Orléans

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (59 Total)

3
38
13
2
0

8.1 / 2-4p Best 4 / 90m / Overall 31 / Strategy 22 / 3.11 (2016 Tom's #36 / 2016 DT People's Choice #46, Co-op with Invasion expansion, Bag building game, Watch it Played)

6/15/2019

A bag building worker placement game set in medieval France. We own the fan made kit and the expansion Invasion and this has taken Orleans up another level. I really enjoy this game, the fact you can play it solo, coop or as a euro depending on what takes your fancy knocks this out the park for me. Not tried the Intrigue board yet from Trade & Intrigue, which adds even more variety to the game.

4/12/2019

Upgraded components, 5th player deluxe version, and all expansions.

3/11/2019

2-4 players 90 minutes

2/17/2019

We totally love this game—the pool building is an interesting mechanic. There were lots of options and lots of paths to victory, which we love, and plenty of thinking to keep us engaged. The component quality is great—I especially like that the character tokens, that get handled so often, were thicker. Though we don’t particularly like the feel of velvet for the bags.

2/14/2019

We totally love this game—the pool building is an interesting mechanic. There were lots of options and lots of paths to victory, which we love, and plenty of thinking to keep us engaged. The component quality is great—I especially like that the character tokens, that get handled so often, were thicker. Though we don’t particularly like the feel of velvet for the bags.

2/14/2019

One of my top 10. The base game was originally an 8 for me, but has risen to a 10 with the inclusion of the two expansions.

2/11/2019

with metal coins

2/6/2019

Nice combination of luck and planning. Despite playing many rounds and having so many options still feels fast since everyone plans at the same time. Does feel however like "simultaneous solitaire".

1/27/2019

2-4, 90m

1/25/2019

I feel the same way about this that I do about games like Yokohama, Caverna, et al: Solid, pleasant, and playable but in the end it's a just themeless, mechanical exercise in multi-player-solitaire-engine-building. Still, I would rather play this than the interminably long Altiplano.

1/23/2019

I always have a good time playing this one - but it does feel a bit hollow after a few plays. The Trade and Intrigue expansion helps by making the map and other board much more interesting.

1/16/2019

A beautiful union of two great mechanics. I love that players are not simply influenced by which characters they want or need in their bag, but also by the associated bonus attributed with acquiring said workers. Not only that, but as in most deck builders more workers isn't always better, and players must balance character acquisition (and associated bonuses) with acquiring victory points. The game ramps up very nicely, and I always leave the game feeling satisfied. My main qualm is the severe lack of variability. The game is wide open, and players can pursue any strategy they want in any given game, but the game does not encourage adaptive play in the slightest. Unless house-ruled players can rinse-and-repeat strategies too easily.

1/11/2019

No Review Description

12/22/2018

(12/16) 8. Surprisingly simple and fast paced. Really enjoyed my first play and looking forward to more. (10/17) 8. Terrific bag and engine builder with both mechanisms combining in satisfying and interesting ways. Looking forward to playing with the unique Invasion expansion.

12/22/2018

This is likely better with some expansions

12/21/2018

Great bag building game. Much better than Altiplano IMO

12/18/2018