Carcassonne

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (485 Total)

16
123
140
19
2

No Review Description

7/28/2020

It's an evergreen classic for a reason

5/3/2020

by Wyrd

So satisfying to see the map uniquely built before your eyes each time you play! It’s a mechanic I absolutely love. This is a classic of elegantly simple turns with outsized depth of outcomes. Play it casually with anyone, or play it ruthlessly with cunning opponents looking to trap you. Great gateway game with pleasant visual design; will always be in my collection.

4/14/2020

Great and light game, easy enough to teach with plenty of player interaction and strategy required (keep track of what pieces are left), expansions then add onto this simple idea to make it even better

4/11/2020

A classic. What can I say more!!

3/24/2020

Can't argue with the fun factor of this game. So simple, so enjoyable. Always a good time playing with family, friends or with competitive folks.

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.94 / 5Includes custom bag for tilesIncludes wooden insert

3/18/2020

This game is easy to learn and play and everyone seems to enjoy it. Plays well with 2, 3, 4 or 5 players, which is rarely the case.

3/18/2020

2-5

3/7/2020

The only time I've ever sat down to learn a game and play it in under an hour. Good.edit..have played this game loads over the last year (2007). and i have to say it's deeper than i first relized. i you can play this as a casual percentage game (with beginers) or go really nasty aggressive (with your hard core carcassonne mates).. truly great.

3/4/2020

Great filler game for a game night. Since it fills this role for me, I haven't bothered with any expansions (and probably won't). I'm a big fan, and it's a great game to just have around for folks newer to hobby-style games.

3/1/2020

First game my wife took to. Play on iPhone all the time.

2/28/2020

THE great tile placement game. Lots of fun. Probably the most played, most requested, game in our collection.

2/28/2020

Great gateway game for just about anyone interested in learning Euro games.

2/26/2020

by paka

Third game. Played countless times before I started to record. Both expansions add a alot to the game, but made the game a bit longish for my kid who actualy demanded this one daily for a good month or more...

2/25/2020

So many people recommended this game to me, but I just don't feel like it's my thing, meh... Maybe one of the million expansions would improve it... shrugMy daughter loves this game and will just play with the tiles and meeples by herself; she calls it "the map game".

2/24/2020

I don't actually care for Carcassonne all that much as a game but that's personal preference. I want the gameplay to be as exciting for me as the map building but it's roo dependent on the players. That said, I do think it's a good game and accessible to pretty much everyone.

2/15/2020

Something just works so well about this game, the looks, the tactile tile-laying and meeples... this game just comes together and works so well. I'm always happy when I play.

2/3/2020

Very casual light game to play with no gamers. Adds some strategy that makes you think in advance but not super intense or intimidating. Never really play with the farmer character feels like a wonky rule.

1/31/2020

With Inns and Cathedrals Exp

1/29/2020

Not my style. Not fun for me.

1/28/2020

A great classic. Few games have managed to replicate the satisfaction of tile placement. The passive aggression in this game gives it a lasting longevity.

1/28/2020

Have two copies, one with all the expansion sets up through Princess & Dragon, one with just the River, Traders, and Builders (for shorter games!).

1/27/2020

Only own digital copies. https://store.steampowered.com/app/598810/Carcassonne__Tiles__Tactics/ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.asmodeedigital.carcassonne

1/27/2020

I don't see the appeal in this one. It's okay and I wouldn't turn down a game but there are many, many more I'd rather play instead.

1/26/2020

This game opened my eyes to how clever games can be. I also proposed by hiding the ring in the stack of tiles. Great memories.

1/26/2020

Fun little game, great for sucking in non-gamers and children. Can be frustrating if you need the right tile, and this problem arises frequently if you have no expansions.

1/26/2020

2-6 Best with 3/4

1/26/2020

2 - 5 30-45 min.

1/25/2020

Expansions: - Inns & Cathedrals - Traders & Builders - The Princess & the Dragon - Abbey & Mayor - Count, King & Robber (DE Import) - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars (DE Import) - Hills & Sheep (DE Import) - Under the Big Top - The Watchtowers (DE Import) - The Festival (DE Import) Such a simple, but amazingly fun game to play. Drop the tile, make sure the illustrations match up and do or do not place your meeple. Been met with praise by all people I've taught it to.

1/25/2020

[color=#CC0000] Not too complicated, but has some interesting twists. Plenty of expansions if you want to see things get more intense. A nice introduction to new-style games for your friends who only play Monopoly. This isn't my personal favorite game, but it's hard to miss just what a gem this one is for any experience level. If someone plays this game once, they want to own a copy. [/color]

1/25/2020

[Medium, Tile]

1/25/2020

My wife and I enjoy a good game of Carcassone every now and then. We've played with her brother and sister too, but I find this a much better 2 player game.

1/24/2020

Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #87

1/20/2020

Exccellent two or 3 player game with very simple rules.

1/13/2020

Nice simple game that is very pretty. Originally rated a 7.25.

1/13/2020

My parents played it and liked it. This is my gateway of choice.

1/11/2020

Another "9 year-old to 90 year-old" kind of game. For me and the family, you do not go wrong with games of this kind. YMMV.

