Onitama

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (71 Total)

0
29
35
6
0

Have the app on my phone

6/20/2019

2p / 20m / Abstract 8 / 1.77

6/15/2019

(App) A really fast abstract with fun variable movement. Players have certain blind spots based on their movement choices.

5/14/2019

Been waiting forever to finally get my hands on this. Production is great on this edition and the card changes from the original printing help the balance a lot. Simple, brilliant, will play whenever it's put in front of me.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/onitama-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/onitama-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Daughter loves playing with me. Simple easy to teach. Components are great.Neoprene mat is better quality than most magic mats. The silly dance at the beginning of the game can be frustrating but it's still fun.

3/6/2019

2 players 20 minutes

2/17/2019

Not bad. Like War Chest but lighter. The pace of the game can be a little slow because there’s so much to consider.

2/12/2019

Great two player back and forth. Really enjoy this game.

2/11/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Holding onto some overpowered cards just feels like a broken strategy that seems to work most of the time. I hear expansions open the game up a bit but I don't want to spend $13 on a few cards.

1/16/2019

Very simple, not many options despite 10 different ways to move. The game is very slow with the limited movement and very predictable due to the few options everyone has. Bad games can occur due to bad card combinations. A gateway abstract.

1/15/2019

Onitama is a clever game of give and take. Each time you take an action you empower your opponent to use it against you in the future. Taking care to limit the options of your opponent while expanding your own breadth of choice is core of Onitama; and a skilled player will force their opponent into providing their own killing blow, which is a highly-enjoyable feat. Generally, the available actions promote defensive play, but the Sensei's Path increases the space for aggression. The two victory conditions empowers a player who has suffered losses the option to eke out a victory. While clever, and thematic (for an abstract game at least), Onitama is too brief and fails to create a heightened sense of stakes.

1/11/2019

The essence of randomized chess but most games take 15 minutes (but in a good way).

1/11/2019

Spanish Print & Play

1/10/2019

DIY

1/10/2019

No Review Description

12/23/2018