to board games.

6/26/2019

the problem is that it is infinitely expandable ...

5/15/2019

FULLY SLEEVED Sleeved: ??? x Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Quintessential.

4/16/2019

This game had what no other decent CCG had if you hate the collectible part of it: complete-unto-themselves theme decks. No trading required! I have every 60-card theme deck and every Worlds deck in print. We draft them play 'em against each other 1vs1, 2HG, ATK-Left, etc. Very fun!

3/8/2019

Best card game ever, and I doubt anything will ever top it for me

3/6/2019

Who did not play Magic as a teen? Haven't played much since high school, though. I still have a couple friends that insist on playing with me, so I will pay using a duel deck or preconstructed deck. I would rather play Epic. I do get a ton of plays in at an annual campaign variant my FLGS runs.

3/5/2019

This game has evolved since its creation in 1993, but it is a money sink with the card collection. Of course, I don't like the based concept of creating a deck to play with.

2/15/2019

I liked it better before all the rules/power creep. I actually like playing weenie (5 color) decks.

2/12/2019

2, 20m

1/25/2019

2016-11-XX - Played for 1st time; not really my thing; And the fantasy theme does turn me off.

1/21/2019

The king of TCGs. The strategy is infinity and creative possibilities endless. Always fresh, but has a rich history too.

1/15/2019

Really enjoyed this back in my teens, glad I shook the habit before I had the income for it to be dangerous.

1/15/2019