1/10/2020

I found it too much simple

1/4/2020

I started playing this at a website I'd been playing [gameid=926] at. Seeing a copy at the same store I got [gameid=257] it seemed like a good idea to purchase this as well. I managed a lot of plays over the first 18 months or so after buying it but plays dropped off a lot between gaming getting less common and me joining a new group with many more games.

1/3/2020

Original Carcassonne is easy to play, fun, and features gentle competition. As you add expansions, the game loses this gentle charm, and players are charged with knowing more and more rules. As you add expansions you also add time to the game. This removes Carcassonne from the light family game that plays in 45 minutes and transforms it into a more involved game that takes longer. I once had a bunch of expansions for this game. I have trimmed down to the first two major expansions, and the Cathars. I also kept the tile rack from the Tower, but ditched the rest of that expansion and all others.

12/24/2019

Always fun. Good for 2 people up to 4 imo.

12/21/2019

Enjoy the iPad app. Base game is on the lighter side of our usual fare. Friend owns. Would rather play Isle of Skye if going the choice.

12/12/2019

Pre-Z-man, includes Broken Token Insert

12/11/2019

Great game. Fun. Simple to teach to anybody. Not a 10 because the farmers are a bit complex compared to the simplicity of everything else in the game - usually have to leave them out when playing with non-gamers.

12/5/2019

This modern classic (or I have heard called a sacred cow) hasn't grabbed me like it it seems to have grabbed other people. My understanding is that the creating the board mechanic was fairly unique when this came out so I see what the appeal is. But there is not a lot of choice or player interaction from my perspective, and the game gets a bit tedious towards the end. Maybe next time I will try a house rule to allow you to have a hand of tiles that you choose from that carries over from turn to turn. Or maybe a draw three, pick one and return the other two to the draw pile would improve the experience for me. I have to figure something out because I play this quite a bit more than I would prefer due to everyone else loving it(DM me if you have a suggestion). As it is right now I would rather just take the tiles out and build a kingdom by myself sans the game element. Includes the Abbot and the River. Edit (2019-04-06): Yeah this game sucks!

12/3/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Great Gateway game that I have not only gotten my Girlfriend into but her best friend as well. I think play can be a little slow at times but with some house rules we came up with have had a blast playing this.

12/3/2019

Tablet app, not physical boardgame

11/14/2019

Fun, but sometimes the gameplay seems a bit one dimensional. Only placing tiles and putting down a man. I like the game but my like comes short of fandom.

11/3/2019

This was one of the 2 first games I purchased when i got into the whole board game craze. I loved this game and played the heck out of it. Now 200+ games later this rarely finds the table. My GF still plays it online and asks to play so I play with her but have no strong desire to play it any other time. Not that I don't enjoy or like the game...it is just played out. As such I have rated it a 7 but I highly recommend it to anyone new to games and couples. I did rate this a strong 8 before. Overall Score 7, Appearence 8, Components 8, The Box (storage) 7, Rulebook 8, Ease of Play 8, Mechanics 8, Involvment 7, Replayability 8, Uniqueness 9, Luck 3 v Strategy 7 (The higher the number the more it leans that way.)

11/3/2019

Fun filled game. There are so many variations, that everyone can play in their own specific style. Enhanced by various expansions. I own Inns & Cathedrals and Trades & Builders along with some mini-expansions originally found in Games Quarterly magazine. Fantastic gateway game. INCLUDED: Carcassonne: Expansion 1 – Inns & Cathedrals Carcassonne: Expansion 2 – Traders & Builders Carcassonne: The River Carcassonne: The River II Carcassonne: The Princess & the Dragon

10/25/2019

Love this one for its relatively simple and quick gameplay. Still allows for plenty of strategy but is light enough for my 7-year old to enjoy and remain competitive when playing against adults.

10/22/2019

Fun tile laying game. Great filler. Explaining scoring to non-gamers can be a problem, but they usually catch on soon enough.

10/21/2019

TRADED: 2018 (For DVONN)

10/18/2019

Easy accessible

10/18/2019

No Review Description

10/16/2019

I wasn't sure about this one at first, it kind of reminded me of a litter box.

9/10/2019

A simple, enjoyable game with solid mechanics. A single game can be irresistible, but further rounds provide diminishing returns. Random element hurts the appeal for those looking for pure strategy as sometimes players can get terrible tile draws. Rule variants help to fix this issue and I imagine expansions will solidify Carcassonne's timelessness even more.

8/5/2019

We use house rules that you have 3 different tiles in your hand to choose what to lay down. Makes it less RNG-like. Edit: downgraded to a 6 with just the base with expansions. Used to be my go to gateway game but after a while I just got bored with it and there are much better gateway games out there.

7/1/2019

I think I may be remembering this with rose tinted glasses as I remember it being fun, but no one I play with ever wanted to play the game.

6/26/2019

Contrary to what some say, the field scoring in Carcassonne is superior to simple point counting spinoffs as it gives a nice tension to completing cities in fields you own.  However, there are too many dead end roads here that makes the end game usually devolve into who gets the resulting super-field.  Still good tile laying fun even if the hand size of one makes it feel like a game of Magic in top-deck mode.

6/26/2019