Twilight Struggle

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (53 Total)

5
30
12
5
1

Rating aft...

by Robertcompton

Rating after first complete game. I really wanted to like this game more than the first completed game left me feeling. It is after all number 1 on BGG. It could well be, all the intricacies and brinkmanship evolve through multiple plays. If both players were not novices, i'm sure the experience would have been a harsh learning curve and expect my rating to change the more chance I get to play. Looking forward to playing this again soon.

4/12/2019

http://mee...

by MeepleLikeUs

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/twilight-struggle-2005/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/twilight-struggle-2005-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

All of my ...

by Fly Casual

All of my plays are on the app. Looking forward to getting the physical copy out more.

3/6/2019

Love the h...

by NeutralPlatypus

Love the hell out of this game, as a history buff everything is fantastic with this game. Need to work on my strategy though (lost every game)

3/6/2019

Brilliant Game...

by FreedomDancer

...but so frustrating & unpleasant to play that I just don't do it anymore. Try it, it may be for you. I have friends that love this game.

3/6/2019

Sleeved

by ion514

Sleeved

3/1/2019

digitale v...

by maartendp

digitale versie op android

2/18/2019

Only one p...

by elltrain

Only one play so far but really enjoyed it.

2/16/2019

Good game

by oldgoat3769967

No Review Description

2/11/2019

Highly tac...

by Brent

Highly tactical 2p tug-of-war with incredible amounts of tension thanks to opponent events auto triggering and DEFCON. A game that rewards careful study and experience, and a game that calls for players to achieve mastery. There is a lifetime of gaming in this box.

1/25/2019

Meh. Theme...

by usagi-san

Meh. Theme didn't cut it out for me and I can't believe it beat out T&E to get on to the top 5!

1/23/2019

Such a bea...

by TIM0THY

Such a beautiful coupling of theme with mechanics. And such a simple, elegant set of mechanics. I truly enjoy playing this game. It was difficult to wrap my head around what was going on at first. But by the time I finished my second game I was hooked.

1/23/2019

Deep and h...

by Zeugmatic Player

Deep and highly competitive game of influencing allies and enemies during the Cold War. Card driven, so even turn and action requires the difficult choice of what to use your cards for, as well as strategizing how to minimize the damage every card could cause. Long, deep two-player games just aren't easy to get to the table.

1/22/2019

Amazingly ...

by Chitownsox

Amazingly thematic game with great depth of strategy.

1/22/2019

Can be ama...

by frankqb

Can be amazing with an experienced player, but it's a bit of a slog. Losing its touch with me as I get older.

1/15/2019

Wonderful ...

by ekloff

Wonderful tug-o-war style game, where Risk meets politics. After a few plays, it becomes a bit too chess-like (as players become more familiar with the cards) and I wish there was a way to make each playthrough distinctly different (removal of random cards, slightly more random starting influence, etc). For the same reason, the game is very exclusive as it tends to force new players out, since they won't have the knowledge of more experienced players. However, if you find the right friend for this game you might not ever put it back in the box. I desperately wish that I could find that friend.

1/11/2019

My favorit...

by zxcvbn

My favorite two-player strategy game. Excellent theme, very high skill ceiling. Unfortunately requires absolute knowledge of all cards to become very good, much like many of my other favorite games like netrunner and innovation. If you learn to play with someone else who is learning this is a non-issue though.

1/11/2019

(12/16) 7....

by markbesada

(12/16) 7. (10/17) Rise to 8. Haven't played it since I rated it a 7, but I HAVE played a number of other COIN games and just love the system. I don't usually go for 2 player only games, but I'm looking forward to my next play of this classic.

12/22/2018