Niagara Board Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (32 Total)

0
2
24
5
1

Very novel mechanic in the river, which makes this game deeper when you bring anticipating others and controlling the river into the equation. Very interactive, with very little downtime. A very fun game to play.We enjoy it with two and still play it quite a bit after owning for over a year. Plays well with 4.The expansion adds a lot to this game, although for new comers it is easier to explain it with out it, then introduce the features.

4/12/2020

Very novel mechanic in the river, which makes this game deeper when you bring anticipating others and controlling the river into the equation. Very interactive, with very little downtime. A very fun game to play.We enjoy it with two and still play it quite a bit after owning for over a year. Plays well with 4.The expansion adds a lot to this game, although for new comers it is easier to explain it with out it, then introduce the features.

4/12/2020

After only one play, I didn't see very much in this game, that made it interesting to me. Edit: Picked this one up in a trade. Though I didn't like it. My daughter and wife might, as well as some semi-gamers in my game group.

4/1/2020

initialy did not buy this as i thought it looked like so much fluff.. actualy a very good lettle stratergy game... with very good fluff :-)rules are a bit overly verbose for such a strait foreward game..

3/4/2020

by paka

Bought as it has been advertised as family game. Found it lacking and not very friendly to kids, at least younger sort. Update. With minor rule-tweak it works ok with my 6year old. River moves down 1 + X space, where X is the number on the weather track. Pumping up score a bit with that rule in mind.

2/25/2020

Niagra is a pretty basic family/social game BUT it has awesome transluscent discs that get pushed over the edge of the game box. Whee! It's one of the most amazing-looking games I've owned but (for us) has the downside of a three-player minimum. You can play with two but it's missing the spark that 3+ has.

2/15/2020

Look, so there are mechanics and stuff, right? And a lot of it is arbitrary movement rules. But that's not the point. It's a game designed around a physical gimmick--the layered board and the plastic disks--and the copy I played on didn't quite work. It didn't work! They jammed and flipped up. I wanted a toy. I came away disappointed.

1/26/2020

Excellent game to play with children and families. Game would score a bit higher except for the fact that many times you need to put pressure down on the seems of the board when making the river flow or otherwise it will mess up and not work properly.

1/13/2020

Cool bits and an interesting mechanism. Double think in trying to figure out what the others are going to want to do and whether they'll be able to steal from you or push the river to far downstream. Keeping track of who is close to winning can be a little difficult because of the three different ways to win.

1/3/2020

A bit too puzzly and not enough meat.

12/20/2019

I would like to have this game in my collection. Simple concept, but has more tactical thinking involved than at first glance.

11/14/2019

se recogen bienes , los mas caros estan abajo en el rio y luego se entregan en puerto. una resina trasparente hace que el rio baje.

7/19/2019

Great game for the whole family. Can be played thinky with the gamers or relaxed with the casuals. Does also appeal to kids, because of the shiny crystals :) I'm recommending this to everyone, because this just is a great game to get everyone together (even gamers and non-gamers).

4/25/2019

Played Once. Includes the Spirits of Niagara expansion.

2/11/2019

It's great when someone goes spilling over the waterfall.

1/11/2019

(7/16) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. SUCH a beautiful game but fell absolutely flat on our first play.

12/22/2018