Orléans

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (163 Total)

10
115
32
3
0

I am exceptionally impressed with how intuitively the mechanics interact with the strategy in Orleans. Even though Orleans' gameplay contains a myriad of choices and the occasional bout of analysis paralysis, the game often feels incredibly streamlined because the resulting decisions and outcomes amalgamate into an extremely elegant, cohesive, and satisfying game.This game has a big flaw though. The level of variance from game to game is minimal.

4/1/2020

Really nice resource management game. I like how you travel the roads to collect resources.

3/24/2020

Weight: 3.11 / 5Includes Folded Space insert

3/18/2020

High rating, plays well with two, easy rules, so on the wish list.

3/18/2020

One of the best euros I've ever played. An absolute gem

2/28/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Wonderful game, lots of routes to victory. Not overly complex and relatively easy to teach.

2/3/2020

While I consider my self an omni-gamer, I definitely tend towards AT. I also normally avoid games whose title is a place. However, I make a big exception for Orleans. I love playing this game. There are so many things to do and strategies to try. Expansions Owned: Invasion, Trade and Intrigue

1/26/2020

It's not point-mongering, which is nice--you need to make a conscious decision to change from infrastructure to scoring. I found it to be fine, but the bag-building didn't strike me as enough to differentiate it from the hordes of comparable eurogames. This one also has front-loaded decisions and questionable balance (both in the form of the buildings), so there's that. It's strange--Hyperborean bag-building grabs me, but this one doesn't.

1/26/2020

2-4 90'

1/25/2020

This game is super fun! Idk if this is in 9 territory but it's definitely a game I'd advocate for. Everyone should give it a try.

1/25/2020

2-4p

1/24/2020

The game gradually becomes more intense round after round. After the halfway point is when you need to really be looking at your opponents actions and planning for the end of the game. 18 rounds seems like a lot but I feel like the game should have more. Just when it gets good it ends, this leaves me wanting to play again which is what I desire in a game. This is easily in my top 5 favorite games played.(Play with the new bathhouse rule)

1/15/2020

Bag builder. Enjoyable but feels like path to victory comes down to scholar track and building settlements. Events not punitive enough to deter this strategy.

1/7/2020

JV

1/2/2020

In Orléans, the options are wide open. Initially overwhelming but the charm comes from this "open" strategic field. Very enjoyable.

12/11/2019

Love the bag building. So many viable strategies. Really fun game.

12/5/2019

Really loving this game. Need to stop playing it when I am tired.

11/14/2019

Deluxe Edition (there is a frustratingly separate entry for this) Great game! The bag building is different enough from deck building that it makes the game fresh and exciting. The frustration of the bag draw is palpable. The multiple paths to victory are a big plus. The somewhat scripted game start makes this just a touch short of '10'. INCLUDED: Orléans: Trade & Intrigue

10/25/2019

With: [thing=204814][/thing] [thing=231964][/thing]

10/20/2019

+ Orléans: Trade & Intrigue (2016)

10/18/2019

8.1 / 2-4p Best 4 / 90m / Overall 31 / Strategy 22 / 3.11 (2016 Tom's #36 / 2016 DT People's Choice #46, Co-op with Invasion expansion, Bag building game, Watch it Played)

6/15/2019

A bag building worker placement game set in medieval France. We own the fan made kit and the expansion Invasion and this has taken Orleans up another level. I really enjoy this game, the fact you can play it solo, coop or as a euro depending on what takes your fancy knocks this out the park for me. Not tried the Intrigue board yet from Trade & Intrigue, which adds even more variety to the game.

4/12/2019

Upgraded components, 5th player deluxe version, and all expansions.

3/11/2019

2-4 players 90 minutes

2/17/2019

We totally love this game—the pool building is an interesting mechanic. There were lots of options and lots of paths to victory, which we love, and plenty of thinking to keep us engaged. The component quality is great—I especially like that the character tokens, that get handled so often, were thicker. Though we don’t particularly like the feel of velvet for the bags.

2/14/2019

We totally love this game—the pool building is an interesting mechanic. There were lots of options and lots of paths to victory, which we love, and plenty of thinking to keep us engaged. The component quality is great—I especially like that the character tokens, that get handled so often, were thicker. Though we don’t particularly like the feel of velvet for the bags.

2/14/2019

One of my top 10. The base game was originally an 8 for me, but has risen to a 10 with the inclusion of the two expansions.

2/11/2019

with metal coins

2/6/2019

Nice combination of luck and planning. Despite playing many rounds and having so many options still feels fast since everyone plans at the same time. Does feel however like "simultaneous solitaire".

1/27/2019

2-4, 90m

1/25/2019

I feel the same way about this that I do about games like Yokohama, Caverna, et al: Solid, pleasant, and playable but in the end it's a just themeless, mechanical exercise in multi-player-solitaire-engine-building. Still, I would rather play this than the interminably long Altiplano.

1/23/2019

I always have a good time playing this one - but it does feel a bit hollow after a few plays. The Trade and Intrigue expansion helps by making the map and other board much more interesting.

1/16/2019

A beautiful union of two great mechanics. I love that players are not simply influenced by which characters they want or need in their bag, but also by the associated bonus attributed with acquiring said workers. Not only that, but as in most deck builders more workers isn't always better, and players must balance character acquisition (and associated bonuses) with acquiring victory points. The game ramps up very nicely, and I always leave the game feeling satisfied. My main qualm is the severe lack of variability. The game is wide open, and players can pursue any strategy they want in any given game, but the game does not encourage adaptive play in the slightest. Unless house-ruled players can rinse-and-repeat strategies too easily.

1/11/2019

No Review Description

12/22/2018

(12/16) 8. Surprisingly simple and fast paced. Really enjoyed my first play and looking forward to more. (10/17) 8. Terrific bag and engine builder with both mechanisms combining in satisfying and interesting ways. Looking forward to playing with the unique Invasion expansion.

12/22/2018

This is likely better with some expansions

12/21/2018

Great bag building game. Much better than Altiplano IMO

12/18/2018