The Fox in the Forest

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (76 Total)

4
36
34
2
0

Reignited my love for trick taking games.

12/11/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Great trick-taking game for 2 players. As a child who grew up playing 500, this is a great two-player game to be able to play. Love the scoring system.

11/3/2019

Beautiful cards and slick, engaging gameplay for two. I didn't think trick taking could be a two player game and I was proven very wrong.

10/23/2019

Beautiful cards and slick, engaging gameplay for two. I didn't think trick taking could be a two player game and I was proven very wrong.

10/23/2019

2-player only

10/18/2019

Best: 2 Time: 30 Min Weight: 1.59

10/17/2019

Wasn't sure how well trick taking for two would work. Glad to say that Fox in the Forest was both fun and entertaining.

6/26/2019

Very good two player game. The powers on the cards keep the gameplay fresh and interesting throughout the rounds of play. Excellent game to whip out while waiting for the rest of the crew to come around for the big game!

6/19/2019

7.4 / 2p / 30m / Family 117 / 2017 / 1.68 (Reddit recommended 2p game)

6/15/2019

https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/the-fox-in-the-forest-2017/ https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/the-fox-in-the-forest-2017-accessibility-teardown/Review/Teardown drafted

3/28/2019

Great Game for two player trick taking mechanic.

2/15/2019

Interesting, portable trick taking game. I liked the balance of trying and forcing the opponent to take enough tricks and tip too far over the line, and would love to play this more.

1/25/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

The Fox in the Forest is a two player trick-taking game, and this premise alone warrants praise. Just like any other trick-taking game players have a trump suit to abide by, and must follow suit, which makes the game incredibly intuitive and easy to teach. Mix in a few card powers, and a non-linear scoring mechanism, and out comes an incredible game for non-gamers. Anyone who enjoys the classic card games of old (Euchre, Hearts, etc) will immediately be at home with The Fox in the Forest and enjoy its unique take. Play a Swan to steal the lead, or the Monarch to neutralize your opponent's best cards, or play the Fox to pivot the trump suit and score more tricks. There is a shoot-the-moon element as well, which creates great culminations at the end of each hand. Its a bit too simple for me to play often, but it nails its unique premise and I will recommend this to just about everyone.

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018