Snowdonia

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (28 Total)

0
15
11
1
0

Played this twice (solo) in order to get the rules down, and I must admit that this is a light but complex Euro. I must say that I enjoyed it, but didn't find it to be anything particularly special -- yet. There are areas that remain untapped, however... thus the reticence to deliver anything final about the game from my personal perspective. The key point is that it was enjoyable. That's what counts. 9/6/2013: Probably have 20 plays under my belt (solo only, surprisingly). This is a fantastic game with a variable timer element that is delightfully frustrating. I have to say that this is quite the interesting little title, and I see both simplicity and depth at the same time. I find the game reminds me of Finca. The theme is benign, there is just enough uncertainty (weather and blind cube draw) to provide some "thrills and chills," and plays in under an hour. A beautiful title.

1/10/2020

Really great "weeknight" game. Plenty of depth in decision making and planning ahead, but still forgiving. Plays quick enough that we can knock a game out while the baby is napping too.

12/12/2019

5.6.18 DESCRIPTION Snowdonia is a medium-light worker-placement game that features resource conversion, contract (i.e., goal) cards, player upgrades (i.e., trains), a randomized goods market, and a weather mechanic which dictates how efficient some actions are. OVERALL This game has a lot of buzz that probably stems from it being out of print for so long. My first play was a two-player game that left me a bit cold. Turns feel very samey with everyone seeing more or less what the best actions are to take on a given turn. I don’t have evidence for this but I feel like the three or four player would tighten things up considerably but also make people less inclined to clear rubble away for fear that other players would nab track cards or building spaces. Then event cubes start pumping out ramping up the end of the game. Complexity-wise, this is somewhere between Stone Age and Tzolkin, so it might be good for gamers looking for the next step up in worker-placement games. For me, I never felt like my turn or the decisions in general were that exciting. I would play if it were requested but would not request to play it. PROS -Solid components and very flattering art work. -Liked the way weather was randomly set by the contract cards but that you had a couple of turns to prepare for the weather. CONS -Several rules questions I couldn’t find answers for. Can’t remember all of them now but one was can rubble be removed from multiple cards on one excavate action. Also, do coal cubes paid for extra worker go back in bag or not. -Nitpick but I think the table presence would look slightly better if the board could fit the row of station and track cards. -“Buildings” didn’t even feel like buildings: just spots where you convert resources into points. -Bit hard to say who’s winning; I would have preferred a score track to mark VP from track cards and station “buildings”. -Contract card powers were fine but not exciting. -Biggest issue: I never felt the decision points were that interesting. -Game felt too samey after a bit. Wanted a little more variety.

10/18/2019

Not really sure why this game gets so much praise. Because it is hard to get? It was okay, but I'm not going to ask to play it.

10/18/2019

The idea of competing to build a railway is really interesting the worker-placement mechanics are simple and straight forward. There’s lots of interesting and difficult decisions and many ways to get points. We immensely enjoyed it. The production quality is fantastic—but I would have preferred the first edition with the wooden worker pawns instead of the plastic minis, it would have made for better hand feel.

2/14/2019

The idea of competing to build a railway is really interesting the worker-placement mechanics are simple and straight forward. There’s lots of interesting and difficult decisions and many ways to get points. We immensely enjoyed it. The production quality is fantastic—but I would have preferred the first edition with the wooden worker pawns instead of the plastic minis, it would have made for better hand feel.

2/14/2019

Cool fresh mechanics.

1/22/2019

solid. streamlined. love the duel contracts

1/11/2019

Like many Euro's there seems to be an abundance of rules and triggers during your first game, but once you get into the flow the game plays very smoothly at a good pace. No time for anyone to really sit around waiting for other to take their turn.

12/19/2018