Photosynthesis

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (69 Total)

2
13
51
2
1

Wow. Wow. Wow. I love this game. Pretty sure it could become top 3. Will be buying, when I allow myself more buys.

11/14/2019

Played once. Great condition.

11/3/2019

1.11.18 Players use light points gained from having their trees in direct sunlight to use to buy seeds and trees into their ready area or move seeds and trees from the ready area onto the board. Players score by felling a level-3 tree and taking the highest valued tile that matches that area type. Areas on the edge of the board are worth less than those in the middle. Great looking abstract that is deep and not quite as mean as people make it out to be. I don't need to own the game but always happy to play. 1.27.18 (2nd play) Have only played a 3- and 4-player game, but liked the game more at 3 as it was less of a knife fight. Also realized after playing that we got several rules wrong: -A space can ONLY be activated once. Throwing a seed on a space means it has been activated. -Players can buy seeds and trees and play them on the same turn.

10/18/2019

by hana

Borrowed from Blizzard. Boring theme. Too much AP with little return in terms of fun and excitement.

10/17/2019

The constant tension of growing your trees and having seedlings on hand to plant, or harvesting was very fun. Not sure I would want to own this one, but I will play it again.

6/26/2019

Maybe my rating is because the game is still new, but I've never enjoyed a new game quite so much. At its heart, Photosynthesis is an abstract strategy game wrapped within an ecology themed shell. But the game mechanics are unlike any that I've come across before. The strategy of planting and building your tree species within the forest requires that you consider the possibility of trading off some big scoring turns with low scoring turns later on in the sun cycle. The game works really well with two players, and becomes a totally different game with three and four.

4/29/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/photosynthesis-2017/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/photosynthesis-2017-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Zero luck. All strategy takes too long for many. Components are great. Presence at the table is great.

3/6/2019

A little boring with 2 players. Maybe better with more.

2/12/2019

3D trees!

1/18/2019

Deep and thematic, beautiful and fun. But if someone falls behind they won't catch up. Falling, doesn't feel like there is much there. Just place and grow. Not much decision space as you have to constantly turn the wheels of the machine or it stops moving.

1/15/2019