Architects of the West Kingdom

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (53 Total)

2
32
17
2
0

A unique worker placement game with the option of using asymmetrical characters (reason i picked up this game). However with its uniqueness comes some negatives. The fact others can capture other peoples workers might be off putting to some. It has its issues in terms of balance as well. If say no one but you captures workers, the player who captured them will lose due to tempo loss. If no one captures workers the game will simply be the same but now each player would need to reclaim a worker every turn after. My biggest complaint is that the most generic and simple way of winning the game (working on the cathedral) seems to be the most effective and there is a specific character who does that. However if you're simply looking to get a casual, slightly different more interactive gameplay where your group isn't afraid of using the capture mechanic then this game is for you. And yes luck influences this game quite a bit, but without it there would be no replayability.

11/15/2019

Worker placement

11/7/2019

I've enjoyed it more with a higher player count than 2.

11/6/2019

Great twist on worker placement. Start with a whole pile of workers and make decisions about when to get them back. More workers on a single location makes that location more powerful for you. Actions to limit other players' powerful locations. Synergies with apprentice cards. Play either 'with nobility' or 'wickedly', with advantages to both and paths to victory for either.

10/25/2019

Very fun and engaging worker placement. Not sure if I would prefer to have this or Raiders of the North Sea. But probably Raiders just to be able to play the Rune Saga.

6/26/2019

Wrote about on the blog. Its new concepts are truly fresh, but the gameplay loop just isn't quite enough to hook me. It's fine, but only fine.

5/13/2019

Curious about this one and would like to play Didn’t make rahdo top 10 Played a game with Brian, Adam, Nicola, Lauraine. Really enjoyed the different take on worker placement and being able to take each other’s meeples.

4/12/2019

I love the different takes on worker placement seen in this and Raiders of the North Sea. In each case, they've made for lots of decisions but still quick to play.

2/26/2019

Great game. I like the worker placement and how you don't need to go clean up or pick your workers off the board every turn. Smooth, fast turns. Love the multiple possibilities a player can choose and merge. Scoring is easy, no confusion. The virtue works great and ties into scoring and playing sensibly. Great game. I like the artwork and I felt the theme of the game as we played. The mechanics, while familiar, were skinned with enough theme to add a good feel to game play. Highly recommended.

1/24/2019