Inis

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (122 Total)

19
62
36
3
1

https://cardboardguru.com/2020/03/02/review-inis/

5/15/2020

This game is the perfect blend of theme, art, table presence, and easy to learn, but difficult to master gameplay. As someone who normally plays euros that have little player interaction, it was all the more refreshing when Inis spawned all sorts of table-talk and politicking as we went around trying to talk ourselves into alliances in response to clashses or trying to pacify a player who was trying to invade. This is a wonderful game.

4/1/2020

Wow, amazing game. Simple to learn but so much depth.

4/1/2020

Sad that i'm the only one that likes it so far.

3/24/2020

Weight: 2.95 / 5

3/18/2020

Pretty fun area control board game. I love the tarot sized cards and how they dictate your actions. Need to play this some more.

3/5/2020

Dudes on a map with great art and strategic card play

2/28/2020

Take a game vaguely reminiscent of Cyclades, in that it often takes several steps to accomplish anything of consequence; add to that a lot of take-that cards and weird/arbitrary canceling effects; and then introduce a painfully attritional combat system. Not a good mix.

1/26/2020

I am in the minority here I know. But I find no appeal to this game at all. I don't like either the art style or the game play. Even after time has passed since my first and only play, I have grown less interested in giving this another shot. That is likely in part to my developing dislike for area control style games.

1/25/2020

Simple and elegant. The more I play it the more I love it. Definitely getting the expansion for the 5th player. Been a hit with everyone I introduced it to. With few rules and the same 13/17 cards every round, new players pick it up pretty fast. Bonus points for the designer answering on almost every thread here. The only gripe I would have are the sometimes unclear timing windows and card interactions and the odd mistranslation which does require reading the forums here for clarification.

1/25/2020

This game keeps getting better each time I play it.

1/24/2020

JV

1/2/2020

No matter what idea you have about Inis, you're wrong. This game looks like a dudes-on-a-map game, but it's not. It's a game about deep card play which develops in the form of area control. It's fantastic, easily my favorite game. Well, this or Concordia.

10/25/2019

PROS -Artwork is stunning and miniatures and tokens are good quality. -Limited number of cards allows new players to quickly become familiar with the options available but location and epic cards can add some great variability. -Reminded me of a beefed-up, more thematically interesting version of Konig von Siam in that it has a much more chess-like feel than a typical dudes-on-the-map game like Kemet. This is mainly due to the "6/6/6" win conditions. -Drafting option of getting rid of the card you just drafted feels like the only natural way to draft cards. -Passing but being able to re-enter later rounds makes for some interesting decisions and tense moments. CONS -The "Check" aspect of taking the Pretender Token means the game can outstay its welcome. Maybe house rule it so that someone just has to maintain a win and call it at the end of a round?

10/18/2019

A good game. Definitely want to play again. Made some mistakes but recovered to compete, but didn't have a solid plan during the one learning game I played. Could see this rating potentially going up.

10/18/2019

(From 9 to 10) The art is excellent and this is actually a very deep tactical game with timing/card play. So many combo possible pack in a handful of card and i love it to death! +Seasons of Inis (2019)

10/18/2019

Beautiful game. i played with 3 , and the game was OK. it requires a couple more plays to really get the feel for it.

7/21/2019

Beautiful art, simple winning conditions, but with lots of strategy to learn and change. Epic cards really change the pacing of the game. Overall one of my favorite games with dudes on a map.

7/17/2019

Inis is wonderful at all player counts. I'll ALWAYS play it, and ALWAYS recommend it. A card driven euro/doam hybrid with the most satisfying turns in boardgaming

5/15/2019

The first play goes very slow (lots of reading), but really great (and fast) area control game after learning the cards. It strips out everything I don't like about area control, plus I love drafting. Inis is beautiful!

5/15/2019

First game in, solid 7. If our gaming groups like this, then the score will go up !

4/12/2019

_

3/28/2019

I want to give it a 10 based on art alone, but I need to play more. I love eurowargame hybrids. Equal parts crunchy and social intrigue.

3/6/2019

Clever game, especially with all 4 players. With only 1 "blind" card each round it becomes fairly easy to predict what'd happen. Enjoyed regardless, would play again.

1/22/2019

Not the biggest fan of the 2-player variant. At 3+, it's pretty great. It's quite an irregular game where the board state is fragile and the contests are extremely expensive. But once you get a couple games going with the same group it really shines. I personally haven't seen much kingmaking in this game.

1/16/2019

(12/16) 7. Found this intriguing, but didn't really grasp it until the end of my first game. Very excited to try it again. (10/17) Drop to 6. Haven't gotten around to that second play yet. Hoping it'll boost this number back up.

12/22/2018

+ Inis storage bags

12/20/2018