The Pillars of the Earth

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (66 Total)

0
20
39
4
1

2-4 players, medium heavy c. 90 minutes, worker placementRating based on 1st plays. I'm a big fan of Ken Follet's historic novels and was therefore very eager to play this one. I like the theme and the look of this game (Michael Menzel's artwork is always very good) and its mechanics, need to replay for a good verdict whether to keep this one in the collection. Unfortunately, both my family and my friends don't enjoy this one quite as much as I do. Will probably not get much playtime, so might trade this away.

3/18/2020

by Rudi

a worker placement for new player and veteran to play within 90 minutes or less

3/9/2020

I can play this one with wife-friends and regular gaming group. It's relatively easy to teach, although it does take a few plays to really learn what you need to think about when planning ahead.

2/28/2020

by paka

Good worker-placement. Took few games to really start to appriciate it, like to play it with 2-3 and not really with 4. Master-builders from the bag at random does not annoy me anymore and I find it quite intersting instead.

2/25/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

This is, indeed, exceptionally similar to Caylus, but I much prefer this game--faster, less downtime, more to do, and feels more "open" despite it having fewer paths to victory. Then again, I'm not a huge Caylus fan to begin with. That said, the competition amongst worker-placement games is now extremely fierce, and I'm not sure Pillars can stand on its own anymore.

1/26/2020

Not very much resource competition with 2 players but still some tension. I like the six round limit which means that it plays fast.

1/13/2020

This is -- unexpectedly -- a hit with the kids. It reminds me of Caylus, but more pleasing in some way that I can't quite define.

1/10/2020

It's a good game I think, just not for me. The Master Builder selection from the bag seems too random for me, either giving someone a huge advantage in being able to go first and get something they really need or having someone else go last, last, last and getting none of the things that would have been useful to them. Having a better knowledge of the cards available to take each turn could impact on my opinion some.

1/3/2020

One of our earlier games - helped bring us into the fold, so to speak, with regards to thinking about what types of mechanics we liked and didn't like.

12/20/2019

By far one of the best games I've ever played. The game is gorgeous to look at and the game system very easy to follow. I really like the "follow the steps around the board" concept. It allows everyone to not have to remember what happens next and with so many options to select from with only the three master builders and competition for spots. The funny part is I played this game with guy that plays mostly miniatures and he really, really liked the game so that right there is gives it a glowing approval rating.

10/31/2019

Fantastic! Tough decisions to be made each step of the way. Multiple resource allocation decisions. Nice economic engine that improves as the game goes along. Many different approaches to pick up points. Various strategies to victory. Just the right amount of luck-of-the-draw for my taste. INCLUDED: The Pillars of the Earth: Expansion Set

10/25/2019

Get resources, convert resources. Plays 6 well (with expansion), and that mechanism of pulling master builders out of the bag and then having to decide if you want to spend a lot to place them or wait. And it is based on a very good (long) book.

10/18/2019

Mechanics reminiscent of Leonardo. For some reason, it plays better than Leonardo but I can't really figure out why. Production value is quite high, but I could also have done without the whole cathedral thing since functionally it's just a turn marker. I'd rather have paid less money and got a turn counter instead, but that's just me. Sold on the marketplace.

8/31/2019

July 2013 - Glad someone was able to give me a run through on how to play this. A heavier game than Stone Age with more choices. With so many good worker placement games out there, time will tell if this is a keeper.

4/12/2019

2-4, 120m

1/25/2019

One of the best resource games that also have one of the best designs.

1/10/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018