Mysterium

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (229 Total)

6
69
132
18
2

I liked it, but the ghost role is very hard to play. The cards are very abstract, and the ghost only has 7 cards at a time. I tried it with Dixit cards once, the result was much better (easier for the psychics also, that was the downside) but the Dixit cards are full of direct hints.

5/3/2020

+ Actually feels co-operative+ Accommodating player count+ Engrossing theme+ Excelent Artwork and Components+ Interpreting/giving clues is engaging+ Natural tension created in close games+ Betting on teammates is a solid mechanic- Too much game state upkeep- Long Setup- Limited Replay Value- Slightly underwhelming second phase

4/1/2020

This game was way more difficult that I thought it would be. Big fan of the game and I would gladly play it again. I want more vision cards to increase replayabiliy.

4/1/2020

APP ONLY

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.91 / 5

3/18/2020

2-7

3/7/2020

I play this with the kids. Can be fun, but when they are not yet at the abstraction stage, it can be somewhat tedious - one clue, one card. Live a little, kids!

3/5/2020

(Oct 2015) I quite like it, but it might end up being a "sometimes game" that I need to be in the mood for. Still, it supports up to seven, and that's rare in itself. I think it's probably best with 4-5 though.

3/2/2020

tons of fun! very unique

2/28/2020

One of the best parts of the game is the fact our group argued over the outcome at the end, even though we won!

2/26/2020

The clue-giving/guessing part of the game is fun. The rest of it not so much, at least for our family. It feels like a lot of extra mechanics are tacked on to turn it into a "real" game but we enjoy just trying to get everyone to guess all their items. This turns it into Codenames: Dixit edition but that's apparently what we were looking for.

2/15/2020

Not really a fan. I would rather play Dixit.

2/13/2020

Call me a contrarian, but the new art and new rules strike me as vastly inferior to the original. The rules you can revert to, but you're stuck with the new art. The screen is badass, though.

1/26/2020

This game is fun, but the setup is super rough. And losing feels abrupt and unsatisfying.

1/25/2020

Kinda interesting. Feelings are kinda mixed so far, but definitely worth another couple play-through's.

1/24/2020

Didn't work with two and is not something we would go out of our way to play with friends.

12/12/2019

kinda done with this one; just doesn't have much replay-ability for me, at least with the same people

12/11/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Fun cooperative game, where one player is different than everyone else. The hilarity and frustration the ghost encounters can't be beat. The end-game is kind of clunky and anti-climatic.

10/25/2019

Does what Dixit did, but with tension and a feel of a game behind it. One of a small number of games that gets my wives interest when brought up as an option to play.

6/26/2019

Beautiful game, art is nice. Setup takes too long.

5/28/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 120 x Swan PanAsia Dixit: Standard (SWN-045, 170/pack) - (80 x 122mm) 84 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm) 18 x Swan PanAsia Mini Euro: Standard (SWN-006, 160/pack) - (45 x 70mm)

5/15/2019

After a few plays, my wife and I both really enjoy this game. This is a great co-op game for larger groups and it never over-stays its welcome in terms of play time (typically less than an hour). The art work is great! Whether you chose to play as the ghost or one of the psychics, the task ahead is fun, with just the right amount of challenge for hobby and non-hobby gamers.

4/22/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/mysterium-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/mysterium-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Interesting concept but it did not really seem all that special.

3/5/2019

2-7 players (best 5-6) 42 minutes

2/17/2019

While a very pretty game, too much is set atop the shaky foundation of giving multifaceted pictures to players so they can divine the identity of another card. It's just not fun or particularly interesting.

2/16/2019

2-7, 42m

1/25/2019

W/ Promo: Card Pack (2015), Brettspeil 2016 Vision Card One of the few games that has always resonated with the group. It's another good game that can scale up accordingly and reading the Ghost's mind makes it such a good challenge. Beautiful game!

1/23/2019

I like this game way more than I thought I would.

1/22/2019

A Dixit killing machine. This takes one of my family's favorite party games (the aforementioned Dixit) and transforms it into an actual game. With essentially two games in one box (Ghost & Psychic) that feel surprisingly different, and varying difficulties, this is a great addition to any collection. Watching the psychics completely misconstrue your message is delightfully frustrating, and adapting to their train of thought is challenging and satisfying. The opposites are true when playing as a psychic. Its got more game than Dixit, and is more ambiguous than Codenames, making it a must own for the friendly cooperative gamer.

1/11/2019

Easy to learn and has worked great with so many different groups.

1/11/2019

I really like the artwork in this one compared to its Polish/Ukrainian counterpart. Though a lot of people want to play this with Dixit cards, I don't think it'll work out to well. Playing Dixit with THESE cards though... that's a game I would play! It's like a 2-in-1!

1/10/2019

A good deduction game where one player has to hand hints to the other players in the form of cards with abstract paintings on them. The only pitfall is I wish that deck of cards would have been much bigger as after a few playthroughs you've seen them all and you'll start to subconsciously associate them with things that the ghost player may not have meant.

12/24/2018

(10/16) 7. (9/17) Rise to 8. A great game. A more involved Dixit. Beautiful cards and components. Absolutely fantastic gateway game to introduce at a party.

12/22/2018

Wow. Just wow. Amazing game. Only thing I have against it is a messy rule book and the fact that if you play a lot you will learn exactly what the spirit player thinks :)

12/22/2018